Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Carousel Inn and Suites
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1530 S. Harbor Blvd, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 40 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 16-18, 2005 (D-Land's 50th Anniversary)
Reviewer: TimBuk2 (tim@magicalmilestones.com) Huntington Beach     July 22, 2005
~~~
CAROUSEL INN - AAA+++ / 50 PLANETS:

A ROOM WITH A VIEW - AND I MEAN VIEW!!:

We had the 3-bedroom suite, which is one of only 3 rooms with a SPECTACULAR view of Disneyland Resort on Harbor Blvd. We were on the 4th floor with a complete panoramic view of both Disneyland and DCA. And it's the highest view room on the blvd. You can see south on Harbor past the Hilton, which is at Katella. (I reserved this room last September)

SPECTACULAR FIREWORKS SHOW LOCATION:

This is where we watched the fireworks show for both nights, WHAT A VIEW. We queued up the music from the 50th Anniv. 2-CD set for the new fireworks show, and you can still see the effects on the Matterhorn. The only thing you can't see if the castle. But we did see Tinkerbell fly, that was great.

You can see Space Mtn, Matterhorn, Tower of Terror, Ferris Wheel, and the Harbor Blvd security entrance. We took binoculars to check out the foot traffic for the long lines the eve of July 17th. Good thing too!

SUMMARY:

The room is right in front of the Harbor Blvd Cast Member entrance, kinda where the Monorails meet each other. The room was very nice, plenty of towels, pillows, and clean. It had 2 televisions, 3 phones, and in the viewing room a full size sofa and dining table.

Management was nice enough to let us view 2nd and 4th floor rooms before deciding which one we wanted. All depended on what time you get there, because no exact room is guaranteed.

VALUE:

This room was by FAR the best value of a suite I have ever had. A complete panoramic view of Disneyland Resort for only $159 per night. Only one drawback, there's only 1 bathroom in these suites. But we didn't mind, still worth it.

FOOD/CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST:

Who cares!! The muffins and OJ were fine, I don't stay at hotels for the muffins. It's all about THE VIEW - THE VIEW - THE VIEW.

WARNING:

If you get the 4th floor view room, directly above you is the breakfast room, which can be quite noisy in the mornings with the chairs moving on vinyl flooring. The 3rd floor is the best, and the 2nd floor is still good but not quite high enough to see all of DLR. For the fireworks show, any floor will do.

RECOMMENDATION:

I would recommend this room/hotel to anyone who is in awe of a view of Disneyland Resort. When we first walked in and pulled up the window blinds (from 8 windows), we were speechless. We couldn't stop saying HOLY CRAP - OH MY GOSH !!!!!!! If there were any problems with the room, we probably would have never known since our concentration was on the view and fireworks show.

PS - Did I mention how good the VIEW was?
 
3 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   February 2003
Reviewer: Teddy Berra Ocean Shores, Washington     June 30, 2005
This hotel was terrible the "suite" was a dump. We had to walk all the way to the back of the hotel to get there, and when we got there the room was about 10 degrees. The continental breakfast was ok but only had bagels, muffins, and bananas. The only perk of this hotel is its location to the park. I would not recommend the Carousel to any of my friends.
 
3 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Feb 5th - 12th
Reviewer: Dean Robert Kelowna, BC     February 15, 2005
Carousel Inn: Searched Expedia, Travelocity and Cheaptickets for best rates along Harbor Blvd (across from East entrance to Disneyland) and found that most of the hotels were rated three stars (***) and seemed to be in the $80-90 range BUT the Carousel was $54 a night in February, so that was a great deal. By the time I decided to book I was upset to find out that one night (Sat the 12th) no longer showed availiblity! I called up the Carousel directly and told them of my plight... they immediately released additional rooms to Expedia and I made my booking ten minutes later! E-mailed a couple of days in advance to confirm my booking and request a 'quiet' room... which turned out to be on the 5th (and top floor). It was relatively quiet considering the place is full of families! I did state that I would be arriving around 1pm yet my room was unavailable until 3pm so we had to sit around a while. When we finally got our keys and lugged our stuff up I found that my key-chip didn't work. Back to the lobby where the gentlemen profusely apologized and said that he personally had made the mistake of not 'validating' the computerized keys properly. Once in the room, it was a standard two queen configuration. Decent matresses and bedding. Nice large window blinds and tasteful table / chairs near window. Nice sized mini fridge which was a bonus because we bought lots of water, juice, beer and food to cut down on the junk and big Disney costs. Bathroom and sink area very clean and tidy... I thought all was well until my wife's foot swept under the bed box sham and brushed against a panty liner (not used mind you but still kind off gross)... which led to a full on search and assault of the room, primarily under the bed box frills to find a rolled up pair of kids socks, souvenir squisshy penny from Knot's Berry Farm and a used bullet casing! No kidding! We wife went nuts but I figure they vacuum and sweep daily... but just get tired of kneeling down and checking under 500 and some bed shams each day... no excuse but like I said, the rest of theroom was spotless. The shower was clean and with very nice pressure and lots of hot water.
Anyway, I had to do something because this was unacceptable. I decided to take my 'collection' of stuff right down to the front desk and let them know that I was unhappy... They apologized again... took the items and placed them in a clear plastic bag, notified the manager and stated that such a thing would not happen again. To make me happy I suggested that my being there brought them additional business (my Mom & Dad drove over from Yuma, Arizona to surprise us and see their grandkids) so I told them to lower their rate ($70 a night) to the same $54 rate I received from Expedia... and they did immediately and for as long as they wished to stay.
The continental breakfast was pretty basic... coffee and juices, white & brown bread for toasting, apples & oranges, instant oatmeal, and some danishes. It didn't change ever... but I didn't find any moldy jam. We stayed with the oatmeal and fruit. Coffee was OK... make sure to go between 7 and 8 or else it becomes very crowded. We brought our own bagels and cream cheese down and toasted them up... get your own peanut butter if your kids can't live without it!
So, other than a rough start to our stay the Carousel was good, inexpensive (just over $500 for the week) and very convenient! We could walk to Mainstreet USA in ten minutes!

PS - The front desk called to apologize to my wife, told us that they had reviewed this with their housekeeping staff, offered handwritten notes and cards, had cookies sent to the room a couple of times and called occasionally to ask if all was well and if we needed anything.
 
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   1/15/05 - 1/19/05
Reviewer: FlyingSquirrel Bellevue, wa     January 27, 2005
I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. At $60 a night, I wasn't expecting much. The room was nice and very clean. Its proximity to the main gate can't be beat and parking was plentiful. Most surprising and quite pleasant was the phone call from the front desk after we settled into our room. They called simply to say "Thanks for picking us; how is your room; can we get you anything else?".

Unfortunately, we asked for more towels but never got them. Plus there were no towels by the pool. Perhaps there was a shortage that weekend?
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Jan 8 - Jan 13, 2005
Reviewer: indiejones33 Reno, NV     January 17, 2005
I paid $54 a night through Expedia.com, for the five nights we would be staying. When my fiance and I arrived at the Carousel Inn we found it quick and easy to check in; the staff was friendly and knowledgable. As the reviewer before me said the .75 cent phone usage charge was clearly highlighted when given the hotel's brochure (maybe they had complaints and recently started doing this). Our room was #154 which was on the opposite side of the lobby where there were no rooms above you. This was very nice considering the reviews about the noise level coming from other guests above. So the noise level was kept to a minimal, except for two nights when the alarm in the complex went off at 2 in the morning, but was quickly shut off. We had a standard room, came with 2 queen beds, a fridge, a microwave, and a nice size t.v. The extra bed was nice because we could dump each days purchases on it to make for more space if we needed to use the floor too. We checked the continental breakfast out, but it wasn't to our liking so we went to Food4Less right down the street and bought food we liked at a reasonable price; that's where the fridge came in handy. I feel like we got our money's worth from our stay, the first day and a half we were unable to go to the parks due to the rains the area was having. The only complaint I have about the hotel (other than the alarms) is that the housekeepers would come clean our room at 8:30 in the morning on a few days that we stayed, it was bothersome because we weren't even ready as the parks didn't open until 10 on these days! The closeness of the hotel (about a 10 minute walk to the front gates) was perfect if we wanted to come back to the park for a little breather. The hotel had a pool on the top floor, but we didn't use it because it wasn't warm enough. All in all I really felt that we got our money's worth from our stay at the hotel. I would recommend anyone who doesn't like noise to requset a room on the south side of the complex. It made for a pleasent stay, although the hotel isn't the Grand Californian, it serves its purpose and I will definately be coming back.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/24/04 - 01/03/2005
Reviewer: Justustwo Des Moines, Washington     January 07, 2005
Other than a water leak in through the window, which was prompltly fixed the next morning, we were very satisfied with this hotel. Very large room that fulfilled our needs for the 10 day stay we spent here. Our room was cleaned daily, leaving us us plenty of towels, etc. Staff was VERY friendly and willingly helped when we asked and the continental breakfast more than met our needs to get our mornings going. For the price, compaired to other hotels we have stayed at we would surely recommend and will stay here again!
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Dec 24 2004- Jan 3-2005
Reviewer: downeyjrs Seattle, WA     January 06, 2005
My family of 7, 4 adults, 3 children had a "View Suite" for 10 nights. $2,000 for the entire stay. The suite was very large with 3 separate/private queen beds. The living room was large had a curved 10 window 180 degree panoramic view of the resort. This was very nice. On nights we didn't feel like being in the park, we were able to watch the fireworks unobstructed from our room. The room was clean and well kept by the cleaning crew. The entire staff was wonderfully friendly and helpful. During the storm, the window by my bed had water coming in through the top of the metal frame. It was fixed the next morning and we received a generous discount on our room for the rest of our stay. This hotel is not fancy, but is a nice, clean place to lay your head. It is as close to the crosswalk to the main entrance as you can get, so, it's maybe a 5 min walk to the resort. Over the years, we have stayed at several other places, including the D/L hotel. But for the cost and convienience, you can't beat this place. Would definately stay here again.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   December 24, 2004-January 3, 2005
Reviewer: rie2three Seattle, WA     January 06, 2005
I had the 4th floor mini-suite. The suite consisted of two bedrooms, one of them private. Both rooms had a tv. Main room had a mini refrigerator and microwave tucked in a hutch. Two problems I see with this particular suite. First, being on the 4th floor and below the breakfast room, the loud noises from overhead assure you of an early wakeup. The staff starts setting up around 6:00 am and patrons are up there until 9:00 a.m. Secondly, their carpets could use some steam cleaning. The bathroom was adequate. Shower head seemed a little low but room was clean. The service at the front desk was friendly and helpful, especially from George and Rosa. Anything needed from housekeeping was quickly delivered. While reading another review, it was mentioned there is a $0.75 charge for placing phone calls. This was mentioned at the front desk and circled on the post card given to me. The location of the hotel is great. It's just a couple of driveways from the main entrance of Disneyland. There no hotel shuttle service but a private chauffeur company is available for minimal pricing should you want to go somewhere local. I would stay here again but definetly not in the suite where the breakfast room is over you.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   12/8/04 to 12/14/04
Reviewer: eryn British Columbia     December 16, 2004
I chose this hotel because of a fairly good experience in 2002 and the microwave/fridge is great to have. I will never stay there again! Some silly little things like the shower head was only about as high as my chest and the drain wouldn't work so I had a foot bath along with my shower. These things aren't the reason. The first package of jam I opened from the breakfast room was moldy so I decided to have a muffin that turned out to be the one that tasted like cleaner and was maybe left out in the sun to dry up. I took these things to the front desk and was told 'sorry'. I'm hoping nobody got sick from the moldy jam. Then the 2 queens turned out to be 1 queen and the worst hyda-bed ever. I actually just slept on the floor because it was softer! and the final thing that made my decision was when I went to check out and get my $30 deposit back on the room keys. She said she owed my 17.25$. I asked why. Because I had used the phone. Yes, with my calling card. Well, you are charged 75 cents for using the phone each time! WHAT?!! Nobody had said that to me! Yes, but it's on the little card you get when you check in. Well, I'm normally a quiet person but I freeked out! Just to order pizza, 75 cents! It would have been cheaper to use the pay phone! Anyway, that is why I will never go back. On the other side, it's very close to the park, room was well cleaned, free toast and fruit and the fridge/microwave are great. The pool has a 30 person max but it was hard to fit 6 people in. Also not hot tub and it took a long time to get towels up there.
 
1 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   11/09/2004 - 11/14/2004
Reviewer: NoCalDad Folsom, CA     November 16, 2004
We ( two adults & 2 kids) stayed in the Carousel for 5 nights over Veteran's Day weekend. I asked for a no smoking room on a high floor and was assigned 506 (no smoking,top floor). Staff was friendly when we checked in. Parking was no problem. The room was clean. We got a standard room, which was of average size. There were two queen beds, a small table with 2 chairs, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing board. Breakfast consisted of toast, oatmeal, pasteries, apples and oranges, juice, and coffee and tea. It was enough to keep you going for a couple of hours. The breakfast room was on the fifth floor looking at DCA. It was open all the time which was nice option when looking for somewhere to hang out and have a drink (with the other families we traveled with) during our breaks from the park.

The best feature is the location. The walk to the park is short and easy. Stopping for a nap was no problem.
There are several eateries on the block, including Mimi's Cafe, which are a nice (cheaper) alturnative to eating dinner in the park every night.

We booked on their website for 62$ a night. I will stay here again.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page