Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Carousel Inn and Suites
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1530 S. Harbor Blvd, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 40 ( Displaying Reviews: 31 - 40 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December1-5, 2003
Reviewer: illudium (illudium@hotmail.com) Oakland, California     December 12, 2003
This was our second stay at the Carousel, and we may never stay anywhere else. I should mention our previous stays were at the Hyatt and the Sheraton. We had a standard room at the Carousel both times. (The first room was way in the back in the single level bldg. It was a bit bigger and quieter, but no elevator. Second room was third floor of main bldg.) With two toddlers, we couldn't ask for a better place. A large refrigerator, microvave and onsite laundry are bonuses to the real reason for staying- the easy walk back and forth between the hotel and resort.(Naptime!!!) Yes, there are some occasional drawbacks- the hot water availability is sporadic at peak times- and we'd like to see the carpets cleaned a little more often (those floor dwelling toddlers you know). Still- the staff is friendly and helpful. We had a drain problem in the shower the first stay that was taken care of quite promptly. The maids patiently worked around our unpredictible schedule- we were always popping in and out for coats and diapers and snacks and naps. Our beds/pillows were stiff but acceptably comfortable (hey, not everyone can be the Westin!) The free breakfast is generous (if you get there on time!) and with MC D's next door and Mimi's a block away, you can't beat this hotel for a stay with kids. Great room price to boot! ( I booked online) To sum up- it's a nice clean average room with great kid conveniences at a very reasonable price you can easily walk back and forth to the parks from. Yay Carousel!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 19 - 26 2003
Reviewer: Biscuit New Zealand     November 04, 2003
I concur with everything that has been stated above - the hotel is great value if you're looking for a basic place to sleep.

I'd also like to add they have an easy to use self-laundry service, plus a large locker room for luggage if you're checking in/out early and require storage for a few hours while you stroll the area.

The pamphlets and information provided in-room and in-lobby are very helpful, recommending local restaurants, attractions, services, and even providing fast food delivery to hotel door by some local take out bars.

Lobby staff will also exchange travellers cheques and large cash denominations.

We used a basic 2 Queen bed room ($US59 a night, stay 6 get one free through my travel agent), which for two people was a good size, but would be cramped for 4 people.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Memorial Day weekend 2003
Reviewer: DrivingtoDisneyAZ Mesa, AZ     October 31, 2003
This was your standard 2 queen bed room. I believe the rate was $79/night through Expedia last minute.

Unfortunately, we were placed in a non-refurbished room which was supposedly non-smoking but you wouldn't know it. The couple we travelled with got a refurbished room, which looked bright and more comfortable.

Positives: nice large refrigerator and microwave, sink area was separate from the toilet/shower, close proximity to the park, IHOP nearby, friendly staff.

Negatives: Flat pillows, terribly slow maid service (they'd show up late afternoon during nap time), dingy smelly room (though that might have improved by now), uncomfortable beds, cramped for space

Overall I wasn't terribly impressed with the place. But for the right price I might try it again now that all rooms have been redone.
 
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   aug 22 aug 28 2003
Reviewer: Sandy (aruba91811@cs.com) York, PA     September 03, 2003
Really pretty rooms with wooden sash windows. Flowers hanging from balconies. Hand painted elevators of flowers with a small water fountain across from elevator. Front desk really helpful and friendly. They have printed out directions to all of the airports just ask. I walk slow and it was only 5 mintues from lobby to the park. Breakfast fruits, juicies, muffins, toast, oatmeal, coffee. Iron, ironing board, hairdryer, coffee maker, microwave, mini fridge which was larger then most. McDonalds, Ihop, Dennys, Tony Roma with in 3 minutes.
 
10 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 30 - April 1, 2003
Reviewer: donelurkin San Francisco, CA     April 02, 2003
This was the first time we stayed at the Carousel, after previously using the Desert Inn & Suites and the Portofino. We stayed in a two bedroom suite, which was very nicely remodeled. It had two double beds in the front room, and a queen bed in the rear room. Each room had a full bath, and a TV, and the rear room had a refrigerator and microwave as well. The furniture was brand new (it still had the brochures in the drawers) and we could see a few other rooms also being remodeled down the hall.

The rate for the room was $159 a night, and we were able to obtain a $149 rate after quizzing the staff on available discounts. The continential breakfast consisted of coffee, juice, pastries, muffins, and lots of fruit. The lounge where the breakfast is served has also been remodeled, and comfortably seats a lot of guests, with a TV to watch and a great view of Disneyland's fireworks out the large windows. There is also a rooftop pool with lounge chairs and a couple of tables. We enjoyed the pool, but, alas, there is no hot tub.

Unlike some other places where we have stayed, the soundproofing seemed adequate, as we were not awakened by late-returning guests (an unfortunately common event from past trips). Overall, given the freshness of the remodel, the clean rooms, and the "extra" bath, we found the Carousel to be a good value and we plan to return. You simply cannot beat being right across the street from the entrance to Disneyland!
 
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Dec. 6 thru Dec 8
Reviewer: Sonya in Boise Boise, Idaho     December 11, 2002
Regular room with 2 queen beds. $99.00 per night, buy one night get one free (49.50 each night) booked via their website.
I was impressed with this motel, considering the price I paid. The front desk staff upon check in were very pleasant. We had a few problems with our room (key did not work, tv did not work, phone was ripped from wall) and all of them were fixed with in minutes. The maintenance staff was very friendly and quick to fix the problems.

The room had 2 queen beds, micro, large fridge, tv, sink outside bathroom, large bathroom with tub. Plenty of towels and shampoo/soap. Nice beds and soft pillows. Only neg. was the carpet has some stains and iron burns. Room had very nice wood furnishings and floral bed spreads. Kinda a country garden feel. The free breakfast was various danishes, 3 types of muffins, apples, oranges, bananas, croissant, jelly, fruit punch, coffee, tea, orange juice. The breakfast room was very big and had a view of DL.

Pool was on the roof but was under construction while we were there. There are several different building to the motel. One 5 stories, one 2 stories, and one 1 story. The buildings are built over the parking area, so parking is under the building with the exctiption of the 2 story building where parking is directly in front of the room. Breakfast is served in the 5th floor of the 5 story building.
Disneyland is a short 5 minute walk and I do not think they provide a shuttle.

There is a mini mart in the motel next door that has reasonalbe prices for milk, juice, beer and snack foods. Mimi's is a few motels the other way as is McDonalds (who's prices seem typical).

Front desk staff upon check out was a bit less friendly, but overall this was a great place to stay for a cheap price. Well worth the money.
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   February 8th 2001 - February 15th 2001
Reviewer: maccammac (mackenzythegreat@hotmail.com) Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada     November 20, 2002
This hotel was a great stay for the price, amenities and the fact that it was directly across the road from the entrance to Disneyland. Room was a good size, nice appearance, friendly staff. It was a great place to just sleep and relax in. Nothing too fancy because after all your just sleeping there. Great breakfast room upstairs with an excellent overview of the park. Everything was within walking distance no longer than a 5 minute walk to get anywhere on Harbor Blvd and again a great place to stay.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   8/18 -8/20
Reviewer: pompom616 Las Vegas, NV     September 02, 2002
This was our first time staying here and plan on staying again in both November and April. It is the perfect motel to stay in when all you are doing is sleeping there. It's nothing fancy but the room was clean and the price was right. And you can't forget about the location. Not only is it across the street from Disney but there is a McDonald's next store and an IHOP and Denny's down the street. We did not use any of the facilities so I cannot comment on them. I have it booked for November at a rate of $59 a night.
 
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   7/14/02-7/17/02
Reviewer: disguy San Jose, California     August 14, 2002
I actually took the advice of I someone off MP. I'm glad I did! We got a rate of 69.00 the first night and 59.00 for the others. The room was very clean and newly painted (like with in a day new) the rooms were average size for a two bed room. The bathroom was great and it was nice to have the fridge and coffee maker. The staff was fantastic. I planned on using my credit card to charge the rooms and as they tried to charge my card it would not go through I later found out my Credit card company went bankrupt and had closed (my luck) They were great about it and gave me the room with no charge for the night till I made it to the bank the next morning. I did not have a chance to take a look at the pool but I'm sure it matched the rest of the quality of the hotel. Plenty of places to eat nearby. I would stay here again in a heart beat! The location was great the price was great and the room!
 
13 out of 15 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Various Dates in the Last Year
Reviewer: Disney Nick San Jose, CA     July 14, 2002
I've stayed at this hotel about 3 times in the last year and everytime I've gotten a rate of $59/night from Orbitz. This hote is right accross the street from Disneyland and very much exceeded my expectations. The rooms are clean and neat, mine have always had 2 queen beds. They have a full-length mirror, and a sink outside the bathroom. A pretty basic room, but suiting my needs. Free continental breakfast, pool on top of the hotel. It is very close the DL, less than a 5 min walk. There is also an IHOP, McDonalds, and MiniMart all within 3 minutes walking distance. Great hotel if you are looking for something nice and basic to get you through your stay.
 
20 out of 21 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page