Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Catal Restaurant & Uva Bar
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
The Patina Group presents Catal Restaurant & Uva Bar. The 2nd floor restaurant features Mediterranean fare, with a great view of Downtown Disney. The outside Uva Bar serves a limited menu and beverages in an open air setting.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 11 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   March 28, 2008
Reviewer: Tanta Southern California     March 31, 2008
Dining here nearly ruined my Disneyland trip. Two adults and one child ate there because every other "good" restaurant in the park was booked solid. Now I know why this one was nearly empty. The prices are exhorbitant for the meals served. $20 for a scoop of pasta just barely coated with tomato sauce! No meatball, no meat sauce, not even a small salad, and not so much as an extra spoonful of sauce dribbled over the pasta. The taste was completely mundane (I could have done better at home with a jar of Classico). And one of the meals was served cold! The child ordered the $12 cheeseburger from the kids' menu and advised us that it "wasn't very good" - it had a grainy texture and very little flavor. Okay, Disneyland is not a cheap vacation, and one must understand that food costs a lot more there than at home. But if you have money to burn in Anaheim, burn it in a place where at least you'll get a decent meal. IMO, Disney should be ashamed to have this rip-off joint operating under its banner.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Saturday, September 24, 2005, 11:30 PM
Reviewer: Andrew Palo Alto, CA     February 06, 2006
Guests: Adrienne, Tony & AVP, Alex, Sheila, Mox, Jennifer and me
What we had: Calamari appetizer, spicy chicken wings appetizer, chicken Panini sandwich, Gazpacho, Manchego compressed salad, Cobb salad, penne pasta with tomato sauce. I don't recall who had what except that I had the salad and Jen had the pasta.

Service: Fair to good. Granted this was a large group (eight) on a busy night, but we were rather neglected at times. It took probably twenty minutes to get a table (or more accurately, two round tables pushed together), but drink and food orders were taken pretty quickly. The worst wait was, unaccountably, when it came time to request the check; our server was nowhere to be found. Drink refills were reasonably frequent.

Nearby smokers were again an issue, especially the guy with a stogie at the next-but-one table. As the Uva Bar was the only place still serving food at this late hour, we were stuck unless we wanted to go to Denny's.

Would we go back: Despite the somewhat negative tone above, the answer is still yes. In fact, we'll likely be there tomorrow night, and I'm eagerly anticipating a Ketel One martini.
 
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   5/20/2004
Reviewer: melsa24 La Habra, California     July 23, 2004
My friend and I stopped of to eat at The Uva Bar at Downtown Disney and were pleasantly surprised by the attentive staff and the hearty meal. After nothing but chicken fingers and french fries in the park, my Ahi Tuna salad was a welcomed change of pace. The flavor was unique and the salad was filling for its price of about $15. My friend and I shared the mezze platter, which was great. The drinks are a bit expensive but they have a lot of choices that I've never seen before. The best part about our experience had to be the service. Our server Rachel went out of her way to accomodate us with changes in our party size and requests from the menu. She was very attentive and funny and made our dinner a true experience. I definately reccomend going by the uva bar, even if it is just for a drink. and say hi to Rachel for us!
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   2004
Reviewer: TP2000 Villa Park, CA     June 29, 2004
Catal has become my favorite Downtown Disney restaurant. It had a bit of a rocky start in 2001 with excellent food delivered with poor to mediocre service, but the service really improved in 2002-2003. I visit Catal about once a month now, and the food is always delicious! The new prix fixe three to five course menu with wine pairings is fantastic, and the last three times I've chosen the prix fixe menu it was sensationial from start to finish. Beware, the wine pairings they serve with the prix fixe menu are full glasses of wine and not the half-glasses often served with a "wine pairing" menu, so lightweight drinkers should plan on having a ride home. I highly recommend the escargot, any of their lamb or beef entrees, and their cheese course with fruit salsa is fabulous. Don't miss Catal for a sophisticated, delicious and adult-oriented meal in the middle of Downtown Disney!
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   September 05, 2003
Reviewer: mickeyfan144 Guerneville, CA     September 16, 2003
This is my favorite place. Everytime I am in Disneyland I eat here. This trip we ate at the Uva Bar. My husband and I both had the Grilled Mahi Tuna Salad. A must have. It is exquisite. This is also the best place for a Lemon Drop Martini. Desert must be the Creme Brule trio. I cannot recommend this place more highly. I have eatten in the main restaurant also, equally as wonderful. If you are looking for a fun place with great food, Uva is your place.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 27, 2003
Reviewer: kowen Hagerman, Idaho     March 31, 2003
We ate here really as a last resort and ended up being glad we did. Everything else in downtown Disney was full and the waits were too long. We were able to sit in the outside area and had a wonderful meal. The cheeseburger was great - huge - and served with fries. The kids meals were large as well with a huge selection including dessert (a banana split). My older son had the BBQ boneless ribs (not a kid's meal) and loved them. My husband had a chicken sandwich of some sort (can't remember the exact name) and said it was delicious. The alcoholic beverages and beer however were very expensive - about $6.50 for a mixed drink. We had great service though and really enjoyed eating here and would not hesitate to do so again.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   30 July 2002
Reviewer: CarlieB New Zealand     September 19, 2002
My boyfriend and I ate at the Uva Bar our first night at the resort on our most recent trip. When we were last at the resort Downtown Disney and DCA had not been opened, so the whole area was new to us. We had a walk around and then decided to sit down and have a drink. We each had a beer (fairly expensive at $6.50 each) and looked at the menu. We ordered the seared tuna and rotiserrie chicken and shared them between us. Both dishes were very good, and the service from our waiter was excellent. The Uva Bar is a lovely place to sit and people-watch while enjoying a drink and a meal - I was sorry we did not go back duing our stay.
My ratings for the Uva Bar:
Service: very good
Price: reasonable (although the drinks were a little pricey). Dinner, drinks and tip came to about $40
Food: Very good
Atmosphere: Very nice.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   7/16/02, 7/18/02
Reviewer: SpamSpamSpam Astoria, Oregon     July 27, 2002
The Uva Bar is a delightful place to take a break and do a little people watching, or lay plans for the rest of the day. The bar provides a fair pour and experienced elixer-mixers. The wait staff are friendly, attentive, and quick. I had the greek salad. It was fresh, delicious, and well presented. A couple of days later we tryed the upstairs restaurant for a late dinner and it was just right. The Ossu Boccu was tender and presented on a bed of garlic mashed potatoes with a light sauce that made the dish very happy. The waiter exhibited an understanding of the importance good timing by being there when needed and not asking how everything was while my mouth was full (important fine point). There was one little slip-up when my wife asked for salt and had to ask twice. Minor infraction. You should eat here.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   3 May 2002
Reviewer: shevys Tucson     July 20, 2002
Catal Restaurant is a very nice looking restaurant, but in our visit we found the service and ambiance was severely lacking. We initially had a seat outside on the balcony, but between the music from the restaurant and the music from Downtown Disney, we were getting too much of both and requested to be moved inside. There was an empty table near the fireplace that we asked to move to and the hostess (rudely) told us no, the section was closed. Of course, while we were waiting for a different table she sat someone where we requested. Needless to say that torqued me a bit. Personally, I was ready to walk out and try something else, but since it was so late (after 10 p.m.) we decided to stick it out. Our "server" was horrible, taking inordinate amounts of time to bring drinks, salads, dinner, and check. In fact, it wasn't until after our dinner came and he brought the check (didn't bother to ask if we wanted dessert) that he finally asked how everything was, and the place wasn't busy at all. There were maybe seven tables being waited on by three waitstaff. The food itself was good, but nothing exceptional and nothing that stands out in my mind two months later. We did complain to the manager about the service, and he gave a lame apology and offered to buy our dessert ("Umm...can we see a dessert menu?") and coffee. I had to laugh at that one.

NOT RECOMMENDED
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 18, 2002
Reviewer: HBTiggerFan Huntington Beach, CA     July 14, 2002
My friend and I eat at the Uva Bar on a semi-regular basis, we are fans of their calamari and mezze platter. This outdoor tapas and drink bar is a more relaxed atmosphere than the inside seating in Catal restruant. We were quoted a 30 minute wait, which was more like 15 minutes. The Uva bar was packed. Our server (Sarah) came and greeted us, came back and took our drink order. She promptly brought our drinks and we were ready to order. I ordered the calamari ($6.95) and the mezze platter ($7.95) and an ice tea ($2.??), while my friend ordered a greek salad ($6.??) and mezze platter ($5.95) and a glass of wine ($5.??). There was a mix-up with our orders and they brought out 2 calamari and one mezze platter. The food runner fixed this quickly. The food, as always was excellent.
When the bill came it was still wrong. Sarah apologized and took care of it, deleating the second calamari and not charging us for the second mezze platter. Throughout the entire meal Sarah was friendly, polite and extremely attentive. It was visible that she had several other large parties, yet she never made us feel inferior because we were a party of two. She made sure our drinks were full and told us to take our time when we were done. My friend had a second glass of wine. We left quite a large tip and our total with tip came to $50.00.

In short: Excellent food, excellent service, fairly reasonable prices (total came to $30.??) before tip. Will go there many times in the future. Request Sarah if you can.
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page