Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Ariel's Grotto - Ariel's Disney Princess Celebration
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Ariel's Grotto is home to Ariel and the other Disney Princesses. Join Ariel, Cinderella, Snow White, Belle and Sleeping Beauty for lunch or dinner.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 45 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   January 4, 2006
Reviewer: potterphreak Modesto, CA     January 07, 2006
Had a 5:40pm PS, arrived about 5:30 and waited about 20 minutes to be seated. We were seated downstairs, smack dab at the table the Princesses come to first. There were 4 of us in our party, 2 adults and 2 children, ages 6 and 2.
Order:
Adult #1-French Onion Soup, Meatloaf and Three for the Rocky Road
Adult #2-Swimmin' Chicken Noodle Soup, Fish & Chips and Three for the Rocky Road
6 year old-Chicken Noodle Soup, Fish and Chips and Root Beer Float
2 year old-Carrots and Celery, Octa-Dog Mac & Cheese and ice cream sundae
We had an amazing waitress, very attentive and fun. When the meatloaf came out, my MIL sent it back saying it was too "herb-y" and instead got the Fish and Chips like me. The food was GREAT, the interaction was PHENOMENAL (it was timed so that each Princess came out at a different time and they went table to table to table) and the service was excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant, it is definitely the best Character meal we have ever eaten at (Pooh at Plaza Inn 2 times, Princesses at Plaza Inn once, Goofy's Kitchen once). We will never come without going here.
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   11/19/05
Reviewer: HILNDKID Salt Lake City, UTah     November 21, 2005
We had dinner at 6:15PM, with priority seating we were able to only wait a few minutes and were seating outside by the pier which was very nice. We saw and visited with 4 princess' and the kids were loving it. The food was fair with not much of a variety, so I had a $22.00 salad!! It took FOREVER to get the food, get the desert and get out of there, don't know why it took so long. It was nice for the kids and we may do that again.
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Friday, November 18
Reviewer: Mommy mouse Davis, CA     November 21, 2005
We had a 11:30 reservation and arrived about 11:25 with our son age 4 and daughter age 6. My daughter is a huge princess fan and my son was a bit lukewarm to the idea. We were seated around 11:35 and our drink order was taken promptly, so promptly in fact we missed the first go around. The kids had the chicken noodle soup (a bit too chunky for their liking, though I thought it was good) and my husband and I had the onion cheese soup. I thought the soup was a bit salty and the cheese kind of bland, but my husband really liked it. The princesses started coming after the first course. We met Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Ariel, Snow White, and Belle. We did not feel rushed and it was very predictable when they would come to our table. Both of my kids enjoyed the interaction and my son even commented on how pretty they were. Lunch was the octa-dog mac and cheese for my daughter, mickey nugget bucket for son, chicken caeser for husband, and the salmon BLT for me. Everyone enjoyed their dinners. The servings were huge and none of us finished our food. For dessert (included with the meal) the kids had root beer floats (they loved them), I had the peach cobbler (a bit too much cinnamon, but tasty), and the husband had the apple dessert which was very good. The service was prompt and overall the food was good. We found it to be a great way to meet the princesses, enjoy a sit-down meal, and take a break from the fast-pace our park day had been. We left with clean pails and shovels, a cute pin, gold paper crowns, and a to-go box of cotton candy to be enjoyed when we weren't so full.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   Sunday October 16, 2005
Reviewer: tlovesdis (tlovesdis@yahoo.com) Antioch, CA     October 25, 2005
We had dinner here and were very disappointed. We had a PS for 6pm and were seated promptly, but we ended up being there for 2 hours because the service was just terrible! The food was mediocre at best. We did see 4 princesses, Ariel, Snow White, Aurora, and Belle, but it was not worth $22! We will be skipping this in the future!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Sept. 16th 2005
Reviewer: ima_mickeyfan athena, oregon     October 20, 2005
Reservations for lunch at 1:20pm was for 1 adult and 2 children. The inital plan was for dh to have a nice lunch with his 2 little princesses, but we changed that and made it a girls lunchen in stead and invited my sister inlaw to join us. We got to the Reservation booth and gave the lady our name, I explained that our reservation was only for 3, would they be able to add another person to that. She called down stairs to check and was told it would be a wait. Ok no problem, turned around to tell the guys that we had to wait and in the same second was called...our table was ready...lol said by to our hubbies and my 2 boys, they were heading for a "man's" adventure. We were handed gold crowns and seated outside with a beautiful view of the water and park. Our server came over and took our drink order then came back for our lunch order. I had the French Onion Soup and Cheeseburger. Sister in law had the Salad and the Salmon sandwich. dd's had veggies w/ranch dip 1 had mickey nuggets and the other had a cheeseburger. I should mention that dd's had both dressed up as their favorite princess for this special lunch, one was cinderella the other snow white. Snow white was the first one to our table and she was very nice and talked alot with the girls, although the girls let her do all the talking I think they were in shock of the whole princess experience! lol
they finally started to talk to her while we were taking pictures. We were visited by Ariel she was a little "dry" but the girls loved her, next came belle in her yellow dress she stayed for quite sometime visiting the girls. then there seemed to be a gap, a little break, which was nice cause then we were able to eat. Next came princess Jasmine, keep in mind we were at goofy's kitchen the night before and a different princess Jasmine spent alot of time with my 2 daughters there and got to know them by name. Ok so the "new" princess Jasmine comes to our table and say's "why hello Makayla and Eboni, do you remeber me from last night?" OMG!! did their faces light up the fact that princess jasmine remebered them and their names was the icing on the cake for the entire day!!! I just so happend to turn around to see the next character and it was pocahontas, whom was princess Jasmine at goofy's kitchen the night before. Come to find out, she had seen the girls and told the new Jasmine their names. I was SO Impressed with that, I truely saw the disney magic that day! well we finished with lunch and was waiting for our check when dessert came, OMG no room for that, but we had to try it...I had the overload of something chocolate. Our server then brought out 2 clean pails and shovels for the girls and some cotton candy ontop of it all!!! What a great and wonderful experince we had! Our only wish would have been to see Cinderella but she never showed, the mice were keeping her. but the whole Princess Jasmine experience totally made up for it! I highly recommend the experience
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   Sept 30, 2005
Reviewer: lovesthemouse New York city     October 14, 2005
We arrived at 6:25 for a 6:20 priority. The hostess called downstairs that she had a party of 3 who wanted a late seating. We stated that it was only 5 min and she said that we would have to wait. We went to the waiting area downstairs and noticed that the restaurant was only about 30% full. The menu was disappointing- it seemed like a lunch menu with mostly sandwiches, burgers and salads. There was meat loaf and a pasta dish. we decided to wait. After about 20 minuets we were brought into an inside room. No one else was seated there and many of the tables were still covered with the former diners dishes. We asked to be seated outside- again there were more empty tables then full ones and were refused. We were told they were no longer seating anyone outside that night-Note the park was open until 10PM. We stated that if we couldn't get a table outside that we would leave. The hostess said with an attitude that that was our perojative. We left. This is my 4th trip to DL and I've been to WDW about 15 times and this was the first time I found a take it or leave it attitude throughout the parks. I felt that that the attitude of many of the cast members was that they were doing you a favor just in doing their job. My prior experiences were that the cast members bent over backwards to ensure your good time. This was certainly not the case this time. I certainly hope that this experience is the exception and not the rule.
 
1 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June 11, 2005
Reviewer: jo and bruce South Dakota     October 06, 2005
The atmosphere here for family Disney fun is unbeatable. If you want plenty of interaction with the characters this is great. The staff was efficient. The only downside is the quality of the food. It is "ok." I did not mind the "ok" food for the above "ok" price however. We had terrible luck with the lines and availability of the characters in the parks and this gave us the pictures and interaction we needed to feel like we had a complete Disney experience. We left there without having to stand in some long line again to meet and other Disney characters..this made the whole thing worth it to us parents!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 29, 2005
Reviewer: laemee (laemee1@yahoo.com) North Bend, Oregon     July 13, 2005
We did this character meal for dinner & we're very entertained by the 7 characters available at this meal. There was a lot of getting up & dancing ! Most of the characters made it to our table, but everytime Minnie Mouse got close, the music started & off she went. After letting our waitress know, Minnie made a special stop & actually brought Mickey & Pluto with her for a photo with the whole family. The food here is very good, but as a whole, we didn't feel there were enough choices. You are given a choice of an appetizer, one entree & a dessert. But the servings are plentiful & by the time dessert comes, you're too full to eat. The wait staff here was always on the move & were kept quite busy. Our biggest disappointment with this meal was we had friends arriving 30 minutes after our seating & had requested if possible for them to be seated near us. We had empty tables all around us & when our friends arrived, they were seated farthest across the outside seating from us. (they had made the same request when they arrived & were told they were too busy to seat them by us) Those tables were never filled during our meal time.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 18th, 2005
Reviewer: Family5LovesDisney New Jersey     March 23, 2005
We had dinner here for our last night at Disneyland.

Service: Our waiter seemed like he was in an awful hurry. He took my soup away when I had only taken two spoonfuls (I was up taking pictures of my son with Chip and Dale when he took it away) Also, he wanted to know if we wanted our dessert right after he had served us dinner! We hadn't even taken a bite yet! LOL! Other then that, he did a good job!

Price: I'm not exactly sure but it was around $22 for adults and maybe $14 for the kids.

Food: Everyone had three choices. An appetizer (French Onion Soup, Chicken Noodle Soup, or a salad for the adults..........carrot and celery sticks with ranch dressing or chicken noodle soup for the kids), main meal, and dessert. Some of the main meal choices were more like lunch..........cheeseburger, fish and chips to be specific. But they did have a Penne Pasta Dish, Meatloaf, and a Chicken Pot Pie. My husband had the Pasta which he said was good. I had the Chicken Pot Pie which was pretty good. My boys enjoyed the Mickey Mouse nuggets. They were served in a beach bucket with French Fries and ketchup on the shovel that came with the pail. Very cute. There were lots of dessert choices. I had some sort of Rocky Road brownie with fudge sauce and Haggen Daz ice cream. The brownie was a little dry. They also served some cotton candy along with the dessert. My boys were quite excited about that.

Atmosphere: Better at night when the lights came on and you could see that they were shaped like underwater sea creatures. Great views of Paradise Pier out the windows. We were downstairs and inside as it was raining that night. The characters were great and the MOST I have ever seen at one character meal..........Donald Duck, Goofy, Max, Pluto, Mickey, Minnie, Chip, and Dale. QUITE the line up! There was a guy dressed up like a Captain and he led tons of games and dances. They did the limbo, line dances, and danced with maracas that were stored in a treasure chest. My boys LOVED ALL of this! We spent a good two hours in here for dinner!
 
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   May 2004
Reviewer: babytmakes5 Twin Cities, Minnesota     March 19, 2005
We dined at Ariel's Grotto for dinner. We had reservations for 6:20, but didn't get seated until nearly 7:00 pm! My husband was running late and we were meeting him, so it didn't really matter, but it was difficult keeping three small children busy waiting for our name to be called. The food choices were so limited and the prices were so high. I liked the atmosphere of the restaurant, so I might consider dining there again, maybe for lunch, during the week or something. The character interaction was much better than Goofy's Kitchen, but it still did not seem worth the extra $$. This was our third character meal during our trip, and it was not the worst, but I still expected better. The food was ok, but not better than some of the walk-up places in Disneyland. The worst part was their computers were not working when we wanted to pay our check, so it took them 40 MINUTES to process our bill! We couldn't leave, and I was getting a little upset. Apparently the system they use the charge a bill to your hotel room bill wasn't working, so they made us stay there like we were stealing or something--it was a very akward situation for us. In the end, everything worked out, but I personally think they should have compensated us for the trouble and all the waiting around we did. We were there for more than two hours altogether--it took up our whole evening. Luckily, we made it to the Electric Light Parade in time.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page