Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Corn Dog Castle
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Corn dogs, hot links and fries.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 16 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 2
Reviewer: ksuwildcats97 Herriman, Utah     April 08, 2009
Must try the hot link corn dog! So yummy! It's big enough to share with a friend.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   February 28, 2008
Reviewer: blue_dragon_fly (blue_dragon_fly@hotmail.com) Citrus Heights, California     May 01, 2008
First, these were recommended to us by a Major Foodie in the fine food biz (so who am I to complain?)

While my cohorts this trip all raved about these colossal corndogs (corn Polish-dogs, which is why they're so big), I was less than thrilled.

The problem I had was caused by the fact that they were SO POPULAR. By selling them so fast, there was no time for the cast members to set them down to drain off the excess grease - something required for any food product that's batter fried. They were hot, sure, but VERY greasy. They soaked through every napkin I set them on or wrapped them in.

That didn't stop my cohorts from going back for seconds (and a third round the following day!) I passed after a couple of bites with a slightly queasy stomach. No more for me, thanks. (I did enjoy the apple slices.)
 
1 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   02-02-08
Reviewer: tania1955 Mission Viejo, California     February 03, 2008
This place seriously has some amazing corn dogs. As my friends and I were eating them, we decided that whoever decided to put a hot dog in corn bread must have been a genius! These corn dogs are absolutely huge, and the taste is wonderful. Although there is no where to sit right next to the "castle" there are PLENTY of tables about a hundred feet away next to Mulholland Madness. And if you go there expecting tables, well then thats just silly because it states clearly in the description that its a walk up counter and no seating. This place is a must-see, and a must-eat!
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   February 4, 2006
Reviewer: Waste,Please! Houston, Texas     April 10, 2006
We had lunch at about 2 pm on a Saturday. The line for service was long and took at least 20 minutes. The regular corndogs were quite large, but the flavor was nothing special. The batter isn't very sweet. If you've ever eaten at Hot Dog on a Stick or had a State Fair brand corndog, these don't even come close. Menu selection was very limited (they only had plain potato chips/crisps). The price was reasonable and service was acceptable, but there's nowhere nice to sit. We were disappointed after reading all the positive reviews and won't go be going back.
 
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 27 & 28, 2005
Reviewer: CA Screamin Northern CA     July 31, 2005
Read the comments from the earlier ratings and had to plan a visit to Corn Dog Castle. I was not disappointed. The "Original Corn Dog" was delicious. It's true that you may need two hands to start eating the corn dog because it was longest corn dog I ever had. The batter coating was cooked just right. A light crunch with a slight sweetness in the coating. My kids took a bite from the corn dog I bought and decided to come back the next day to get their own. Sevice was quick for counter service. Try to avoid peak eating times if possible. The price is as you would expect for food in DCA. Seating areas near Corn Dog Castle is lacking. I would take a short walk to meet family members eating at Strips, Dips, 'n' Chips. There are plenty of shaded eatings areas in that location. The "Original Corn Dog" at the Corn Dog Castle gets my "No Leftover rating".
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   year-round, 2004
Reviewer: Megs Long Beach, California     March 08, 2005
This place is the BEST corndogs in the world. Well, Corndog Castle at DCA and the little Red Wagon on Main Street at Disneyland, that is. The corndogs are huge!
The pricing is usual for Disney...oh well...
The atmosphere is nice, typical carnival sights. Although it bothers me that there really isn't any place to sit! Especially on crowded days, you walk all over just trying to find a shady area to sit with lunch! We usually grab one of the trees shades right there near the Corndog Castle and sit on the little fence/bench near it.
The food, like I said, is delicious. I've only ever had the corndogs from there. They have the bagged chips that come with the corndogs also, but I don't like chips anyway. One thing that bothered me the last time I went...I just wanted a corndog, no chips or anything...but they don't have that. The chips come with it no matter what. So tell them you don't want the chips, you say. Yes, but I'm still paying just as much for a single corndog as I am for both the chips and the dog. So I might as well just take the chips and find someone who wants them!
And the service is perfect every time I visit! The cast members are patient and friendly. One cast member from there, upon seeing me coughing nearly to death while standing in line, called out the window to ask if I needed some water...very sweet, I thought!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Jan 29, 2005
Reviewer: Shortiemetoo Northern CA     February 04, 2005
O.K....I'll admit it...I thought all the rave reviews I heard about this place were just hype!! I LOVE corn dogs. Finally late one afternoon my daughter and I were hungry for a snack. We got one of the plain corn dogs. Oh my gosh! Not only was it yummy, but we shared it and couldn't even finish it!! They gave us lots of catsup and mustard packets. It was hot...and didn't taste too greasy at all. I would disagree that there is a lot of batter, in fact it was a little skimpy on the breading, but thats ok because it is huge!!! Anymore breading and we just would have had to leave more behind. Came with a bag of chips I got to share with a little girl too! Yum!!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   8/20/04
Reviewer: nursemelis374 GLendora, CA     August 26, 2004
I always enjot eating here because I really like getting the cheddar cheese-dog. I would have given it 5 planets, but there is no where to sit and occassionally the corndogs are burnt. They will replace it though, whic his nice.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   7/20/04
Reviewer: Pookie Kent, Washington     July 28, 2004
Yummy corn dogs! Lots of breading then there is dog but thats how I like them. Service was fast, but after you order there is no where to sit and eat. For 3 people it was about $20. Great place if you want something quick when your on the run.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   6/8/04, 5/29/04
Reviewer: feedle Orange, CA     July 10, 2004
Inconsistant seems to be the best word to describe Corn Dog Castle. I've been there and it's been great, other times terrible. There seems to be a training problem.. when a veteran cast member is at the helm, they are cooked to perfection. If you get a newbie, you will wind up invariably with an overcooked crispy critter. Complaints usually get resolved with a suitable replacement, so don't be afraid to point out when they've screwed up.

When properly prepared, they are actually a good value. A personal favorite while waiting Electrical Parade.. just watch for burned ones.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page