Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Desert Inn and Suites
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1600 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 2.9 out of 52.9 out of 52.9 out of 52.9 out of 52.9 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 36 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 3 to March 8, 2012
Reviewer: missm Washington     July 01, 2012
We stayed 5 nights (Saturday to Thursday), the total for the room with taxes and all was $427.05. Approximately $84 per night, we had mixed rates and I am not sure what the exact daily rates were.

We arrived way too early for our room to be ready (10:30 am) so we stored most of our luggage in a locker ($1 each). One suitcase wouldn't fit so we had the front desk staff hold it behind the counter. I really regret not writing down the name of the young man that checked us in because he was so helpful and friendly. He gave us various coupons for restaurants in Downtown Disney for free appetizers, etc.

We went to the park for a bit and then came back to check in around 4:00 pm. The room was really far back in the hotel but all of the two queen bed rooms are in the back is what I was told. We thought we were going to have another couple with us so we reserved a two bed room. The singles bed rooms are near the front of the hotel. I'm not sure if this is true but it is what we were told.

The room was really comfortable and big. The carpets were clean, the beds comfortable, and no mold anywhere! It seems that even really nice hotels have mold in the bathroom and this one didn't at all! There is a great little area with a fridge and shelf area for us to store our liquids we had delivered from Vons. Oh that's another thing, the front desk was willing to sign for our beer and wine we had ordered from Von's simply by checking our ID's. We ended up being there when it was delivered but it was nice to have that option.

Back to the room. The only negative thing was that we had runners out in the corridor. There was a cheerleading competition going on and we were unfortunate enough to be surrounded by young girls that stomped a lot. After they left on Monday the noise level went back to normal.

The bathroom won points from me because I like when the sink is outside of the toilet/shower area. There was more than enough space to store all of our luggage in the sink area as well.

We didn't do the continental breakfast because we eat all meals in the park when on vacation so I can't comment on it but it was busy every day so that might mean something good.

Between the front desk staff, clean rooms, and proximity to DLR this will be our new go to hotel.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 1 - 5th 2009
Reviewer: sjhanksaz Gilbert Arizona     February 01, 2010
We enjoyed our stay at Desert In.

The good -
CLOSE TO THE PARK
Room was clean and comfortable
We had a suite with 2 queens and a sleeper sofa and jacuzzi tub
Price was pretty good at under 90 per night
The view from the roof deck was great for watching the Fireworks

The not so good
Parking was tight but we never moved the car
Breakfast was minimal, bring some extra stuff to eat, or go out
The elevator was slow - we were on the top floor
My GPS took us 5 miles to the north, crazy GPS

All in all I would stay there again without hesitation.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June 18-22, 2009
Reviewer: backsthepack Goodyear, AZ     June 23, 2009
I booked directly with this hotel about a week prior to our stay. The price wasn't bad for a "suite". We paid an average of $119 per night. The suite was a small living room with a fold out couch and TV, and a bedroom that was much like a normal motel room. Having 2 TV's made a world of difference for us so that we were not stuck watching kid shows.

The walk to the park obviously was very short staying here. It was convenient having IHOP and Denny's both very close.

The room was fairly clean upon arrival (though we did find a lot of items left by the previous guests including socks and deodorant, which was rather gross), but cleaning was not maintained all that well on a daily basis. Beds were made and new towels left, but that was about it during the stay. The elevator broke for a day while we were there. We were on the 5th floor so that was very hard after a day at the parks. The pool was nice, but is small and so it was crowded at times. Having it indoors though was great to avoid the sun. Parking was nice, the garage kept the car much cooler than outside parking. The deck for viewing fireworks was nice, though you have to get up there early to get a chair. Not many are offered so most of us had to stay standing.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 20-21, 2009
Reviewer: chahn Arroyo Grande, CA     May 08, 2009
We just returned from our visit and it was great. We only stayed one night and we didn't need to move the car after it was parked. Our arrival coincided with checkout time so parking was not an issue even though they had a good chunk of the lot blocked off because they were painting the exterior of the buildings. Being in the underground garage kept the car nice and cool during the crazy heat.

The room was clean and had a coffee maker, fridge & microwave. The beds were fairly firm but not Motel6 hard. Our room had shutter style blinds rather than curtains so if you need it super dark to fall asleep, use a blanket or something to cover the window. I always travel with a couple of sarongs for this purpose (even when staying with family) because I'm really sensitive to light. The one thing I never found in the room was instructions/pricing for using the wifi.

The continental breakfast is pretty sparse. They had apples, pastry, toast and 2 kinds of cold cereal plus juice. We were already planning to eat elsewhere so I just went in to see what they had. We didn't use the heated indoor pool because it was over 100F but if it had been cooler we would have. We loved that they are only a couple doors down from the crosswalk to the main entrance.

On the whole we were pretty pleased with our stay and will probably stay again if we renew our APs.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 15 - 18, 2009
Reviewer: sjcivilady Lodi, Calif     March 25, 2009
We stayed in their C1 Family Suite, which was on the second floor. The room was very nice, with all the amenities as listed on their website. We got a very good rate of $101 per night, booking several months in advance through the hotel's website. Maids did an excellent job of cleaning our room every day. This is one of the closest hotels to the crosswalk, which is much appreciated at the end of the day. We arrived before our room was ready and they let us leave our car there, so we could walk over to the park. If the rate is good, this will be my first choice for future trips. (this was my 2nd time staying there).
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   January 3-7, 2009
Reviewer: wwomant Sacramento area, California     January 17, 2009
We were looking for an inexpensive hotel at maingate that had 2 room suites, and Desert Inn seemed to fit the bill nicely, so we booked. We found the best rates by calling directly, and got a rate of $139 for 1/3, and $79 for the rest on the Parlor Suite A.

The location, next to the crosswalk entrance to Disneyland, couldn't be beat. We had a room on the 5th floor. It was basic, although I could see they had attempted to spruce it up fairly recently with things like modern bed spreads, crown molding and plantation shudders. From each of the 2 windows we had view of each of the parks. That was nice. I was a little disappointed with some of the frills it lacked, like a closing closet, any kind of channel guide, and DVD players. It was very clean though and everyday housekeeping did an awesome job of cleaning up the mess we left in our room. The continental breakfast is good for maybe grabbing an orange and a danish to go, but nothing more. It consisted of:
Milk, cornflakes, cheerios, danishes, bread for toast, oranges, and a couple of fake juices, Tang and lemonade I think.

For the rates we got it was a great value and I would consider staying there again.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   October 2 - October 6 2008
Reviewer: dan1964 Salt Lake City, UT     October 09, 2008
I booked this hotel about 6 months in advance so got a decent rate of $60 a night for the standard "Deluxe" room. So for that reason I decided to give this MOTEL a try. It is closer to the crosswalk to Disneyland then the other MOTEL is stay at, the Anaheim Plaza. The walk from my room to the entry gate was just shy of 10 minutes. And my room was literally at the very back of the MOTEL on the 3rd floor.

Well, this motel is just that, a MOTEL. And it is definitely showing it's age, at least in the room that I had. Although everything seemed nice and clean, and the room did not have any smell of it's age, it just seemed so dingy, and the color scheme outdated.

Now, as far as I am concerned, I am the type of traveler who the room is just a place to crash, and the room served that purpose well. The bed was comfortable (though to me the bedding made the bed a little to warm...) Air conditioning worked fine, and kept the room a decent temp and though a little loud on the highest setting, was still acceptable.

The only thing that was a little off as far as I am concerned was the height of the shower head. I'm 6' tall, and the shower head was only at about 5 and a half feet. But again, this is an older MOTEL, and I guess when it was built, people were shorter. I never had a problem with the availability of hot water while taking a shower (although the knob for hot and cold water was reversed). The sink did not have the best water pressure, and even still would not drain fast enough.

It was nice to have a mini-refrigerator and microwave in the room. And I have to say the fridge worked great! Kept everything nice and cool as it was supposed to (I say this because I have stayed at MOTELS in the area that the fridge just barely kept things cool enough not to spoil). The room also had a small safe in it. It was a nice addition to keep things like spare camera, extra credit cards/cash in.

Overall, If I got a really good rate again, I might stay at this MOTEL, but I think that I will book with the Anaheim Plaza for my next trip. The rooms are just a little bigger .. and definitely have more light. (and the price of about $70 a night is good for the area).
 
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   July 3
Reviewer: azolivas Phoenix, AZ     July 25, 2007
I had booked 6 nites at the Desert Inn at $130 per night in their parlor suite A. We were travling with our three boys ages 2,4,6. Checked in around 11am, was told to come back anytime after 3pm for the keys. Went to the park and returned around 7:30pm, got the keys, walked into the room and was disappointed. The living room area was small and hot. The a/c unit was in the back of the bedroom, and the cool air never reached the living room. The sinks were outside of the bathroom in the bedroom. It basically felt like my old dorm room at ASU. Small and dingy! I decided I could not stay 6 nights at this place and told my wife I was going to walk down Harbor Blvd looking for a better place. It was 4th of July week so I was not optimistic. Luckily around 10pm I was able to get a family suite at the Camelot Inn (right next to the McDonalds). Went back to the Desert Inn and checked out right away. Since the wife and kids were already asleep, we would switch rooms in the morning.

The suite was GREAT! Very clean and each room had its own a/c unlike the Desert Inn! We were very happy and enjoyed the rest of our week there!

We are going back in October for a week!

Stay away from the Desert Inn unless you like small, seedy type motels. This would be the type of motel I would expect to find in North Las Vegas off the strip! The only thing this motel has going for it is it right next to the crosswalk to Disneyland.
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 18-20, 2007
Reviewer: wvnative Tempe, AZ     June 04, 2007
- Type/Class of room: Deluxe Room 236

- Accommodations Review: the room had 2 queen beds, TV, frig, and microwave. It was clean, well stocked, and easily accessible.

-Rate/Night (for your stay): I believe it was $109/nt but I'd need to double check my receipt at home.

-Ease of Disney Park Access: Super easy. Maybe a 5 minute walk.

General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: They do offer a continental breakfast but we weren't able to try it. It wasn't open when we left for the park Saturday morning and we had other plans for breakfast on Sunday.

- Pool Description/Comments: Indoor pool and spa. There were usually people in there as we passed by but we never went in. You could smell the chemicals as you walked by.

The front desk staff was very helpful at check in by doing a little room reassignment and getting us into a room that was ready since we were the first to arrive for check in. They have larger lockers ($1) you can use to store your luggage if you arrive early or leave late. We were able to put both 21" pullmans and the larger pullman in one locker easily.

One thing to note, I booked with Visa/debit card and they do put a hold on one night's stay 24 hours in advance. Caused a little panic on my end until I found out why the available balance dropped.

 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   October 16-25, 2005
Reviewer: annieb727 Tacoma, WA     July 16, 2006
· Date(s) of Stay: October 16-25, 2005

· Type/Class of room (Standard, Concierge, Park View, etc): We stayed in a Parlor A Suite - 2 Queen beds in one room with a fold out sofa bed in the other room. I believe we were on the 5th floor. We had three adults and two kids (ages 1 1/2 & 3 1/2) in our party.

· Accommodations Review: This is a basic motel room. Nothing fancy. Beds were ok - a place to sleep anyway, kind of hard beds. We drove down from Washington State, and parking was free. Parking was quite limited...we were lucky to find a parking spot above ground (I didn't want to use the underground parking they had - just seemed kind of creepy). They were good about it though...we got a parking ticket before we could even check in (we arrived about 8am - we drove thru the night). There is NO place to store clothes - there are no dressers, so we had to utilize the tops of the entertainment centers to store clothing. We had a fridge and microwave, two tvs.

We had a really cool view out our front door - we could see DCA and California Screamin' - I got some awesome sunset pictures!

One BIG problem was the elevator - it went out while we were there. I have foot problems and use a wheelchair while we are at DL and we had a double stroller with two kiddos in it. So at the end of the day, we had to carry up the wheelchair and the stroller as well as the kids.

I would stay there again...it's so close to the park - just go to the crosswalk and you're there...one of the closest motels to the parks. And for that - this hotel is TOTALLY worth it. We would stay there again no problem.

· Rate/Night (for your stay): $119/night Parlor Suite A

Ease of Disney Park Access: Very VERY easy to access park. About 5 minute walk to the park. Perfect location after a long day of walking in the park.

· Park Shuttle Comments: NONE - shuttle not necessary

· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: (Please submit a separate Restaurant Review for more specific comments) No restaurant or lounge. They do have a continental breakfast - meager - danishes, milk, juice, fruit.

· Pool Description/Comments: Indoor pool and hot tub. Pool closed at 10pm, but we did get to use the hot tub a couple of nights. We met some great families sitting in that hot tub. We didn't utilize the pool...there were wild kids in it, whose parents didn't tame down at all. It was noisy because it was indoors and a small room. But definitely useful year round.

 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page