Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Blue Ribbon Bakery
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Baked goodies and sandwiches, plus seasonal treats.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 8 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 8 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   November 23, 2008
Reviewer: ralfrick By the SF Bay     December 03, 2008
Stopped here mid-morning for some chocolate croissants and beverages. The boy also insisted upon a gingerbread man after the smell in the ballroom at Haunted Mansion Holiday. Although a decent amount of chocolate, the croissant is more like a roll in texture, missing the buttery flakiness one would expect. Gingerbread man was soft and moist. Beverages were hot tea and cocoa for the wife and boy, while I had milk. Milk was fairly cold, but a very small bottle. Tab was about $17. We ate at a table on East Center Street, and while there encountered the dream squad distributing lanyards, so that was a bonus. I wouldn't rule out a return visit, but would go for a muffin or something else.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Week of Dec 3-Dec 7 numerous times!
Reviewer: WhichIsStitch Flagstaff, AZ     December 27, 2007
We love this bakery for stocking up on treats on the way out to snack on at our hotel most nights! They have the best hot chocolate and many times we only make it as far as the tables next to the bakery before we consume mass quantities of goodies! Even though the lines were long each night we were there, the CM's were patient and cheerful. One night we were missing some cookies we had selected and paid for. We had sat down to rest when we noticed. When we went back and showed our receipt the CM's apologized and replaced the cookies quickly with a smile.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   1st November 2006 (21 days)
Reviewer: gabrielle2106 Australia     December 04, 2006
We just love this place. Each morning we would head straight down Main street to the Bakery for the best cup of coffee in the park. The baked goods are wonderful but sooooo big. Price is ok for what you get, I had a chocolate filled croisant and it was superb if just too large for one person. The bakery is always spotless, well stocked and the CM's are so friendly. Stop and chat with Michael, he has worked at the Park for 23 years and knows so much of the history, he is a wealth of information.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   year-round, 2004
Reviewer: Megs Long Beach, California     March 07, 2005
Oh this place is like Heaven on Earth...I swear! Great cup of coffee...I LOVE the iced mochas! They're the best! And the cinnamon buns are amazing! I really want to try a sandwich from there sometime also...haven't yet, but I will next time.
Prices are the usual Disney prices. *shrug* I won't complain cause it gets old.
The service is usually good and as speedy as possible. That place is sometimes CRAZY in the mornings, and then other times it's just perfect...it all depends on the day and season. I always loved going there for a fresh cup of morning coffee when I worked at Disneyland.
And, the coffee is all special Disney blend...good stuff...
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   5/22/04
Reviewer: beanpole Oakland, California     June 17, 2004
Starting my day at Disneyland with breakfast items purchased from the Blue Ribbon Bakery has been tradition for years. While there are some healthful selections available such as fresh fruit and yogurt, this cheerfully decorated place offers a wide variety of rich, sweet bakery delights for those who have no objections to massive quantities of simple carbohydrates. Hey, you're in Disneyland. It's okay!

Service is consistently good. With 3-4 stations in operation, lines move fairly fast. Orders are usually ready within 5 minutes of submitting them to the cashier.

The double mochas are lacking in coffee flavor and strength. Still, they are rich with chocolate syrup and hot milk, so the weakness of the coffee can be overlooked.

There are three bakery items that I recommend. One, the cinnamon bun, is about the size of a pound cake and is served drowning in thick, sugary, buttercream frosting flavored with cinnamon and vanilla. Ask the server to warm it up for you and be sure to grab a handful of napkins. After you have eaten the entire roll, a spoon might come in handy for finishing off the frosting that sits an inch thick at the bottom of the serving bowl.

Another favorite, the sticky bun, requires jaws of steel to tear through the two-inches of candied nut-and-caramel topping. Your reward for all that frenzied chewing and damaged tooth enamel? A light and airy, tender, flaky danish made of white flour, butter and yeast.

Finally, there's the ridiculously oversided chocolate muffin with chocolate chips. Ask the server to warm it up for you. Few pleasures in life can compare to a mouthful of moist, warm chocolate muffin loaded with melting chocolate chips. Wash it down with a double mocha and you'll be literally jumping up and down with excitement, ready to start your day at Disneyland.
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   5/15 through 5/17/04
Reviewer: billlund Provo, Utah     June 15, 2004
My whole family LOVES the Blue Ribbon Bakery! We've never had an item here that we didn't like. The sweet rolls are great! They're huge and very tasty. The cookies are great. Everything is great. We like to come here for breakfast or a snack mid-day.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   September 2002
Reviewer: ShannonTorg Seattle, WA     November 01, 2002
My husband and I stop here every morning when we are at the park. We usually have the iced vanilla latte and either a lemon poppyseed muffin, or a cinnamon roll. We love the bakery, not because the food is particularly memorable- it's okay. I'd put it a little lower than Starbucks as far as the coffee goes. It's just sort of a tradition for the two of us.

The bakery has limited seating, either outside or inside (near the Ice Cream Shop) and they sell a variety of muffins, pastries, as well as sandwiches for lunch. And they sell lattes, hot chocolate, and tea. BEWARE OF THE ICED COFFEE! It is plain, black coffee with a scoop of ice dumped into it. It's nasty. For two people, a pastry to split,(definetly big enough) and two coffee beverages will run you about 7-8 dollars.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   06/23/02
Reviewer: tikiboy La Palma, CA     July 14, 2002
Visited the BRB just as I entered the park. I had the cinnamon twist which ran $3.22. It was very moist on the inside, but a little dry on the outside. OK value. The coffee products are tantamount to anything that you can find at Starbucks.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page