Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Café Orleans
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Table service restaurant featuring sandwiches, crepes, gumbo and the Monte Cristo. In New Orleans Square.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 16 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 5, 2012 4:15 pm and March 8, 2012 4:30 pm
Reviewer: missm Washington     July 01, 2012
This is my new favorite restaurant at the resort! Great food, great service, low prices, and the view is fantastic.

This was our first time at Cafe Orleans, we were still relatively full from breakfast at Steakhouse 55 that we didn't want anything too heavy. We didn't have priority seating but were seated outside along the rail within minutes.

I ordered the La Salade de Maison and french onion soup. My husband ordered a bowl of the gumbo and pomme frites. We stuck to water for drinks. The salad is so good, with mixed greens, tomatoes, goat cheese, and pecans with a raspberry vinaigrette. It was refreshing and so good. The french onion soup was flavorful without being salty. My husband said the gumbo was great and the pomme frites are still talked about in our house.

I really don't think we ever had less than half a glass of water, the service was just outstanding. During our meal the pirate band came out and played right in front of where we were sitting. That was a fun extra during dinner.

Our bill came to $30.13 with tax. We liked it so much that we went a second time that week!

The second time we ordered the exact same thing with the exception of beignets. The service was just as great, we didn't have priority seating and were seated inside within minutes. It was warm out so I wanted air conditioning while eating soup.

The food was once again great, and the beignets were so good, the dipping sauces made them better (in our opinion) than the ones at Ralph Brennan's.

This time our total came to $38.74.

We will be going back to Cafe Orleans every trip from now on.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   January 2012
Reviewer: ralfrick San Francisco Bay     April 22, 2012
For clarity, my ratings are based on restaurants within the Disneyland Resort only.

We booked a 1PM table at Cafe Orleans during the hectic 1st week of the year, and waited about 5 minutes or so to be seated (compared to 45-60 minutes for those that hadn't booked). The day was unseasonably warm, making for a pleasant day at an outdoor table. Service was cordial and attentive.

Not being ones for heavy lunches, we all had bowls of French onion soup, which gets top marks. Beyond that we split an order each of pomme frites and beignets. Sometimes I've had fries with a bit too much garlic (and I enjoy the smell of Gilroy) but these had a good amount without being overwhelming. I love beignets with only sugar, but the sauce and cream were both nice additions.

We found this to be a good way to catch a breath on a busy day for lunch without great expense. What we had would probably split better for 2 than 3, but none of us left hungry. I also think one should try to tip the server a bit on the generous side when eating light like this if possible; after all, a table ordering full meals will have a higher check. A return is likely.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   October 28, 2009
Reviewer: WITron Milwaukee, WI     November 12, 2010
I used to love the Blue Bayou restaurant for lunch, but since they have changed their menu and prices have increased, it is now out of the budget. My wife really likes the Monte Cristo sandwiches and wanted one on our trip. I read many good things about Cafe Orleans and decided to make a reservation for our first day at Disneyland for 5 adults and 2 children.

Our reservation time was for their first seating at 11:30. We arrived at about 11:15 and checked in. They were not ready to seat, so we waited outside. After a short wait we were the first group seated.

We ordered Pommes Frites to start off with, 2 Monte Cristo Sandwiches to split, Mardi Gras Chicken Sandwich, and mac and cheese for our daughters. Our drink orders came quickly followed by our Pommes Frites, which were gobbled down quickly.

Our waitress was very attentive to our needs and brought us refills when we needed. The only bad thing about the drinks is they do not have just plain lemonade, it is pomegranate, which my oldest daughter did not like. The lemonade was exchanged for a bottle of water without any problems.

The main courses came out and the Monte Cristos were quickly split. Before I knew it my daughters had finished their meals, and everyone enjoyed their sandwiches. For desert we ordered the gingerbread beignets, and these did not last long either.

This is now my new favorite restaurant for a relaxing meal. It is less expensive than the Blue Bayou, but more expensive than burger and fries.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   September 3rd, 2009
Reviewer: JessicaBee Phoenix, AZ     February 22, 2010
We've had good experiences with The Blue Bayou, so on a whim we decided to try Cafe Orleans. We walked up to the host, and asked if they had any reservations available for that evening. He replied that they did "Anytime after 6". So I requested a reservation for 7:30.

Host: *SIGH* We stop seating at 7. *SIGH*
Me: Um okay well I didn't know that...Exactly what times are available then?
Host: *gives me a weird look, like I'm supposed to magically know* 6, 6:15, 6:30 and 6:45.
Me: 6:45 would be fine then...My name is Jessica *******.
Host: Okay great...bye.

My boyfriend and I walk away, figuring maybe he was just having a bad day or something...It happens to everyone.

We come back at 6:35, and decided to wait on the bench across from the restaurant, and overhear another couple complaining about the same host. We ignore it and are seated at approximately 6:45, our reservation time.

We are seated right next to the front door (and the cash register). After 7pm the host was still out front, but kept turning people away and we had to listen to other guests getting pissed about it. We also were subjected to the waitresses complaining about pretty much everything around the cash register.

Our particular waitress was very nice...It took a while to get our drinks and our food, but we saw she had a few other tables which had a lot of people at them, so that's not entirely her fault...Perhaps they were understaffed.

I had the French Onion soup and the Three Cheese Monte Cristo, which was delicious...I have no complaints about that at all.

My boyfriend had the Gumbo and the Seafood Herb Crepe...and while he didn't HATE it, he was very disappointed, because it appeared to be tuna fish. $16 for tuna fish seems like a serious rip off to me. I suppose that's our fault for not asking, but it's a little misleading on the menu.

Given a choice, we would never go back to this restaurant, we'd spend a little more and go across the ally to The Blue Bayou...Everyone's always so nice and you can't beat the atmosphere!

3 planets because the food was good, and our waitress was very kind, but it's not worth the money.
 
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   January 21, 2008 MLK Holiday
Reviewer: Hamradio Buena Park, California     January 21, 2008
We made a reservation for noon and were seated promptly. Server immediately introduced himself and took our drink orders. Upon arriving with the beverages we ordered our meals, Salade du Maison and Monte Cristo sandwiches. The salads came up nicely plated with generous amounts of goat cheese sprinkled over. The Monte Cristos were piping hot and perfectly prepared. Note that our server was attentive but not intrusive. The facility was very clean and well stocked.
Our reasons for rating 4/5 is value, food is a bit pricey and the menu is limited, but if location is important to you it's hard to beat. Note, we are local annual passholders and visit the park often.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Monday Dec 3, and Wednesday Dec 5, 2007
Reviewer: WhichIsStitch Flagstaff, AZ     December 27, 2007
Monday Breakfast:
Didn't have reservations but only waited about 10 minutes. Had Mickey waffles and MC cheese. Service was good. Seating was outside which was nice and relaxing. Food was hot, fresh and tasty. Worth the price!

Wednesday Marathon Lunch:
We were meeting a family member here who ended up arriving late after we had put our names in and were seated really quickly. We said our entire party wasn't there yet but they said no problem and seated us anyway. Our server/CM was totally awesome and very patient with us the entire time (over 2 hours)! After calling the missing family member, we ended up ordering for her so it was there when she finally arrived. We had the crab salad sandwich with the bread on the side, a chicken caesar salad, the chicken gumbo crepes and an order of the pomme frittes with dipping sauce. The crab salad sandwich was huge!!! It could easily have fed 3 people. The crab was fresh and loaded with avocado. I know it was fresh cause I found a tiny bit of shell! The crepes were tasty with just a bit of spice ..... not too much. The chicken caesar salad was typical and quite a large portion. Halfway through the meal our family member got a call from a friend who had just arrived in the park and was hungry and wanting us to order for her as well. Our server was more than happy to place the additional order and make room at the table. He was so so nice ...... always making sure we had what we needed. I love this restaurant for it's varied menu and relaxing location. Once again ..... it did not disappoint!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   7/17/07
Reviewer: disminfan San Francisco, Ca.     July 22, 2007
We had priority seating reservations for lunch at 12:30, showed up at 1:00pm and was seated within 10 minutes.
we ordered the salmon salad and the crab salad sandwich. The greens on the salmon salad consisted of spinach, salad mix and candied pecans. The dressing was excellent, by the way. I think it was balsalmic vinaigrette.
The crab salad sandwich was also excellent. I liked the fact that you had a choice of fruit or potatoes. Although the items are a bit pricey, I would definitely recommend it.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Sunday, July 15, 2007 10:10 AM
Reviewer: Andrew (andrew@mouseplanet.com) Palo Alto, CA     July 20, 2007
Guests: Jennifer and me
What we had: Creole Eggs Benedict (Jennifer), Cafe Scramble (me)

Creole Eggs Benedict means standard Eggs Benedict only with Andouille sausage instead of Canadian bacon, and a spicier sauce. Jennifer enjoyed the dish. A Cafe Scramble is eggs, potatoes, onions and peppers scrambled together with spices and seasonings. Nothing too unusual, but well-executed and a generous portion.

Service: Pretty good. Our assigned server was on a break when we were seated, so another Cast Member took over for him, but then he came back except he was only there about half the time. The other people working the area covered for him, though, so overall we didn't feel neglected.

Would we go back: Yes. This was the first time we'd tried the new breakfast offering at Cafe Orleans, and we'll probably try it again.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 19, 2007
Reviewer: dcreinken Trenton, NJ     June 24, 2007
Cafe Orleans is a nice alternative to the pricier Blue Bayou for table service in New Orleans Square. The ambience, whether indoors or out, fits in wonderfully with the theming of the whole area. Price and menu items are still expensive, but enjoyable. Service is not as polished as it could be, but attentive and responsive. We (2) were seated at 7 pm as a walk-up with about a 10 minute wait.

We enjoyed the pommes frites appetizer (hot, plentiful for 2-3, with a nice dipping sauce) and house salad (fresh, crisp). One of us had the seafood crepe, and the other had the chicken gumbo crepe. Both had great fillings, but were smaller than expected.

For dessert, we had the Mickey shaped beignets. Very good and easy to share between 2-3 people. Basically, they struck as Monte Cristos without the fillings, but with 2 wonderful dipping sauces.

Cafe Orleans is a great place to relax for a nicer meal after a long day, but if the prices put you off, you won't miss much by dining elsewhere.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   My 21, 2007
Reviewer: nmjohnston874 (johnstong874@yahoo.com) Farmington, NM     May 29, 2007
We had PS for 2 P.M and were seated immediately. Overall, food was good, service not so. My wife had the seafood crepes, son the meat MC, daughter three cheese MC and myself the crab salad sandwich with gumbo. Everyone agreed the food was good, although the BB gumbo we had the next day was better.

Service was severely lacking. They were very slow to take our drink order, and when they did, they took our appetizer and entrée orders as well. Water was not waiting at the table, like at the Blue bayou. When the food was brought out, they had forgotten my wifes crepes, so she had to wait while they were prepared. The rest of the party was almost finished by the time she got them.

Although the food was good, well probably skip Café Orleans on our next trip.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page