Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Carnation Café
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Breakfast, lunch and dinner served in an open air patio along Main Street, USA
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 27 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   8/22/05
Reviewer: SnowJen22 Las Vegas, Nevada     August 25, 2005
The food and service was awesome. We even met the Oscar from the Oscar special. He has been working at Disneyland since 1956, but he is retiring next year. I love them Mickey waffles!
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   June 2005
Reviewer: JiminyCricket Phoenix, Arizona     June 08, 2005
This restaurant used to be a favorite. I am sorry to say, this last visit was a real disappointment. The food was OK but service was poor. It has a nice atmosphere still, but the price that is charged is way above the quality and quanity that you would expect. There are other better choices for lunch, such as the French Market or Blue Bayou. I realy wish I could give this place a better review, but I cannot.
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 16th, 2005
Reviewer: Family5LovesDisney New Jersey     March 23, 2005
We had dinner at the Carnation Cafe.

Service: A++++! An excellent waitress with wonderful service. We couldn't have asked for better!

Price: Prices varied based on the selection. Most dinner items were in the $10 to $18 range.

Food: Tasty! I had the pot roast, mashed red potatoes, and vegetables! Everything was very good and presented quite well. Other people in my party ordered sandwiches on a delicious looking roll with a side of Pasta Salad (which they said was wonderful) My children ordered a Peanut Butter Painter's Pallet. It was a peanut butter sandwich on a wooden pallet with all sorts of toppings.........minature chocolate chips, marshmallows, raisins, bananas, and jelly. The loved it! The waitress put several lollypops in the check when it came and they were nice to stash away for later on! The lasted a few days she gave us so many!

Atmosphere: Nice! Outdoor only dining. A great view over Main Street.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May, 2004
Reviewer: mousemickey Victoria, British Columbia     March 09, 2005
AMAZING! Definitely will be eating there again! We visited in May and decided to have a sit down lunch for a change instead of the "grab as you go" food. I ordered a chicken ceasar salad and my girlfriend ordered some pasta (cant remember the name for the life of me!). Anyways, Nothing will ever compare to that salad that i had. That is the absolute milestone that i set for all other salads! Our waiter was Bob. Very helpful and very nice. He did an excellent job. Will be eating there 4 or 5 times when we go again in May.

Upon returning from disneyland, we were happy to find out that Bob won an award. Once again i cant remember what the award was for, but congrats Bob. You made a world of difference!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 29 2004
Reviewer: disneyperson sacramento ca.     October 02, 2004
My daughter and I always eat breakfast at the Carnation Cafe least once on our DL visits.We book ahead by calling Disney Dining so there is a table waiting for us at the time we want.We book the latest time we can and still order from the breakfast menu so actually it's our lunch. We love the location (for people watching) and the service. We usually order Oscar's Special which includes Oscar's potatoes, bacon or sausage, scrambled eggs (really yummy with cheese on them) a little fruit, and a fresh crouisant. Sometimes my daughter gets the waffles. The service is always great. My daughter doesn't eat meat ,so on our last visit the server brought her a huge serving of potatoes and extra fruit. It was an enormous amount of food for one slight teenage girl. The chef, Oscar, came out to greet everyone as he usually does and when he saw the potatoes on her plate he came over and said, "wow, you must really like my potatoes! would you like some more?" She laughed and said "no, I think I have enough thankyou." The Carnation Cafe is also one of the few places in DL that makes really good iced tea. The servers are always very nice and give us "to go" cups full of iced tea when we're ready to leave.
 
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Aug. 3-7
Reviewer: Teddy Berra Ocean Shores, Washington     September 19, 2004
This is the best place for breakfast, the Mickey Mouse waffles are great and the "Really Big Cinnamon Rolls" live up to their name. The staff is very friendly and the chef comes out to talk with you, this is also a great place to people watch on Main Street.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 11, 2004
Reviewer: luvmyboys Marysville, OH     June 14, 2004
What a pleasant suprise this place is! We happened by for breakfast - were going to just grab something from the bakery, but decided a sit-down meal sounded good. I'm so glad we did! I've never seen my husband scarf a waffle so fast! Kids loved their meals too, and I had quite possibly the largest and yummiest cinnamon roll ever! Prices were very reasonable, and by eating mid/late morning, we only needed a light lunch.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   13 Nov - 16 Nov 2003
Reviewer: CarlieB New Zealand     February 23, 2004
I'll start off by saying I really enjoy eating at the Carnation cafe. First of all, it's a sentimental favourite as it's the first place I ever ate at DL. Second, I think the location can't be beat - it's a great place to sit back and people-watch/catch what's happening on Main Street. This visit we had breakfast there on our last day in the Park. The service was not up to its usual standard ( a little slow) but they were quite busy. I ordered a large Vanilla Latte (the best coffee in DL in my opinion) and the Mickey Mouse waffles, which another person at our table also ordered. The 2 guys ordered the cooked breakfast with scrambled eggs and sausages. All the meals were delicious (though I always feel kind of bad eating Mickey, but oh well...). While we were eating the parade for the ABC Christmas special went past, so we had extra entertainment too! Carnation Cafe is reasonably priced for breakfast ( I have never eaten lunch or dinner there though, so can't comment on that), and is in a prime location. I noticed also that table with kids had paper and crayons offered to them to keep the kids busy - a great idea.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/29/03
Reviewer: whiles Oakland, CA     January 08, 2004
Carnation Cafe' what can be said about perfection.

Time and again I find myself eating at this resturant once or twice per trip. Usually the same thing Peppered Turkey sandwich with Cranberry relish and Cole Slaw. Time and Time again they consistently deliver fast, freindly service and exceptionally good fare for both kids and adults.

The mini hot dogs are so cool - just the right size for the Preschoolers who end up dipping the dogs in the side of ketchup.

Beyond the Food and service - What a location! if it is true what is said about location in real estate it is also true on Main Street USA! This location is great. Outdoor seating , which affords you the ability to calmly sit back and watch the activity on main street roll on by.

Occasionally the timing works out just perfect and you might get seranaded by the Baber shop quartet or treated to the cool music from the Disneyland Fire Department Band add in the bustiling activity and the Main street vehicles moving between the hubs it is simply a phenominal atmosphere.

I enjoy this resturant almost fannatically, simply one of the best creations by Walt. If at all possible ask to be seated near the wrought iron fence, you feel connected to the main street activity but also not crowded. Plus around 3:30 PM can be a Parade of a time to sit down and have a snack.

This is my favorite Resort Lunch spot.

Thanks,
Whiles
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 4-8, 2003
Reviewer: miss_sonja Seattle, WA     December 10, 2003
This trip marked my first visit to the Carnation Cafe. We arrived around noon at our hotel and while everyone was itching to go to the park, they also wanted to eat. I suggested the Carnation based on location.

We had a lovely lunch. We were a party of 7 (needing only 6 chairs, as one is a babe in arms), and were seated fairly quickly. They brought crayons and kid menus for the preschoolers. Very nice service from the friendly Randy. Tasty food! Freshly made sandwichs, with good potato salad, pot pie. The kids had hot dogs, which they seemed to enjoy. Condiments served on the side, a nice touch in my opinion.

Our second visit, on our last day (for breakfast), was a bit different. The food was just as good, but the service was a bit spotty. Crayons weren't brought for the kids, coffee refills were slow. Still, friendly service and all the orders were correct and promptly served. Crayons did come when we asked, but no paper!

The location is great. Restrooms are nearby. It's like a little oasis on Main Street. You can see the bustle but it's quiet and a good place to take a break and refuel for more excitment. And the table service was a treat after days of fetching our own.
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page