Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Carnation Café
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Breakfast, lunch and dinner served in an open air patio along Main Street, USA
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 27 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 17, 2009
Reviewer: CariBelle Bakersfield, CA     July 01, 2009
Our group of 8 had two Priority Seatings for 8 AM (when we booked a seating of 8 wasn't available, so we had two seatings of 4) and when we arrived the hostess said she had noticed the same last name on two parties and had put us all together, which was a relief! I always enjoy the atmosphere of Carnation Cafe and we had a few first timers in our group and they adored the charm of eating on Main Street.
I ordered my usual, the apple cinnamon pancakes, and they were amazing as always! I can never finish them (not even close!) so the rest of the table had a few bites and they all raved about them. 4 adults in our party ordered the Oscar Scramble and said it was very yummy. The 5th adult ordered the fruit and yogurt parfait and enjoyed it very much. Both of the kids had mickey waffles and finished off all of their food. We were in and out in about 30 minutes which was fantastic!

In summary:
Service: Excellent! Our glasses were never empty, our food was prompt, and the Celebration centerpiece and goody bags I had ordered where on the table when we were seated.

Price: Average for the park. I believe out table of 8 can out to about $100 after the AP discount.

Food: Awesome! Best breakfast hands down.

Atmosphere: Can't be beat! People watching on Main Street mixed with the special magic of being in Disneyland makes for a great meal.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Wednesday, August 13, 2008
Reviewer: adikted2disney San Jose, CA     August 17, 2008
Carnation Cafe has to be my favorite place to have breakfast in the park. The prices are reasonable and the service is fast and friendly. We had a PS reservation for 9:30 am. We waited only a few minutes before being seated (we actually were seated at the exact table we had ate breakfast at a year earlier). Our server was friendly and patient. I ordered my all-time favorite Mickey Mouse waffles with strawberry topping and bacon. It was excellent as usual and I was in heaven. My fiance ordered the ham and cheese croissant and added bacon to it and my mom had the apple pancakes. My mom could not finish the pancakes and it was a little too sweet for her. They kept refilling our coffee every 5 minutes. Chef Oscar was making our usual rounds and made sure we were having a good time. For 3 adults and a 2 year old, it was approximately $40. Overall, we love the breakfast at Carnation Cafe, the price is reasonable, the service is excellent, and we enjoy sitting outside watching people on Main Street walk by.
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   November 7, 2007
Reviewer: Mommy Mermaid Sacramento, CA     January 05, 2008
We ate lunch here after reading rave reviews on MP. I shared the soup/half turkey sandwich meal with the potatoe soup and DH had the three cheese sandwich. The main reason we tried this restaurant was because of the pics of the soup I had seen and wanted to try it. Although the quality of the food was outstanding, the portions were very small, especially compared with the portion sizes I'm used to in the park. Also I assumed this was a place my 2 and 4 year old girls would be able to enjoy, but we got dirty looks from other customers when they were laughing and talking. They did sing Happy Bday to us and brought us ice cream sundaes with candles. Overall, if I was here for Breakfast with my DH I would return but not for lunch or dinner or with my kids.
 
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Monday, November 26, 2007
Reviewer: RichardRiga (richardriga@aol.com) Orlando     November 27, 2007
Every year, we come to Disneyland for my birthday in November. Last year, we casually came upon the Carnation Cafe at the Disneyland Park. What a gem!

The Carnation Cafe never stops amazing me. A quiet, quaint, tucked away outdoor cafe right off Main Street. The three of us, 2 adults and 1 child casually ate lunch for under $40 including tip.

I had the chef's salad, as I did last year, and it was just as good, if not better as last year, especially with the raspberry vinegarette dressing. As good as that salad was, the appetizer was much better -- the creamy, dreamy, wonderful loaded baked potato soup. Had I known how wonderful it was -- I might have simply made that the meal.

My partner had the turkey club sandwich -- which was also wonderful. Paired with the soup, as well, and it was a glorious lunch. The wee-one had macaroni and cheese, and she stated it was "okay", but enjoyed her carrot sticks the most.

The server was great, as well, and we had a great location in the restaurant. Absolutely 5 planets, no matter how you look at it. The only downside -- we got there 15 minutes early as directed and were sent away until our reservation time. Slightly offsetting, but not enough to sway our experience in any way!

If you like a nice, casual lunch in a great environment enjoying the weather of Southern California in an outdoor environment with a quaint menu -- this is your place.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 22, 2007
Reviewer: nmjohnston874 Farmington, NM     July 14, 2007
Awesome as always! We had PS for 9:05 a.m. and were seated immediately. My wife had the Mickey Waffles, daughter and son the croissantwich and myself the Oscars choice. All were excellent. Wifes waffles were very crisp. Son and I had iced coffee with shots of vanilla, which were refilled at no charge! Our server was also excellent. We left there at less than $45.00. Incredible! Fresh fruit here and around the resort was so good.

We had a nice visit with Oscar, who said he was retiring soon. Ive been hearing that for a while now, so Ill believe it when I see it. I had also heard he was from West Texas originally, as I am also, and I asked him about that. He confirmed that he grew up in a small town not far from my small town. Such a pleasant gentlemen. He is the reason the Carnation Café is such a success.
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   November 11, 2006
Reviewer: Utahtinkerbell Utah     March 01, 2007
We stopped to eat breakfast around 10am and found just a short wait. I had been watching the reviews and found them to be exactly as our meal, wonderful! We so enjoyed our breakfast that we decided to go back for dinner! We had the croissant sandwich and a bowl of the potato soup. Everything was great! We couldn't have had a better experience. Food was hot and there was plenty of it. We are going back in June 07 and can't wait to eat there again.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 17, 2006
Reviewer: neecee23 Pauma Valley, CA     October 31, 2006
We usually have breakfast here (love the Eggs Benedict), but this time we had lunch. We waited in line for a short time, we did not make reservations, the staff very quickly cleaned up empty tables and we were seated in a reasonable amount of time. Our waitress was Desiree, she was very nice and took our order right away. Our order was also delivered very quickly. We both had the half sandwich and soup. The Loaded Potato Soup was hot and very good with cheese, bacon, green onion and sour cream on top. The sandwich was the Smoked Turkey and was good, fresh bread with mustard sauce on the side. Chef Oscar also came to our table. Service was excellent, price was a little high for lunch, about $28.00, food was excellent, and the atmosphere is relaxing, a great people watching spot. All in all, one of my favorite places to eat.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 31- August 3
Reviewer: backsthepack Phoenix     August 25, 2006
We had a late lunch, early dinner there to avoid the crowds. We were seated straight away and the service was perfect. I wish I had written down our waiters name. He was great. We ordered sandwiches and salads. They were huge and very filling. The choices were limited, but there is sure to be something for everyone.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   08-03-05
Reviewer: sangriaflygirl california     July 06, 2006
We arrived early - we had early admission to the park - so we didn't have to wait for a seat. I ordered the breakfast crossiant and for a group of six, our bill was just under $60. We even met Oscar, the famed chef who has worked there since 1956. He made sure we all had excellent service.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Dec 6 2005
Reviewer: quincytoo Victoria BC Canada     December 19, 2005
we (((Party of five ))) ate breakfast here .....I ate the Oscer's choice as did two of my table mates. The fruit, sausage and scambled eggs were good enough but what really made the breakfast shine were the fried red potatos with herbs and onion..WONDERFUL......At $7.29 the price was right and there was a lot of food...I enjoyed it all....

The other three had Croissant Benedict which was around $7.99.....
Nice soft cooked poached eggs topped with packaged Hollandaise sauce(((I hate packaged hollandaise )))with honey ham, served on an open-faced croissant with those amazing potatos. I snuck a bite of my daughters and the sauce withstanding this was good........mine was much better..;)

Value was great and I will eat here again......Those potatoes were amazing....
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page