Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Big Thunder Ranch Barbecue
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Enjoy BBQ ribs or chicken for lunch or dinner at Big Thunder Ranch, featuring Disney character appearances, live entertainment and Critter Corral.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 9 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 9 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 4, 2010
Reviewer: Goosegirl Grass Valley, CA     July 08, 2010
We ate there on July 4th for dinner and it was fabulous.
We had made reservations in advance for 5:30 pm. When we got there, there was quite a line waiting and we were given a beeper thing that would go off when our table was ready. We were told that they were running about 15 minutes behind of reservation times but it was actually closer to 25 minutes before we were seated.
My younger daughter is allergic to corn syrup and food dyes so the server brought the chef out, along with a binder of all the labels and recipes so we could see what she could eat. Thankfully, there was very little she could not have and everyone was happy to accommodate us. My hubby is a guitar player and I sing, so we really loved the cowboy music entertainment. The singer, Miss Chris, invited our little one up on stage to sing and dance with her and she enjoyed that. They congratulated our older daughter on her graduation and fussed over her. Miss Chris and Tex were really friendly and the music really was good. I don't remember the name of the piano player but he was good too.
The food was good and very plentiful. It was all-you-care-to-eat and they wrapped up extras for us to take with us, even though we were really full.
I really liked the ribs and beans. My hubby loved the chicken and sausage and beans. And the kids loved the ribs and corn wheels. My picky 5 year old ate more there than any other restaurant in Disneyland. We did not order dessert because we were so full from the dinner.
The atmosphere is relaxed and much calmer than other areas so it is a nice place to get away from the busy park. My 5 year old is very active and has sensory issues, but she did really well in the outdoor setting. The area is surrounded by lots of trees, which act as sound masking to filter out the park sounds. It was perfect, even with how crowded the park was on July 4th. We loved it.
I think the meals were $24.99 for all you can eat, which was not too bad for Disneyland. The servers were friendly and helpful and we really liked the setting. We would eat here again.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   7 Apr 09
Reviewer: abfamily Alberta     December 06, 2009
This is a little late since the review wasn't available when I did our other reviews. We went when it 1st opened.

We had a wonderful time. The food was great. We all love ribs + chicken and this was very well done. You do have to ask for more servings. They don't bring any extras unless you ask. One of our better meals inside the park.

The music is old western; so some people might not find it to their taste. My wife and son loved it. Some of the Toy Story characters were there (Woody, Jessie etc..). Jessie was definitely the best. She spent a lot of time going to all the tables and entertaining the kids. They also bring up different kids onto the stage to help out with the entertainment. It was a fun meal.

This is a hidden gem that most people visiting the park don't know about. We'll definitely go back on our next trip.
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   10/07/2009
Reviewer: jacandjan Oregon     October 11, 2009
First let me say that we were big fans of the old Big Thunder BBQ so we were very glad to hear that they were reopening this area for dinning again. We thought it was not only one of the best meals in the park but a great vaule.

We were there on a Wednesday about 5pm. There were only 4 other tables taken so no reservation were needed. The place looked great, and the singing cowboy was entertaining.

The service was good and the ribs & chicken were great. The only thing that bugged us was the corn on the cob was cut in about one inch pieces, what a waste, they could at least cut a full ear into 3 pieces.

Now to the one real negitive, the price !
For 2 of us it was $60.86 with tax plus a $10 tip. Although we enjoyed the meal we feel this is way to expensive for what your getting.

 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 6th, 2009
Reviewer: Malcon10t Modesto, CA     July 01, 2009
Our reservation was for 10, 7 adults, 3 boys ages 3, 4, and 5. We were seated and watermelon was promptly brought out for the boys. Our server was a little slow with the initial drinks, but I think that was because we came in in groups. Once we were all there, she was prompt.

The food was great. LOVED the ribs. The boys ate an entire bucket on their own. I loved the beans, not so much the cole slaw, but others loved the slaw, and they brought our group more. ANd we had seconds on the beans... ANd we had 2, and thirds on the ribs and chicken! My son just kept eating til I finally told him "We don't get the cupcakes til you finish eating..." When we FINALLY got the cupcakes, they were great. I commented I had wanted to try the strawberry, but didn't have any more on our holder, and the server brought more out for us. There was so much food.

The entertainment was great and kept the boys entertained. There was always something going on, or someone coming by the table. Exceptionally great experience. We will be back, probably several times.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 16, 2009
Reviewer: DebT Modesto, CA     May 21, 2009
We had dinner reservations for 13 at 5:30pm. Party included ages 3, 6, 6, 16 and nine adults (ages 40 to 49). Everyone loved the experience. The adults enjoyed the food. The beans, ribs and chicken were a favorite. The kids liked the corn wheels and chicken. The ribs were too spicy for the children. The three-year-old girl is very high energy. The constant entertainment was a big plus and held her attention. Jessie paid the kids lots of attention and danced with them several times. As for dessert, everyone loved the raspberry and chocolate cupcakes. I wasn't too fond of the strawberry as it seemed bland compared with the others. We will definitely eat here again.
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 11, 2009
Reviewer: Maus Yorba Linda, Calif.     May 13, 2009
Here's my experience on Mother's Day...

We had a 5:50 p.m. priority seating and were seated promptly. Our servers (we had several during the time we were there, but Esperanza was our main server) were attentive during the meal. The food was very good, I'd had it before, but my daughter really enjoyed her first time at the restaurant.

With an under two-year-old we did not pay for a meal for him, but he shared the beans and chicken. He was so enthralled by what was going on he just shoved the food in his mouth, not sure he even noticed what it was, but he does love beans. Because we weren't sure what he would eat my daughter asked for some fruit for him. Esperanza said all they had was watermelon but she brought that out immediately with no hesitation at all. (Quite different experience than a previous poster)

The character interaction was great. Grandson was afraid of Jessie but completely taken by her. He called her name repeatedly as he saw her across the restaurant. She was extremely attentive to him and came by numerous times to help him over his fear. By the end of the evening he would venture as far as touching her outstretched arms, just shy of a hug! She was wonderful with him and I thanked her profusely.

I didn't care for the "Tex" and "Miss Chris" we had that evening. They wandered through the crowd as they sang, but rarely interacted with anyone. Grandson also loved watching the onstage show with the characters.

The problems came at the end of our meal. Dessert was brought out; we had one of each flavor cupcake. Esperanza brought Grandson his own cupcake, which surprised me, when daughter asked for no frosting on his vanilla/strawberry. (He loved it btw) I was halfway through my chocolate cupcake when I encountered an empty space. I asked daughter if hers had any fruit and she said, no. The next time our server came by I asked if they had eliminated the fruit and she said they hadn't. When I showed her that two of the cupcakes had no fruit she offered to bring us more. As we didn't need it I said no, not thinking about taking them home!

After the cupcakes, Grandson was done and ready to leave so daughter took him out. Esperanza had taken my credit card but didn't come back for a very, very long time. I was just about to go and interrupt the CM suit and the lead conversing with another table when she finally arrived. She had six checks and a drink order on her tray, so I guess everyone was paying at the same time. It was irritating, but I'm not letting it detract from the overall great experience.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   5/4/09
Reviewer: Nana55 Seattle     May 12, 2009
My daughter and I and her 3 boys were very disappointed in the service (3 parties seated after us were served their food before we even got our drinks) and the place was not even crowded. The food is too spicy for younger kids (none of the boys would eat the bar-b-que...we had to take the skin off of the chicken to get rid of some of the sauce)...the table next to us said the same thing. When we complained about the lack of service and that we had 3 very hungry boys all we got was an "oh sorry about that", but no improvement in the service. Very pricey for what you get...we won't be going back.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   05/05/2009
Reviewer: rasco Hubbard, Oregon     May 09, 2009
BEST FOOD AND ENTERTAINMENT IN DISNEYLAND!!!
My family and I ate at several of the character restuarants and various places, and my children (12,8,3,1) enjoyed this the best. They were hilarious, fun, cheerful and full of disney magic and love! We wanted to go back again. The staff went out of their way to accomadate my large group of 8 with a wide variety of ages from 62 to 1. :) It is one of the best dining expierences we have ever had at Disney. We go to DL every year. I am going to try to put a clip of a song they made for my 3 year old, he hid from the characters but not Tumbleweed. (the singers name). He just smiled and smiled. Excellent with all ages, and the food was great!!!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 1, 2009
Reviewer: fairestoneofall (fairestoneofall@hotmail.com) Temecula, CA     May 07, 2009
Hey all!!! Or should I say y'all???
We had lunch at the CRBBQ 5/1/09 and had an AMAZING time!! We were celebrating my son's 2nd birthday with friends. Our PS ressies were for 11:30. We got there right on time and they were just finishing up filming for a commercial. They got us in around 11:40, took LOTS of photos with Jessie and the kids. We were a large party....14....with 6 kids ages 3 and under. We were seated in the two tables front and center stage, AWESOME. Our server was Shawna and she did a great job. All of the CM's there had fun engaging the kids. While they made my son feel extra special for his Bday, the CM's and characters spent a LOT of time with all of the kids in our party. The kids got a TON of attention from Miss Chris, Tex, Woody and Jessie.
Now, for the food. We all thought it was FABULOUS! I made it a point to try everything so that I could write this and answer questions. The ribs were super tender, the meat slid right off of the bone. The chicken was great, seasoned perfectly and not dry. The BBQ sauce provided made a perfect addition. My favorite side was the cole slaw.....and I'm never a fan of cole slaw. I think I liked it so much b/c it didn't have mayonaise in it. It was a vingarette based sauce and it was amazing! The beans were very tasty. LOVED the corn wagon wheels, perfect for the little ones to hold and eat themselves (they thought they were so grown up). The cornbread was yummy and hot too! I loved the drinks in the mason jars, such a cute touch and Shawna never let us empty them. The kids' drink cups were adorable, keepers for sure.
Then there was dessert!!! The cupcake stand is SO visually appealing. We had our choice of chocolate, strawberry shortcake or red velvet Cowboy Cupcakes. I chose strawberry shortcake for my boys and red velvet for myself. I actually tried all three flavors and thought they were all VERY good. Everyone in our huge party had nothing but great things to say about lunch. The food was excellent. I really feel like Disney is really trying to step it up in terms of food quality and taste, and they did a great job here.
We were there for two whole hours.....did I say with SIX toddlers??? They were all very well behaved b/c they were engaged by great entertainment the WHOLE time! They all went up to the front of the stage and danced with Woody, it was GREAT! Oh, and there was really no need for the kids' goody bags, they had no problems staying busy with the entertainment. Not one in or party bought a goody bag.
Disney, you did a great thing here....I only hope that the crowds keep it coming so that they keep this place open. As far as price is concerned, I think it's pretty fair, especially since lowering the kids price. Of course I'd love if they lowered the adult price, but I will eat there again reguardless. I think it is a very good value for your money.
I encourage you all to try it once!!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page