Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
French Market Restaurant
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Pasta, salads and entrees with a New Orleans influence.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 20 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 30, 2008
Reviewer: ralfrick By the SF Bay     December 03, 2008
There aren't as many items on the menu that interest me anymore, but I do love chowder in a bread bowl. As always, it was fresh and tasty, and left me full long before the bread was finished. The included garden salad was eaten by the wife, while the boy had the roast beef platter. We divided 2 big slices of chocolate cake between us which was layers of moist cake and thick mousse. The bottom layer was with nuts, which I wouldn't want if it was optional, but they could be avoided. With drinks, it was about $40; spending over $30 got us a free "Nightmare Before Christmas" tree ornament. Entertainment was provided by the Royal Street Bachelors; they had a singer last time, but were just a trio on this visit. Even though it was 12:30 on a holiday weekend, the line was not out the door as on our previous visit, and we had trays in hand within a minute or two after arriving. All in all one of the better lunch spots in the park.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 17, 2008
Reviewer: gawama Cypress, Ca     July 21, 2008
This visit to The French Market was my third since the big menu change. On this date the Citrus Chicken was as I remembered, not greasy and it was very flavorful. However, I think the size of the chicken piece has gotten smaller since the dish debuted. The potatoes were tastier than before and the seasonal veggies were very good. Then there's the subject of the corn muffin thingie. I am glad to announce that the lumps of coagulated cheese were smaller and thus not as chewy as before. Avoid the muffin thingy. All-in-all as a hungry park guest with an AP Discount the Citrus Chicken meal at The French Market is a good choice.
Only one serving line was operating but they were setting up the other side. The counter staff were, as usual, helpful and prompt. Everything was clean and well stocked. I will dine there again
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 4, 2008
Reviewer: cstephens Los Angeles, California     July 05, 2008
French Market wasn't very crowded when we got there shortly after noon in what turned out to be a surprisingly less-than-normally-crowded Fourth. They had both sides open, and there weren't a ton of people in line, so we were a bit surprised that the line moved so slowly, until we got closer up and figured out what the problem was.

Previously, most of the dishes came with a side salad, so the first station you encountered was the salad station. They would take your order, call it down to the hot food stations and then make your salad. By the time you got your salad and moved down to the hot food stations, your order was either already waiting for you or just about to be ready, so the line moved pretty smoothly.

Now, however, none of the entrees come with a side salad, but it's still the salad station that you encounter first. The line is backed up because you don't give them your order until you get to the hot food station, so the line is at a stop while they're making each person's order. Meanwhile, you're standing in front of the salad station, with the poor CM asking if anyone wants salad with their meal and most people saying no, so she was mostly standing there with nothing to do.

One other change is that in addition to the menu at the front, they used to have samples of each dish set out, so you could get a better idea of what each dish looked like, since sometimes, the description doesn't necessarily give you the full picture. Now, it's just the menu up, so I think people might not necessarily decide until they get to the actual hot food station, where you can see the various dishes, or they might change their mind once they see another item. I found myself trying to look at the trays of people who were paying, to see what they'd gotten to get a glimpse of what the entrees looked like.

I was trying to decide between a few different items, but because I like jambalaya so much, I just couldn't pass it up. The husband decided on the citrus chicken. I glanced at the desserts, but nothing really appealed to me. I wish they'd have signs up indicating what each dessert is. Sometimes, it's obvious (like the cup of berries and the mini cheesecake), but sometimes, it's not, like this square flan-looking thing they had. I asked a CM what it was, and she said it was an apple tart. It would just seem a lot more convenient to have signs in front of each row of desserts.

My decision to have the jambalaya was cemented because I had actually gotten a glimpse of it on someone else's tray, and I was not disappointed in the dish in the least. They actually have the rice and the meat/vegetables cooked separately, so they put the rice on the plate first, make a little hole in the middle of it, and then scoop the meat/vegetables in to fill the hole. There was a nice combination of chicken, fish, sausage and crawfish - the crawfish is a bit harder to distinguish because it looks very similiar to the shrimp, but they're a bit smaller and the tail looks a little different. It also had some nice big chunks of okra, which I love. Generally, it had very good flavor, and it had a bit of a kick to it too, which I liked. Even though it was a warm day out, I still very much enjoyed the jambalaya, and I would expect it would hit the spot even more when the temperatures cool. The dish comes with a side of vegetables and a mini-loaf of cheddar corn bread. I'm not particularly fond of corn bread, but I really liked this version - it was moist and very tasty. The vegetables were ok - it was a bit more heavy on the carrots than I normally prefer.

Here's a picture of the jambalaya: http://www.colddeadfish.net/images/DLR/dining/frenchmar02.jpg.

The husband really enjoyed his citrus chicken. He found the seasoning on the chicken to be very tart, which he really liked, but he wasn't sure if most people would like it that tart. He was also a little surprised to discover that the mashed potatoes had cheese and onions cooked into it. It wasn't a problem for him, but for anyone who might have issues with either cheese or onions, it's something to keep in mind. It probably would have been good for the menu to indicate those ingredients as well.

Here's a picture of the citrus chicken: http://www.colddeadfish.net/images/DLR/dining/frenchmar01.jpg.

There are a few other items on the new menu that I'm interested in trying, so while I'm sad that the fried chicken is gone, I'm glad that I'll at least be able to continue visiting French Market.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 23
Reviewer: epetz Tulsa, Ok     January 29, 2008
The french market is about the only place i go to eat while at the magic kingdom. The food is normally a little better then what you would expect for an amusement park. My usual order is either a bread bowl soup or the red beans/rice and chicken, but on my latest trip I decided upon the BBQ sandwich (a choice i regret now). The meat was dry and lacking on any real BBQ flavor. I don't know if it was due to the xmas increase in customers or if the quality around disney as lowered.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Saturday, July 14, 2007 8:20 PM
Reviewer: Andrew (andrew@mouseplanet.com) Palo Alto, CA     July 20, 2007
Guests: Jennifer and me
What we had: We made up for last time by ordering the French Market fried chicken, and since we'd had a snack a few hours earlier we decided to share a single order. It turned out to be just enough food. Unfortunately, the chicken itself was not as good as we both remembered. Dry, much smaller pieces (is Disney buying smaller chickens?) and a decided lack of the spicy flavor we'd enjoyed on previous visits.

The accompanying salad and french fries were fine, and we skipped dessert since we knew we'd be stopping by the Critter Country candy shop later.

Service: Good. The line moves very slowly at this restaurant, but it seems to be more a function of the design (buffeteria) than the actual level of service provided by the Cast Members working there. When we did finally get to the front of the line, the Cast Members assembled our order quickly and correctly.

Would we go back: Yes.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 21, 2006
Reviewer: TinaMouse Farmington, MN     September 10, 2006
I have eaten here several times. Seating area is semi-covered, and lovely. You can see Haunted Mansion. While I was there, Capt. Jack Sparrow came by to sign autographs and take pictures.

Menu had not changed since last visit in 2002. I ordered a French Dip and a coke. The guests in line seemed confused that one Cast Member would take your order, then shout across the cafeteria to another CM who would make your order. No one was sure when we should shift on down the line. Minor inconvenience.

Checkout was easy. Spent around $11. Sandwich was piled with beef and the au jus was quite good. CMs were milling about to make room to sit as quickly as possible.

It is a great out-of-the-way spot. Very quiet and not rushed. Highly recommended!
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 2005
Reviewer: doombuggy driver Surprise, Arizona     May 13, 2006
We visit the French Market every time we go to DL. The food is delicious and the portions are big enough that my husband and I can split a meal. The best part of the French Market is the Jazz band entertainment. It is a nice relaxing break from the hustle of DL. The food is good. We had something one time that was not very good and the staff let me switch to something else without any hassles! One more great thing about the French Market is the free collectable coins you can get there. During HM Holiday you can get Nightmare Before Christmas coins when you spend $30 in the restaurant. These are very unique coins and they change coins every week! I highly recommend this restaurant to ANYONE! Our 5 year old daughter loves the mickey chicken nuggets and cool straw that changes colors. Visiting the French Market is a must during your DL experience!
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   October 28, 2005
Reviewer: SandraVB79 (sandra@pubers.net) Brussels, Belgium     December 29, 2005
We (2 adults) had dinner at the French Market. The line was HUGE and it took us about 45 minutes before we got served. We both had the Clam chowder in bread bowls (very tasty!!) and a soda, and we shared the most wonderful chocolate cake in teh world (I am still glad we didn't take one each, I don't think I could have eaten it all by myself!)

The food was really good, but I have two complaints:
1. It took forever after we had gotten our food before we could pay. you would think, with a huge line outside, that they would open 2 cash registers. No, they don't. Too bad our chowder was cold by the time we sat down.

2. The prices for the desserts were not mentioned. I am never really comfortable ordering food when I don't know the price, and certainly not at Disney. i don't remember what we paid, and I don't think it was exaggerated, but I would have felt better if there had been little signs that said "chocolate cake: $x, cheesecake $y, etc".
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Tuesday October 18, 2005
Reviewer: tlovesdis (tlovesdis@yahoo.com) Antioch, CA     October 25, 2005
My sister, niece, and I had lunch here on our last day at the resort. This was the first time we had ever eaten there and we loved it! My sister and I got the beef stew in the bread bowl and the fried chicken and we shared. My niece had the kids mac and cheese and chocolate cake. The line went quickly and the service was great! We really enjoyed our meal here and will definately be dining here again!
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   October 4, 2005
Reviewer: lovesthemouse New York city     October 14, 2005
The food here is really a cut above for cafeteria style food. My husband and I had pork barbecue sandwiches that were really delicious. They had no problems subsitiuting a side salad for french fries. There were also many soups and hot dishes. The deserts looked delicious but we resisted. We did get a fruit plate with 3 large pieces each of honeydew, cantelope and watermelon, a nice portion of grapes and a cup of strawbery yougert dipping sauce. Three of us shared it for dessert. A disney bargain for 5.99. The only problem was the cashier line. This is a huge restaurant and there was only one check out. We waited nearly 40 min to pay so our sandwiches were cold by the time we ate them.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page