Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Golden Horseshoe Stage
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Catch a show while munching on burgers, chili and chocolate cake.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 10 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   1st November 2006 (21 days)
Reviewer: gabrielle2106 Australia     December 04, 2006
We pretty much watched a show each day, just love Billy Hill and the hillbillies, a hilarious show. We ate at the resturant once and once only, just you're ordinary hamburger, that you had to line up and wait for for just too long. The lines get long when the show is coming up, its easier to eat elsewhere and head into the Golden Horseshoe and just get a table. I must comment that the tables themselves are dreadful old laminated tables, totally out of theme with the GHS, not nice at all. The food was fair for price, but just a hamburger, nothing out of the norm.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   7/4 & 7/15
Reviewer: lakingsfankurt San Marcos, CA     July 19, 2005
I have always been a huge fan of the Billy Hill and the Hillbillies show at the Golden Horseshoe. It is always a very entertaining and fun filled show, not to be missed for sure. Sometimes the audience isn't as into it, but they work the crowd very well. I even bought the CD on my July 4th trip! However, ever since the switch over to fish, chicken and mozerella strips, the food is just plain average. The chicken strips are about the same taste as any fast food drive thru joint. The chili is above average, but I really miss the burgers and dogs. I do recommend the butterfinger funnel cake, it is one of my favorite desserts. Go for the smaller size of the strips (4 or 6) and enjoy a dessert. It also kind of bothers me that they charge extra for extra dipping sauces. It really isn't enough for 6 strips. Sometimes they'll be nice and not charge you for it, but more often they do end up charging you. Go for the show and the dessert.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Year-Round, 2004
Reviewer: Megs Long Beach, California     April 05, 2005
I hadn't been to Golden Horseshoe in a long time and finally decided I needed to start that tradition again! I LOVE the show! It was really fun! The pre-show in front of the building is SO funny also.
We grabbed a fine seat on the balcony the first time, but it got a bit hard to see when a ton of kids were leaning over the rail (but hey, they're kids, I didn't bother them about it!) so the last time we went we decided to try a floor table.
The food was good...I had chili-cheese fries and a hot dog...it's not spectacular, but it's still good. They have these strawberry shortcake cups there that I always want but never get cause I get too full for dessert! I need to try one next time!
The service is fantastic...the cast members are always pleasant.
The price is, like I've said before, typical Disney pricing.

But you know, I always thought it was like an actual restraunt...maybe it used to be, I dunno...but I think it would be neat to have it that way. Instead of making it like a fast-food grab-n-go, it'd be nice to have a relaxing seat while someone else brings your food to you. *shrug* Just one chick's opinion!

But all in all, I thoroughly enjoy the show!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   11/10/04
Reviewer: sleepyjeff Portland, Oregon     November 13, 2004
Stopped here for a late lunch early dinner. We were too early for the next show but decided to grab a bite to eat any way. The service was very friendly and pretty fast. My son had chicken fingers shaped like Mickey Ears which he really liked. My wife just had the chili fries which she thought were really good. I had a cheeseburger that was ok but a little too salty for my taste.

For the three of us it cost a total of $20.00. A bit pricy for so so food.

The eating area was themed like a old time western saloon/dance hall. There is a show here but we missed it.

May eat here again if we can catch the show too.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 11, 2004
Reviewer: luvmyboys Marysville, OH     June 14, 2004
This was a great place to stop for something different. I don't think most people realize they serve food, even when there's not a show going on. We stopped in (on a Friday) and there were only 2 other families there eating. It was cool and comfy, and the chilli in a bread bowl and cheese fries were a nice change of pace for us! They also had some yummy looking desserts...we just didn't have room left to indulge!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   4/4/04-4/8/04
Reviewer: Zigen San Diego     April 10, 2004
We didn't expect to go to the Horseshoe for lunch. When we saw how busy the other resturants were in the same area I told my wife to check out the horseshoe. To my surprise there was a small line at 1pm during spring break. The show had already started so while we waited in line we got to see the show.

Food served are hamburgers fries, hot dogs, etc. standard lunch type meals. The hamburgers were pretty big (double hamburgers) and filled me up. Comes with fries too. The burgers would not win any awards for taste but they did their jobs on a very busy day. When we got our food, we noticed all the tables were filled for the show. We went up stairs and asked a couple if we could share a table and they agreed. We didnt get a good view of the show, the couple at our table did but we did not have to wait a long time for our food and we had good music and laughs during the show.
All in all if its crowed and your have little ones to feed, this spot is great. Even if it has a long line, you can watch the show while waiting (show times vary). I would recommend getting there before the show, its a very good funny show.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   13 Nov - 16 Nov 2003
Reviewer: CarlieB New Zealand     February 23, 2004
It has become something of a tradition for us to have lunch at the Golden Horsehoe and take in a Billy Hill & the Hillbillies show at least once while we're at the Parks. This time there were 5 of us, and we made sure we got our favourite table, upstairs at the edge of the balcony. The food at the Golden Horseshoe is fairly standatd DL fare: cheeseburgers, hotdogs, chilli fries, etc. Several people in our group ordered cheeseburgers, Phil got a hotdog and I tried the chilli fries, which I really enjoyed. I always have fun with all the condiment sachets they have - a few things we don't really have in NZ, like the exciting-looking green chilli sauce stuff! I also always have rootbeer when I eat here - again, something that's a bit hard to come by down here (it seems terribly exotic to me...). The prices here are pretty standard for DL and fairly reasonable for what you get. The atmosphere is great - the decor, combined with a good show is fantastic, and never fails to put me in a good mood.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 4-8, 2003
Reviewer: miss_sonja Seattle, WA     December 10, 2003
What a treat is the Golden Horseshoe! I love that you can eat a meal or a snack and watch a show. And Billy Hill and the Hillbillies are great. A really fun show. They added some seasonal modifications at the time of our visit, which worked a treat.

The food all smells good. I've only actually eaten the chocolate cake and the chili fries and those were good. The cake is huge, you *must* share. It's a touch dry, but very flavourful and tasty. My 4 yr. old daughter loves it. The burgers look good, but I've yet to try one.

Very friendly service and reasonable prices. Great ambience--try sitting in the balcony for a good view.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 21, 2002
Reviewer: SleepingBeautyFan (keribear28@hotmail.com) Riverside, California     October 28, 2002
I am an annual passholder to Disneyland and ever since Billy Hill and the Hillbillies started performing at the Golden Horseshoe I have been a huge fan! Every time I visit Disneyland, about 5 to 15 times a year, I have to visit the Golden Horseshoe to see the show. Although I have seen in at least 30 times, I always find something new to laugh about. The musical talent of all 4 Billys is astounding, and the humor they put into their show always has me laughing and cheering loudly. On the date of this visit, I was there with my boyfriend Josh. We stopped at the Golden Horseshoe for lunch - cheeseburgers, fries and sodas (about $12 for both of us - the food is just like what you could get at most Disneyland restaurants, but for us the atmosphere and show make it better) - and to enjoy the show, which both of us love. I saved our seats, while Josh bought our lunch. When he came over with the tray of food, he got down on one knee and proposed. I, of course, said yes and we kissed. We are getting married December 21, exactly 6 months from the date he proposed. We both love Disneyland, and are planning to have our honeymoon there, including staying the night in the Honeymoon Suite at one of the Disney hotels. I am hoping to post a trip report covering our visit then. For us, the service, price and food are good, but the atmosphere is wonderful. I would recommend this show - Billy Hill and the Hillbillies - to everyone. Yes, it keeps you away from the rides....but most everyone needs a break and the food is good, the show is spectacular and for me it will always be a very special place.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   7/17/02
Reviewer: SpamSpamSpam Astoria, Oregon     August 30, 2002
The question here is "how much time do you have to take in DLR?" There are better places to eat, and more entertaining shows elsewhere. It would have been different if we were talking the Old Golden Horseshoe
Review...but we're not. Let's face it. The food was never the draw. It still isn't and now the show is essentially gone. Spend your time someplace else.
 
4 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page