Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Disneyland Hotel - Goofy's Kitchen
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Eat with the Characters at this buffet-style restaurant. A popular spot for birthday celebrations.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 64 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 17,2010
Reviewer: disneylovr San Diego, California     July 28, 2010
We went to Goofys Kitchen, when we went up to disneyland, when the last electrical parade was for 2010, and we had made reservations here for 10:30, and didn't make it, cuz we drove up from San Diego.If you dont arrive when you have your servation for, they just tell you to do a walk up. When we went to
Goofy's Kitchen on this day, the food was good, but it got cold easily, and you dont want to rush eating, you want to enjoy your food, but sometimes, you'll regret eating so slowly, cuz your food will get colder quicker. My favorite food there was the pb and j pizza, and the bacon, oh and the mickey waffles. The characters that we saw that day were, Goofy, Pluto, Terk,
Baloo, Chip, Dale, Mulan, Snow white, Jasmine, Aladdin, Alice, and the mad hatter, I asked why there was so many characters and the waitress had said that Goofy "wanted to have his weekend party"
 
2 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12+15 Apr 09
Reviewer: abfamily Alberta Canada     April 23, 2009
Our family went to Goofy's Kitchen twice during our trip. We had the 6 day meal plan with 2 Character meals so we used them for Goofy's Kitchen. The breakfast was standard faire. The food was excellent with lots of healthy choices. We were at the Supper for Easter and had a wonderful time. There were lots of Easter treats for the kids. The buffet had Prime Rib, Roast Leg of Lamb, Cajun Salmon; and Roasted Chicken. For the kids; pizza, chicken nuggets, hot dogs and mac n' cheese. The character interaction at both meals was great. Our son got all his autographs as well as pictures with the characters. The buffets are expensive but they are worth it for at least one meal while at Disney. We asked about using Photopass but we were told they don't provide that service. After you checked in; an opotuntity was provided to have a photo taken with Pluto ($35.00). As well as what previous reviewers stated; get Priorty Seating. Both meals we went to had 1 hour + waits for people without reservations.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 6, 2009
Reviewer: disneyz4me Northern California     April 16, 2009
Our trip to the Disneyland Resort was a bit last-minute, but I still knew I wanted to do the Character breakfast in honor of my daughter's first visit to Disneyland (she's 7). So, I made arrangements for the meal to be included with my hotel/ticket package and immediately called to make a priority seating reservation. I can't stress the need for priority seating enough because even though you purchase the meal in advance, you have to have a reservation or you may not get seated on the day you want. It worked out great - got the morning and time I wanted. The earlier the better for breakfast at Goofy's Kitchen. Our reservation was for 7:30, we were seated right away, and had our pictures taken. As we were leaving the photo area, Pluto came into the restaurant. Daughter was thrilled, and our cast-member/seating host was quick to offer to have her photo taken with him by the professional photographer, which was great as I had forgotten my camera back in the room. All hail the new PhotoPass Service!! We got photos with all the characters there, including one of my kids (my son is 14 :D ) dancing and 'baking a cake' with Goofy! We had a ball, the coffee was hot and delicious and breakfast was satisfying. The only gripe I have is a small one - the buffet was really scaled-down from past visits - not much variety. I appreciated the fresh fruit and yogurt, hubby appreciated making multiple visits to the omelet station, and the kids didn't really focus on the food, but I was able to make sure they had a balanced, healthy meal to start our day in the park. Do this breakfast more for the ambiance and the fun of seeing your children interact with the characters. We saw Pluto, Alice in Wonderland (not too impressed with her, but Daughter was happy), The Mad Hatter (too funny and chatted with Daughter for nearly 10 minutes), Chip and Dale, Goofy, and Baloo (very tall and a bit intimidating, but still fun). Yes, it's expensive, but this restaurant is not the place to eat at every meal. Do it once, and enjoy it!
 
16 out of 17 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Sept 2006, Sept 2007
Reviewer: ellisfamily Elk Grove, CA     August 13, 2008
LOOOOOOVE IT! This is our first stop every year to jump start our Disney adventure. We always do the Priority Seating and sit in the little group of booths right next to where the waiters come in and out. The characters come out there too so we always get first shot. There is also only 5-6 tables up there so it is not as crowded as some of the other areas of the restaurant. The food is great! The selections are perfect! Everyone in our family of 4 finds something to eat. The character interaction is perfect. We have had Goofy, jasmine, alice in wonderland, pluto, max, chip n dale, pocahontis, captin hook...think that's about it. But we can't get enough of it. We have never done the dinner though. Just the breakfast.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 10, 2005
Reviewer: dancer5612004 FRESNO, CA.     May 08, 2008
GOOFY'S KITCHEN 101: Always be the first one through the door at 7am and beseated immediately, you will never have a problem, and a much more pleasant experiance. Crew is ready to perform, and the cook's are ready and waiting. Character's are bright and chipper! Coffee is hot, and plentiful, and leaving to the park at 8 O' clock couldn't be better via Monorail from DTD, during the summer months, of course. Will be going there again soon.
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/24/2007
Reviewer: tominco Colorado     December 27, 2007
We decided to spend Christmas at Disneyland and made 8pm reservations for Goofy's Kitchen on Christmas Eve. We found this was a great time to go. The crowd had really thinned out (they close at 9) and we had nearly no wait to be seated. The best part was the interactions with the characters, especially Goofy and Pluto. Aladdin, Minnie, and Chip and Dale were there as well. Because the crowd was smaller at that time, Goofy and Pluto kept coming back to our table and giving our boys (12 and 9) a lot of attention. They would steal their hats and start running all about. They even played monkey in the middle with our younger son. It was definitely a highlight of the trip.

As for the food, it was OK buffet food. I'd say the kids' food was better than the grown up food. I switched from the prime rib (not very good) to the chicken nuggets and popcorn shrimp. The PBJ pizza was a big hit with the kids.

This was our 4th character meal over the years, and while I'd say the
best food was at the Polynesian's Ohana breakfast, this was by far the best character experience. It is pricey though.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Monday, November 26, 2007
Reviewer: RichardRiga (richardriga@aol.com) Orlando     November 27, 2007
On our first evening being here at Disneyland, and after the seemingly good reviews, we had dinner at Goofy's Kitchen at the Disneyland Hotel.

We arrrived at the hotel and valet parked the vehicle. However, the valets were nowhere to be seen and one of us stood by the car for 5-7 minutes before anyone ever appeared. It was a cool, windy November evening.

Once inside the lobby, the maps were somewhat confusing and the direction of the restaurant was not immediately apparent. After finding the restaurant, we were checked in right away -- but to our surprise, payment for the meal was required before the experience -- we've never been in that situation that before at WDW.

The cost was flooring -- 2 adults, 1 child -- just shy of $100, including a 10% gratuity. Gratuity was added to the bill before service was rendered, which I thought was slightly backwards. Typically, gratuity is based on service experience.

We were seated promptly, but in the back of the restaurant close to the kitchen. It was convenient for direction to the buffet, but a little too close for comfort. We were greeted and our drink orders were taken within 3-4 minutes and we proceeeded to the buffet. The buffet choices were not overwhelming -- matter of fact, I maybe expected more. We felt that the desserts were better than the meal spread overall.

The restaurant temperature was quite cold -- maybe around 68-70. Food got cold really quick on our side of the restaurant so by the time you got to the other side of your plate, it was not as good as the first side. The food was average/mediocre.

The magic was ruined by the fact that we were seated opposite the servers station (on the other side of the wall/partition) and we could hear servers and characters chatting with one another -- some complaining about their jobs. To add to the experience, while refilling our drinks, the server accidentially poured iced tea on our new digital camera.

The only redeeming part of the evening was the desserts -- especially the cinnamon roll bread pudding -- a must!

We're not in a huge rush to return.
 
1 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 10, 2007
Reviewer: backsthepack Litchfield Park, AZ     June 12, 2007
Loved it! We celebrated our sons 8th birthday with dinner at Goofy's Kitchen. What a treat. We were a little early for our reservations, but were seated right away. We paid extra to have balloons tied to the table and a birthday bucket brought over. Minnie and Mulan paid extra attention to our little one as did Goofy. Pluto tried, but was swamped with kids!!! The buffet is perfect. Grown up food along with kid food in another section. I couldn't believe the choices and the quantity. The price was high, but not over the top high for the entertainment, service and food. Our waiter couldn't have been better. The only down side is that the grat is added to the ticket at a small 10%. I feel the staff deserves more than that but feel that most will not think to give them a little extra because they think that it is added to the ticket. Of all of the character meals we have done in the past this one is by far the best.
 
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 22, 23, 2007
Reviewer: julie1006 Bay Area, California     May 24, 2007
I had read good reviews of Goofy's Kitchen before our visit to Disneyland, but I did not expect it to be as big a hit with my children as it turned out to be. The atmosphere is very relaxed, the service is prompt, there are a nice variety of foods to choose from, but best of all were the characters. We ate dinner at Goofy's Kitchen, with reservations for 5 pm (great time to go, not crowded at all and you can still get back to the park before closing), and got so much personal attention from the characters. My 4 year old daughter loved Goofy the most but we also saw Alice (terrific!), Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Belle, Minnie, Pluto, and Chip and Dale. Such a great experience that we ate there two nights in a row. Arrive when they open if you are going without reservations. You will not be disappointed if you are going for the kids:)
 
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 11th
Reviewer: superhero99 Alberta, Canada     May 17, 2007
I have been to Disneyland 8 times, and each time we make a visit to Goofy's Kitchen. I, as well as my family and friends, LOVE it here! We enjoy the brunch more then the dinner, simply because we like breakfast food. There is a wide selection in the buffet, from pizza to omelets to desserts. The atmosphere is very fun and colourful. The service is attentive and friendly. My last visit was May 11th, for an 8am reservation with my boyfriend. There were many characters that came to our table, all nice and friendly, even though there were no children in our party. I am picky about food, but I do enjoy the food here and I tend to always overeat! It came to about $27.99 each, which included taxes and gratuities. You pay before you are seated, which is nice since you can leave as soon as you are done. It's just a really fun place, and I have many good memories from here :)
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page