Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Disneyland Hotel - Goofy's Kitchen
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Eat with the Characters at this buffet-style restaurant. A popular spot for birthday celebrations.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 64 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   October 11, 2006
Reviewer: CraigC Memphis, Tennessee     October 16, 2006
We had the dinner buffet at Goofy's Kitchen. The food was pretty good, but not outstanding. The service (basically taking drink orders since it is a buffet) was fine.

The characters the night we were there were Mulan, Belle, Chip, Goofy, Pluto, and Fairy Godmother. The characters did come around pretty evenly spaced out, but they all seemed rather "rushed." We did not want a lot of time with them, just enough for them to sign autographs and have a picture made with our 10 year-old. They just seemed ready to "move on" to the next table and "get it over with." Not very magical.

Bottom line - our time at Goofy's Kitchen was "just okay" but "nothing special." We are not hard to please, but this was just not worth the price.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   September 5, 2006
Reviewer: mkraemer Palo Alto, CA     September 06, 2006
We brought friends with us to Disneyland, and they'd never been to a character meal. We chose Goofy's Kitchen because we'd had good experiences there before. It was the day we were driving home, so we weren't going to the park; going to see characters was the perfect way to send us on our way with a little Disney magic.

How very wrong we were.

We had PS for 9:40, and we were seated fairly quickly. Our group was 3 adults, 6 children. We were happy to be seated together, although we'd been warned that might not be the case. The restaurant was not crowded. The food was good; nice presentation, good quantity, good selection. Our service was fine but a bit slow (we had to put plates on a chair in order to make room for other places on the table).

We saw some characters walking around: Goofy, Pluto, Mad Hatter, Alice, Chip, and Dale. For the littlest girl in our party, only one female character was a disappointment. Goofy and Chip visited our table. Dale and Pluto did not. I had to ask a manager to have Alice come to our table because otherwise, it would have been a huge disappointment for the littlest girl (the manager made a point of coming over to our table to let us know that Alice was at tea and would be by in about 15 minutes, but it was longer than that, I think.) Mad Hatter arrived after most of our party had left the restaurant and I was waiting for the last child to finish eating.

All in all, the lack of characters was a huge flop. I think our friends think that we're just suckers for anything Disney offers and I'm embarrassed that we dragged them there. It was a very expensive, and fairly long breakfast since we kept waiting and waiting for characters that didn't come. We were at the restaurant for nearly 2 hours!
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   3/28/06
Reviewer: mickey fan65 Hanover, IN     June 30, 2006
This is one of our favorites. We were seated right by the door where the characters came in and that just added to the excitement. The food was excellent -I had rib eye and my son thought he was in heaven with the peanut butter and jelly pizza:) They had a wide variety of fruit which was just at perfect ripeness, which is a real treat for Hoosiers in Spring. The service was great, glasses were never empty amd dirty plates were removed before we returned from our second trip to buffet. My daughter laughed so hard she lost her breath when Goofy was looking (not touching)at my camera --she told him I would not be happy (I was in the buffet line) if he broke it, so as I approached the table and grabbed my camera for photo ops he hid behind my daughter and son, literally shaking in his shoes (well i am a bit protective of "my precious" Nikon). He returned to our table later (on his way to his break) to make some mischief with Pluto. We also had great visits with Max, Aladdin, Belle (in blue dress), Chip, and Minnie. This one is worth leaving the park for---walking or monrail takes about the same amount oftime but the kids got a kick out of the monorail so I recommend that!
 
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   April 19, 2006
Reviewer: momuvseven Nevada     April 23, 2006
We must have hit this one on a bad day because by the time we left we had decided it should be renamed Goofy's RipOff.
We had been here about fifteen years ago and had an excellent time. More recently we have been having our character breakfasts at the Plaza and had wonderful times but needed to try something different so I reserved PS for Goofy's Kitchen.
The first drawback is we had to leave the park and take the monorail over so of course that takes away from park time.
They seated us and we immediately noticed how dark, dated and crowded the room was compared to the Plaza. No characters in sight. This was an afternoon seating so we had thought we were getting lunch type foods but all they offered were breakfast items. Food was mediocre at best. Nothing outstanding and the kids barely ate a thing.
The waiter brought the first round of drinks and then nothing. He just disappeared and after about 45 minutes we managed to chase down three different CM until we found one who would bring us refills. The cups are all juice size so with ice cubes in your drink all you get is a few sips. At the plaza you can get refills from the fountain as needed.
The characters finally did come around, took forever and they were not of the same caliber as you see in the park. The fairy godmother was very old and fake looking. Chip and Dale were there along with Goofy, Pluto, the Mad Hatter and Minnie. The Mad Hatter never made it to our table. We stayed about ninety minutes just to get the dozen very poor quality pictures that I left with. I generally take about a hundred pics at a character breakfast. The room was so crowded and the characters so few that there weren't any photo opportunities. They would pose with the person seated in the aisle and that was it. No effort was made to interact with the kids or to engage them in posing for pictures. We were seated by a window with a very narrow aisle and tables on the other side. There is maybe eighteen inches between tables and you have to move to let the people at the next table in and out of their seats.
Then to put the icing on the cake the monorail broke down and we had to walk back to Disneyland. Normally wouldn't be a big deal but it was very hot and we were not used to the heat.
We would never bother with this character meal again. From now on we will go to the Plaza.
The whole experience was very disappointing and for our party of six we paid about $125 with our Annual Pass Discount.
 
4 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Saturday, 11 March, 2006
Reviewer: coniemouse Salt Lake City, Utah     March 16, 2006
My husband and I had breakfast here on a day when we were not going into the parks. While we were in a mood for a liesurely breakfast, we were surprised to notice that we could have gotten in and out very quickly if we had been in a hurry. However, that wouldn't have given us time to enjoy all the excellent options! In terms of buffet breakfasts and character breakfasts I would say this must be among the best. Our waiter was charming and had a great sense of humor and was also very efficient. Our glasses were frequently re-filled with excellent orange juice.
Breakfast: Everything was beautifully displayed. Items included Mickey Mouse pancakes and waffles, oatmeal, lots of toppings like yogurt and berries that could be used with any of the above, excellent eggs benedict, breakfast tamales, breakfast desserts like apple crisp and peach melba and unusual items such as poached salmon.
Characters: The characters included Chip and Dale, Goofy and son, Donald Duck, Pocahontas and the Mad Hatter. Every so often the kids would be invited to the center of the restaurant to dance with the characters. It was fun and cute but not noisy or havoc inducing.
Service:excellent. Make sure you make a preferred seating reservation in advance.
Price: reasonable for what you get: $21.99/person with $3.30 gratuity added. Disney visa card discount.
Food: amazing variety and presentation for breakfast
Atmosphere: fun, yet not too kitchy. Would be a great place to celebrate a birthday for young or old.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   02/16/2006
Reviewer: jdnelson (jdnelson98258@yahoo.com) Seattle     February 25, 2006
This visit to Goofy's Kitchen was our second since 1999. We chose to dine here as we wanted to celebrate my sister's 40th and father's 70th birthdays.
The table host we had was great and arranged a character and staff "Happy Birthday" sing along even though we didn't order a cake or birthday bucket. They presented two cupcakes with candles to the birthday guests.
The food was great too, but there were too many starch food choices. They had some great salad, meat (great prime rib), vegetable, fruit and dessert choices. My kids loved the kids food area (hot dogs, pizza, "Micky-roni and Cheese", breaded shrimp, french fries, etc.).
We had many characters come to our table for the kids to get photos and autographs- Goofy, Chip & Dale, Mulan, Minnie Mouse, the Fairy Godmother and Pluto. They even put on a great show in the dining room and welcomed the kids to join in (great photo opportunity).
We paid nearly $210.00 for 5 adults and two kids. The cashier guy did mess up our bill and we didn't realize it until the next day. We presented our AAA card for the 10% discount and we didn't receive it. I went back the next day and spoke to the manager. He didn't immediately give me a refund of the 10%, but promised to do it soon (still hasn't hit my credit card as a refund).
Goofy's Kitchen is a great place for dinner!! DEFINITELY RECOMMENDED.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   1/28/06
Reviewer: MickeyDoesVegas (caligyrl82@yahoo.com) Las Vegas, Nevada     January 28, 2006
This place is for the kids. Who cares how crummy the food is, it's for the kids only!! I have taken my son (who is now 3) to Goofy's kitchen every year since he was 1 and he absolutely LOVES it. Granted, it is over-priced, and the food isn't the greatest, but when you're at Disneyland, it's because you're taking your kids and everything should be about them. I think it's great and I will continue to take my son here, every year, for his birthday, until he's old enough so that it's not so much fun for him anymore. If you don't like this place and want to complain about it, than you don't deserve to go!!!
 
4 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/5/05
Reviewer: Parkatola Salt Lake City, Utah     December 12, 2005
This is the second time we've eaten at Goofy's Kitchen, and it was as much fun this time. Family of 6 (2 adults, 3 kids (12,9,5) and 1 senior). We had reservations for 6:40 on a Monday after DL closed at 6:00. Long walk through Downtown Disney, but everything was decorated for Christmas, so it was fine. Our table was close to the food, and we were able to see and spend time with all of the characters. One thing that should be mentioned is how well the characters focus on a particular table. With lots of kids coming up from other tables, and with many of the characters not being able to speak, they are able to gently convey the message that they are focusing on this table right now, and will be with your table soon. The food was good, with a wide range of choices for all ages. We let the kids pick what they wanted, which was mostly pizza, waffle fries, fruit, and other fun choices. There is a good range of choices for the adults as well. The dessert bar is what my wife remembered, and it didn't disappoint. We were able to see all the characters gather and dance a few times, and the kids were invited to join in. Overall, a great experience. We love Goofy's Kitchen, and recommend it highly to everyone spending more than a day or two at Disneyland.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   November 30, 2005
Reviewer: potterphreak Modesto, CA     December 03, 2005
One word: Nasty. I read these reviews before we went and dismissed them completely, thinking people were being picky. Nope, the food is nasty. In our party we had 2 adults and 2 six year olds and our total was $84.20 (included mandatory $10 tip). The characters we met were Goofy, Dale, Aladdin, and Baloo. We tried the pancakes, waffles, eggs, sausage, bacon, gravy and it was all pretty gross. Certainly not what I expected. We have eaten at the character buffet's at the Plaza Inn the past 3 years, so we went in not expecting gourmet food, but WARM and NOT HARD would have been a huge improvement.
 
3 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   11/18/2005
Reviewer: HILNDKID Salt Lake City, UTah     November 21, 2005
We had a priority seating for 9:00am and were seating quickly. The food was plentiful and the characters were very interactive. It was a great breakfast! We had were full up and the kids had a great time with goofy, pluto, jasmine, chip and dale and donald. It was alot of fun and exciting for the kids. Next time I think we will do this very first so the kids can get into the disney experience first thing in the morning instead of waiting for the next day.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page