Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Disneyland Hotel - Goofy's Kitchen
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Eat with the Characters at this buffet-style restaurant. A popular spot for birthday celebrations.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 64 ( Displaying Reviews: 21 - 30 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Oct 9-19th 2005
Reviewer: Disney4Me Canada     October 22, 2005
We saved Goofy's Kitchen for almost the last day. We arrived 10 minutes early and got a few pictures with Baloo and were seated. The service was great. My coffee was kept refilled. My son was amazed at all the food he got to try. I enjoyed a lot of the food including goofaroni, enchilatas, apple strawberry crepes, Daisy's scrambled eggs, salmon, and so much more. It was breakfast but my son had a sundea at the end of the meal and they let him take it out with him. The characters were good. Alice seemed to chat him up a lot and he was mortified. Dale, Chip, Goofy and Pluto came by and hammed it up too. The dancing and drum playing was good for the kids and although the gratuity was added into the price it was still overall a very good experience and nice to not to have to worry about it after the meal. We will go again on our next visit. It was the most expensive meal we ate but also we did not feel rushed in any way and got to try a lot of new things.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Sept. 15th 2005
Reviewer: ima_mickeyfan athena, oregon     October 20, 2005
We had a 5:15pm reservation, arrived early and checked in decided to have a drink while we waited, about 5 minutes later our name was called for a Party of 8. 4 adults 4 children. I was told when making our reservations that they might have to split up our group into 4's was happy to see that they managed to put us all together. WOW oh WOW did we hit the time jackpot. there were maybe 6 other families in the restaurant with us. Right away we had character interaction. Our first one was Goofy in his Chef outfit. We all went to go get our dinner, was very suprised on the variety of items that were available. I loved the Chipolte mashed potatos...dd said that goofy made a mistake and put pb&j on the pizza and it tasted good. DS # 1 only ate salad & dessert, didn't want anything else. DS#2 ate everything I think! (lol)....dd#1 who never eats a thing ate 2 large servings of Mickey Nuggets, dd#2 ate mickey nuggets and lots of desserts. this being both daughters first time to disneyland they were so excited to see so many characters comming to them.. Then the music started, they just looked at me, and I said let's go dance took them to the floor and everyone started dancing...Minnie Mouse grabbed dd#1's hands and danced with her and Princess Jasmine and Aladdin were dancing with dd #2. talk about a priceless moment. We loved how Princess Jasmine remembered the girl's Names each time she saw them...(read my ariel's grotto review for more info on the name story).This trip was also my DH's sister and hubbies first time to disneyland also and they were way impressed with the character interaction. We never felt rushed by our wait staff and we always had refills on our drinks, the CM's were awesome at keeping our table cleared, 1 time he tried to take dd's plate while she was with princess Jasmine and she said "hey I'm not done with that". he apologized so much to her!! lol.... We did not get our goofy's kitchen buttons as we were told that they were still out of them, and going on 3 weeks now with out them, bummer...Goofy's kitchen is #1 with us!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   October 3, 2005
Reviewer: lovesthemouse New York City     October 13, 2005
This was our 3rd attempt at trying to have a birthday celebration at DL. We were told that they seated patons untill 9PM and made a 8PM reservation. Were seated about 8:20 after taking pictures with MInnie in front of the restaurant. Dinner started off fine. There was chicken tortilla soup and a selection of salads which were very good. My daughter-15 yrs- is a vegitarian and we were told that the chef would work with her to make her a special dish. (We have done this many many times at WDW). The chef suggested pasta with mixed vegetables and my daughter agreed. She was brought a plate with some of the vegetables from the buffet and some dry cooked pasta. After making a face she was brought a small cup of tomato sauce. Needless tosay she did not eat. My husband and I went to the buffet which had a nice selection. When I commented that much of the food look like it had been sitting for quite some time I was told that the resturant was closing soon so they weren't refilling the main courses. I had barely sat to begin eating when several waite staff came over with Mary Poppins and Burt to sing Happy Birthday. My husband protested that we hadn't even eaten our main courses but they just moved the dishes. They seemed annoyed that we wanted to at least wait for the camera to turn on. We were told that they couldn't come back later because the characters go home at 9:10 PM. I mentioned that we were told that you could be seated until 9 and they said that was true. By 9PM the soup salad portion of the buffet had been taken down and by 8:45 I was told that they wouldn't refill the buffet so I fail to see how you could be seated until 9. Anyway they sang happy birthday and placed the cupcake on my nearly full dinner plate. My daughter said that we hadn't seen many of te characters. Aladden then ran by for a quick picture and autograph. We were told that the other characters had gone home already- it was barely 9PM- but if we wanted the waitress would take the autograph book to the back to get it signed. None of us had eaten beyond the soup salad. We took some desert- even this was being broken down and asked to see the manager. He came over and basically gave another I'm Sorry. My husband said that this had just cost $120 and we deserved more than I'm Sorry. He said to wait and came back a few minets later presenting 2 pins which were supposd to make up for everything and asked us not to be mad at him. We had breakfast reservations for later in the week but didn't bother go. We have been to Goofys Kitchen 4 or 5 times in the past and always had a great time. This time was a disaster.
 
3 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 12, 2005
Reviewer: tony_bihn (tony_bihn@yahoo.ca) Calgary, Alberta, Canada     August 08, 2005
I found Goofy's Kitchen very playful and fun!!!! The food was absolutely awesome with endless varieties of dishes like :PBANDJ Pizza, calamari, cakes, brownies, etc. The characters didn't rush and came to each table. Some of them that came to our table included: Mulan, Snow White, Pluto, Goofy, and Chip and Dale!! Me and my sister were in heaven!!!! The server was friendly as well. Goofy doing the macarena was the best part in the buffet!!! The price was a bit extreme, but it was worth the money. I was ashamed however because Minnie Mouse was there and didn't come to our table. Pinocchio was there as well taking pictures with people. He was great!! The picture guy told us to make muscle-arms for the photo, and it turned out great!!!! What was neat was we paid at the front right away before we went to our table to eat!!! We only had to pay for the drinks, and that's all!!! Overall, I would give this restaurant 5 stars plus. It's such a fun buffet, we should have this kind of buffet back in Calgary, Alberta, Canada and I would go there again and again in the future!!!!!!!
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 27, 2005
Reviewer: CA Screamin Northern CA     July 31, 2005
This is the second time for my family to go to Goofy's Kitchen. This was also my daughter's first time to Disneyland. The food was a standard breakfast buffet. The build your own omelet is always a hit with my family. The price you pay is for the Character Breakfast experience and not for the quality of the food. The service was excellent. We received refills of drinks promptly and used plates removed in a timely manner. We had 5 character's come to our table. I had to wait in front of the opening to our section and politely ask 3 of the characters to come by since the other characters would miss our table since it was located in a small section off to the side which was surrounded by 3 solid walls and one semi tinted glasswall with a four foot wide opening. This area could only fit two families. Baloo had a hard time squeezing into the opening. "It is important, if possible, that you ask for a table in an open area where the characters will see you. Overall, I always enjoyed the character breakfast. You must take thing in stride and take the pros with the cons. Just make the best of it for your kids. This is a once in a lifetime experience for the kids. My daughter left very happy. The look on her face made it all worth it.
 
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   May 29, 2005
Reviewer: rscash Medford, Oregon     July 30, 2005
Let me just start out by saying that I'm a huge Disney fan, so I really hate to give a poor review, BUT: the price really is way too high for the quality of the food, and if you want lots of choices, don't go near the closing of lunch,because when they run out of something they don't make more, doesn't matter if you have only been in the resturant for 15 minutes. The whole gratuity added to your bill is a load of crap. No way should this be allowed to happen, you pay enough as it is ( over $100 for 2 adults, a 2yr old who was free, and a 4yr old). We did add a cake at the tune of $19, not at all worth it. It was so dry, not even the baby ate it. It was just left on the table.
As I was pulling my chair up to the table, a staple on the bottom of the chair ripped my finger open, and all I got was a "we're so sorry".
I had to complain to the manager that all the characters seem to be going around us. So she sent over a princess to make us happy. Plus the obligatoty charater they sent out with your cake. My kids had to chase down Rafiki. In all we say: Peter Pan, Rafiki, Goofy, Sleeping Beauty. Many others passed us by without stopping. I wouln't waste my money here again. It really wasn't worth the headache.
 
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 4, 2005
Reviewer: laemee (laemee1@yahoo.com) North Bend, Oregon     July 13, 2005
This was an awesome character meal with plenty of characters to make our 4 yr old very happy. We were there at opening for the breakfast/brunch. There are so many choices on the buffet you will not go away hungry. The wait staff was very friendly & always available when you needed them. The food was very good, but hard to get eaten with all the entertainment from the characters coming by. We had 8 characters in all & everyone came to our table & spent time with our entire family, playing & posing for pictures. We will definately include this character meal again in the future !!
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Dec 27-Jan3, 2004
Reviewer: pisces West Los Angeles, California     June 27, 2005
I visted Goofys buffet twice during the course of a 7-day holiday visit. I was a single adult diner who had one breakfast, and one dinner.

First the BAD:

They didn't seem to have all that many selections for their breakfast. Omelets don't really do much for me. Eggs are cheap, besides, I can make an omelet in the microwave. Really! The quality of the breakfast foods, in general, didn't seem to justifiy the high prices they're charging for that particular meal.

And believe me, Goofys is outrageously expensive. I don't have my receipt, and I don't remember exactly, but, I think a single adult breakfast came to $28.00 total, and a single adult dinner was around $30.00. And, that's with the AAA discount. The biggest sin is they tack on a mandatory gratuity. Tipping should be strictly an option IMHO, at the guest's discretion, and given the high initial prices, I was very disappointed in a forced/fixed tip, no matter what kind of service is given.

The GOOD:

Luckily, the service, at both the breakfast and lunch, was excellent. My glasses were always refilled promptly, and my Server was never far from hand. There was never a time when a Server wasn't around to help me. The servers at Goofys were so wonderfully friendly and comforting to me (single diners usually get ignored)...that I went ahead and left a personal tip....on top of the fixed gratuity.

Breakfast isn't a total loss in terms of food. I loved their pizza. It was a thick crust, that they were constantly replenishing. Think Numero Uno's classic deep-dish...only fresher. Loved the goof-a-roni macaroni-n-cheese. And they had Amaretto bread pudding, which striked me as very gourmet.

Dinner, however, is the real prize at Goofys. I highly recommend a Goofys dinner (rather than Breakfast), due to their wonderful carved meats. They had both ham and prime rib, which were very tasty. They had several different kinds of mashed potatoes, and the wonderful pizza and mac-n-cheese were there too, at dinner. They had a fish dish and veggies. There was a make-your-own tri-colored tostada bar. It seemed to me they trotted out more variety and festive entrees at dinner.

The desserts at Goofys dinner are heavenly. The hot-chocolate cake is absolutely rich and sinful, and, even 6 months after, I'm still dreaming about it. There were a few different jello molds, in addition to Goofy's "Goof" cake which was delightful.

The DECOR & CHARACTER INTERACTION:

I actually found their decor to be very elegant. The beautifully folded cloth napkins, quality salt and pepper shakers, silverware, elegant linen table cloths, and plush feel of the luxurious furnishings and lighting, made the ambience feel very posh and 5-star, amazingly. This is definitely one elegant and exclusive restaurant, and you do feel like you want to dress up a bit. Then again, it was the Holidays, and I suppose everything feels a bit more special and festive around that time. Still, the whole feel of Goofys furnishings felt very "special occasion", and a place to celebrate. There's a kind of a soothing vibe to the place, and very unhurried. Once you are seated, you can take all the time you need. They don't rush anyone, which is good, because I was determined....given the high prices for an all-you-can-eat buffet-----to extract every last value, and eat them under the table. Just kidding. No I'm not!

I must have spent two hours, at least, at my elegant table. Of course I was occupied with the wonderfully delightful and charming characters, who'd actually sit right on down at my table once they saw I was alone. I wondered if, because I was a single diner, the characters would ignore me. Just the opposite. Frankly, they made more charming dinner companions than members of my own family could have. Just kidding--truly,this time.

I think family is a good word for it. The characters embraced me and I wasn't even going to do a review of Goofy's but for the fact that I have such warm memories of the wonderful festive, elegant and charming environment the decor, and characters give off. It seemed to me that every character made the rounds as much as guests wanted. If guests wanted extra interraction they could seek that out too, as there were several times the characters set up central stations where they'd teach the "Macarena" and "Pail Dances".

I was thinking that Goofys deserves 4 planets because of the high prices, yet I realize these kind of delightful experiences are so rare in life, that the memories of such are, really, rather priceless.

I'll always remember the wonderfully elegant, festive, unhurried, and charming atmosphere of Goofys, and how the characters embraced me and treated me like a member of the family.

For that, I give 5 planets.

 
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   January, 2005
Reviewer: kld Sacramento, CA     May 13, 2005
This restaurant is very overpriced for the quality of food. The check-in procedure is poorly run. You have to pay before eating. They do not inform you properly of the procedures when checking in. They are very eager to get your credit card charged, but dont explain the rest of the procedure. The rest of the procedure you can discover on your own. Several people had no idea what they were supposed to do. There were lots of peopel who were upset at the check in counter, becuase they had not been informed of the procedure and were waiting without knwoing they had to go back to the desk. Even though we were the first ones there, it took forever to get us a seat. They are very rude to customers. I thought it was ridiculous that they tried to slip by a 20% charge for service onto my bill! without really telling me--when this is a self-serve buffet! The price is already way too high for the quality of food they offer. The characters are good but the table service was weak. The waiter didnt come by to refill water, etc. Overall it was too expensive, like most everything at Disneyland.
 
4 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   April 2004
Reviewer: babytmakes5 Twin Cities, Minnesota     March 19, 2005
We experienced our first character breakfast at Goofy's Kitchen at the Disneyland Hotel. We went very early in the morning during the off-season, hoping to avoid crowds. We dined right before we actually went into the parks, and it was the first time my children had been to Disneyland, so we really wanted this to be a memorable experience dining with their favorite characters. My two oldest children actually wore their Mickey and Minnie costumes into the restaurant, and it was sweet that the cast members at the entrance made a big deal of it. Pluto was at the entrance taking photos with guests, so the cast members said "Pluto, your owners are here!" and Pluto came running over! We took some really cute photos, and it was a wonderful start to our Disneyland trip. The actual character meal did leave something to be desired, however. We were there at 7:30 am and already the restaurant was fairly crowded, and we did not meet with many characters. Goofy never did make it to our side of the dining room, and we were there for an hour. The characters we did see (Mulan, Aladdin, and a couple of characters from The Jungle Book) seemed to want to be in another part of the dining room, so I felt our table was a little bit ignored, even though we were in the middle of the room. It just seemed chaotic, really. The food was fun for children, but didn't seem like breakfast at all. There were not many healthy choices, except some fruit, but even that was glazed in syrup. There were tons of desserts and other dishes like mac and cheese and mini corn dogs, but not much that seemed adult-like in tastes. I probably wouldn't eat breakfast there again, unless we went there to celebrate a birthday (which I heard can be fun). I would much rather go to Ariel's Grotto or the Storyteller's Breakfast where it seems much less chaotic and the food is much better.
 
4 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page