Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Disneyland Hotel - Goofy's Kitchen
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Eat with the Characters at this buffet-style restaurant. A popular spot for birthday celebrations.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 64 ( Displaying Reviews: 31 - 40 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 3, 2005
Reviewer: dec181981 (dec181981@yahoo.com) Ridgefield, Washington     March 14, 2005
We chose Goofy's Kithen for our character breakfast, and we were not disapointed in the slightest! We had an PS scheduled for 8:00 am but arrived early at 7:30 and were seated almost right away. Before seating us we had our pictures taken with Pluto, and my 7 year old daghter had a picture that Tinkerbell magically showed up in! We paid for breakfast and for 2 adults and 2 children the total with tax and tip (they add it automatically) was $85. On our way to be seated we ran into Princess Jasmine, Balu, Chip, Dale, Donald, and Goofy! The kids were in heaven. Our server was right there at our tale and took our drink order, and we went to the buffet spread. WOW there is a lot of food, i was surprised at the selection.. they had everything from the classic brakfast bufet items like danish, donughts, muffins, mickey waffels, pancakes, cereal, different egg dishes, made to order omlets, backon, sausage, to kid friendly dishes like rice crispie treats, PB&J pizza, Mac-n-cheese, corndogs, tater tots. everything ou could think of.

The characters were no disapointment either, The look on my daughters face when Jasmine came and sat at our table was priceless! I swear that she must have spent 30-45 minutes at our table just talking to my son..she woud tell a story and he would tell her one back. She would leave only to come back in 10 min with another character and they would goof arround and it was all in all a hilarous time. I would normally say that 85$ for breakfast, no matter how good is over rated, but in this case the characters made it totally worth it! On the way out we had to get the pictures and we got 3 sheets with 2 5x7's of each sheet and it was only 35$ so it wasnt that bad. all and all i would say that this was one of the best parts of our trip!
 
6 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   26 January 2005
Reviewer: emmah australia     March 14, 2005
I was travelling alone and felt a little awkward going into a character breakfast - surely, I thought, it's really just for kids. But it was provided in my package so I decided it would be foolish not to try it out. So I headed along to Goofy's Kitchen to try it out, and ended up having a great time. The food was a little startling; on my side of the planet, sweet things do not make an appearance at a breakfast restaurant - so the sheer number of cakes and biscuits and icecreams etc available seemed a little shocking. However, I waded through all of this and found the bar where you can order an omlette made to order and this was fabulous - red onion, spinach, tomato and they even found a little feta for me. cooked to perfection. and the little baby waffles and bagels with cream cheese made my meal complete. There were a ton of characters and they all made a point of saying hello - Alice signed her name on my tablecloth, and goofy sat down and made faces at me for several minutes, which was hilarious. Every time the chipmunks walked past, they clipped me over the head. There was a little girl there that morning, terrified of the characters, and that certainly added some humour to the events (not, I suspect, for her poor parents). An interesting experience!
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   12/18/04
Reviewer: ObiwanKenobi Glendora, California     February 16, 2005
I was disapointed in the experience as we were led to a table sat down and told that "Someone would be with us shortly." The food was acceptable but the price was over the top.
We had no idea what to expect for the $75.00 we paid. We saw no characters that my 6 year old knew. We did see Goofy and Max for about 5 minutes but were unable to get near them as they were doing some sort of interaction with children. The service that we received was far below what we experience at any of the cheaper eateries in and out of Disneyland.
I had asked for a simple item 'Salt' and never got it from our "Server" who we saw when he brought our drinks. We had to find someone to get us a refill. I was amazed at the lack of service when It wasnt all that busy where we were seated. Then realizing that the gratuity was added BEFORE we sat dow made it even worse as I realized that he got over $10.00 to bring 3 drinks to our table.
I would much rather go inside Disneyland to the Pizza Port of Carnation Cafe than spend that kind of money for that little service.
I will not be returning to this restaurant.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Sat Feb. 12th
Reviewer: Dean Robert Kelowna, BC Canada     February 15, 2005
Goofy's Kitchen: After a very un-Disneylike experience a day earlier at the Plaza Inn, my family was not sure what to expect going to the Disneyland Hotel for this character breakfast... but it was marvelous! It only took a few minutes to get the the front reception and we were then greated kindly. We had just enough time to have some fun and a great picture with Pluto (in character with his chef's hat) before being toured thru the venue, shown the variety of food offerings and then lead straight to a table. After a bad experience the day before I nearly had tears in my eyes wandering through here... it's that wonderful. The food is out of this world! Such a variety... (like Goofy's Peanut Butter Pizza which I had to try just because) yet there was something for every taste and age. The traditional Mickey waffles and pancakes, Mickey chicken nuggets and even hot dogs... which I would never even dream of serving for breakfast but my 4 year old thought it was a good idea... go figure! I guess this place has kids figured out! We were then met by a server who chatted a bit and asked if we wanted any juices, coffee or tea. Juices for the kids and regular and decaf coffee was quickly brought to us and refilled regurlarily. Now back to the food... It was very good. My wife really enjoyed the broiled salmon and fresh steamed asparagus while I enjoyed a tasty Aladdin enchilada with some eggs and sante fe potatoes (spiced up with salsa, cheeses, and peppers).
What I'm really trying to say is that there was a ton of variety... all well prepared and presented! One of the chef's even commented to my wife "if you don't see something that you would like... let me know and I'll make it for you". Get out! And don't get me started on the dessert offerings! Wow! Our plates were kindly taken away each time we had finished snacking and a hostess / manager was also stopping by each table to make sure everyone was enjoying themselves.
We had barely started on our first bit of food and drink when that street-rat Aladdin came to play with my daughters at the table! He was totally in character and enjoying himself... he told us a secret... there was an actor playing his part at the Aladdin show at the Hyperion Theater! Pretty funny... got great pictures... then Chip and Dale dropped by, followed by the Goofy chef himself! We also met Mary Poppins, the Mad Hatter and Baloo Bear from Jungle Book.
They got all the kids involved in a little 'Trashing the Camp' music where everyone banged together plastic cookware and then later did a macarena-like dance... which was pretty good humour to watch the likes of Goofy and Chip having a 'dance off' on the floor! It may not have been the most inventive of shows but the kids liked it... and the characters all came to the tables and interacted with each family (no lining up for pictures or autographs). They were many birthday parties being held but the Mad Hatter helped the rest of us celebrate our un-birthday! Yah!
This character breakfast is worth the money! Great food and service with character fun too! The price is $21.99 adult & $11.99 kids, which is the same as the very inferior Plaza Inn meal.
I would highly recommend a character breakfast for an 'off' day from Disneyland... like the day you're leaving to fly home. It gives you a super fun Disney experience without having to be inside the resort. I'm very appreciative of the fact that Disney listened to my complaint of our Plaza Inn experience and provided us with this Goofy's Kitchen breakfast to make up for it... It really made our trip finish off on a high note. Thank you.
I plan on writing Disney to say thanks personally... but my story proves what I had read somewhere earlier... if you are unhappy about an experience at Disneyland, let them know and they will make some magic for you!
 
9 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/25/2004
Reviewer: Justustwo Des Moines, Washington     January 07, 2005
We had made reservations before we left for trip, but when we arrived (before out scheduled time) we checked in and waited for over 30 minutes to be seated until my husband and son inquired about the time we had reserved. Then they (staff at counter) informed us you pay first before your seated. If this had been mentioned when we checked in, the waiting time would not have occurred. Mentioning this to the manager, we basically were told sorry! Nothing more. Now the food is wonderful and if you leave here hungry it is your own fault. Enough for all ages to be satisfied and the characters are great and friendly and approachable for everyone! Great experience.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Dec 25th, 2004
Reviewer: downeyjrs Seattle, WA     January 07, 2005
This is one of our favorite stops during our visits to the resort. but it's been a few years since we've eaten here. So our family of 8, 5 adults, 3 kids (6,8,& 11), decided to eat here for Christmas dinner. $200 for the whole family, including the AP discount. As usual, there was such a variety to choose from, and everything was fresh and delicious. Especially delicious were the Prime Rib, BBQ baby back ribs, and the baked Salmon with Mediteranian relish. We only had one complaint. After "checking in", I was given a slip and told it would be just a few minutes before being seated. What I didn't know, is that I was supposed to pay next, then we would be seated. After 30 min, I asked the manager William what the hold up was. After realizing that we had yet to pay, we did so and were finally seated. I expressed to William that I should have been directed as to what to do next. He stated that this is their policy, and apologized for the lack of communication. He told me that he would make it up to me, but wasn't specific on how he was going to do it. I don't know if William had anything to do with it, but, we were served by an outstanding waiter. He was very friendly and attentive to us. Also, my 3 daughters, were showered with visits from every character. The characters were wonderful and we even had a playful, pranking Goofy. Everyone had a very enjoyable time and we will continue to eat here. Just remember to pay after you check in!
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Nov 13, 2004
Reviewer: ORDUCK Gladstone, Oregon     November 19, 2004
This was one of the major highlights of our trip. There were 3 adults and 2 kids, although the 12 year old kid was charged the adult price. Our 5 year old daughter was very uncertain of the characters at first, and to their credit they didn't push her. They would spend time talking/playing with the rest of us and if she did warm up to them, the character would get closer to her. If she still seemed scared, they'd stay away. We saw Jane Porter, Goofy, Chip, Dale, Mad Hatter, Pinocchio, Mary Poppins and more, so many I've forgotten. They all spent considerable amount of time with us. We never felt rushed, which is good because we didn't want to leave. And the food was awesome! There were so many choices, it was hard to try it all! We would do this one again!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   August 26th 2004
Reviewer: Hakuna Makarla Montana     September 17, 2004
we were all excited to go here and the food was great. We were disapointed as we only saw goofy, but he did not come to our table.we also saw Jasmine and Aladin and took a picture with them and off they went to another table. we never saw another carecter, nor did interact with any one else. The food was good so I was happy about that. would we do it again, yes, we liked the food and the atmosphere was nice.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   7/7/04
Reviewer: coloradomousefan Aurora, CO     July 21, 2004
We splurged and went for one brunch at Goofy's Kitchen cost us $75.00 for 4, but it was well worth it! The food was outstanding, the characters were MANY and spent quality time with the kids; not like at the park where the lines are long and time is short. Alice stopped and talked to the kids for more than 10 minutes! Goofy, Donald Duck, Aladdin, The Mad Hatter and Goofy were just a few of the characters that stopped by our table. The wait staff allowed us all the time we wanted and were very gracious and helpful. I did not feel rushed at all, and would happily eat there again. The food is the same almost all meals, so I would not eat there more than once per trip, but definitely add the cost of this experience to your budget, it is a MUST do! A+++
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 2004
Reviewer: rentayenta Utah     June 28, 2004
This was our second trip to Goofy's kitchen. We arrived for our 9:30 am reservation and we were sat immediately. We interracted with Aladdin, Alice, Goofy and Donald. Gepetto and Captain Hook were there but didn't make it over to our table. The food was excellent but our server was the worst. She was not attentive. Alice and Donald were fantastic. We will be going again in December.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page