Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Disneyland Hotel - Goofy's Kitchen
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Eat with the Characters at this buffet-style restaurant. A popular spot for birthday celebrations.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 64 ( Displaying Reviews: 41 - 50 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 12, 2004
Reviewer: luvmyboys Marysville, OH     June 14, 2004
WOW! What fun we had at Goofy's! We saw Pluto, Goofy, Aladdin, Mad Hatter (he is hysterical!), Donald, and Baloo. Each spent time talking and playing with the kids. I got great pictures of my kids dancing with Mad Hatter and Aladdin trying to steal my son's Peter Pan hat! Food was good - and fun! Where else can kids get pizza and brownies for BREAKFAST?! (hey, it's vacation...why not splurge!) We did this meal right before leaving for the airport and it filled us up through the afternoon!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June, 2003
Reviewer: Prince Family Federal Way, WA     June 08, 2004
Not to be missed, sorry to hear some people had a bad experience. Did Brunch here in Feb. of 2002 and June, 2003. Food is the best brunch in DL (the Pooh brunch in DL at the Plaza is good too, avoid CaAd Hotel and Paridise Pier)), but you never seem to be able to eat since there were so many characters! Kids went nuts and photo ops never ended.

Service is the best, but since it can get busy the servers, occassionally, are hard to find. Food is good and themed. Always has some characters outside the resturaunt for pictures if you don;t have a reservation, kids love it!

Don;t miss this one if you can only hit one brunch.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August, 2000 and November, 2003
Reviewer: ralfrick San Francisco Bay Area     March 24, 2004
Both visits were weekdays during busy time periods, one the day before Thanksgiving. In November, 2003 we were seated right away, but there was a bit of a wait in August, 2000. Both were at about 11-11:30, with reservations made. We wanted a late breakfast to allow ourselves the first few hours of the day in the park.

Breakfast is not only cheaper, but breakfast items are harder to mess up, especially in a buffet setting. The made to order omelettes are definitely a highlight, but I was compelled to make a return visit for the strawberry crepes on our November visit. As with any buffet, if there's only one item in the pan, wait until the next one is placed or risk less than fresh.

The characters are the biggest treat here, of course, and we found them plentiful both trips. Goofy and Alladin were there both times. The Aug trip also included the Donald,Mad Hatter, Tweedles Dum and Dee, Pluto, plus Chip & Dale. The most recent trip saw Balloo, Max and Alice.

The 2003 trip came right after my son had pulled the Sword from The Stone, and all the characters signed the paper table cloth for him.

Photos of the 2003 trip can be seen here:
http://home.comcast.net/~ralfrickdl2003/index.htm
(Scroll down to Characters section)
Photos of the 200 trip are here:
http://home.comcast.net/~ralfrick/disneyland_5_.htm
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   2/9/04 Monday morning
Reviewer: GeminiAngel Las Vegas     February 13, 2004
We walked right in at about 7:45am (no res.!!!). I had purchased the meal plan so we had vouchers for the meal. While walking to our table there was Goofy all-chef'ed out!!! Too cute. We also had plenty of interaction with Pluto Baloo Aladdin & Mulan. DD is 2yr old and was nervous so everyone kept their distance and just talked to her. by the end of the meal DD wanted to hug Pluto-then had second thoughts-too funny! (kudos to the CM's on knowing how to handle the situation). What an amazing atmosphere!!! so fun and lively. The food was outstanding as far as breakfast goes. The Goofy cake was so pretty but that did not stop my DH from tearing into it with a hearty appetite! eggs- sausage- bacon- HUGE bananas- dark chocolate muffins with chocolate chips. deli meats and cheeses-salmon filets (awesome). bagels and lox (yum). pizzas- mac & cheese- crepes. So good we can't wait to go back next year!!!!
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   3/28/03
Reviewer: TikiBoy382 Woodland, CA (Northwest of Sacramento)     January 07, 2004
Its been about 8 years since I last ate at this restaurant, way back before they moved it during all the construction and changes the hotel and parks were doing back in the mid/late 90's! I spent my birthday at Disneyland, and for breakfast my friend and I went to Goofy's Kitchen for my Birthday Breakfast! The place looks very simular to the old location, and was wonderfull! I do have to say that the breakfast food wasn't as good as the Dinner selections they have to offer, but just being able to see and have one on one time with the Characters while you eat makes up for EVERYTHING! I plan on going back again for Dinner in May when I go again!
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 20
Reviewer: Buttercup Spokane, Washington     December 29, 2003
We went to Goofy's for breakfast at 9:00 on a Saturday, it was surprisingly uncrowded. We had 7 adults and 4 kids in our party.

It was one of the adults birthday, so we had ordered a birthday bag, which was on the table when we arrived. She loved it, and the kids liked seeing an adult with the birthday hat, balloons, etc. Several of the characters came over to sing Happy Birthday, along with 3 or 4 servers.

While we were there we saw Goofy, Max, Pluto, Alice, Baloo, and Princess Aurora (Sleeping Beauty). They all interacted quite a bit with the kids, signing autographs and posing for pictures. Alice and Princess Aurora both spent several minutes with our table.

The food was fine, nothing outstanding, but for buffet food, not bad at all. The kids really enjoyed the 'kid-friendly' food; mac & cheese, mickey chicken nuggets, mini hot dogs, etc.. The adults liked the made to order omlets. We had a vegetarian in our group and she had no problem finding lots of things to eat. My mom, asked for an egg white only omlet and the cook cracked several eggs right there to make one for her, no problem at all. All the cooks, servers, etc.. were extremely friendly and helpful.

I give it 4 planets instead of 5, because of the price (we spent less at Blue Bayou for lunch) especially the price for kids, my 10 year loved the characters etc... but doesn't eat much food. With tax, it was $39 for just me and my 10 year old.

I don't mind paying for Disney ambience, but the price for the character meals has really increased in recent years. We used to do one character meal a day, but now we only do 1 per trip because it just seems too expensive.

Goofy's is our favorite place for a character meal, because we always seem to get the most character interaction and attention there.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/17/03
Reviewer: tapdancemom Vancouver, Wa     December 23, 2003
We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch at Goofy's Kitchen. My husband, daughter, grandson and I arrived 20 minutes early and were told we could be seated immediately. After presenting three $8.75 breakfast coupons, a 20% cast member discount (my daughter ) and an extra 20% holiday cast member discount we were delighted with the under $30 tab.

Our drink order was taken and Aladdin was right at our table visiting with everyone. two and a half year old Andre spied Goofy at another table and was very excited calling him to come over. The other charcters that visited were Alice, Donald Duck, Baloo and Pluto.

Lots of choices for lunch and breakfast items also were plentiful. Lovely fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes, muffins, huge assortment of roll,croisonts etc., lasagna, taco casserole, smoked salmon, and a really yummy creamed salmon w/corn, pesto gnocci, salad bar items, reular and PBJ pizza (had to try it, good). Numerous desserts included lemon bars, Goofy Cake ( I heard alot about this and it was yummy), cakes, brownies, and several varities of cookies,(I had the chocolate chip and they were GREAT)

Andre ran from the table to find Goofy again and ended up on the floor checking out Donald Duck's feet and dancing with Alice. We all had a great time, food was better than I expected, great character interaction. We were very pleased and will come back next Disneyland trip.
 
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   11/24/2003
Reviewer: Melody0112 Washington State     December 05, 2003
I was a little disappointed in our breakfast at Goofy's Kitchen. Although I made a reservation for 7:20, hoping we would get some good quality time with the characters before the big crowds arrived - we saw only Goofy & Max.

The food was okay - my daughters were entertained with the Mickey Mouse shaped waffles. My youngest (4) did not want to dance, because she said "I want my Mickey Waffle!" Kids!

I do wish we had seen a few more characters.

 
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Oct 22
Reviewer: Cinderella near Sacramento, CA     October 28, 2003
We enjoyed an early breakfast at Goofy's Kitchen on the second day of our visit to DLR. The fact that we made our reservations at the earliest possible moment (I think 60 days prior to our trip) and made them for early in the morning (before the rush) made a huge difference in our experience.

Our reservations were for 7:30am. As we were leaving the restaruant was filling with customers. I am sure these customers did not get the same long visits with the characters as we did. Having the characters to ourselves was well worth the time we had to fill between the time the park opened and the time our meal was over.

We joined our friends for this meal. There were 4 adults and 4 kids.

We were warmly greeted by our waitress Emma who was cheerfull, attentive and full of smiles. She checked on us often and was quick to ask if we needed refills on our beverages.

The food choices were abundant and all delicious. I espcially loved the bacon (yum). The kids enjoyed their MIckey head shaped pancaked and waffles and the fresh fruit (esp. the strawberries). My husband enjoyed the traditional breakfast fare also. We also had the choice of brunch items: muffins, lunchmeat for sandwiches, lasagna, crepes, etc.

We were seated in a small section as close to the the buffet area as possible. I'd say it was the "front" of the restaurant. About every 30-45 minutes all the characters would gather up front and do a Macarena type dance. All the kids in the restaurants would gather around to clap and dance too. It was very cute and I loved the interaction it created.

Goofy and Pluto were there in full chef garb. Aladdin, Baloo, Max, and Alice were there and full of hugs, autographs, and cheerful chatter.

Alice easily spent 5 long minutes with our kids. She sat on the floor and they gathered around her to talk and visit. The kids faces were glowing and Alice seemed to genuinely enjoy herself too.

It was worth every penny to have the one on one time with the characters. The kids didn't eat much because they were so excited about the friends around them, but it really wasn't about the food.

I would (and will) do this character breakfast next time we are at the DLR. ... in a heartbeat!
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   Friday, September 19, 2003
Reviewer: liroi K     October 02, 2003
Disappointed is the word that comes to mind when I think of this experience. From the moment we were seated. But let me start at the beginning, because it started off great!

We checked in nearly 30 minutes late for our priority seating. There were no lurkers in line, so we were seated nearly immediately. By the way, Kudos to the DL staff for the Pluto photo opp while you wait--what a great idea!

We were seated in a great area--the atrium area overlooking the pool and the sidewalk traffic below. This is where the magic ends.

Our server, never introduced herself, was an older lady who obviously was not in the Disney spirit on this day. I choose to give her the benefit of the doubt. She was short in speech, unavailable for drink refills and did not direct us to the buffet. She took our drink order and then delivered the bill.

The food is abundant and themed. It's cute. It's okay food. Because it sits out on a buffet, the pancakes/waffles were dry, the fruit looked dry and other items just didn't look appetizing. There was cereal available plus several themed breakfast pizzas. Interesting assortment--definitely something for every taste (we had a vegetarian with us and she was fine with the choices).

The characters. HUGE, huge disappointment. We were there over an hour eating and waiting to see characters. We saw Goofy twice, Turk and Baloo once and saw the princesses (Snow and Cinderella) leave as we came in, but never again. Goofy was great and interactive, the other two were not and when they saw small children at our table, they pretty much avoided us. One of these children really likes the characters and was disappointed. Goofy was great with him though.

I expected more. It is not a cheap place, but few things are at Disney, so that wasn't it. It was the lack of interaction with the characters. I could have gotten just a good a meal at the coffee place just outside. It was the characters that were so bad--they just didn't seem to want to interact with us or our children.
 
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page