Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Disneyland Hotel - Goofy's Kitchen
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Eat with the Characters at this buffet-style restaurant. A popular spot for birthday celebrations.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 64 ( Displaying Reviews: 51 - 60 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 2002
Reviewer: disneyprincess81 Pennsylvania     September 26, 2003
The buffet here is one of the best I've ever had. The Mickey pancakes are delicious, the sausage is mouthwatering, and for health conscience eaters there is an excellent selection of fruits, pastries, and cereals. The characters are fun to watch and they're always friendly when they come to visit your table. My only warning is that if you have very small children who you feel may be frightened by the characters, avoid this restaurant. My brother was traumatized after visiting the restaurant because the characters really scared him and wouldn't leave him alone when he began to cry. I know they were just trying to console him and be nice, but they made it worse. Definitely come with a very big appetite, you'll want to get your money's worth and it isn't cheap.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 11, 2002
Reviewer: tinktris Sacramento, California     September 08, 2003
We celebrated my son's 3rd birthday at Goofy's Kitchen. They made it wonderful. He got a party bag, and balloons. They did a birthday dance with characters for him and the restaraunt sang happy B-day. But best of all they let me call in and order a cake a week prior, so they brought out his Buzz Lightyear cake, and goofy, and 4 other characters sang and watched him blow out his candles. It was the most memorable B-day. He had his B-day picture taken there with Pluto the restaruant takes the pictures and developes them there. It was completely worth it. I believe it only cost us $50 for me, my husband, and son for buffet character breakfast $30 for the party and cake! Very cheap, and soooo well worth it. This is the best character breakfast at the resort!
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Feb 20 2003
Reviewer: Bears_777 Denver     May 21, 2003
We love this place. ALl of characters usually make us feel at home. The food in ok but not much choices for the price. Birthdays are ok there!! the kids love that. You got to try this at least once!
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 2002
Reviewer: neilpollard Vallejo, CA     May 12, 2003
The "California Fun Book" that Walt Disney Travel puts out had a coupon for 10% off lunch or dinner at Goofy's Kitchen. We had several children with us (ages ranging from 3-13), so we gave it a try. Good thing we had the coupon, the meal is expensive. It was nearly $200 for our party of nine.
Expensive? Yes. Worth it? Yes.
Characters were abundant, and were very attentive to the kids, who got a kick out of it. We had numerous visits from every character, Goofy, Pluto, Baloo, Aladdin & Jasmin, etc. Alice (of wonderland) snuck up on my three year old daugher, covered her eyes and said "guess who!" My little girl thought it was the coolest thing in the world.
There were hoards of choices for food. I'm 6'2", 270lbs, and I didn't get to try everything I wanted to.
Bottom line : it's not for the budget trip. But if you have kids, it's well worth it. Will definately to it again next time around.
As always, Disney doesn't do anything halfway. If it's worth doing, it's worth overdoing.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 28,2003
Reviewer: kowen (kowen@velocitus.net) Hagerman, Idaho     March 31, 2003
This was the best part of our trip. We ate breakfast/brunch here and were so pleased with the experience. Cost was about $70 for 2 adults and 2 children including tax and tip. However, as opposed to our $40-$50 meals in the parks, this was all-you-can-eat buffet, and the selection certainly did not disappoint. Every breakfast item you could think of from Mickey Mouse waffles, french toast, bacon, sausage, pastries galore, omelets made to order along with many lunch selections including Mickey chicken nuggets, hot dogs, enchiladas, pizza, desserts (too many to choose from), salad bar and tons of fresh fruit, etc. Also the selection of characters was awesome. We saw Belle, Geppetto, Donald Duck, Max, Goofy, Pluto, and Pocahontas. All came directly to the table and posed for pictures with all of us. They also did the Macarena dance and pulled the kids out to dance with them. We got Buttons for the kids to wear as well. I would definitely do this again. We did the Minnie and Friends breakfast last year and were pleased, but this blew that away. We only saw 4 characters at the breakfast last year.

Well worth the price!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   April 22, 2002
Reviewer: Heatherlee3 Oregon     March 23, 2003
We had a breakfast reservation for our son's 6th birthday. When I made the reservations they reminded me that tax was not included, however there was no mention that they would tack on a tip......before you even get your service. The service was okay and many characters came to our table....however what upset me the most was that when it came time for Happy Birthday cake for my son there was not a character to be seen at our table just a waiter and waitress. I paid extra for the birthday portion and was extremely diaspointed, all the other birthdays in the place had characters sing to them.
BTY the kids are all supposed to get a pin/button that says Goofy's Kitchen.......we didn't get them, I called later when I realized this and they said they were out....that I could come in the next day because they were getting them in. So we had to trek clear back to that end of the resort for the kids' buttons, our hotel was on the opposite side OF COURSE. I was very disapointed in the overall experience. I hope this was a fluke.......but I paid a lot of money for 2 adults and 3 kids plus the b-day add on for all 3 kids to have a goody bag and the Cup Cake and balloon for the Birthday Boy. Don't feel we got what we paid for. My hubby says NO WAY will we do that again. :(
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   5/18/2002
Reviewer: jimsocks Northern California     February 02, 2003
Let me bottom-line it for you. It's expensive (what isn't?), it's tasty, it's fun, can be very fun, and it's MEMORABLE. As far as Character meals, we've been to the Storyteller's and to Avalon Cove (Ariel's) - both good - but this is best. My wife and daughter and I have been here 3 times - and each time it proves to be one of the most memorable times of our entire stay. You've gotta try it -
 
4 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   10/19-10/26/02
Reviewer: kisroo Oregon     December 15, 2002
Food: Breakfast buffet complete with attentive characters! The food here is extremely delicious for buffet standards. There was an amazing variety and although it was busy, it was always well "stocked" and hot. Everything from the mini Mickey waffles to the breakfast "pizza" was wonderful. Between my hubby, myself, our friend and her daughter, we had an absolute feast going on at our table!

Service: Great! Our wait person was right there with drinks (coffee refills at the right moment) and with suggestions for how to enjoy the character experience. She was equally attentive to the adults as she was to the child we had with us. When I privately told her that hubby and I were celebrating our honeymoon, she arranged for Snow White and Goofy to bring us a special treat! It was a great, memorable way to really embarass my new hubby!!!

Overall experience: We liked the character dining here. It was really great the way individual characters came around from table to table and spent a good amount of time interacting with the members at the table. They really seem to understand how to interact with the children and I saw several characters gently handle delicate situations from approaching shy children/babies to letting children know that that if they sat down at their own table that they would come "visit" them, too. I was impressed with the obvious cast member training that goes into such a dining experience. Even the wait staff were great about it, letting the child at our table know that "Goofy and his friends" would come see her soon if she waited patiently at her table.

Cost: Over $70 for the 4 of us (3 adults, 1 child) for breakfast and tip AFTER the AP discount and turning in our 2 "Magic Morning" vouchers from our vacation package(worth $8 each, I think). Expensive, but a nice splurge that I felt was worth it on a special occasion. We felt we got what we paid for in breakfast and fun! :)
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   11-11-02
Reviewer: Zina Mesa, Ariozona     November 18, 2002
I knew that Goofy's would be our "splurge" meal but had not told my husband. He was shocked at the price of $59.30 for 2 adults and a child (BTW includes gratuity). But, once we were inside and saw the amazing spread and choices of food we all were pleased. The character experience was the best we had during our entire visit at DL. Each character posed for pics, gave hugs and autographs to my 3 year old son. He was only slightly scared of Gepetto, but he was by far the sweetest character of all. The food was awesome. The counters were clean, food refilled constantly and the food that should be warm WAS!!! We are vegetarians so we assumed that brunch would provide the best selection and was that ever true. We had pancakes, fr. toast, fresh fruit, biscuits, yogurt and so on. As for lunch we had rice, potatoes, sandwich fixins, pizza (all were great), mac and cheese, tater tots, salad, and desserts coming out of our ears. We thought we would have to be rolled out of there...but we made it. It was all so good we just had to try it all. I would highly rec'd. The BDay party tables definately got extra attention. We saw 7 characters in all!!!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   September 1
Reviewer: Jasmine Los Angeles, California     September 03, 2002
We walked right in to Goofy's Kitchen for dinner at 6:00 PM. No problem on Labor Day Weekend. We have eaten here about 4 times this year and it is a vast improvement over it's predecessor from 2 years ago. I am a meat eater and we have eaten at numerous buffets on our vacations and I think the selections are very good for a Disney buffet ... I especially enjoyed the BBQ ribs, Teriyaki chicken and the Chicken Fajitas. There is also a separate station for Mexican specialties like tacos, fajitas, frijoles, etc. However, the prime rib is not as tender and juicy as it should be ... so I would pass on this one. My children especially like the serve yourself buffet just for them (chicken tenders, hot dogs, mac n cheese, etc.) and we all like the pizzas (BBQ chicken and the PB&J pizza are the favorities). There is a surprisingly modest salad bar, but an excellent and varied dessert bar -- I love the cookies, lemon bars and pecan bars. On all our visits here, we found the servers to be very attentive to our drink orders and would take away our dirty plates quickly. This has been true for every visit here. Character interaction, as far as we are concerned, is secondary to the meal, but nevertheless fun for the children. This visit we encountered Minnie Mouse, Chef Goofy, Chip and Dale, Princess Aurora, Snow White and Brer Bear. The characters try very hard to make sure to hit every table and periodically all the castmembers come together in the center of the restaurant to perform the macarena with everyone who wants to come up. I also noticed that many children were celebrating birthdays and there is great character interaction for this. Our next birthday celebration, I am definitely going to order the "Sorceror Mickey's Bucket" -- a personal cake, Sorceror Mickey plush doll, etc. Overall summary:
Service = Very good and attentive
Price = Acceptable (by Disney Resort standards)
Food = Very good variety, Fresh, Nicely prepared
Atmosphere = Fun but noisy
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  << 1 ... 6 7
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page