Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Disneyland Hotel - Steakhouse 55
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Formerly known as Granville's, this restaurant is known for its unusual visual menu and elegant atmosphere.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 19 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 19 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Wednesday 8 March and Friday 10 March, 2006
Reviewer: coniemouse Salt Lake City, Utah     March 17, 2006
My husband and I had dinner here the night we arrived and enjoyed it so much that we decided to go back our last night, despite the high prices.
Main Dishes and Sides: The first night I had the special which included a filet mignon and lobster tail as the main dish and a starter salad with a medallion of goat cheese crusted with toasted pecans. I have never seen a filet mignon or any steak cooked so perfectly; completely brown and seared on the outside, still pink in the middle; moist but not with juices running all over (It was cooked medium rare - this might have been to rare for me with a different steak, but not with this one). The flavor and the texture were perfect as well - melt in your mouth. I added a little salt, but appreciated the opportunity to salt or not as I desired. The lobster tail was also good and the combination of flavors in the salad was perfect. The combination special was $48. My husband ordered the prime rib ($26). It came with an excellent horseradish sauce. One indication to me that this was high quality prime rib was that the brown pieces around the edges tasted just as good as the pink middle - not musty or old tasting as seems to happen often with prime rib. He also ordered the sauteed forest mushrooms ($7). I would like to know how they got them perfectly cooked without any trace of limpness on the part of the mushrooms! The sauce on them was perfect.
The next time we went our waiter recommended the rack of lamb (four or five meaty ribs, $33) and the rib-eye steak with seasoning rub ($34). The lamb was some of the best I have had and again perfectly cooked with a delightful herb and bread crumb crust. The steak was also excellent and the seasoning rub just a light hint of flavor. We also tried the seven onion soup ($7) and the portobello mushroom appetizer ($8) - both were delicious. All entree plates came garnished with fresh watercress which actually served as a refreshing side to the meats. A loaf of hot sourdough bread with butter was brought out almost immediately both nights (the bread comes from the Boudin Bakery in California Adventure.)
Desserts: We tried the creme brulee and the flourless chocolate cake. The creme brulee ($7) was the largest I have seen and was presented with lace cookies standing up in a spiral of spun sugar - excellent flavor, presentation and value. The flourless chocolate cake ($8)was melt-in-your-mouth, had an excellent light cherry or berry sauce on the side, and again, was beautifully presented. It was definitely worth saving room for dessert.
Service: Our waiter (We had the same waiter both nights) was perfect - reserved and courteous, yet willing to give his opinion if we asked. We felt perfectly at ease to enjoy our meal without hurry and felt we could sit and enjoy the atmosphere long enough to be ready for dessert.
Atmosphere: Very relaxing and secluded feeling - even with other tables close by.
Prices: high, but definitely worth it as a special treat.
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Sunday, August 21, 2005, 10:50 AM
Reviewer: Andrew Palo Alto, CA     February 06, 2006
What we had: Eggs Benedict (Jen), American Breakfast (me)

Service: Fantastic! Friendly, attentive without being overbearing, service with a smile.

This is usually an expensive surf-and-turf dinner place, but they've recently started having a resonably-priced full-service breakfast as well. Jen said the eggs benedict ranked at or near the top of her scale. My "American Breakfast" (eggs, potatoes, sausage) was decent.

Would we go back: Absolutely.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 22, 2005
Reviewer: Aethan (aethan@bloopwatch.org) Boston, MA     June 13, 2005
We had breakfast at Granville's, and it was absolutely first class excellent. My husband and his sister both ordered the Eggs Benedict, and I had a taste. It was the best Eggs Benedict I can ever remember having. I had the breakfast burrito, which was filled with cheese and generous portions of chorizo. Really hearty, filling, and excellent. I didn't eat again til dinner. The prices seemed very fair to us as well. I would love to try dinner there some time.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   1-21-2005
Reviewer: vneuman921 (vneuman921@cox.net) Santa Barbara, CA     February 12, 2005
We really enjoyed our dinner at Granville's. Let me say right off the bat that this place compares equally and favorably to my other favorite Steakhouses; Ruth's Chris and Mortons. The menu is posted on the outside of the foyer so their really should be no suprises when it comes to the final bill. I found the atmosphere to be very nice, comfortable, and perfect for dinner. Subdued lighting, smooth oak trimwork, etched glass partitions, and pleasant shades of mauve and burgundy add a touch of romance. Oversize 4x5 foot black and white stills of classic famous people work well on the walls. Above our table was Bogart and Bacall engrossed in a conversation during dinner. The effect of such large photo's is to give you a sense of being right there in the room with them.
The wait staff was properly attentive without being intrusive and our waiter Rick offered that each waiter must intern in the Kitchen first before working the floor, so as to have a full an thorough understanding of the food and the preparation of the various dishes.
The food was outstanding, and tasty. I ordered Spring Greens with Candied Pecans and Raspberry Vinaigrette $7.00/ An 18oz Porter house steak with Granville's signature rub $26.00/Roasted Heirloom Potatoes with Rosemary, Shallots and Garlic $5.00/ and Forest Mushroom sauteed with Madeira $7.00.
My wife eats light; she ordered, a "Wedge"of Iceberg Lettuce, Vine-Ripened Tomato and Gorgonzola Dressing $7.00/ Popcorn-Style Rock Shrimp and Aioli Sauce $11.00 ( This is actually an appetizer)/ and Yukon Gold, Red Garnet Potato, Gruyere and Parmesan stack $5.00
For desert we split a Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee
With Demerara sugar and chocolate orange lace cookie $7.00/ This was absolutely the best ( and largest) Creme Brulee I have ever eaten. I had two single malt scotches with dinner; Laguvlin, a wonderful, peaty, smokey scotch, and my wife had 1 Bacardi O and Soda.
This is now my new favorite place for dinner at the Magic Kingdom. We had Lunch at the Blue Bayou and it was very nice but this dinner was spectacular. And there was more on the menu which I didn't get around to but plan on my next visit. Such as the Granville's Signature Seven Onion Soup, Parmesan Crisp; or their Roasted Prime Rib which I have heard is among the best in Orange County. So I give Granville's two thumbs up, 5 Stars, or whatever other type of rating equalls the best of the best.
 
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   06/12/04
Reviewer: Stew Redwood City, CA     June 13, 2004
As you might know (though it's not well publicized), Granville's is now open for breakfast each morning between 7-11:30am. My parents and fiancee enjoyed breakfast there this past weekend.

The usual breakfast fare is featured. My parents ordered the "American Breakfast", which includes two eggs, choice of meat, choice of bread, and fruit. My fiancee had the fruit plate, which came filled with fresh watermelon, honeydew, pineapple, cantaloupe, and strawberries. I ordered the oatmeal, which comes with your choice of fruit (bananas or mixed fruit bowl) plus brown sugar and raisins.

The prices are reasonable (most entrees between $9 and $15), and the quiet ambience of Granville's interior is a welcome change from the noisy chaos that typically ensues next door at Goofy's Kitchen.

The service, from the hostess posted outside the main entrance to our waitress to the manager, was fantastic. We enjoyed reminiscing with our server Bonnie about the Monorail Cafe, where she worked before the construction of DCA and Downtown Disney commenced.

If you have little ones, Granville's also has a children's breakfast menu available.

All in all, we really enjoyed our visit. Although we have visited the Disneyland Hotel since the late 1970s, and been annual passholders since Disney started the program, we never stepped foot into Granville's until this past weekend. If you have the time, give Granville's a try for breakfast!
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   2/14/2004
Reviewer: jsuperk lakewood , ca     February 28, 2004
We (my wife & I plus our friends) have eaten there for many of years. Granville is not cheap but don't think that you will spend a fortune. With their pre-fix dinner you can eat well for a nice price. But this place doesn't have a price for complete dinners you order items by themselves. Steaks,soup, salad etc. The meats are certified black angus which the isn't cheap stuff but the flavor is superior to anything else. Their best thing to order is their prime rib, it's out of this world. Deserts are fantastic period and they have won awards for their wine cellar from resturant reviewers. Bar none it's the most bang for the buck hands down. With wine @$35.00 a bottle and a modest meal dinner for 2 will run about $90.00 to $125.00.Which means you won't eat there every weekend but if you don't eat @ the ordinary places much you can save up for dinner here. If you use an american express card you will get a %10 discount. Enjoy
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   12/22/2003
Reviewer: christinek1234 Canada     January 18, 2004
I found this restaurant over priced. I thought the food was "good", but not worth the prices, definitely not. My son and I attended. We started with the popcorn shrimp appetizer which basically was the only item that was worth the $12 price tag. My son had a small filet mignon (between $26 - $28 I can't remember) and lobster ($48!!!!). Waitress said the lobster was imported from Australia and was very good. The tail was large, but there was nothing special about it, and it was kinda rubbery & tough! I had a porterhouse steak,also the same price as the other steak. I had a side of asparagus & hollandaise ($6). My steak was average. Absolutely nothing outstanding about it at all. Infact, some steak sauce probably would have improved the taste!!! I only ate the tenderloin side and was planning to take the strip loin side with me, but the busboy when asking me if I was done....scooped up the plate and never asked me if I wanted to take it with me. I had 1 glass of wine and my son had a soda. Price of meal with $20 tip was $160!!! I found our waitress pushy. When I would order something, she would try and over sell, which I find rude. When I ordered my steak, she kept saying, "how about a nice salad to go with that, or how about a potato dish". When I told her we weren't going to have dessert, she insisted on bringing a menu saying, "I'm sure your son will want something". Will not dine here again.
 
4 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   October 4, 2003
Reviewer: spectromen Lake Elsinore, California     October 06, 2003
Granville's is a hidden gem at the Disneyland Hotel. It has been there for quite some time, but often gets overlooked due to it's location behind the more prominent Goofy's Kitchen. If you are looking for a more elegant, quiet experience than you would normally expect on a theme park vacation, this could be your ticket. The restaurant has a medium sized dining room with subdued lighting and lots of wood accents on the wall, but not too dark like, say, a Black Angus would look. Our server informed us that the previous old west paintings had been taken off the walls and were in the process of being replaced with new black & white artwork, part of an updating package for the restaurant. There is also a separate private dining room for large parties or to be used for special functions, which looked nice. New is a room where all the wines are stored at 45 degrees. This was great to be able to walk in the cellar yourself and choose a wine from the many bottles hanging on the wall, along with a shelf of open bottles for single glass selections. Since this cellar has a glass wall, it is visible to the diners which is a nice touch. I had the 7-onion soup with a porterhouse steak and my companion had a prix fixe item which was Caesar Salad, Petite Filet, and some sort of Apricot dessert with vanilla bean ice cream. Everything was excellent, and they definitely deserve to be known as the premier steak choice at the Disneyland Resort. Service was very friendly and cordial as well with no feeling whatsoever of being rushed. Except for the prix fixe choice, everything here is a la carte, so you must order vegatables, soup or salad separately from your meat. This, unfortunately, does create a high priced meal, but one worth trying at least occasionally. Our total with tip, without alcohol, was $90 with an annual passholder 10% discount. Rather high, but I would go again maybe once a year. This restaurant is on par with the Vineyard Room at DCA as far as prices, food quality and service and I would highly recommend it for a quiet adult evening if you don't mind spending a little more than usual. The children that were present were all very well behaved, so it didn't detract from the serenity of the dining room.
 
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   9/9/2003
Reviewer: Jewels     September 23, 2003
My husband and I ate at Granville's for our 3 year anniversary while we were staying at the Disneyland Hotel. The food was excellent! We ordered champagne the waiter asked what we were celebrating and we told him our anniversary and and he helped us pick a wonderful bottle. I had filet mignon with a side of roasted potatoes. It was really good. My husband had a steak with shrimp. He said it was the best steak he ever had. The setting was really nice. Low lighting made it very romantic. They even surprised us with a mini cheesecake surrounded by fresh berries with the words Happy Anniversary written in chocolate at the top of the plate. The cheesecake was really yummy. And it was a really nice touch. The only reason I could not give this experience full marks was about the time they served us with dessert a family with three kids was seated next to us. Don't get me wrong I love kids we were on this trip with my 3 year old niece. But this was not a kids type of restaurant. There were a few couples enjoying a quiet meal just like us only to be interupted by the children having a burping contest and throwing the ice from their drinks at each other. I felt sorry for their waiter as he tried to take their order. We were not the only ones there who cut the night short and asked for the bill. I highly recommend Granville's for a quiet romantic dinner. I just hope the evening remains quiet.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page