Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Disneyland Hotel - Steakhouse 55
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Formerly known as Granville's, this restaurant is known for its unusual visual menu and elegant atmosphere.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 19 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 5, 2012 9:00 am
Reviewer: missm Washington     July 01, 2012
I know I will visit Steakhouse 55 each trip from now on. We usually eat at Carnation Cafe for table service breakfast but since it was closed I figured it was time to try a new place.

We were seated immediately, the restaurant was pretty much deserted (kind of made me nervous). I asked if it is always slow and she said breakfast is usually that way. After paying a small fortune for coffee all week it was nice to finally get all you can drink, great coffee too.

I ordered the eggs benedict and my husband ordered the two times four. Eggs benedict came with potatoes and the two times four came with two pancakes, two eggs, two pieces of bacon and two sausage links along with potatoes. We also had orange juice. The food was excellent, I'm pretty picky about my eggs and like them a little more done than usual for eggs benedict. The chefs got it perfect the first time. The two times four was a ton of food and my husband said it was fantastic. We were so full by the time we left that we didn't eat until dinnertime!

The total ended up being $37.70 which we spend on a normal breakfast here in the town we live in. $9 of that total was just the drinks we ordered so if you stick to water you can really save money.

 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 5, 2010 Breakfast
Reviewer: Goosegirl Grass Valley, CA     July 08, 2010
OH WOW!!! So yummy!!
We had checked out of our room at the Disneyland Hotel after a 5 night stay. Because we had purchased the 5 day dining plan, we had about $80.00 of dining vouchers left to spend before we left. We asked the bellman for a restaurant suggestion and he told us that Steakhouse 55 was his favorite breakfast in the whole resort.
He was spot on! The restaurant is beautiful and so relaxing. Very elegant. The servers are so professional and accommodating.
My husband and I ordered the steak and eggs and the steaks were some of the best we have ever eaten. My older daughter ordered the eggs Benedict and nearly swooned with delight. And my younger daughter ordered eggs and bacon with fruit.
I will say that the price was higher than we would normally spend for breakfast, and if we did not have the leftover vouchers to use, we probably would not have wanted to pay so much. But the food was beautiful and so delicious. We hope to eat there again.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 2, 2009
Reviewer: mechurchlady (mechurchlady@gmail.com) Norwalk, CA     August 03, 2009
August 2, 2009
Dinner
Excellent service, atmosphere, and food while the prices are high but you get your money's worth.

We showed up for a 5:40 pm at Steakhouse 55. We were promptly seat and shortly the chef came out and talked with me about the menu. I explained that it is no gluten, only a tiny bit of eggs or soy like soy lecithin. I told him to make me dessert out of ice cream and to "Iron Chef it" which was a dream dessert.

Mom loved the coffee and they timed refills just right. I had iced tea and we both had iced water which they timed refills perfectly. Mom had a slice of the french bread and loved it. They bring you a pot of butter for the bread.

The chef made me a special balsamic vinaigrette and a salad with field greens, cucumbers, tomatoes, and onions. It was a superb salad and everything was fresh and ripe. I love their salads and have eaten them twice this year.

The chef split for no extra charge the tender halibut which was topped with a caper sauce. On the side was a watercress salad and half a lemon wrapped in mesh so the seeds would not fall into the food. Mom loved the green beans which are topped with bacon even though the chef redid the green beans for some reason even though I said I was not eating them. We both loved the Yukon smashed potatoes which like the green beans are a la carte and can feed 4 people.

IRON CHEF
Out comes a tiny white square bowl like a square ash tray. There is a scoop of vanilla ice cream in each corner but one corner which had strawberry pieces, blackberries, and blueberries in a berry sauce. One scoop of ice cream had the Mickey head chocolate with white face on it and tiny flecks on it, probably chocolate. One was caramel and chocolate sauce and the third I think was chocolate sauce with bits of chocolate and a lake of chocolate forming at the bottom. The chef made this specially for me as I am on a special diet but they do have gluten free brownies.

The staff was very helpful, did their job properly and gave great service. There are booths are are a bit private and the atmosphere is a bit dark and formal but guests do come in park attire including shorts. The bus boy brushed the crumbs off of the table with a tiny brush. They wheeled out the meal on a cloth covered cart and they will grind pepper onto your salad. They have cloth napkins and tablecloths which gives the place a formal feeling. On the walls are pictures of celebrities from the 1950's.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Thanksgiving, 2008
Reviewer: ralfrick By the SF Bay     December 03, 2008
We decided to be thankful for beef this year after reading rave reviews for Steakhouse 55 not only here, but on other travel sites not devoted to Disney. It was one of the best meals I've ever had. Although there was a standard turkey dinner available for $40, my mind had been made up weeks in advance.

We were seated promptly at our reserved time of 5:40, just after dinner service had begun. After we arrived at the table , I ordered a double Glenfiddich and settled in for a relaxing meal. Our waiter was very attentive, and helped us when we were stumped while looking at the photos of the various actors and musicians which line the walls. The atmosphere is upscale and refined without being stuffy

The boy and I had filet mignon, the petite cut, and I also had sauce bernaise with mine. He had the Yukon Gold potatoes, while I had the Chef's Potato Stack Au Gratin which were sublime. The wife went with rack of lamb and Roasted Heirloom Potatoes with wine. It was all superb. Quite frankly, teeth were optional with the filets; and there was no fat to trim. I savored mine well beyond the point where all the other plates had been removed, but never felt pressured to finish. The boy was literally bouncing in his seat after one bite!

We passed on dessert, knowing that there was an endless choice of sweets awaiting in the park. Total before tip was $158. We all agree that Steakhouse 55 is well worth a return visit
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   September 17, 2007
Reviewer: disneymania Reno     July 30, 2008
A very long overdue review. Thinks to everyone for helping me pick this over Napa Rose. We went for an early dinner, about 4:30pm. So worth it. Best steak ever. Butter soft at medium. Service was impeccable. Best meal ever, but for special occasions. For two and a half of us (my DD was 1.5yrs old), cost was around $80 with tip.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Jan. 11
Reviewer: lbrackjo Seattle     January 15, 2008
Went for breakfast. I understand it recently opened for breakfast. Sophisticated atmosphere--cloth table tops and napkins. Parents of rambunctious kids might be uncomfortable here. Serves breakfast off of a menu as an alternative to Goofy's. Mostly 9 to 12 bucks. Food was excellent. Service started a tad slow, but got the hint and finished up fast. Most of the guests were conventioneer types.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   September 9, 2007
Reviewer: disney_leonard Glendora, CA     September 11, 2007
Outstanding food and service. This was our second visit to Steakhouse 55 this year. The first was during the peak of summer and during a special Annual Passholder discount period. On that visit the food was excellent however the service staff was taxed by a completely full restaurant. This visit was better as when we arrived for our 6:00 pm priority seating time the restaurant was nearly empty.

All in our party went for the filet mignon. The ladies opted for the smaller version while I had no doubts that the larger portion could be handled without problem. We shared a popcorn shrimp appetiser which was ample for 2-3 people. Salads were excellent with the crispest lettuce possible. Sides consisted of garlic smashed potatoes, the special not-on-the-menu au gratin style stacked potatoes and also a not listed green beans with apple wood smoked bacon. The garlic smashed are great and you can share one order easily. But the killer is the au gratin style stacked in my opinion. Fantastic! By the time for dessert we had barely any room to share a chocolate bar. Wow! Talk about yummy chocoholic delights. The service was excellent. Towards the end of our meal the restaurant began to fill up but we never had to wait for one of the servers if we needed anything.
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 18, 2007
Reviewer: dcreinken Trenton, NJ     June 24, 2007
Excellent food and service, though pricey (but normal for Disney). We easily stayed 3 hours (met up with a friend) without feeling rushed or neglected by the server. The ambience encourages elegant dining, but all sorts of attire were represented. We were sat at the time of our reservation, and it looked like the couuld accommodate walk-ups most of the evening.

The signature seven-onion soup was very good. The Prime Rib was ordered medium, but came out medium-rare (which I had hoped). Other items enjoyed included the the pork rib-eye with steak-house rub, and filet with an au-gratin potato side. All were excellent. The creme brulee dessert could easily be split between two people and should not be missed.

All in all, a very enjoyable meal that was worth the time and money.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Jan. 10, 2007
Reviewer: lbrackjo Seattle, WA     January 23, 2007
Dinner for 9, with 2 children in the newly refurbished Steakhouse 55. Very formal setting. Half the tables had kids, though. The prices are about 2 to 5 more per entre than say Hook's Pointe. The best value is the Price fixe meal. All reported excellent food, but the wait for the entre delievery was extremely long. the manager then reduced our tab by $50. Total tab was around $50 per person including wine/cocktails, but before tip.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 14, 2006-Mother's Day
Reviewer: hebessica Yorba Linda, CA     July 06, 2006
I made a Priority Seating Reservation for our party of 3 for 5:30 PM on Mother's Day, the first available seating that Disney Dining offered. We arrived early and as the restaurant was not yet open, sat outside the lounge for 15-20 minutes until Granville's opened. When our very cordial hostess led us to our table, our first glimpse of the decor was wonderful! They have managed to achieve a perfect blend of traditional and modern, classy yet whimsical design that made for a lovely evening on Mom's special day.
The menu includes both prix-fixe selections as well as standard, a la carte dining. With our party ordering from both "menus," we can definitely say that this restaurant is exceptional in all aspects! I highly recommend the seared ahi appetizer, as it features a perfectly balanced wasabi vinaigrette. My mother raived about the creme brulee. My dark chocolate "bar" was wonderful!
Our service was superb, and our waiter was kind enough to answer our questions regarding the identities of the stars of yesteryear that are featured in the large photos that adorn each wall.
If you are planning on visiting an upscale restaurant, please consider Granville's. The price point is not any different from what you would experience at one of the other local upscale restaurants like Mr. Stox or The Summit House. The food is superb, the ambience is perfect, and the service, impeccable. We will most certainly be visiting Granville's again, and we are encouraging all our friends to do so as well.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page