Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For no longer accepting new reviews
Disneyland Hotel - Hook's Pointe & Wine Cellar
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Closed for further reviews - replaced by Tangaroa Terrace and Trader Sam's, April 2011.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 16 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   1/10/10
Reviewer: lbrackjo     January 16, 2010
We have been big fans of Hook's Pointe, but the latest meal was subpar. The fish and steak items were over-cooked just enough to take out most of the taste. Plate presentation was also underwhelming. The clam chowder was excellent, however, as was the wait service. There are limited choices for good seafood at DLR and perhaps we just had an off night experience. For an alternative, I think next time we will try Catal's where the pricing is comparable.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   8/22/09
Reviewer: Sansarc Pacific Palisades, CA     August 26, 2009
We had an enjoyable dinner here and thought the menu prices were very fair. The restaurant was clean and the service was very attentive from the moment we walked in. I really liked the decor, too -- from the modern take on Captain Hook's wooden ship above the kitchen area, to the pretty tile flooring. It was restful and nice. We shared the calamari appetizers and thought they were really nicely seasoned, and not chewy. The dipping sauce was Thousand Island, but this worked well for our 13 y/o son who doesn't like "spicy" cocktail sauces. We ordered a variety of main courses, from steak to grilled fish. The staff was very accommodating about our requests for eliminating certain ingredients, too. The dessert was too die for! A chocolate brownie -- but unlike anything we've had! More like a cake. It was so good. We all shared it, and finished it up. I would definitely go back here.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 3, 2008
Reviewer: MagicB4Money Northern California     December 06, 2008
We've had great meals at Hooks for years, so we were worried when we saw recent reviews. Also worried when we walked up on Monday night and found out it is closed now on Sundays and Mondays. So we went on Wednesday, and they were doing a good business. Our service was impeccable. Ricardo was our waiter, and I'd recommend asking for him. He said he has worked for Disney for 32 years. The lobster roll appetizer is what takes the review down one notch from outstanding. They had little taste and seemed previously frozen. I had the scallops for dinner. There were 6 huge ones on the plate, and they were done perfectly. The spinach risotto was nice. DH had the sausage linguine with sweet red peppers. Very good flavor. Skipped dessert, but they have a full bar of which we did partake. Prices are reasonable for a fancier restauraunt. We love the atmosphere---high ceiling and lots of windows. We think it is also really nice that they have seating at the bar where you can order the full menu. Nice for singles or if it is really busy.

Go say hi to Ricardo!!!!!!!!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   11/08/2008
Reviewer: Hoobug Neither here nor there     November 10, 2008
We opted to try HOOKS POINTE again, we'd been there about 10 years ago, turns out.... a big mistake.

My husband didn't even finish his pasta, and I ate only the scallops on my dish.. 4 pieces. Since we we celebrating out anniversay the dessert was comp'ed, which was nice -- but even Applebees does that. The girl who gave us our meal, Kimberly, was FULL of attitude and didn't appear to to working at the Happiest place on earth.

We will never return BRING GEPETTOS BACK!
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   April 4, 2007
Reviewer: missm Seattle, WA     April 07, 2007
I was disappointed in Hooks Point after reading all the good reviews on here. We wanted to go someplace nice and celebrate our anniversary but the restaurant was noisy, full of children, and the atmosphere was sub-par.

Before I get into the bad parts here's the good point of our meal. Our waitress was very nice and attentive.

I ordered the NY steak special. It came with garlic mashed potatoes and asparagus. The steak had no flavor at all. I actually had to salt and pepper my potatoes (which is something I NEVER do, I'm not a fan of salt).

Rick had the blackened halibut which he said was good but needed more spice to it. It also came with garlic mashed potatoes and the weirdest veggie ever. A half a cabbage steamed. Not good at all.

We each had a glass of wine and shared the clam chowder. It was good. We did add salt and pepper though.

Our bill came to $87 and we left an $18 tip. So after that the meal was $105. So not worth it.

The service was great, the price was what I expected, the atmoshpere was terrible, and the food was bland. Will I return? Not a chance.
 
6 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 23, 2006
Reviewer: Maus Yorba Linda, Calif.     July 25, 2006
We had such a great experience at Hooks Pointe last December that when we planned a special occasion meal in July we decided to return.

We were a party of eight with one wheelchair. When we arrived at the check-in stand for our priority seating they immediately sent down the lift for our guest in a wheelchair. A small snag occurred when they attempted to seat us at a large round table for seven (but it will fit eight). Sorry, not with a wheelchair. They immediately offered a long sectioned table with banquette seating on one side. Water was quickly brought to us and our wonderful server, Joanne, introduced herself and made us feel welcome.

I ordered the Inland Salad and my daughter the Island Ahi as starters. Both were excellent and we finished every bite. The special that evening was a halibut and shrimp dish. Two of our party ordered that and enjoyed their choice. Those of us who ordered the salmon thought it was wonderful. The steak selections were also devoured by the two teens in our group. Each entrée was accompanied with garlic mashed potatoes and either baby broccoli or grilled asparagus. Im not a big fan of the potatoesthey seemed over processed and a bit gummy.

We finished off the meal with a variety of desserts: key lime pie, cheesecake, ice cream with raspberry sauce and the fantastic chocolate-chip cookie ice cream delight. We all grabbed spoons and sampled each one.

The service was excellent. Our busboy kept the water glasses filled and Joanne was so friendly and efficient. Ray, the manager of the restaurant, stopped by to greet us and congratulated us on our special occasion. We had a wonderful evening!
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Thursday, 9 March, 2006
Reviewer: coniemouse Salt Lake City, Utah     March 17, 2006
After having eaten at Granville's Steakhouse, we found this restaurant somewhat dissapointing. The service was fine, but nothing special - more along the lines of what I would expect at Sizzler or other less-expensive chain restaurants. Same with the atmosphere and food. My husband and I love seafood and like to try new things, but nothing was spectacular. We tried the clam chowder, the crab dip appetizer, the lobster rolls and the prawns with potatoes, asparugus and citrus sauce. The citrus sauce _was_ very good, as were the potatoes and asparagus. The prawns were ok, but did not stand out. The soup and crab dip also were ok but there was nothing too exciting about them and the lobster seemed non-existant in the lobster rolls.
Service:3 planets
Price: 3 planets: $51.78 without tip
Food: 4 planets
Atmosphere: 4 planets
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   10/1/05
Reviewer: macuser209 Stockton, California     October 16, 2005
I had a wonderful time eating with some friends at Hook's Pointe in the Disneyland Hotel. The food was delicious and what I loved best was the service. Our waiter was this really nice man who had been working at Disney since 1972. You could really tell he loved his job and he always had a smile on his face. Next time I come back to Disneyland I plan to eat at Hook's Pointe again.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   9/28/05
Reviewer: lisaboo Sacramento, CA     October 02, 2005
We arrived at Hook's Pointe completely exhausted and parched from our day at the park, but we were seated promptly and provided water and very large iced teas that never went dry throughout our whole meal. The staff was extremely curteous and friendly and understanding that we were not super hungry and would prefer to have appetizers instead of full meals. I had the salad with apples and blue cheese and added some grilled shrimp, all of which was delicious and I had the ahi appetizer as my entree, which had macademia nuts and avacado in it and was accompanied by an asian slaw. Everything tasted great. My boyfriend had some clam chowder, which he ate at least once a day on our whole vacation and proclaimed this the best of the trip. He also had the lobster egg rolls and the beef skewers. The highlight of the night was their fresh baked chocolate chip cookie with vanilla ice cream and hot fudge, which my boyfriend and I shared. We were seated with a view of the Peter Pan pool and afterwards we walked around the waterfalls in the hotel courtyard and had a very romantic evening.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   6/16/05
Reviewer: mastergracey (mofocity3@aol.com) Columbus, Ohio     June 26, 2005
Service, price, food, and atmosphere were all excellent.

Last week I took my mom to DL to celebrate her 50th birthday. We ate at a few different places and Hook's Pointe was the best dining experience of our trip. I made priority seating the night before for 6pm the next evening. Our perfect experience started at the host stand. The cast member remembered us from the night before and we didn't even have to check in. He remembered us and handed me the priority card and invited us upstairs to the restaurant. I wish I would have caught his name, but I was just so exhausted from our day's adventures in the park to take note.

All of the cm's in the restaurant were smiling and seemed happy to be there. The bartender really knew how to make my martini. It was perfectly shaken, the glass was chilled and there was just the right amount of olive juice in the drink. This had not been the case at two other locations in DD on previous nights (Rainforest and Uva bar). Our server, Jose, was amazing. He was extremely professional. Jose recommended a fantastic Riesling to go with my tuna. Many Rieslings are too sweet, but this one was very crisp. We started with the crab dip. It was hot and creamy and not over bearing with seafood flavor. I had the seared tuna. It was unbelievable. The cooks really knew how to prepare good tuna. The quality of the meat was ultra fresh. It was really one of the best meals I've had in a long time. My mom had the pork chop. It was huge and I didn't have a problem helping her to finish it. We skipped dessert in the restaurant because it's so important for us to have that back in the parks. I am sure however, that it would have been wonderful. The restaurant manager was very visible and friendly looking. That is so important. Service is the product of a trickle down effect coming from the top. Dinner was $86 for two martini's, glass of wine, an appetizer, a large bottle of evian, and two entrees. I felt compelled to leave $30 as a tip because service and kindness on this level cannot go invalidated. The host thanked us on the way out with a genuine smile that made us feel invited back. My advice to any DL vacationer is to skip the full service restaurants in DD and go straight to Hook's Pointe. It's not far if you take the monorail from tomorrowland. It will also give a break from the hustle and bustle of the park. Hook's Pointe really exemplifies what Disney is all about.

Harry Warner
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page