Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For no longer accepting new reviews
Disneyland Hotel - Hook's Pointe & Wine Cellar
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Closed for further reviews - replaced by Tangaroa Terrace and Trader Sam's, April 2011.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 16 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 16 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 14, 2005
Reviewer: karene Sacramento     April 18, 2005
This was our second experience at Hook's and we were again pleased. We ordered the brushetta appetizer and received a very large plate of bread and a tomato-mix that was delicous and full of garlic. One diner had the chicken and said it was very good. The seafood capellini was good, although not the best I've ever eaten. The shrimp seemed small and overcooked and the small bay scallops were a bit on the fishy side. The ahi was perfect for another diner - very rare and seasoned nicely. My daughter didn't want anything on the kid's menu so they were very accomodating and made a noodle dish with just butter and parmesan. She loved it! The house wine was also good and a great bargain.

Definitely recommend!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   4/4/05
Reviewer: Doodle Duck Encinitas, Ca.     April 05, 2005
A couple of weeks ago we were so disappointed (for a special dinner) we had at Blue Bayou (in a nutshell: food not so good) that we were determined to find a really TOP quality experience from a Disney restaurant. We certainly had plenty to choose from but settled on Hook's Pointe. This time for my birthday dinner.

Michael the 'Host' was more than gracious and gave us many fiendly tips and suggestions in answer to my questions. Our server was Roberta, who went beyond the call of duty to deliver a TRUE Disney experience. After a question or two about the wine selection...she brought us numerous bottles to taste! This turned into a wonderful impromptu tasting session and we had fun. Let's just say there is an EXCELLENT Wine List!

I ordered the Crab Cakes (I love Sponge Bob you see and have to try those Crabby Pattys) as an appetiser...you get 2 on a plate all squigled with some form of spicy sauce. ($9+). These were the best I have ever had hands down. A good sign!

Lori ordered the Angus New York Steak ($27+)(me too) and at the tip of Michael we both ordered a SIDE of the Prawns. (A MUST!!!) You get 3 large prawns for about $7. The Sauce provided, imediately put Lori in dining heaven...yes, they DID taste like the best Main Lobster! The dipping sauce was lemon, Butter, Orange juice, Cream and other stuff I can't remember but oh man was it the best with those Mesquite Grilled Prawns. (did I say a MUST!?)

The New York Steak on a Port Wine Sauce was perfection...nuf said there.

My favorite though was the BEST Mashed Potatoes I've had since my Grandma's in the early 1950's! I could have had a whole dinner of those!!! (and just might next time :-) )

Roberta showed her professionalism and Disney 'tude at every turn and we felt well served but not 'bugged'...she is one of those servers with perfect timing!

After we were done, a crowd of servers and such came up behind me and sang a funny Pirate Birthday Song and a terrific Ice Cream plate with candles and a Mickey cookie was placed before me. I was Disneyfied to the hilt!

Besides the chosen wine (glasses) we also had a concoction called Skull And Crossbones...a great tasting alcohol L.I. Ice tea type of drink that is worth well beyond the $7.

We loved this place and the $127 (I think) plus tip spent was well worth it as a once in awhile special occasion.
(We usually SPLIT the $7.99 Spaghetti and Meatballs at Pizza Port! hahaha)

Hook's Pointe...we'll be back!

Doug
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   8/28-8/31/04
Reviewer: riksanders69 Missoula, MT     September 23, 2004
My dining experience at Hooke Pointe was excellent! The outstanding food, paired with the out-of-this-world customer service make it a good place for a special meal. I say "special" because a nice dinner for 2 (cocktails, appetizer, wine, entree) can easily set someone back nearly $100. I gave the waiter the biggest tip I'd ever bestowed on a waiter (30%) because I felt I got the best service I'd ever recieved. The restaurant is an easy monorail ride from the park, and is worth it to escape all the frantic hub-bub at the parks.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   9/9/03 and 9/11/03
Reviewer: Jewels     September 24, 2003
We had breakfast at Hook's Pointe and Wine Cellar on 9/9/03. I had the french toast with berries. It was very good. My niece had the Mickey shaped pancake. The rest of the group tried various egg dishes and liked them all. Our waitress was very helpful in explaining how to use our vouchers and giving suggestions. Very good place for kids in the morning. We sat at a table overlooking Never Land Pool.

We had dinner here on 9/11/03. It was very busy compared to the breakfast on 9/9/03. The service was still excellent but I did notice there were very few kids in there during dinner. They still offered a kids menu and my niece had the Mickey shaped Mac and Cheese. She was thrilled with it. We each order something from the menu and shared. The chicken that night was really good. We tried a really wonderful dish that was grilled vegies on rosemary spears. It was very good. We also tried steaks and scallops. Both were good.

I would highly recommend Hook's Pointe during your stay at the Disneyland Resort.

 
6 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 1, 2003
Reviewer: iAmJacksDLand Glendale, California     June 18, 2003
My visit to Hook's Pointe was for breakfast, and while I enjoyed the service and the food very much, I found the theming to be kind of blase - almost like your local Red Lobster. The music was good though. A good place for adults looking for a quiet meal. Good coffee too.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Sept 18th 2002
Reviewer: disguy San Jose, CA     September 26, 2002
Looking for a nice and quiet dinner for two? This place is it! After a long night of looking for a good place to eat we finally came upon Hooks Pointe. It was very pleasantly decorated, the lighting was perfect. The service was outstanding. I ordered a pasta dish and a Caesar salad; both were delicious. They also serve you fresh bread. The prices are not to bad averaging about $15 for an entree. I will definitely eat here again and again. There were children in the restaurant and they do have a childs menu. However, it's a very quiet place I would suggest this restaurant more for adults.
 
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page