Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Hungry Bear Restaurant
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Burgers, fries and salads.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 19 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   11 Apr 09
Reviewer: abfamily Alberta Canada     April 23, 2009
Once again our son needed his burger fix. He eyed the Hungry Bear while on the Riverboat and "suggested" we go there for lunch. After we made landfall we proceeded to the Hungry Bear. Our son had the kids chicken burger + fries. I had the turkey clubhouse + fries and my wife had the Chicken Caesar Salad. The food was excellent, although the kids meal is really only for the <5 age unless your child is a small eater. Our son ended up sharing our meals; which were more than enough for the 2 of us. Our meal was about $30; which was standard for counter service at Disney.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 10, 2008
Reviewer: ebstus Huntington Beach, CA     January 16, 2009
Love this place! The food is always delish and served hot. The seating area is great with the views of "the Rivers of America". The perfect place for lunch.
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   Friday, August 15, 2008
Reviewer: adikted2disney San Jose, CA     August 17, 2008
We were hungry and wanted some burgers. So, we tried the Hungry Bear Restaurant. We will not make the mistake again. You order at the counter and then take your food to your seat. We ordered 2 cheeseburgers with fries. The burgers were somewhat cold, the meat was not even as good as most fast food restaurants. The only good part were the fries. For the price, I would not go back. It was under $20 but we could have gotten better food elsewhere. We did not even finish our burgers. I like the location of the restaurant, above the Rivers of America and I was interested in the cat that roamed the tables but other than that, I would not go back again.
 
5 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Monday Dec 3, 2007
Reviewer: WhichIsStitch Flagstaff, AZ     December 27, 2007
We were a little hesitant to eat here since we had heard the food was not that great. We decided to try it especially since it was close and we were hungry. We got a cheeseburger and a turkey sandwich with drinks and a krispy holiday star for dessert. I think the total was around $28 or so which is a bit pricey for lunch burgers. I had grapes with mine and the spousal unit had fries. The cheeseburger was fine, better than most fast food burgers and the fries were fresh, hot and crisp not greasy. The sandwich was good on an herb foccacia type bread. I was surprised at the amount of food and was not able to finish the entire sandwich and fruit so ended up sharing. Two people could definitely share this sandwich with an additional order of fries or fruit. We especially like this restaurant for the setting along the water of the Rivers of Americas. Downstairs is the best cause you get to feed the ducks the lettuce from the sandwich and see the kitties if you're lucky!
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 12th,2007
Reviewer: SLG Seattle, Washington     July 22, 2007
The Hungry Bear is defanatley my favorite restraunt in Disneyland! Not only is the food great, but I love the peaceful atmosphere. I ordered the chicken sandwich, my dad ordered the bacon cheeseburger, and my mom got the regular cheeseburger, which of all were excellent! Each meal came with french fries. We also had sodas. The HB also offers a variety of desserts, like apple pie poppins, and rice krispy treats. What's cool about the area is that it overlooks the place where Davy Crockett's Explorer Canoes set sail! In the dining area, there are also cats walking around the tables!! Hmmm.....
~SLG
 
3 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Oct.21, 2005
Reviewer: Megs Orange County, Calif.     October 24, 2005
We got to Hungry Bear around 4:30pm and the lines weren't long at all...in fact, we walked right up to a cast member and just started ordering. It was quite nice, since it can be known for it's long lines usually! The cast member taking our order was a pleasant young woman. My 12 year old stepdaughter and I ordered our food seperately from the rest of our party...we both ordered the Mickey-shaped chicken nuggets kids meals (being pregnant, I can't eat a whole lot in one sitting now! So I ordered something smaller).

I felt the pricing was a bit more than I'd wanted to pay, but to be expected when you're at Disney. It was about $5-6 for each kids meal, if I remember correctly.

We had to wait THIRTY MINUTES to get two kids meals! Everyone else in our party had already gotten their food and eaten half of it...I saw that our drinks had been ready right away, and I asked about our meals 3 times with the friendly reassurance that they were coming "right up". Finally, after I noticed everyone else getting huge orders of burgers before we got our two measly kids meals, I lost a bit of my patience and went back up to talk to a cast member who decided to finally go to the back to see what happened. She came back with a horrified look on her face and used the excuse that the machine somehow didn't print an order for us (although, miraculously it managed to print an order for our drinks, but not the food? Hm.)...but she was truly apologetic and they said they were sorry and offered my stepdaughter a little piece of dime-store candy for consolation.

When we finally got the food, we walked down to the lower level where our party already was, finishing up their meals. We sat next to the river and the atmosphere was so lovely and serene...it was quiet and nice.

I was extremely disappointed that we only got 4 miniature nuggets and literally a few strewn-about fries but I wasn't in the mood to go back and complain, since I hate complaining and was just really hungry and wanted to eat. The food however was really tasty. And actually, my sister had ordered a cheeseburger meal and the burger was SO huge and she got SO many fries that she ended up sharing her meal with my stepdaughter (who was expecting a bit more in her kids meal).

So a review of Hungry Bear:
Food: Great taste...but disappointed in the portions of the kids meal. The regular meals seemed to be great portions though.
Price: I felt for as little as we got in the kids meal, it was well overpriced. But in general, it's normal to spend that amount at Disney so I don't feel I can complain much about it!
Wait Time: the wait for ordering was great, no time at all. But the wait to get the food was a bit annoying...30 minutes. Although, apparently we'll blame the "machine" for this mistake. Fine with me. I got the food, I ate, I dealt with it.
Environment: I LOVE this atmosphere...it's one of my absolute favorite places to eat. Very relaxing.
Service: Everyone was really very friendly and didn't get snotty or roll their eyes at all...even when a slightly annoyed pregnant woman (me) begged for her food. I truly appreciate their patience with me...it's not easy to deal with hungry impatient pregnant women!

And that's why I give Hungry Bear 4 planets. I'll always come back, for the great atmosphere, if nothing else!
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   October 12, 2005
Reviewer: CarrieL Honolulu, HI     October 17, 2005
A group of 8 of us had an assortment of burgers, fries, chicken sandwiches, salad, and kids meals. The kids meals were quite small, the fries were lukewarm (and not very good) and the burgers were quite disappointing. The chicken salad was actually quite good, hence the two stars rather than one. Also the setting was super -- right on the river and really quiet. Unfortunately the food was really not good.
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   08/13/05
Reviewer: psycho1960rebel Palmdale, CA     August 15, 2005
You'll get the same hamburger anywhere in the park... not great, but not as bad as some reviews suggest. This restaurant beats the rest because it's out of the way in the often forgotten Critter Country and offers a great view of the Rivers of America. We made sure we had "lunner" at about 3:30 to avoid the lunchtime and dinnertime crowds. There was no one in line to order when we got there, and it took about ten minutes to get our food. We had a group of twelve and there were many tables available for us to sit together. It was definitely worth the walk all the way from Tomorrowland as it would have been impossible for all of us to sit together anywhere else in the park.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   6/10/2005
Reviewer: bigmac Spanish Fork, Utah     June 12, 2005
Food is good and could be one of the best eating values in the park, but the setting can not be beat. You feel like you are in the middle of the American frontier. Trains and riverboats are included. We loved it.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   April 13, 2005
Reviewer: karene Sacramento     April 18, 2005
When we arrived at the park around lunch we were hungry so we thought we'd go to the hungry bear. The line was about 15 people deep (there were about 10 of these lines) and we had to wait about 30 minutes to get our order taken.

There is one cashier for two lines and the cashier takes turns between the two lines. A helpful hint would be when choosing a line is not to get in the shortest line but to get in a line that has larger groups. If there are 10 people in line in groups of two, you have to wait for the cashier five times. But if there are two groups of five, that is only twice you have to wait for the cashier.

After paying almost $30 for three people for burgers, fries, and a drink, we had to wait another 10 minutes to get our order. When we sat down our food was barely warm, although the hamburger would have been good if hot. My 8-year old got the Mickey nuggets but there were only four small ones and a very small portion of fries.

If you're looking for a great hamburger, I would recommend the Hungry Bear only if the line is short.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page