Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Hungry Bear Restaurant
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Burgers, fries and salads.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 19 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 19 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 2004
Reviewer: quincytoo Victoria BC Canada     November 25, 2004
We like the Hungry Bear food and love the outdoor seating by the river. I was "burgered" out and really enjoyed my chicken salad, even through it was made with ice-burg lettuce which I usually HATE. The boys had chciken burgers and cheeseburgers which they liked and DH had a bbq bacon cheeseburger which I think was the special.
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Aug. 3 2004
Reviewer: Teddy Berra Ocean Shores, Washington     September 23, 2004
I love the Hungry Bear Restaurant. The burgers and fries are great if you like burgers and fries. They also serve chicken sandwiches, salads, kids meals, and desserts. The best part about this restaurant is the atmosphere it sits right on the rivers of America and you can watch the ships and canoes float by, as well as the action on Tom Sawyer island. And their are always ducks waiting in the river for some leftovers. If you want some privacy the lower deck is the place to go.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/04/02 - 12/08/02
Reviewer: Quinten27 (quinten@emanet.com) Anchorage, AK     March 18, 2004
This was one of my favorite places to eat in the park. The hamburger I had was excellent, and my wife enjoyed her tuna sandwich. The funnel cake was scrumptous, and I can not say enough about the location of this restaruant. Sitting in the back along the river is a great place to hide from the crowds and have a little quiet time. The only problem I had was with several stray cats who kept trying to "beg" fries from us. My daughter loved the cats, but I found it to be a bit odd to see stray animals running around a Disneyland restaurant. All in all, it was a great place to eat and is high on my list of places to visit first on my next trip.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   1/30/04
Reviewer: leakytiki California     January 31, 2004
well well I just got back from a trip to the Disneyland ressort and have had one of the most pleasent dinning exierience in a while. The Hungry Bear resraunt is tucked away into a quiet corner of Critter Country between Davey Crockets Explorer Canoes and The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh. This is one of the most quaint and quiet restraunts in the park. The main item on the menu is Ham Burgers. If this will do then by all means get this. I would much rather have a burger here then at Fantasyland's Village Hause or at Tomorrowland's Club Buzz. It is the best burger in the park. But if your in the mood for something not found in all the restraunts you should choose the exellent tuna sandwich. To round off the menu is a variety of tempting ice cream treats. But as with most all the restraunts at Disneyland the foods olny part of it. The real treat here is the setting. Situated on the banks of the Rivers of America so close that if you on the first floor (downstairs) on a hot day you could dip your toes into it. There is much activitey along the river all day long (If this restraunt is open during showings of Fantasmik then be sure to get a seat). Wave at the people on the Mark Twain and Sailing Ship Columbia. The Davey Crockets Explore Canoes usuasly gets everyone on board to give out a freindly hello to the dinners and listen to the air riffles go off on the nearby Fort Wilderness on Tom Sawers Island. A must
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/27/2003
Reviewer: whiles Oakland, CA     January 09, 2004
Of all the Counter service resturants inside Disneyland Resort, I must say Hungry Bear is one of my favorites.

I really have a special place in my heart for the resturant and not so much for the food, but the location is so good.

I enjoy the covered seating and more than that almost exclusively sit at the waters edge. On either deck top or bottom along the water is one of those special Disney treats.

The kids love to feed the ducks who stay near the parked Rafts and waters edge tables, and there is simply no better place to sit back and enjoy so many Disney Activities in one place. From the seating area you have front row seat for the Columbia and Mark Twain along with the steady stream of Davy Crockett Canoes, Tom Saywer's rafts, Splash Mountain logs and the hustle and bustle of Critter country and Tom Saywer's island across the river - all of this from you resturant seat!

The food is average counter service fare - Steamed Hamburgers (Microwaved too!) salads, chicken sandwiches onion rings, fries and the standard Chicken nuggets or mini corn dogs for the kids.

Dessert on the other hand is quite nice at Hungry Bear - They offer apple pie poppers, Funnel cakes, Rice Krispy treats and a chocalate dessert cake. All of them are quite good.

One of my favorite things to do at Hungry Bear is to go there around 8:00 in the evening (One hour before the resturant closes) and have a evening snack or dessert. The great thing about this time at Hungry Bear is the Preparations are in full swing for "Fantasmic" you get to see the Mark Twain, Columbia, Rafts, Barges and just about all of the characters preparing for the show. Show up closer to 9:00 close when the hustle and bustle of the show really is in full swing.

In conclusion the food is average, the Restrooms are usually very clean and large plus the staff is very friendly. It can take a bit to cycle through ordering and receiving your food (Especially on Saturday's) but the overall experience, shaded seating and relaxing atmosphere make this resturant a "Must" during each of my trips.

Thanks,
whiles
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 2003, Feb 2003, Jan 2003, Jan 2002
Reviewer: ppmuse Sacramento, CA     January 06, 2004
A trip to Disneyland is not complete without a Disney Burger. The best place to get a Disney Burger? Hungry Bear. Hidden in the back with Splash Mountain and Winnie the Pooh, Hungry Bear gives you a place to relax, kick up your feet, and give a big hello to the canoes.

As for the food, it's a Disney Burger, what do you expect. It's the basic meat, cheese, bun, tomato, and lettuce. All the condiments are in barrels off to the side, so you can put as much mayo on your burger as you want. The thing is, for less than a dollar, you can get a double cheese burger instead of a single, leaving you full until dinner. The fries are sometimes soggy, some times crunchy, depends on the cook, think McDonald's. The Rice Krispy treats are delicious, and my step dad likes the chicken sandwiches.

Just like all the other restaurants at Disneyland, the service could be a little better. No smiles at this place. All you get is "okay, here you go, enjoy your meal...NEXT." The food is on the counter pretty fast.

I've seen this place busy, and not busy. Even when it's busy, you can find a seat. The best place to sit is on the lower floor. Not many people sit down there, and the birds flock to the water when there's people eating. People rarely follow the "don't feed the birds" signs. The bathrooms are also located downstairs.

My family has always believed that a trip to Disneyland is NEVER complete without a trip to Hungry Bear. The prices may be high, the birds may be beggars, and the servers may not be so happy, but it's a place to eat a burger in solitude.

Service: 2.0
Price: 2.0
Food: 4.0
Atmosphere: 5.0
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 2002
Reviewer: disneyprincess81 Pennsylvania     September 26, 2003
Hungry Bear restaurant serves hamburgers, chicken sandwhiches, and french fries. The seating area is enormous, you'll definitely find a place to sit, and if you do, I suggest sitting near the water where you can watch the ducks play. The shade feels great for those hot summer trips, the food is some of the best in the park with generous portions and well done burgers. Kids will love this place, they can throw little bread crumbs at the ducks and enjoy the view.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/23/02
Reviewer: uniontrack (uniontrack@hotmail.com) Tooele, UT     January 12, 2003
Contrary to the notation that this restaurant is closed for refurbishment, as of 12/2002, it is alive and well! I love walking up the main path where there are wood carved critters asking me if I'm hungry! I love the little stuff.....The burgers here are decent sized and cooked well. My wife and I both got the burger/fries combo and paid about $18 for both of us with drinks. The reason to go here is the gigantic seating area, right by the water and nice and quiet as well. The day we ate here, cast members were saying that there was over 65,000 folks in the park and this place was still quiet and empty. A great place to cool off and rest tired legs. Also good for kids to feed ducks and watch the canoes and boats going by. As soon as the Pooh ride gets going here, this place should be hopping again....which is kind of a shame, since it has hidden jewel status with me. Service: fast and with a smile, Price: moderate, Food: well cooked with decent portions, Atmosphere: Excellent, quiet and relaxing. Aside from going back to the hotel, this is the best place in Disneyland to relax and take a break.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/01
Reviewer: wendymom Portland, Oregon     July 07, 2002
The food at this place is nothing special. Just burgers/ sandwiches and fries. The great thing is if you sit on the top or bottom level at the furthest point from the food service by the water it is a great place to rest. My son and I have been there several times to watch the boats and canoes go by. The ducks stay close looking for a handout and bring their babies too. It's cool and shady on a hot day in the park. You can sit there even if you are not eating if it's not busy.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page