Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Hotel Santa Fe
 
Send this review to a friend!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 6 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 6 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 2004, July 2004, July 2003, December 2001
Reviewer: SandraVB79 (sandra@pubers.net) Brussels, Belgium     November 21, 2005
The Santa Fe is the cheapest hotel at the Disneyland Paris Resort, and that is the main reason why I like it.
The rooms are not huge, but big enough (three times, we were 2 adults, and once 3 adults). I never spend that much time IN the room anyways (hey, there are 2 Disney parks waiting outside!!!) Each room has 2 double beds and a bathroom with bath/shower. Evvery time we went, teh rooms and bathrooms were very clean. the one time I celebrated my birthday, we even got a free afternoon tea basket, which was a nice touch.

I don't really like the breakfast at the hotel, not because of the breakfast itself, but because the restaurant is always a chaos and many people are very loud. We always solve that problem by choosing the "Good Morning Fantasyland" option (breakfast IN the park, 1 hour before opening, yes, you have to get up early!) or a character breakfast at Cafe Mickey.
I have no idea if dinner/lunch is good, because I have never eaten there.

In the morning, there are characters greeting guests at the lobby, all dressed up in Mexican costume. We have had pictures with Minnie, Goofy, Pluto, ...
At the lobby, there is also free coffee/ tea.

At the hotel, there are 5 trails. It is really worth it to walk around in the resort, and follow the trails (there is one with water, one with a satellite dish, ...)

Transportation to/from the park is very convenient with the busses. If your room is in a building at the back of the hotel (near the Rio grande) you can always take a bus to the hotel Cheyenne and walk from that hotel to your room (just across the river, there are 2 bridges)

The walk from the hotel to the park is a very nice walk, and I always have to do it at least once every time I visit. If you are too late for the last bus at night, just walk through the Disney Village, and follow the road to teh hotel; i's safe, well-lit, ...

I really like this hotel, and I will continue going to the Santa Fe. The less money I spend on a hotel room where I basically just sleep during 6 hours and take 2 showers a day, the more I can spend on souvenirs!
 
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   June 2003
Reviewer: dws_60 France for now     June 12, 2005
The bed was full of wood fleas! and when we called the front desk for help because our daughter was having an allergic reaction they did take their time to call the EMC! Then they changed us of room in the middle of the night since we had come to sleep after the fireworks and all and came back from the ER with still groggy daughter... they said they had changed our room so we had to move with bags and suitcases to a whole different building... we received no compensation at all after we said we wouldn't go and have a drink at the bar since we had to put her to sleep and get some rest ourselves...
very disappointing disney experience
 
3 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   26/27/28-11-2002
Reviewer: saskia Netherlands     November 07, 2003
I've been at Santa Fe for three times now, and every time I get there I start to like it more and more.
First time I got there was with my dad, my sister, a friend and my oncle at 02-02-1997. Actually we made reservations for the hotel Cheyenne, but there was made a mistake and after a very long wait they gave us two rooms at SF instead. At that time we were really disappointed because the look we got from Cheyenne was so great that we didn't like SF at all. But the rooms were clean and offered everything we needed and besides that, we got a lot of money back from DLP because of the inconvenience. So no harmed feelings after all.
Second time I went with my father, my sister and a friend at october 1997. This time it was our own choise to go to SF. We chose it again because it's cheap and really okay, but still not for it's splendid looks. The room we got was a room with two double beds (there are only rooms with two double beds) and a bathroom with a shower/bath a toilet and a washing-table. Very complete, clean and a carnival of colours (because of it's theme). The walk to the park is about 12 minutes (we walked really fast so it actually can take a little longer). The bus get's to the park in 4 minutes.
At that stay we always had diner at SF. To us this was more like a fastfood experience than having a relaxed sit-down dinner. The food was good (only once my friend got raw chicken, but they gave him a new portion), but not special and the restaurant was crowded and some people were even running for a table!!
This doesn't sound excited, but last year (26/27/28-11-2002) my friend and I went back at SF. (Yes that friend I'm allways talking about is my boyfriend, but I hate this word so that's why he's called "a friend" all the time.) We chose SF again because we just finished our study and were really poor at that time. So the cheapest hotel than turns out to be the best you can get. We were prepared for a sober hotel with a little of atmosphere. But a miracle had just happened at SF!!!!
Before I can tell about this miracle I must be as hounest to tell about our trip to DLP. This year, the first time with only the two of us, we went by car, normally this takes about 4 hours from the place where we live. This time we needed 2 days to reach DLP because of truckers striking in France, bad traffic in Brussels and a lot of fogg on the rest of our way. We had slept for 3 hours at an expensive and extremely dirty hotel and we were forced to sleep in our very cold car (it was freezing that night) for two more hours because of fog. So we were very tired and not in a good mood at all.
Then we arrived at SF and, o wonder, there were lights everywhere and you could hear christmassongs along the streets and the reception area. The reception erea was very well decorated and attractively warm. The staff was extremely friendly and at that time we fellt like we had arrived in heaven!! We loved SF!!! The room was simular to the earlier described room, but it was warm inthere and clean. The bathroom was inviting us for a shower and we were really lucky and satisfied at that time. Also the exterior of the hotel was inviting and there were many christmasdecorations all over the place, it looked really comfortably and inviting. The dinner we had was still self service, but the staff spoke English this time (forgot to mention that the first times they didn't want to understand our school "vocabulaire"). It was the first time we saw there was a fire place in the dining area and we got a seat next to it. The dining area looked very inviting, was warm and beatifully decorated. So what was our problem the first two times we got there??
I don't really know. It'll be a combination of changing attitude from our side, but also DLP itself had managed to create a great atmosphere at SF.
The only complaint about our last stay overthere was the view from our groundfloor room. We overlooked a parking filled with huge busses, but that's a little detail.
At the end of this trip we spent one night at Seqouia Lodge and this certainly was a better hotel, but this time we also loved SF very much.
One note.....as well SL as SF had both a television, but the limited channels were really boring. If you'll stay one night you won't mind the limited choise between the Disneylandchannel, BBC news, (German) RTL plus and a French channel, but after one night you'll hate it. Voice overs in German for Blossom and Home Invaders are awsome and I still don't understand enough French to understand a French program. So this I hate about DLP.
Conclusion: at SF you get everything you need for a good price and you can have a great time.
 
36 out of 37 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Hallowe'en 2002
Reviewer: DarrenD Dublin, Ireland     June 09, 2003
I stayed with my family - my wife and 2 children (ages 3 and 5) - for Hallowe'en 2002. The accomodation was a standard room, 2 x double beds and it was absolutely excellent. There was a TV in the room that had access to Disney Channel UK.
The hotel itself was well laid out - the grounds are very spacious and the individual blocks that the hotel is broken up into are well spaced. There is a children's playground in the hotel grounds, although we didn't get time to explore that.
Eating in the hotel was good. Cooked breakfasts were decidedly dodgy, so its a safer bet to stay with the buffet. Due to the numbers of people that the restaurant was trying to accomodate we often found ourselves having to clear our own table. When you arrive you have to book your time for breakfast - you simply cannot turn up. My advice is to get an early breakfast and avoid the crowds. However, the standard of food in the restaurant is excellent and the waiting staff were very helpful.
The staff in general were extremely helpful. I speak French, but didn't need to use it as the Disney staff are bilingual - English / French.
Transport to the Parks was either by coach or on foot. We tended to walk - there is a trail at the back of the hotel that leads right into the park. Its about 20 minutes at a leisurely pace. The bus is about a 5 minute ride and leaves you outside the RER station. However, get to the bus early as between 8 and 9 it will be packed. Also, there is no concept of queueing, so be prepared to fight your way on!!
Overall, the experience was excellent.
 
20 out of 22 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 19th-22nd 2001
Reviewer: elowoose (elowoose@funs.co.uk) Middlesborough, UK     October 15, 2002
Type/Class of room: Standard
Accommodations Review:It was basic but very well done. The whole room had a Mexican theme and all of the rooms were in pueblo style buildings. The room had two double beds, TV, table, two chairs,bathroom and wardrobe. Outside the pueblos were many objects of mexicantheme including a flying saucer and a volcano. There were various trails which you could follow but as it was winter it was too cold.On top of the main building was an adventure playgroud for children but again it was too cold to go and have a good look at it.Inside the main building was the resturant, bar, arcade,reception and shop. as it was Christmas the whole building was very festivly decorated. The reception are was moderate in size but had all of the information that one would require and there was a kids corner at one end. The arcade was just as any arcade would be. The shop sold a selection of the merchandise that you could buy in the park, but was quite useful as it opened later so you could buy your souveniers when the park was closed. We had a brief look in the bar but it seemed too pricey to have a drink although live entertainment could be heard coming from it every night.
The only time we went to the resturant was for breakfast. It too had a mexican theme and a huge fireplave in the middle. The breakfast was the same as all the hotels and consisted of cereals, ham, cheese, fruit, yogurt and a selection of breads and croissants. There was an opertunity to purchase a cooked breakfast but it cost about £4-5 and was discusting so i wouldn't recomend it.
Ease of Disney Park Access: About 20 minutes walk. Alright in the summer but wouldn't recoment it in the winter.
Park Shuttle Comments: Arived every 10 minutes but very packed on a morning and coming back at night. Our room was situated next to the river and we found it alot easier to go over the other side and get the hotel cheyens bus.
· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions:Very nice mexican feel and cosey for winter nights.

All in all this was a brilliant hotel for the price and we have booked to go again on the 15th december this year (2002).

 
26 out of 27 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   05/12/2002
Reviewer: myhomedisney Portland, Oregon     August 22, 2002
We enjoyed being greeted by the huge Clint Eastwood billboard and the music from the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly when we arrived. Our room was on the ground floor, next to the restaurant and gift shop. We feared that would be a noisy location, but our room and building were extremely quiet. Our actual room was small, but it had two beds and was nice and clean. There was, however, alot of wear and tear on the room, such as the finish being worn off in the sink and the wallpaper border was peeling. The room at the Santa Fe didn't include niceties like washcloths and samples, other than soap (like the Disneyland Hotel did). The breakfast was good and the shuttle was fast and easy to use. There was also a big Esso gas station / mini market that was located across the parking lot. The only problem that we had was that the adapter for our hairdryer blew a fuse and knocked out the electricity in our room for a little while.

We spent one night at the Santa Fe before moving to the Disneyland hotel for 4 nights. We thought that at the Santa Fe, it was easier to find a light, inexpensive snack, as opposed to the Disneyland hotel that charged $26 for a sandwich after 6pm.

We were pleasantly surprised that the least expensive of the Disneyland Paris resort hotels, the Santa Fe, was very comfortable, and the staff was also very accomodating.
 
34 out of 36 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page