Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Plaza Inn
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Four stations offer pasta, fried chicken, pot roast, salads and desserts.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 18 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April, 2012
Reviewer: ralfrick San Francisco Bay     April 22, 2012
For clarity, my ratings are by comparison to restaurants within the Disneyland Resort only.

Somehow The Plaza Inn became the last counter service restaurant for us to try inside Disneyland, and it immediately shot up ahead of some of the others. We were there for dinner during Spring Break, and there weren't that many in front of us just prior to the 2nd parade starting. Being two, we decided to get chicken and pot roast, so each of us could try both. Except for the meat and gravy, everything else was the same.

Was pleased that a choice of mixed/white/dark was offered, & 2/3 pieces were the big ones, and they were all fresh and flavorful. Of course, 4 pieces would make this a good plate to split for 2 people. Roast was very tender, but if you eat slowly, the last bite or 2 suffers from cooling. It is also the most civilized of the counter services, not only in surroundings, but in the plates/utensils that weren't made of plastic. I have no doubt that we will return to the Plaza Inn.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Friday, Dec 7, 2007
Reviewer: WhichIsStitch Flagstaff, AZ     December 27, 2007
I have been enjoying the Plaza Inn since I was a kid. I wish the breakfast was still available here without the character breakfast but for now I am happy with the lunch/dinner option. The last time we had been here was September '06 around the week after Labor Day. I was disappointed to see much of the park needing attention especially with regard to trash being picked up. At that time, it was a struggle at the Plaza Inn to find a table that was clear enough to sit at. Many people were simply clearing the tables by piling dirty dishes on another table. Our recent visit was dramatically different. The restaurant was spotless with many clean tables available. The decorations were beautiful with holiday music playing very softly in the background. My food choice was the chicken!!! I love it and had forgotten how much you get. I love the option of just the white meat as well but there is no way one person could be able to finish both the huge pieces as well as the rest of the potatoes and vegies! My husband got the roast beast (beef) which he had complained about last time being full of fat and gristle. Not so this time as I watched him consume the big quantity quickly. We should have shared the Yule Log dessert but since that is the first item you see our eyes were definitely much bigger than the room left in our tummies!
The dessert was light and delicious and the presentation was beautiful. Even though this is a sort of a cafeteria arrangement, it does not seem cafeteria like ....... hope that makes sense. The only thing I might change would be a few more choices than the chicken, pasta and beef. Not sure what but one or two more entrees might be nice. I still love love love the chicken and hope that part never changes!
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Sunday, September 16, 2007, 12:15 pm
Reviewer: Andrew (andrew@mouseplanet.com) Palo Alto, CA     November 08, 2007
What we had: Broasted Chicken (Jen), Cobb salad (me).

Not a lot to say; the Plaza Inn has the best fried (or broasted, whatever) chicken in the Disneyland Resort and the Cobb salad is always satisfying.

Service: Not really applicable, as this is a "scramble service" restaurant, where guests go to various stations to order and pick up their items. The Cast Members working the individual stations were nice enough.

Would we go back: Yes.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   2 visits between 9/22 - 9/27
Reviewer: ekkhogge Honolulu, HI     October 02, 2007
Both visits we got one adult chicken plate and 1 adult pasta with alfredo. The chicken is SO tasty (even if you peel off the skin). and the alfredo is delicious. Getting your food sometimes takes long and the drink area was congested the 2 times we visited. For the 2 meals and 1 soda and 1 choc milk I think I paid about $30 (using AP 10% off discount). The chicken plate seems to be more portion wise. But the 2 adult meals feed 2 adults and DD(3). We always make sure to stop by for a meal.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   11/4/06-11/5/06
Reviewer: amwiddis Flagstaff, Arizona     December 26, 2006
My friend and I took our daughters to Disneyland for a quick mother/daughter getaway. We left our husbands and 6 kids between us at home! Anyhow, for lunch my friend and I wanted something better than pizza or chicken, etc. So we let our daughters take off to Pizza Port and we decided to try Plaza Inn. We were both pleasantly surprised! There was no wait. I ordered the pot roast and my friend ordered the fried chicken. Both were large portions, so I was OK with paying a little extra (can't remember if it was $10 or $12). The pot roast was wonderful. Hardly any fat that you usually find at restaurants and the meat was so tender and shreddable. It was as if the meat was cooking all day! My friend had so much chicken she couldn't even finish it. We loved being able to sit down and talk and not feel rushed. The restaurant was clean, nice, calm and beautifully decorated. I was sad to see other people had a bad experience there, maybe it was a bad day. I would recommend this restaurant and will go again next time!
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   Saturday, May 27th, 06
Reviewer: hushpuppy 20 Iowa     October 30, 2006
I told myself I wasn't going to pay more than $10 a meal while at DL so I only went here after saving my money for the day. I LOVE Pot Roast and knew they sold it here so I decided it would be worth the cost to have my favorite meal while in The Happiest Place on Earth. I'm afraid I was left feeling cheated. Plaza Inn's Idea of Pot Roast is more like meat loaf covered in gravy. The gravy was the only appatizing part of it, actually. The meat tasted like a TV dinner I'd eaten a few days before. Not worth the cost.
 
0 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   October 29, 2005
Reviewer: SandraVB79 (sandra@pubers.net) Brussels, Belgium     December 29, 2005
We (2 adults) had dinner at the Plaza Inn, and were very disappointed. First of all, there was a huge line.
We both had the Chicken alfredo pasta with a soda, and we shared a chocolate cake.
The pasta was cold and rubbery, and the portions were really small. I was just as hungry after dinner as before. the chocolate cake was very good though!
On the menu outside, prices were not indicated, and we didn't see a menu with prices inside, so the total price of our dinner was quite a shock, and due to the small portions, I thought the price was way too high!

I don't think I will ever go back to the Plaza Inn for dinner, the only time they will see me back is for breakfast.
 
2 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   October 12, 2005
Reviewer: CarrieL Honolulu, HI     October 17, 2005
We had a great dinner at the Plaza Inn. My review may be skewed because I was very hungry, but I had the chicken dinner and it was great. The serving was huge (I shared 1/3 of it with my toddler and was still quite full) and the chicken wasn't greasy at all. My husband and daughter had pasta (child's and adult's plates), which they said was ok. The atmosphere was perfect. We also appreciated that the kids' meals were not small overly fried offerings, but real food.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   5/8/2005
Reviewer: lakingsfankurt San Marcos, CA     May 18, 2005
My girlfriend and I decided to celebrate Mother's Day this year by taking my mom to Disneyland and the Plaza Inn for breakfast. I called the day before to make reservations for 3 for 8:30am (since we all had plans for later in the day). We actually arrived a little late (around 8:40), but we were immediately greeted by a host that found our reservation and escorted us inside. My mom was given a crown and we paid for the meals and were taken to our table. We were then escorted back inside (we had a table outside) and shown all the food and how it all worked. Let me say that I've read some reviews about the lines to get food during the breakfast buffet, and the lines can sometimes be long, but I didn't find it to be extraordinarily long. We just got some coffee, waited 10 minutes and the lines were down to just a few people. It seems the buffet system is set up for individual people to get the food, and when one person is getting food for 3 or 4 people, it really, really slows things down. The longest I had to wait was 3 minutes for anything.

On to the food. The had a nice assorment of baked goods, the swan cream puffs were amazing and beautiful. Along with the baked goods where fruit, carved turkey/ham ( i didn't have any and don't remember which one they had) and dirt cake. They had two hot serving stations on either side that were identical. On the hot buffets they had sausage, bacon, eggs, bread pudding, cheese blintzes, eggs, mickey mouse waffles, biscuits and gravy and french toast. They also had a made to order omlette bar, but I was too full to get one. Drink choices were the typical, soft drinks, juice, milk, hot chocolate and coffee.

I sampled most of the food there and it was all very good. The cheese blintzs were the only item I was let down by. The food was hot, fresh and delicious. The food was the quality that you would find if you had ordered the items directly from the kitchen, rather than from a buffet.

The service was decent. My only complaint would be with the bussing of tables. Either they didn't have enough people working or its standard practice to allow people to leave all their finished plates and trays on the table until they leave. It wasn't a huge deal since there were only 3 of us seated at a 4 person table, but it had the potential to become an issue.

Since this was a character dining, my mother got her picture taken with her childhood favorite, cinderella. There weren't a ton of characters out, but enough. They did a good job of making sure to get around to everyone. Different from goofy's kitchen, where there seems to be a plethora of characters just milling about versus the Plaza Inn, where there were fewer characters, but they went around to each table and posed for pictures and talked to people dining there.

Overall, great Mother's Day for my Mom.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   September 23, 2004
Reviewer: kuusimo Gilbert, AZ     September 25, 2004
We tried to Rancho del Zocalo, but it was closed. We were all hungry, so we decided to go to the Plaza Inn. I got the Cobb Salad ($9.99), and got my two toddlers a pasta meal to split ($5.99 kids meal). Drinks were $2.50. My husband got fried chicken ($13.99) It came with three pieces of chicken(leg, thigh and breast), mashed potatos, green beans, and a biscuit. Only one of the three pieces was juicy. My toddlers ate the pasta between the two of them. The sauce tasted like it was just poured from a can though. The cobb salad appeared large, but was not filling enough, and the bread stick was really dry. Service was ok, after we sat down we did not see anyone. The atmosphere was nice, and is the reason I gave this two planets instead of just one. We felt it was overpriced for what you got, and the food was not that great (for dinner). We recommend going to the Whitewater Snacks at Disney Grand Hotel. We felt it was a better value (is that possible with Disney?) for what you got.
 
1 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page