Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Thomas Cook's Explorers Hotel
 
Send this review to a friend!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 3 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 3 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 29-April 1, 2007
Reviewer: mkraemer Palo Alto, CA     April 14, 2007
Our family (2 adults, 3 children) had the crew quarters room (a room with a double bed, two twins, and a separate room with bunks) during our stay. First, it is so rare for a family of 5 can be accommodated without someone having to sleep on a terribly uncomfortable sofabed! It was wonderful that everyone had their own bed, and the beds at Explorers were quite comfortable. The room is not terribly spacious but it is smartly designed with places where you can stow your things and bags to get them out of the way. There was a kettle for hot water (we always take our own coffee with us), so that was great. It was always clean and tidy, as was the rest of the hotel property.
The breakfast buffet was very nice, and we never got the supplemental cooked food. We enjoyed the croissants, the chocolate croissants (yum!), rolls, yogurts, cereal, and fruit. We never had trouble finding a nice clean table at breakfast.
One highlight of this hotel for our children was the marvelous pirate ship that they could play on, as well as the interior play area (some evenings, we enjoyed being able to sit nearby with a good beer while they played, marveling at how they could possibly have any energy left). The GREATEST highlight of this hotel for our children was the swimming pool, with its fabulous dragon slide and other slide. This pool was excellent!
The shuttle service was regular and, as an added bonus, it stops first at Explorers, so after a long day, you get off first...or get picked up first to start your day! The bus goes right to the train station where you can get the RER into Paris or the Eurostar, if you're traveling to the UK.
We would stay at this hotel again, without question or hesitation; we thought it was terrific.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   september 2003 and july 2004
Reviewer: Isabella The Netherlands     October 16, 2004
Our family stayed 2 times in the explorers hotel and we we had a great room and a very pleasent stay. The cleaning is very good and the staff is very nice to all of the guests. We all slept great on the beds. The breakfast was normal, croissants, choclate croissants, petit pains, cereals and a lot of yoghuerts and puddings. If you want a boiled egg or scrambeld eggs, it will cost you 6,-. The buffet was great and the a la cart diner is very expensive, but it is realy nice dough. For the children there is a very big pirate ship to play on and other toys for children. The swimingpool is also very nice, it is great if you spend a day in the parks that you can cool of in the pool. The shuttlebus will take you in a few minutes to the village and the parks. I will recomand this hotel to everyone!!!
 
34 out of 34 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   mid-august 2003 (3 nights)
Reviewer: aLiTa Belgium     July 14, 2004
Our family consisted out of 4 adults (2 couples) and 2 children (aged 12 and 8). The room was not very large, but wasn't claustrofobically small either. The children had a small bedroom for themselves with bunks. The main bedroom had a 2-person bed and 2 single beds. The single beds were hard to sleep in as a couple, but both the matress and the pillow were comftable. There is a small bathroom and toilet (seperated) There are not nearly enough towels for 6 people, so you might want to order some extra if you have a big family!
The buffet-restaurant has an excellent choise of continental breakfast (english breakfast optional). Many types of cereals and buns. The evening Buffet has simple but good meals. They allow you to taste before they serve you, and the price is fairly resonalble (17 pp) for an all you can eat! There is also another more expensive restaurant we didn't eat at. The smuggler's tavern is great to sit, and has a wide variety of cocktails! The hotel is actually pretty far from the park, but the free shuttle takes only 7-10 minutes to get there, and since you're the first stop, you are sure to have a seat! ;)
 
46 out of 47 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page