Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Newport Bay Club
 
Send this review to a friend!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 2 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   March 27-29, 2007
Reviewer: mkraemer Palo Alto, CA     April 14, 2007
Our family of 5 (2 adults, 3 children) had only a few onsite options at DLP: we could get two rooms or we could get a family room at either the DLH or Newport. At the Newport, a family room is on the concierge level and is still less expensive than at the DLH. Based on that, we chose the Newport. Our expectations of an upscale Disney hotel fell so far short that it was stunning.

Before we arrived, I had made reservations for dinner at Walts at Disneyland Park, a birthday party tea party for my daughter at the Plaza Gardens, an in-room balloon surprise for my daughter, two Good Morning Fantasyland breakfasts, and dinner at Buffalo Bills. At check in, we were told that our Walts reservation wasn't available and that we'd have to go to a different counter and talk to the concierge about it (they would have made a better impression if they'd told us that they'd changed the reservation to a half-hour earlier rather than telling us it had been cancelled). The balloon surprise was no longer on our reservation (but it was added again and worked out fine). There were no problems with the tea party or Buffalo Bills, but perhaps the fact that we'd already paid for those things helped? The staff seemed lukewarm, as if they were merely tolerating us; a far cry from the emphasis that Disney CMs in the US have toward making people feel welcome as guests.

Before our trip, we understood that as Disney hotel guests, we would receive one 'hotel fastpass' per person per day. When we checked in, we were told that only the DLH and Hotel New York gave those passes (not to be confused with the DLP system of VIP fastpasses). Fortunately, the park was not terribly crowded and we managed on regular fastpasses just fine without the added freebie, but it felt like a bait and switch.

Our room was fairly large, and it could have easily accommodated two queen beds rather than the doubles it had. There was a very uncomfortable sofabed available for one of the children. For an upscale Disney property, I had expectations about the room, and those expectations did not include peeling wallpaper, curtains that had fallen off their hooks, and disgusting mold in the bathroom. The beds were not comfortable. The decor was extremely spare. I have stayed in better budget properties in the US.

The pool area was unimpressive and noisy, even when it was not especially crowded. There is a ship bow that juts into the pool area, but no slide. The hot tub was only tepid (huh?) and it seemed like Disney had given almost no thought to theming this pool. Ho hum.

Having breakfast in Fantasyland is wonderful, but my understanding is that the reason it's available to Newport guests is because their breakfast is dreadfully overcrowded. Fortunately, we missed that particular pleasure and were able to enjoy a nice breakfast in the park an hour before opening (which gave us quicker access to rides!)

I don't mind spending money when it's worthwhile, but the Newport cashes in on its Disney name without giving any real worth back. I would never stay there again and would never encourage anyone else to do so either.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   October 1999
Reviewer: JJSingh (jjsingh@aol.com) Studio City, California     November 25, 2002
When viewed from afar, the Newport Bay Club looks quite lovely and almost quaint. As you drive closer, though, the hotel becomes almost imposing in its size -- which is the overall feeling you come away with after a stay here: the place is large, overwhelmingly so.

Stepping into the lobby, you may think you've somehow found yourself at Walt Disney World's Yacht Club or Beach Club -- not a surprise, since all three were designed by Robert A.M. Stern. The service is EuroDisney's typical strange mix of Parisian apathy and Disney "guest service." It doesn't always blend well, and all three times I've stayed here I've heard people complaining at the front desk about one thing or another.

The hotel is difficult to navigate, even with extensive signage. Finding your room may be even more of a difficult task here as it is at the likewise-labyrinthine Yacht/Beach Clubs. The difference is that while the WDW resorts are laid out on just three floors, there are (I believe) eight stories at the NBC, in a building even larger than the ones in Florida. It is imposing and overpowering.

The rooms are nicely sized by Parisian and European standards, though Americans may be disappointed. They're nicely laid out and comfortable enough for a short stay. DO MAKE SURE to ask in advance that your bedding be thoroughly changed and/or washed before your arrival. Your request should be honored.

Because of the hotel's size, bell services are slow at the NBC, so be prepared for a wait. There is no room service, also due to the hotel's size.

None of the rooms feature a particularly spectacular view, unless you get excited by looking at other hotels across a rectangular, manmade lake.

The lounge and restaurants are quite acceptable, though not particularly memorable. The lounge is loud and not tremendously relaxing, though it's a great place to spend some time socializing if you're with a group. There is a very nice gift shop on the lobby level.

The convention center facilities are very good and the staff here is better than at the hotel proper.

The walk to Disneyland Paris itself is acceptable at about 15 minutes (leisurely paced), but if you go during a colder time of year, be warned -- Marne-la-Vallee can be VERY cold and windy, making the walk rather inhospitable. Bundle up! During the warmer months, it's a lovely stroll.

Overall, NBC is a nice hotel, but not at all on par with Disney's deluxe resorts at WDW. If you absolutely must stay at DLP/EuroDisney for a convention or business, it's a nice choice and a bit more welcoming and "warm" than the Hotel New York. On the other hand, if you're visiting for a couple of days, you would be much better off spending your money on a nice hotel in Paris and round-trip RER tickets each day.
 
75 out of 95 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page