Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Café Mickey
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Upscale dining featuring foie gras, pork ribs and an all-you-can-eat dessert buffet
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 4 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 4 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 19, 2004
Reviewer: SandraVB79 (sandra@pubers.net) Brussels, Belgium     November 21, 2005
July 19, 2004: it's my birthday, and I'm 25! So, I go for a character breakfast at Café Mickey. I told the person that seats you that it was my birthday, hoping that they had something special for birthday-people, but he only looked at me and said: you can buy a chocolate birthday-cake for 6-8 people (right, we were only two) and didn't even say Happy Birthday, so that was a big desillusion.

Next to that, everything was perfect. The breakfast buffet has so many things, it's impossible to try everything! (What I do miss though, are Mickey-shaped waffles and panckes - I guess I'm spoiled)

The characters that walk around come to each table, and take their time to go on the picture with you, even if you're "just" 2 adults. Usually the characters at cafe Mickey are: Mickey himself (you have to love getting a Mickey-kiss on your birthday!), Pluto, Chip & Dale, Hook and Mr Smee, the bad lion-King from Robin Hood, ...

Don't plan on going on Space Mountain or Indy right after having breakfast there, that is NOT a good idea! ;-)

On other occasions, I also had diner at Cafe Mickey. The price of the food is about the same as in the other table service restaurants at the park/hotels, but in my opinion, the quality is a little less (but still very good). BUT, you get characters walking around (and that beats everything!) Goofy, Tigger, ... they are all there! At regular times, they turn up the music, all the waiters jump on tables, and everyone starts dancing and singing. It's great fun!

It's a great restaurant to go to with children, or even with just adults, but don't plan a romantic dinner-for-two over there, because it's way too loud for that! ;-)
 
9 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 2005
Reviewer: geoffa London U.K. - WE ARE NOT AFRAID     August 06, 2005
Four adults - two children. One adult - 37th birthday. Booked birthday cake (£15) which was the most scrumptious chocolate gateau ever! (Pizza box provided for remaining slices). Evening food was delightful - great spare ribs - fabulous pasta - sumptuous chicken. Loads of freebies for the kids. Dazzling cocktails and effervescent waiters. When the cake arrived it came with Mickey, Minnie, Captain Hook, Chip and Dale, Pluto, Prince John, Govenor Ratcliffe and Magic Kingdom knows who else. The last time we saw so many characters together was in a daily parade. The star was the Country Bear who pretended to borrow rucksacks, hair grips (in fact anything he could get his paws on) and then offered birthday cake and cream on a fork and then daubed it on the birthday boy's nose whilst characters and waiting staff clapped along to "Happy Birthday". Nephews squealed with delight. Loads of great video and photo memories, laughs, disco dancing (with characters) and a conga! If you like quiet meal it ain't the place for you. For a party it's 6 planets out of 5! Well done guys. Can't say we've quite had that kinda experience at the US parks.
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 18, 2004
Reviewer: TweedlDum9 Rancho Cucamonga, California     January 04, 2005
When you book your Disneyland Paris package, you have to reserve your Character Breakfast at time of purchase. That being said, we were able to change the time a couple times without a problem, but you pay for it at the time of booking as well. That's fine by me, since we didn't have to worry about stashing 20 Euros per person (Adults) to eat that morning.

The Character Breakfast at Cafe Mickey was very nice overall. It paled in comparison to most of the offerings at the Disneyland Resort in California (The Storyteller's Cafe Breakfast at the Grand Californian blows them all away), but it was still nice.

The restaurant was very clean and spacious. There were tables inside as well as outside, but we stayed inside since it was cold and a bit rainy that morning.

The food was good, but many of the breakfast offerings made it seem a little too much like a 20-Euro continental breakfast. I really would have liked an omelete bar in addition to the chafing dishes of food, but we all felt like we got our money's worth.

What surprised us was that King Louie made a couple of appearances during our meal. It was funny, though, because his long arms knocked a few things over, but it was great to see a character who isn't around too often.

Our dishes were cleared fairly quickly, and there was plenty of food to go around.

One of the best things we did, though, was to make our reservation toward the end of the morning (I think it was for 10:00am). Since most people try to eat earlier to maximize their time in the Parks, we soon found ourselves to be the last ones in the restaurant. As a result, we got a LOT more attention from all the Characters than if we'd gone earlier. I don't remember the last time I went to a Character Breakfast here at home and got multiple pictures with everyone!

Service: 3 (It's a buffet, so there's not much)
Price: 4 (Character Breakfasts usually cost $20 at the American parks, so it was pretty comparable)
Food: 3.5 (Again, a lot of regular continental breakfast things)
Atmosphere: 4 (Nice and clean, but also not overly Disney-ized)
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August, 28 2004
Reviewer: saskia (saskialinders@hotmail.com) Netherlands     August 30, 2004
Cafe Mickey was the best Disney dining experience weve ever had. Weve had about 24 Disney dinners and this was the absolute top.
In the morning (28 August 2004) we could easily make our 20:30 dinner reservation for 2 adults and 2 children. We got there at 20:15, but we were seated immediately. The restaurant, situated on a corner of Disney Village, has two levels. We were seated at the upper floor, which had a beautiful look over the lake and the surrounding hotels. The interior is completely styled to Mickey Mouse and looks inviting.
The best thing, of course, was the character interaction. All characters took their time to sit with us at our table. We could take as many pictures as we wanted and they made many jokes with the kids. It was big fun for all of us. The waiters did a very good job too. They were extremely friendly and very funny with the kids. Annemieke (my 17-year-old stepsister) was asked to dance with them. She really loved it.
The food was delicious for DLP standards. When we were seated we got bread and butter and the children both got a coloring set. They also got their drinks in plastic Mickey Mouse mugs they could take home with them as a reminder. The childrens menu was very good for our 11-year-old cousin, but my 17-year-old stepsister decided to order from the menu. She still got the childrens dessert at no extra charge, which I thought was very attentive. One part of the childrens dessert was ice cream served in a Pluto mug they could take home with them also. Besides that there was a big buffet for them with lots of candies, pie, yogurt and ice cream. They loved it. The main dishes were plentiful and very tasty.
I can think of no complaint at all. If I want to say something negative then it must be the Disney price we had to pay (106 Euro). To be honest I think it still was worth every cent of it. The looks on our faces on the pictures are priceless.
 
17 out of 19 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page