Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
 Main Directory: 
 
 
E-mail a Friend About Sequoia Lodge!
 
Want to tell someone about Sequoia Lodge? Just enter the information requested below and click on E-mail a Friend. *Neither your e-mail address nor theirs will be recorded, so you don't have to worry about these addresses being used for anything other than sending this message.

A template of the message sent is displayed below the mailing form.

 
Name of recipient: 
*E-mail of recipient: 
Your name: 
*Your e-mail address: 
Add a personal note? 
Add sample reviews? yes   no
Message Template
Hi RECIPIENT_NAME,

SENDER_NAME visited www.mouseplanet.com today, and thought the following item might be of interest to you.

Reviewer Comments For Click for more reviews!
Sequoia Lodge
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 4 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   January 12 thru January 15, 2006
Reviewer: Nancywitt Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania     January 21, 2006
This is a beautiful hotel but not quite the wow factor of the Wilderness Lodge. You can tell they tried to get the national park theme down. The cast members were dressed like park rangers and we even saw Goofy dressed like a ranger! (The characters tend to show up when you least expect it.) There is a huge working fireplace in the main bar which we would have loved to take advantage of, but by the end of the evening the whole place was full of cigerette smoke. The French sure do smoke a lot! We checked it at 11AM and had to store our luggage until our room was available at 3PM. But that was ok since the receptionist gave us our park tickets and we were off to explore the parks, which were only a short ten minute walk away!

Every morning you were offered a free continental breakfast at one of the two hotel restaurants, or you could eat your free breakfast at Fantasyland. The meal was very filling, and the restaurant was nice and the staff very friendly. Breakfast included croisants, cereal, cold cuts, cheese, yogurt, coffee and juice. Very tasty. We did not eat in these restaurants for lunch or dinner though since we were in the parks. The menu looked good but it also looked a bit too pricey for us. My husband went to investigate one evening and the Beaver Creek Tavern could fit us in at 9PM for their buffet but the final cost would be 100 euros for the four of us! Too much!

There is a pool on site. The pool did not have a shallow end and the water was too cold for us, but it did have a fun slide and a hot tub, but again, the water was not hot enough. There is a locker room for your convience but we just ran to our room. Unlike the hotels at Disney in the states, this hotel had a charge for towel usage at the pool. That was dissapointing.

We stayed in the main building in what they call a Montana room. It is slightly bigger then the standard room but they charged us the same rate ($750 for three nights, breakfast and park tickets included. Our two boys were free). We had a view of the front of the resort which was beautiful because there were huge evergreen trees right outside the window. You could request a room overlooking the lake.

There is a shop at the hotel to buy gifts and snacks. They even have wine for sale. Those French and their wine! The shop was very nice and the staff were great.

Check out was easy, they just tally up your bill and leave it on your door. If the charges make sense, they just bill your credit card. A very nice place to stay, I recommend it!
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 15-21, 2004
Reviewer: TweedlDum9 Upland, California     November 14, 2005
My friends and I were going to go the cheap route and stay at the Santa Fe, but one of my fellow Disneyland CMs stayed there a few months earlier and said it was horrible. We stayed for a whole week, and as Disney Cast Members we got 30% off the room.

The main reason for upgrading to the Sequoia Lodge was because it was the cheapest hotel to offer both a pool and air conditioning (the Santa Fe and Cheyenne only come with ceiling fans). To our surprise, the weather was fairly cool all week (we hardly used the A/C), but it was still a nicer hotel.

STANDARD ROOM: We stayed in one of the standard "Lodge" buildings, which are actually outside behind the main building. Our room was at the very end of the second floor. After all the long days we had, the flight of stairs (no elevators in the Lodge buildings) suddenly became very frustrating and tiring. The Lodge buildings are a little bit closer to the walkway to the Parks than the main building, so that was nice. The bathroom was small by American standards but was fine. There was no fan in our bathroom, however, so we sometimes had to leave the door open to air it out. The room came with a nice chair, small table, big dresser, and two double beds. Beware, though, that requesting the free "cot" will not get you a typical American Boy Scout cot (which was what we'd expected). Instead, they define "cot" as "portable baby crib." Whoops.

THEMING: The whole hotel is very nicely themed from the wooden interiors of the lobby and restaurants to the lush landscaping along all the outside walkways.
A few areas were being remodeled during our visit, and I noticed some other things needing maintenance. In particular, there were several places where the wallpaper was badly peeling. Some of the woodwork looked like it needed to be touched up or replaced. Like I said earlier, this is typical of moderate European hotels.

POOL: The pool is designed to be half-inside and half-outside. Since it was cool most of the days we were there, almost everyone stayed inside so it felt a little crowded and very humid. There was also a short waterslide and a small spa.

PARK SHUTTLES: We actually opted to walk from the hotel to the parks almost every time. If you missed the bus, it sometimes took almost 30 minutes to catch the next one (our bus went to both Sequoia Lodge and Newport Bay Hotel). Timewise, though, it seemed like the bus ride took almost as long as walking... but with walking, we never had to wait. That being said, the walk from Sequoia Lodge to the parks took anywhere from 5-10 minutes depending on how quickly we walked. Bring everything you'll for the entire day when you first leave the hotel; you'll lose at least a half-hour every time we had to go back to the hotel to get something.

CAST MEMBERS: The hotel Cast Members were very friendly, and most I saw spoke English. I've heard bad stories about rude Cast Members, but I had plenty of pleasant experiences. When calling the Front Desk or Concierge by phone, I would always say both "Bonjour" and "Hello" to kinda signal that I only spoke English. I'm not sure if it was proper, but it made me feel less embarrassed.

CONCIERGE: Concierge was very helpful in terms of helping us get priority seating for restaurants and also provided information about some of the sightseeing in Paris itself. We booked the day-long sightseeing tour offered through DLRP and, although I think it was about 50 Euros per person, it was totally worth the money.

BREAKFAST: For breakfast at the hotel, be aware that you need to pick out a card with a set Breakfast Time for your room (a la Fastpass) when you check in. You will need a separate card for each day of your stay, so bring the correct card with you in order to get into the restaurant. The breakfast buffet is included in the room rates, but we slept in since we didn't get a very good selection of times (we arrived late the day we checked in). They also offer a free "Breakfast in the Park" option if you want to get up early and eat in Fantasyland before Park opening instead of at the hotel restaurant, but we did not take advantage of it.

CHECK-IN/OUT: The Cast Member was very friendly, welcoming, and efficient. Like I said, he made sure we selected our breakfast cards and also gave us some information about the parks. We also got a sort of Resort ID Card (like WDW), but we never used it since they don't actively restrict the Hotel shuttles to Hotel Guests and we never charged anything to the room. But the card makes a nice souvenir. And if you want to play in the Parks after you check out, you can leave your bags at the Left Luggage room for free.