Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Candy Cane Inn
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1747 S. Harbor Blvd, Anaheim
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 35 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Sept 12, 2005
Reviewer: ghoofie Northern California     October 05, 2005
I put a date as required, but we ALWAYS stay at the 'Cane. I can't say enough great things about the Candy Cane. It is the only place to stay. One thing often overlooked, even though it is a nice, actually scenic (flowerly) walk to/fro the park, the 'Cane has their own private shuttle. So you don't have to make lots of stops.
The rooms are always so fresh and clean. The staff are SO friendly. You really must try the 'Cane.
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   june 2005
Reviewer: collverhouse Fortuna, California     September 29, 2005
We loved the Candy Cane Inn! My husband likes to stay where a decent breakfast is offered and the CCI was the best. We stayed for five nights, they were very friendly and also accommadating to friends that came to do a day at DL with us and gave them a room next to ours. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfy. We had a deluxe room for a standard rate from ares travel.(I think it was around $99/ night) We have stayed at the Disneyland hotel and the Tropicana in the past but we will probably return to the CCI next year. The shuttle was convenient but the walk was only about 10 minutes with very tired feet and two tired kids. The pool was clean and decently sized for a hotel plus there is a kiddie pool and a large spa pool. Breakfast by the pool in the morning was yummy and a super way to start our day, the grounds are very pretty and we were able to see the fireworks from our balcony the night we arrived as well as the Tower of Terror. The small shop has drinks and some souvenirs, get your water at the shop and take it with you!!! We love Disneyland!!!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   September 2005
Reviewer: Mark Mywords Sacramento, CA     September 13, 2005
We arrived at the Candy Cane Inn around 10pm on Thursday night. Check in was prompt. The staff was very friendly and asked us if we had a room preference (location, which floor). We got a room on the second floor right across from the pool. I was initially concerned about noise from the pool as well as the "Smoking table" that was about 8 feet from our door. Neither proved to be a problem during our stay.

The grounds are really nice. Cobblestones abound in the driveway. There is really cool ivy decorative ironwork throughout the hotel. The landscaping is also very nice. I'm not sure if it was genuine or piped-in, but I really enjoyed the abundant insect sounds outside our room coming from the landscaped areas.

We were able to park right below our room. No elevator, so we stored our stroller in the minivan. I ran into our one and only problem right after we got the kids down on that first night. After things had settled down, I got out my laptop to try to access work (and MP, of course!). While I could "See" 3 seperate access points for the Candy Cane's network, I could not successfully connect to any of them (none would issue an address to my laptop). I'm a systems admin, I used every "Trick" in the book to get on, but couldn't. I gave up and turned in for the night.

Our room was extremely clean and quiet! The only noise we heard the entire stay was an occasional plumbing sound of another room running their sink, shower or whatever. My wife thought the room was really big, though I regarded it as being "Average" sized. I really appreciated the plantation shutters, especially since the CCI has outdoor corridors. We filled the mini fridge with bottled water.

We decided to check out the continental breakfast on Friday morning. It was excellent! They have a wide selection of baked goods as well as juices, coffee, hot chocolate, milk, cereals, oatmeal, etc. Normally, we don't do hotel breakfasts, but at the CCI, we took advantage of it each morning we were there. It saved us quite a bit of money!

While at breakfast, I busted out the laptop again. I was able to get a connection this time, but it was really slow. I talked to the staff about my connection problems from my room. They apologized and said that I was more than welcome to come down and sit at a table in the breakfast room at night if I needed access. Not ideal, but this is what I did for a couple of the nights we were there.

The walk to the park is not too bad. Being on the same side of Harbor Blvd as the parks seems to make it easier than from the hotels on the other side of the street. Distance to the park entrance is about 2 Anaheim-sized blocks, but wasn't bad at all. We pushed a stroller the whole way.

Overall, the Candy Cane lnn completely lived up to all the good things I've heard about it. We had an excellent stay and have reservations to go back in December.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 13 - 20, 2005
Reviewer: Dennis (denandcyn@juno.com) Beavercreek, Oregon     August 23, 2005
Four of us in our fifties and sixties attended Disneyland for a week to enjoy the 50th celebration and its honorary inclusion into AARP membership. The Candy Cane Inn was home for us seven nights to sleep, lounge, and consume their breakfast. What a great place! You can believe the reviews you read. They are really true.

First, the landscaping is beautiful, particularly at breakfast by the pool. The guys around the place are constantly trimming and cleaning the grounds. The vines hanging from the balconeys give it a European look of a villa somewhere. You won't be disappointed.

The rooms are first rate. Clean everywhere. My wife pointed out the grout in the tiles in the bathroom, "Do you know how hard it is to keep it that clean?" Candy Cane strives for a clean room. My wife was impressed.

The decor is very tasty inside. The shutters add a charm I've never seen at any hotel in the U.S.. The armoire is stately and matches well the oversized headboards on the queen beds.

The extended continental breakfast was more than adequate for our daily needs. I liked the blueberry bagels with strawberry cream cheese the best.

The service was excellent. They helped us from early check in to the day we checked out with answers to our questions with a friendly attitude.

Finally, the price. We paid $92 a night on AAA rates. Not bad considering the breakfast and free shuttles that run on the half hour. We will definitely return to the Candy Cane with all enthusiasm!

dennis
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   8/1/05-8/7/05
Reviewer: zerofan (mildchild_@hotmail.com) California     August 19, 2005
After reading the reviews on this site my family had high expectations as we reserved this hotel. We ended up getting two premium rooms at $159 per night because everything else was reserved already.

We got there after midnight and the staff were very nice and accomodating. When we got to our rooms there was a little basket of goodies on the table, which included a delicious package of six homemade cookies. We filled out our breakfast menus and placed them outside on the doorknob (you have until 2 am to do this). Among the choices were donuts, muffins, cereal, oatmeal, toast, bagels, coffee,fresh squeezed OJ, etc. You also choose when it's delivered: 7:15-7:30, 8:15-8:30, or 9:15-9:30. Breakfast was brought promptly in the morning, and we got everything we asked for except a bowl of fruit loops. Another morning we also had something missing. Afterwards you just put everything back in the basket and leave it on the table.

In the room was a mini fridge which had two bottles of water in it, very convenient, and coffee supplies and coffee maker. The room was nice and clean, and was well cleaned every day. Every night at 7 they would turn down our beds and leave little bags of candies and mints on our side tables.

The cookies were so good my mother and I went to the lobby to ask if we could get/buy some more, but they said they baked them for a welcoming gift only and wouldn't let us have more. :(

The kiddie pool was lots of fun for my two-year-old brother. We usually came back to the hotel in the middle of the day and took a swim, the kiddie pool was warm, and the other pool was a little chilly, but nice. Towels were provided at the pool, but it did get a little crowded because the pool area was so small.

The shuttle left promptly from the hotel on the hour and half hour, and from the Disneyland Resort at the quarter after and quarter too. It was always on time. But the walk to Disneyland was only about seven minutes, just down the block.

All in all the Candy Cane Inn was a terrific experience and we will be staying there again this Dec.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   sep 2004
Reviewer: slickb44 (slickb44@yahoo.com) redmond, washington     June 14, 2005
me and my girlfriend went to disneyland for our first trip together and i made most of the plans ( ok all of the planes she didnt really know anything about disneyland) and i had read some reviews in some books and online. when we got there at about 10am, they didnt hesatate to let us into our room, witch my girlfriend loved because it was pink ( i know pink) it was nice and i really didnt mind. the mini frig was great to keep those "drinks" nice and cold. the beding was very cumfy i sleeped like a baby (witch i dont normaly in hotels). the bathroom was great with the tippical sep tub and such, with the sink just out side of it. the outside of the hotel was so nice looing (i didnt even know there where doing constrution in the back). with the pool and hot tub, where we spent our nights talking to other nice people from other arias and how there day in the park went. there was also such a nice brakfast buffay by the pool where I got the day started with a nice cup of coffee wile i brought food to my girlfriend will she got ready for the day in the park (witch is the best way to do it. it got her out faster for more time in the park.) we walked to the park almost everyday witch was great because it is SO close to the park and was a nice seenic walk. all in all the hotel was so nice. we are going to disneyland again in sep 2005 and i got my whole family to stay with us in the candy cane inn, and my mother is the tipe to stay in the bigg hotels but i really think she will love it as well as my dad he like the small quant hotels.
 
3 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 4-6, 2005, 325 miles and 9 hours later...
Reviewer: jeh66 Napa, California     March 10, 2005
Our group of 12 girls and 6 adults chose the Candy Cane Inn based on recommendations from two mom's who raved on and on about this motel. After this trip I see why!

First of all, Candy Cane Inn is very close to the Parks. I estimate it is the same distance or closer than the Disneyland Hotel is to the Park entrance. And much less in price! (Use your AAA card for a discount! I think we paid $97 for a deluxe room)

I am picky about hotel rooms. Our rooms were very clean with tile bathroom flooring, clean carpet, comfy bedding, and nice bedroom furniture with cute plantation style shutters. It was definitely not a "budget" feeling motel. We did upgrade to deluxe rooms, which included a mini fridge, mostly just to have more room for our parties of 4 and 5 people. Oh, and the LA Times was on our doorstep every morning! How about that?!

We were also there during the cheerleader convention. No major problems of noise to report, maybe because we were so tired after our days in the Park!

The breakfast was great, and it saved our group a lot of money, when you're talking 18 people, that's a bunch of cash that could otherwise be used shopping on Main Street if you know what I mean! There was a toaster, selection of pastries, juice, milk, coffee, premade hot chocolate, fruit, etc. We lounged outside by the pool and it was very comfortable. The girls got a kick out of leaving little crumbs for the birds...

We used the shuttle now and then, but honestly, in the time the shuttle took to drive to the Park we could have walked there already. It took maybe 10 min. to walk. (Because the Inn is on the same side of the street as Disneyland, the shuttle has to take a series of left turns to enter the actual Park shuttle drop off area) The Candy Cane Inn is literally *right next* to the Disneyland Parks. Literally.

The hotel is decorated in a Spanish-style motif with lots of hanging plants, ivy, flowers... the grounds are beautiful and lush feeling...Almost a N'awleans feel to the place...

There is a small gift and sundry shop for those last minute, I-forgot gifts. It had a few unique items albeit with typical hotel gift shop prices. Immediately next door is a 7-11 for other necessities such as Pepto Bismol and Dramamine, in our case ;)

One last comment about staying at a non-Disney hotel. I have stayed at the Disneyland Hotel and enjoyed it very much. But after the Candy Cane Inn, which is easily $100 less per night than the Disneyland Hotel (not to mention the very expensive but luxe Grand Californian), I am tempted to make it my choice from now on. As my one Disney-lovin' friend commented, "I don't spend a lot of time in my hotel room..... why pay that much more when I could use the extra money for shopping!!" Right on D.W.!

If it is really true that the motel is still owned by the original owners, it's that much more charming. It takes dedication and good customer service to keep a business going for that many years.

For the price, location, and quality of rooms, I give it 5 planets.
 
27 out of 27 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 2-6, 2005
Reviewer: tjimmy Portland, OR     March 09, 2005
Our third time at this great, affordable place. If anything, the service has improved. We arrived early, like 10 am, and would have been happy if we could just leave our bags in a secure place. But the lady at the front desk was helpful and got us in our room. She even made an extra effort to connect with our 8 yr old who was excited to get going. Our standard room was excellent, down to the mini fridge just right for leftovers or cooling drinks. The pop machine was even affordable, $1 for a pop-less than half of the Disney price. Special touches--our daughter brought a doll and made up her bed each day before when went for the park. One day, she forgot and the maid did it. It did get crowded at breakfast--which is great--but the staff kept up on things, even though by the time the weekend came along we were inundated with cheerleaders. It's also nice that the Candy Cane Inn is still owned by the same family that built it in the 50s. The owner came by for his monthly check up while we were there and he talked to my wife by the pool. All and all a great, convenient, affordable place. It's hard to see why we could go anyplace else.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   2/04,6/04
Reviewer: Leash (leashj81@aol.com) Las Vegas, NV     January 24, 2005
· Type/Class of room: Standard·
· Rate/Night (for your stay): $79 & $89 +tax
My family and I have always wanted to stay at this hotel and when my boyfriend and I went to DLR for Valentine's day we finally got to.
The room was great, we never had any problem with noise or room size. The beds are very comfortable, normally I do not sleep well in hotels rooms but I had no trouble with that here.
The breakfast was great, just enough to get you started and hold you over until lunch. However you really must get there first thing otherwise it is a mob scene. Best thing is to get your food and head back to your room.
The shuttle is the best I have encountered at any of the hotels around the park. I have never had to wait more than 10 minutes for the shuttle even at peak times. Of course if you are not exhausted from you day the hotel is just a short, and lovely, walk down the street.
This is by far the best non-Disney hotel we have stayed at and will continue to go as often as possible. My whole family has already made reservations for the 50th in July!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   2003/2004
Reviewer: quincytoo Victoria BC Canada     November 02, 2004
We have always loved staying here for all the reasons metioned ..In fact we have already booked in for the 50%....... The service and grounds are outstanding :)
 
2 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page