Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Candy Cane Inn
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1747 S. Harbor Blvd, Anaheim
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 35 ( Displaying Reviews: 21 - 30 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   September 25-30, 2004
Reviewer: mousedad Huntsville, AL     October 18, 2004
My wife, son, and I stayed at the Candy Cane for five nights after reading great reviews from all of the review sites. Everyone had given great reviews and we were not dissapointed. The Candy Cane is a beautifully landscaped inn with a lovley fountain, lush landscaping, and a private setting located right down the street from the Disneyland entrance. The hotel staff were very freindly and went out of their way to provide assistance.
I had read that the rooms were on the small side, however, we upgraded to a deluxe room (for $82 a night) and the room was an average size room with plenty of room for the three of us. The beds were very comfartable and the decor was nice and clean. The room was in the back of the hotel and was very quite and we even had a view of the fireworks from our hotel room over the top of the hotel. The only complaint that we had was a buzzing from the TV, however, we called the front desk and they sent someone in five minutes for repairs.
The Candy Cane offers a great breakfast of hot and cold cereals, fruit, pasteries, breads, coffee and juices. This was a great way to start the day. However get there early because they start taking down breakfast about 8:45. The hotel shuttle ran every 30 minutes and was always on time. This was a great relief after wondering the parks with a three year old all day.
I would recommend staying at the Candy Cane, because of the great location, friendly staff, and nicely appointed rooms.
 
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   7/04, 7/03, 7/02, 12/02, 7/01,7/99,7/98
Reviewer: Debbie Drury Tempe AZ     September 22, 2004
We found the wonderful hotel 6 years ago when our daughters were 2 & 3. It was a blessed nights sleep after chasing 2 toddlers at Disneyland all day. The beds are especially comfortable as they a nice pillow tops. This is very important for the adults who need a good nights sleep.
After 6 yrs the rooms are still always clean, perfectly decorated & the staff is more than accomodating!! The grounds are so well manacured you might think you were in a topical island. Shuttles run on time and often,but on a nice night it is a quick walk back from Disneyland.
I can not imagine staying anywhere else and wish more owners of hotels too as much pride in their business as these do. My only regret is they only have one location!!
I look forward to staying there every year for the next 6 yrs and beyond!!! Without a doubt this is the best bang for your buck!!
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 28-30, 2004
Reviewer: Canuckmouse Vancouver, Camada     May 16, 2004
My wife and grown son stayed at the Candy Cane for three nights. We chose this property largely on the basis of reviews on this and other Disney sites. Our only advance concern was the occasional negative review we have read re street noise or room size. We requested a room towards the back and noise was not a factor. There is quite a bit of traffic on the main street so I definitely recommend you call ahead and ask for a room set towards the back of the property.The room was a good size for the three of us (we upgraded one category and paid $92/night for 3 people), and was clean and well-appointed.
As you will read elsewhere, the breakfast buffet was excellent and featured a much bigger selection than at other hotels at which we have stayed in the area. The breakfast room is not that large but we sat at tables set up around the pool every morning and it was great to start the day sitting in the morning sun having muffins, fresh juice and croissants and planning the day ahead.
The shuttle runs on the half hour but the walk to the park took us 7 minutes at a casual pace. We walked to the hotel with ease at lunch one day to rest during the afternoon before returning to the Park for the evening. The grounds are nicely set up with lots of colorful flowers/shrubs.
The staff was very accomodating and helpful. For example, the front desk staff made six calls for me to find the cheapest taxi price to San Pedro (we were returning to Canada on a cruise ship at the end of the trip) when the first few fares they were quoted on the phone were higher than the estimate the staff had given me (they finally found a taxi, actually a private limo service, that was $15 cheaper than other quotes). I found the staff to be friendly and knowledgeable.
Immediately next to the Park was a large 7-11 and a convenience store selling snacks, pop, wine and beer, etc. Directly across the street was a Subway and a couple of restaurants.
The only negative I can think of was that on a couple of occasions I could (faintly) hear noise from an adjoining room when a child was crying, but I suppose that is something you could get anywhere. The pool area was also not that large although nicely set up. This wasn't really a factor for us as we spent all of our time at the Park.
This was our fifth trip to the Disney park area and we have stayed at different hotels each time (Ramada,Howard Johnston, Marriott, etc). For the price I do not believe we have had better value for our money. If we go to the Park again next year for the 50th anniversary we plan on returning to the Candy Cane. You will not be disappointed with your stay, if value and proximity to the Park are important to you. .
 
28 out of 28 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   January 25, 2004
Reviewer: Aimz Southern California     January 27, 2004
We stayed for the first time at the Candy Cane Inn because of all the great reviews we'd read in the past. It was an attractive motel, with a New Orleans-style look, with lots of flowers and vines and plenty of free parking. We had a decent stay, and the place was clean inside and out, but it wasn't anything out of the ordinary. We paid $97 for one night (not including room tax), but there was really nothing special to recommend staying there for that price. The pool area is pretty, but very small (the smallest pool I've seen at any motel/hotel), which didn't really matter to us on this trip since it was too cool for swimming. The free continental breakfast had more choices than the usual you get at other places, but the breakfast room is real small so get there early if you want a table- the breakfast service was from 7-9 am. The best thing about this motel was their Disneyland shuttle service. They have large buses, not vans, that service only those who are staying at the Candy Cane Inn and they left promptly each half hour for Disneyland. The shuttle drivers were very friendly and courteous. We stayed in a standard room with two queen beds, which was on the small side, but we only stayed one night so it wasn't a problem. The room came with a refrigerator, which was nice, and an ironing board and iron. The walk to Disneyland took us about ten minutes. The front desk people were ok, but not overly friendly as I had read about in other reviews. We had a room near the front of the motel, right across from the pool, and heard a lot of traffic noise. Perhaps rooms in the back are quieter. All in all, it was a decent place to stay for a night- I wasn't unhappy with it, I wasn't impressed, either. But, for almost a hundred dollars a night, we'll probably look for a place that offers a few more amenities for the price next time.
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   10/15/2003 - 10/19/2003
Reviewer: edtsch Austin, TX     October 25, 2003
Dates of stay: 10/15 - 10/19/2003
Room: Premium
Rate per Night: ~$100

I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Candy Cane Inn. I had read that the rooms were somewhat small, so we paid a little extra to have a slightly larger room. Our beds were extremely comfortable; the rooms had nice little amenities like a coffee-maker and an ironing board.

The landscaping of the hotel is obviously a labor of love for those who run it. It was very nice to return to such a pretty little hotel. The pool area is actually attractive, rather than being a visual after-thought like many others. The hot tub was wonderful to return to after a long day at the park.

It's close enough that we walked most times to the park, and the shuttle runs every half hour. We were glad that the hotel had its own free shuttle to take you straight back and forth.

The breakfast buffet was very nice; others have described it here so I won't repeat them. People sit in the small breakfast area or by the pool (breakfast served from 7 - 9) and the seating goes fast, so I got into the habit of taking the little tray underneath the coffeemaker and using it to transport bagels, fruit and juice back to the room (I had brought my own coffee!). Anyway, it was the nicest breakfast buffet I had ever seen at a hotel in this price range.

The only detail that would have improved the room for me would have been the inclusion of a microwave, but we weren't taking home food to reheat anyway, so it didn't affect us.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

We'll be back.
 
13 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 5-10, 2003
Reviewer: QueenofHearts Northern California     May 22, 2003
We selected the Candy Cane based on the hundreds of glowing reviews all over the internet and we were overall very pleased with the inn. It is a beautifully landscaped motel-style place, with lots of vines growing along the buildings, to make it look a bit nicer than your ordinary motel. It is very well-maintained.

We stayed in a standard room, which was a bit cramped/ We had them remove an upholstered chair so we could fit a portacrib in its place, and we put the other chair near the bathroom so we could fit in two strollers. To give you an idea of the size of the room, there was about 18" on either side of the two queen beds between the bed and the wall, plus the width of the bedside table inbetween the beds. We had a 2 and a 4 year old, two strollers, a portacrib, and two suitcases full of stuff. It was a tight fit. We found drawers to store everything, but we also had to utilize the drawers in the bedside table for clothes. I must say that the mattresses were VERY comfortable, which is not the case in many places.

Our room was directly across from the pool area, which was very convenient for breakfast, and only noisy from a loud group of kids one night. The breakfast was excellent and fresh. There were three types of cereals (fruit loops, raisin bran, and granola), good coffee out by the pool and in the breakfast room were tons of bagels (all types), three kinds of cream cheese (strawberry, onion and chive, and plain), butter, etc. Plus, a huge basket of muffins (chocolate, banana, poppy, etc), mini croissants, bread for making toast and jam. More drinks included apple and orange juice, hot chocolate and milk. They had plates and you could take the food back to your room and eat as much as you pleased. There were also a few tables to sit and eat, both inside and around the pool.

We walked back and forth to Disneyland every day, because with two little kids and strollers full of stuff, it was hard to take the shuttle (unloading the strollers, folding them, getting them and the kids on the shuttle, etc.). I personally thought it was a bit too far to walk at the end of a long day (about 10 minutes). I looked longingly at the hotels directly opposite the main gate and wished we had stayed there only for that reason. If you don't have kids in strollers (or don't mind loading everything onto the shuttle), the Candy Cane shuttle looks to be a great way to get to and from the park, and I would highly recommend the Candy Cane to you.

The pool area in the center of the complex has a separately fenced round kiddie pool (1 1/2' deep), which is terrific for the little ones, plus the hot tub and standard pool. Lots of beautiful plants in the pool area too.

The staff was extremely helpful and responsive. The first day the housekeepers took two of our own pillows with the sheets to the laundry and they were very helpful in finding them and returning them to our room while we were out. They were also very quick to bring the portacrib upon checking, set it up for us and helped re-arrange the furniture in the room to fit it in.

We checked out the last day and they happily stored our luggage for us while we went to Disneyland and called to arrange our SuperShuttle.

We had a very pleasant stay, but until our kids are out of strollers, we will stay opposite the main gate to be closer. Then we will probably go back to the Candy Cane and stay in a larger room.
 
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 25-December 29, 2002
Reviewer: beckyinaz Phoenix, AZ     December 29, 2002
Our family of 4 was very pleased with this property. We stayed in the larger room (40 Sq Ft larger, I think). The queen beds were very comfortable, and the room was very clean. We ate the breakfast daily, and thought it was very good. We would definitely stay here again!
 
8 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   October 18th to 20th
Reviewer: Exp. 626 Santa Maria, California     October 27, 2002
DO NOT STAY AT CANDYCANE!!!!

WE NEVER HAD ANY HOT WATER! Yes, this place is cute with nice rooms and a continental breakfast. But all that means JACK, when you have NO HOT WATER.

The Breakfast is a joke; toast, hard bagels, basic cereal and paper (not stryofoam) cups that are to hot to hold with coffee.

To top it all off, when my wife went to complain about there being NO hot water, they blew her off and told her to call the manager on monday. When she called the manger she was rude and would not entertain the idea of a 20 discount ($30-35 value) to compensate us for no hot water (not unreasonable). Instead they sent us a coupon for two free nights instead ($180 value) which is not worth the 33 cent stamp used to send it to us, since we will NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN. AVOID, AVOID, AVOID!!!!
 
9 out of 64 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   10/19/02
Reviewer: maryfw Trabuco Canyon, CA     October 21, 2002
The Candy Cane Inn is a clean place to stay. My husband and I stayed one night with our two year old. It took about 8 minutes to walk to the Park(s) entrance and most of the walk was along Disney's landscaped sidewalk along Harbor Blvd..pleasant and felt very safe. The room itself is "typical"... not as cute as the picture on the CC website, but it didn't misrepresent itself too much. Although, most of the night and early morning was quiet... if you tried to sleep before midnight (when the Parks closed), you did hear people returning to their rooms, the shuttle driving past your room every 1/2 hour and if you were lucky enough, as we were, (Not) to be placed by the stairs, vending & Ice machines, the noise from those areas. Overall, the CC INN was convenient, clean and had very nice staff, oh yeah, and of course Candy Canes. (We had a charity walk on Sunday morning and left about ten minutes before their continental breakfast was served, but the staff let us warm up our daughters milk in the microwave and we checked out the spread, which looked very nice, bagels, fruit, etc......). Overall, the Candy Cane Inn was a clean place to stay.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 13-19, 2002
Reviewer: Klutch Colorado Springs, Colorado     October 20, 2002
Deluxe Room: $82.00 per night

After staying at the Candy Cane for six nights with four people in a room, I give the inn high marks since I didn't go insane. The staff were very courteous and helpful. There is a small army of people who run Candy Cane and it shows. The gardens are quite lovely. The pool area is always clean. The rooms are made up very nicely each day.

The park shuttle is a small bus, not a large van (although large vans sat parked during my visit, they likely augment during busy times). This is very helpful considering the number of people it hauls to and from the parks. I waited only once due to a full bus. Schedules are convenient and the drivers are very good about picking up stragglers as they scurry from their rooms. The Candy Cane is a short walk from the park gates, but it's sure nice to board that bus when your feet are barking at the end of a long day.

The breakfast setup is much better than any other hotel where I have stayed. Considering it's free, I was impressed with the selection of fresh fruits, bagels, muffins, cereals, juice, and coffee. Be warned: get there early. Breakfast runs from 7-9 AM. At 7:15 you can leisurely stroll about, grab whatever you like and get a table inside or by the pool. By 8:30 it's a mob scene. The staff do the best they can to keep everything in stock, but "outages" and lines at the bagel table are inevitable as late sleepers all decend on the pool area at once.

The hotel pool is small, but adequate. The hot tub is under an attractive gazebo but sometimes overrun by kids, as is a problem at most hotels. Large and fluffy pool towels are provided.

Apparently, there are three different sizes of rooms at the Candy Cane: Standard, Deluxe, and Premium. My deluxe room was on the small side, but we had enough room to move about during the morning routine. The sink is in a large counter outside the bathroom which is helpful. Premium rooms include a daily newspaper, breakfast delivered to your room, and nightly turn-down service. Deluxe and Premium rooms are located near the back of the hotel which tends to be quieter.

The room interiors are much nicer than similarly prices inns. The beds are large and very comfortable with high-quality bedding. Such nice touches made my stay much more enjoyable.

The Candy Cane has a coin laundry area for guests. There are two convenience stores directly next door. A donut shop, Subway, and small Asian restaurant are directly across the street.
 
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page