Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Candy Cane Inn
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1747 S. Harbor Blvd, Anaheim
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 35 ( Displaying Reviews: 31 - 35 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   sept 8-15/2002
Reviewer: Cindy Kaye (wckaye@shaw.ca) Victoria, British Columbia     October 16, 2002
The staff were amazingly helpful. From check in to check out. We arrived to amazingly beautiful gardens, and were greated warmly at the front desk (great start!) the room was very lovely. We were on the ground floor, just across from the pool deck. Nice choice!!!The room was spotless and stayed that way every day we were there. We had a light bulb out when we arrived. It was fixed in a minute by a very pleasant and helpful meintance person. He made sure everything else was fine.Directions and maps were handed out readily at the front desk, along with great suggestions of not to miss happenings...The breakfast buffet was really very good.(we didn't go to breakfast anywhere else while here) Cressants,begals muffins, toast, fresh fruit. etc..All served on the pool deck where you could enjoy those amazing gardens again. The pool was supplied with very large towels(I kept tring to kidnap one for the room for bathing but the very efficiant cleaning staff kept finding them and taking them to laundry)The juccuzi was kept very warm, I enjoyed that, but some said it was too warm for them.(It didn't seem to keep to many out of it though)It was also a great meeting place at the end of the day for getting more info on great places to go. We will be there again I'm possitve, and we've been recommending it to everyone at home in the meantime. Have a great holiday. Start at the Candy Cane Inn
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   8/15/02-8/18
Reviewer: riksanders69 Missoula, MT.     August 19, 2002
This was the 1st time I had stayed here....the rooms were quite nice, my room with 2 queen size beds was very comfortable. The decor was done well, my room had a small fridge, as well as a nice TV with remote, a small sitting area, and a seperate bath/toilet and vanity area, which is nice, coffeemaker, blowdryer, iron and ironing board. Although my room was by the small, but nice pool, it stayed pretty quiet. In addition to the pool, there's also a gazebo'd hot tub and a kids wading pool. Adults be forewarned!!! Although there is a kid's wading pool, they're very rarely in it and usually running around by the dults pool. The hotel also supplies their guests with VERY nice towels available at the pool area. The hotel is nicely decorated outside giving off a kind of "old world" type charm complete with a beautiful fountain out front, but also vines, and nice landsacping. The staff was helpful, friendly and professional. I was able to arrange other tours right there as I checked in. The hotel offers a very nice shuttle service,although , you are within walking distance of the main "esplanade". There are very convenient restaurants and stores also within short walking distance of the hotel. The hotel does offer it's guests a fantastic complimentary continental breakfast.....baked goods, some fruit, a choice of juices and cerals, all served poolside. Overall, for the price (I paid $85 per night plus tax in high season), the location, and the well above average facilities...I'd highly reccomend this place.
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   October 2000, October 1999, April 1998
Reviewer: kisroo Oregon     August 16, 2002
We've stayed here almost every visit we've made since April 1998. We've stayed in both a standard and deluxe room. It is just about a 10 minute stroll to the front gate-shorter if ,like me, you can't wait to get there and do the "disneyland-race walk".
We love the hotel and the location-right past DCA. It's beautifully landscaped and quiet. There is a mini-mall across the way(we ate at Subway a couple of times), and a little market next door, but once inside the driveway you feel like you are a million miles from Harbor Blvd.
The rooms had two queen beds, bathroom with a separate vanity area(nice, so more than one can be getting ready for the day), a small table with chairs, tv in an armoire(disney channel, too), fridge and, in the deluxe rooms, a microwave. The micro is the only difference between standard and deluxe, except about 2 extra feet of room.
The rooms are smallish, but we had plenty of room for the two of us. When we took our 3 yr old niece in Oct 2000, my brother and sister in law did fine with the 3 of them in a room.
I think the biggest benefit is the continental bfast by the pool area! So relaxing and a great way to rev up for a day at the resort! It's so much food and you can take as much as you want~with no one checking your key or seeing if you are only eating one bagel per person. Everything from cereal, fruit, oatmeal, toast, bagels, juice....Yum!
We've had great service from the front desk and they accomodated several requests-getting adjacent rooms for 3 different families, changing one room from a smoking to a non, getting transportation to Knotts, storing our luggage as we went off to enjoy one last hurrah before leaving, and selling extra early entry tickets (when that was available) to us the same morning.

The pool was just perfect for couples and small children~small enough to let a 3 yr old wade around with an adult without getting splashed too much! It is probably a little small for older children or bigger families. We also love the hot tub under the garden gazebo! Very romantic at night! The noise level is minimal, even though we once had a room right by the stairs and the flowers are sooooo beautiful! It really looks like a New Orleans type hotel.
Our rates, with AAA discount and on off-season ranged from $50-80. ($50 a night for our Oct 2000 trip!)

I've stayed here, at Stovalls and at the Carousel and this one exceeds them by far!
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Sept 10, 2001-Sept 16, 2001
Reviewer: Ronelle Parksville, BC, Canada     July 17, 2002
I was extremely pleased with the Candy Cane, we were there during the terrorist attacks and the staff handled it wonderfully. The rooms were pretty and so were the grounds, the continental breakfast was great as well. We are going back again this year and can't wait. We had a standard room, I think we paid 80$ a night. We hardly used the shuttle, it only took a few minutes to walk to Disneyland. I would definitely recommend it.
 
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   4/01
Reviewer: hefferdude The West     July 17, 2002
Pleasant and quiet independent still on main block of park just south of shuttle entrance on Harbor. Easy walking distance or take clean well maintained house
shuttle. Rooms slightly smaller but beds large and firm. Landscaping and maintenance 5 planets. Nice cont BF. Small pool and jacuzzi but very relaxing in the evening.
Recommend booking way in advance for discounts.
Very in demand lately.
 
6 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page