Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Candy Cane Inn
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1747 S. Harbor Blvd, Anaheim
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 35 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   November 8, 9, 10
Reviewer: whamo San Bernardino, California     November 16, 2009
Rave reviews drew me to try the Candy Cane Inn. I usually take day trips to Disneyland, but for my birthday, we stayed two nights. First, it's right next to Disneyland, and the Candy Cane shuttle is the best. At 57, it's nice to ride the shuttle to the gate, as I get enough exercise in the park. It's also nice on the way home, when you're tired, and want to avoid the after the fireworks and Fantasmic crowds. It's clean. It's cozy. It's quiet. It's comfortable. It's got the colorful Ed (a Tinkerbell fan) working the breakfast tables at their fruit, bagel, juice, coffee, or cereal type continental breakfast. It's got a heated pool. On the negative side? No view. It's got a weak internet connection. It's not luxurious. But who needs that when you spend all your waking hours in Disneyland? I'm a big Candy Cane Inn fan. I'll be back!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 23-24 2008
Reviewer: Iluvsnowwhite Visalia, California     October 27, 2008
I loved this inn. It was great, check in was painless, found parking immediately in front of our room. Room was great. bathroom was spotless. TV had a good range of channels. Bed was comfy. Water pressure in the shower could have been a little better, but no biggie and the drain was slow, but that always happens to me in hotels so I'm used to it. We were right by the staircase on the second floor and I thought there would be a lot of noise, but it was totally quiet. We were also right across from the pool and still didn't hear anything. The maids were kind enough to turn on our cooler for us so when we got back from disneyland the second night. It was nice and cool when we walked in the door. The bedspreads were beautiful by hotel standards. The walk to disneyland took like 10-15 minutes. I didn't partake of the breakfast or the pool so I can't comment on it. But the pool looked really nice. I would recommend this place to everyone. I would stay here again.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   2nd week in February 2007
Reviewer: lemonlime SF, CA     March 08, 2007
This was our first visit to the Candy Cane Inn and within minutes of checking in I could see what all the great reviews were about. The grounds are well kept and the property just has great ambiance. From the cobblestone driveways to the nice rooms, it's just not your typical hotel.

The service is outstanding. We had a problem with a heater and the repairman was there in mere minutes. The rooms are nice although the regular rooms don't have a microwave. The beds were pretty but a bit too soft for my liking. The breakfast was fairly simple but better then average (mainly breads, fruits, beverages).

The location of the hotel was great. It's basically the closest hotel to California Disney....a brisk 5-7 minutes from the gates. Candy Cane also has their OWN shuttle which runs to/from the park every 30 minutes. I guess some hotels share a shuttle service so you are making multiple stops which I'd thik would be annoying after a long day at Disneyland. We took it once on the way back to the hotel after Fantasmic and we were the only one's on the shuttle. The driver was very friendly.

The hotel is RIGHT next door to a 7-11 and a minimart where you can buy food, souveniers, toiletries, medications etc. There was some noise late at night with teenagers running up and down the hallway but I imagine that this is a problem everywhere. I would definately stay here again.

We paid $99 for each room (called in for managers special) and had 2 adjoining rooms. We easily slept 3 adults and 2 toddlers without the extra roll away. My husband and I shared a bed with our infant and my mom and daughter shared a bed. We stayed 3 nights. There was plenty of well lit, well sized parking spaces (we drive a minivan). They have well priced coin-op laundry facilities.

We extended our visit and stayed 1 night at the Grand Californian for somewhere around $300. Although pricey, I can see the benefit in staying for just 1 night especially if you have little kids (toddlers and under). My daughter was able to enjoy their pool and my husband and I escaped to the parks minus the kids after they ate room service and then fell asleep with my mom. The room service was OBNOXIOUSLY high pricedbut they put on a good show.....wheeled in a big fancy cart with tableclothes etc. Also when we returned from the park we sat in in front of the fireplace and had a couple drinks. It was nice to know that my mom could walk out of the room and look into the great hall and wave to us should the kids need us.
 
14 out of 15 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   8/17/06
Reviewer: lisaboo Sacramento, CA     August 21, 2006
We booked one of the Deluxe rooms ($159 a night) for a short trip to the parks. We were quite impressed with the grounds of the hotel and the proximity to the parks. It was very easy to walk but we appreciated the free shuttle at the end of the day. Our room was spacious and very comfortable with many nice touches like whole coffee beans with a grinder/coffee maker combo, chocolate dipped biscotti and a welcome bucket with popcorn, cookies and a free movie rental. The beds were very nice and we loved the 2pm check-out after an exhausting day at the parks. We also liked the delivered breakfast, which was more than sufficient for a continental breakfast. The staff were friendly and overall this was a great trip and we will return as often as possible.
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   6/19-6/22/2006
Reviewer: tapdancemom Vancouver, Wa     July 25, 2006
We had 60 people in our group and had standard and deluxe rooms. We paid $97 to $107 per night. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we absolutely loved having our own shuttle.

The rooms are nicely decorated with comfy beds. The breakfast was more than ample and I just love toasting my bagel on that "conveyor belt". My grandson had the best time in the pool, I think he enjoyed that almost as much as Disneyland. I love all the plants and greenery too.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 17-27, 2006
Reviewer: IdahoMike Kuna, ID     June 30, 2006
We had a great stay at the CCI. Room was immaculate, as were the grounds. Staff was friendly, no matter who we spoke with. Fridge didn't work when we arrived, but it was replaced literally within 5 minutes. We were pretty much given our choice of rooms as well. Noise was minimal, but we did have one family above us that walked like elephants. Thankfully they left after 1 night. Continental breakfast was pretty decent as well. I would definitely stay there again, and would recommend it to others.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 31-June 2
Reviewer: doombuggy driver Surprise, AZ     June 25, 2006
Wow! This is the fourth hotel we have stayed at in the DLR area. We were very impressed!!!! The grounds were immaculate and the check in staff was very friendly. They asked us what floor we wanted to stay on and we basically told them what room and they said no problem! The rooms were the cleanest I have seen of the hotels in the area. The decorations are attractive and the housekeeping is superb. The Hotel was quiet and we had no problems sleeping at night. The breakfast was a nice continental with bagels, toast, muffins, danish, fruit, cereal and various beverages. After a quick breakfast we hopped on the shuttle to DLR. We caught the shuttle back to take a qucik nap, then shuttled again back to DLR. The shuttle at the end of the night was great for tired feet and sleepy 5 year olds. We will definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel to every one!!!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   4/30-5/6, 2006
Reviewer: zandy Seattle, WA     May 08, 2006
We loved the CCI and would definitely stay there again. We booked our vacation through AAA and it was a package that included hotel, air, ground transport, and park hoppers, so I don't know the actual nightly rate we were charged for the room. There were 2 adults and 2 kids (ages 7 and 2.5) in our standard room. My parents had the room next door. We got there a little before our rooms were ready so they gave us a place to store our bags and we went for a swim. We were on the 2nd floor in rooms 216 and 217. The rooms were immaculate, as were the grounds and the pool. Comforatble beds, good A/C system, nice bathroom with good shower pressure. The place always had lots of staff available for any needs. The breakfast is very nice and while not fancy, it's enough to keep you going til lunch. I don't know if we bought any snacks in the parks, and that's saying something with little kids. Housekeeping was very good about having our rooms cleaned before we returned for nap at 1:30 (we specifically asked for this every day). On our last day my husband was sick so he stayed in the room with the "do not disturb" sign up and that was respected. (Yes, I have had housekeeping knock anyway in other hotels even with the sign up).
We enjoyed the pool/hot tub/kiddie pool almost every day and it was always neat as a pin, as well as a nice temperature.
Access to the Parks was great. We usually walked, as it seemed we always exited the park before it was time for the next shuttle to leave. In the mornings we liked walking anyway. The shuttle services the CCI only, so you don't have to stop at other hotels. It leaves the park shuttle area on the :15 and :45, and leaves the CCI on the :00 and :30. Very nice drivers and clean bus.
The only negative was that we are used to staying in condos on vacation so the room seemed a bit small to us. If only the CCI had suites! It really didn't matter that much; when we put the kids to bed we were so tired it was fine to go to bed at that time too!
I would stay there again.
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/4/05 - 12/10/05
Reviewer: Parkatola Salt Lake City, Utah     December 12, 2005
Family of 6 (2 adults, 3 kids, 1 senior) got two rooms. We were on the ground floor in adjacent rooms (not connected). The rooms were nice, clean, and otherwise fairly standard. They seemed a little small, with little drawer space, so we lived out of the suitcases for the week. Bath and shower were fine, no problems with hot water or pressure. The hotel has a pool and hot tub that are open late, which is nice. Neither are overly large, but both were clean and well maintained. Breakfast is included, and boasts bagels, toast, muffins, danishes, fresh fruit, juices, cold cereal, oatmeal, and hot chocolate, all served from 7-9. We never went away hungry. The hotel is on the same side of Harbor Boulevard as DL and DCA, with only one street/parking entrance to cross before reaching the main entrance. The shuttles run every half hour, but it's only a 5-10 minute walk. The shuttle is a large bus, but in the evenings there may not be a seat for everyone. (Unfortunately, chivalry was on vacation the week we were there. My wife had to give up her seat (on rides when I wasn't there) several times to older guests while male guests tried to not make eye contact. Oh well.) No on-site restaurant, but there is a strip mall across Harbor Boulevard with a sandwich shop, pizza, mexican, and chinese food. 7-11 and a mini-mart are next door to the hotel. The staff was helpful and courteous. This was our first time at the hotel, and we would be happy to come back again.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 10-15, 2005
Reviewer: CarrieL Honolulu, HI     October 17, 2005
The Candy Cane Inn was just as nice as the other reviewers have mentioned. The rooms were very clean and good sized. We had a deluxe room ($95/night via the internet) in the back corner of the property. Breakfast was ample and there was plenty of food each morning. The pool was nice and the hot tub was always hot (a big plus). We were a party of 7 (5 adults and 2 kids) so we had two connecting rooms, which was super. Housekeeping was also excellent. The walk to Disney was easy and pleasant.
 
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page