Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1380 S. Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 45 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   2/25/2011-2/27/2011
Reviewer: CariBelle Bakersfield, CA     March 17, 2011
To start off with a note- When using a GPS the address the hotel provides on Harbor will not lead you to the front of the hotel, it leads you to a side where there is no enter/exit access. I didn't realize this and took the U turn the GPS suggested and had to travel down a couple of blocks to make another U turn and try it again. If you're coming from the North just turn on the side street and it leads you directly to the hotel parking lot.

This hotel was booked using the Entertainment Rate for a Standard Room so I couldn't have asked for a more affordable choice! Check in was a breeze and I pulled my car back to building 2. I like that I needed to use my room key card to enter the building, it made me feel very safe. This was very important to me since I was traveling alone. My room was on the 3rd floor and had a view of the pool. The room was very nice! Very comfy bed (1 King), nice bathroom (although a little small, I had to close to the door to use the shower), and good size fridge. I loved the Keurig coffee maker (I made a trip to their little market and purchased Hot Chocolate K Cups for $1 each) and the to-go coffee cups were great! I used one each morning on my walk to the park.
The distance to the park is not bad, having bad surgery 2 weeks prior it felt a little long at times, but I'm sure when I'm back to "normal" I wouldn't mind the distance. Easy to cross the street and walk along the opposite side of Harbor and avoid the mass of people further down.
The overall feel of the grounds is nice, the buildings look well maintained as did the hallways and common areas. I didn't use the pool but saw several people do so despite the rainy weather.
I would totally stay again!
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   07/09/10-07/13/10
Reviewer: samski Bay Area, California     July 15, 2010
Our family of three just stayed at the HoJo for the first time and had a great stay. When I called to book our room only the 2 Double rooms were still available, so thats what we got. We were able to get the AP rate for one of our four nights. ($111/night for 3 nights and one night at $59)

We checked in a little after 11pm. The front desk clerk was extremely friendly. After a 7.5 hour drive it was so refreshing to be greeted so cheerfully. It really helped set the mood for the rest of our weekend. Our room was in building 6, second floor, overlooking the courtyard. I was surprised at how large the room was, and how much storage space there was! The decor is definitely dated, but everything was impeccably clean. We ended up pulling the rollaway bed out of the little closet and setting our daughters pack n play up in there. With the door open it just fit. We were glad we tried that as it really helped her to be a little more secluded from any noise during her naps. It also kept the light from the skylights from disrupting her sleep too much. The skylights in the smaller buildings do make the rooms feel bigger but they also remove the need for an alarm clock. We were woken up by the light at 6am every morning, which I didnt really mind as we needed to be up early anyway. We could also see tiny bits of the fireworks from the skylights at night!

The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was fine (although the showerhead was only about 5 feet off the ground and so about a foot shorter than I would prefer). We used the Garden Pool once and enjoyed it very much. The walk to the park was so easy. It took us about ten minutes.

I would definitely stay the the HoJo again if I could take advantage of the AP rate. If I had to pay full price I would probably choose to pay the little bit extra and stay at a nicer hotel, but with the AP/Entertainment rate you just cant do better.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   2/14/2010-2/19/2010
Reviewer: samkj Sacramento, CA     March 05, 2010
We stayed in the kids suite for the first time. We had a great rate since I am a travel agent and received the industry rate which is 50% off retail at the time of booking, in this case $82.50 per night. This was our second stay at HoJo. We were on the third floor next to the elevator. The kids enjoyed the regular twin size bunk beds. The huge pillows were a definite favorite. The twin pullout bed was not very comfortable to me, but our daughter who used it had no complaints. When I tried it out I could feel every spring in the mattress, but I think DD is small enough that her weight (or lack of weight) made the springs a nonissue. The king size bed in the second room was very comfortable. It was so nice to collapse on at the end of a long Disney day. There is not much closet space, but we had plenty of room to unpack (we packed light, but were there for 5 nights, so we still had a lot of stuff) using the dressers and just stacked the suitcases in the closets. The minifridge and microwave were in the room with the king bed. The size of the fridge was adequate, but I could've used more space. I think next time I will plan on bringing smaller containers of milk, etc... and just restock from the shop down on the first floor. The bathrooms were large with plenty of counter space and spotlessly clean. The rooms themselves felt to be on the small side (I couldn't imagine them as a single room with more than a couple people), but since it was a suite there was plenty of room for our family of 5. That even includes room for DD's wheelchair to manuever without any difficulty.

Noise was never an issue. The freeway was loud when the balcony doors were open, but barely noticeable when closed. We did keep the fans running all night since we can't stand stuffy rooms.

We did not use the pool or pirates cove play areas. We did use the conveinent store in building 1. It was great for restocking milk and snacks.

The customer service at this hotel is second to none. They automatically updated my reservation when the suite we wanted became available. This was great since we did not have to switch rooms on our second day.

We loved the suites and have one reserved for Christmas and are hoping for a suite to open up for our June trip!
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 24-27, 2009
Reviewer: 11mousegirl San Francisco Bay Area     July 31, 2009
Our family of four (two children ages 8 and 10), visited the HoJo last weekend and had a pretty good stay. We booked both on-line, with the Mouseplanet discount code, and then called up directly to get two of our three days changed to the Entertainment Book rate. So our Mouseplanet rate was $109 for the first night and the other two were $59 per night. I think if I had paid more, I wouldn't have been as satisfied with our stay, because in my opinion, it was a good value at those rates. Another hint with Entertainment Book rates is to register for their on-line membership which is $4.95 per month and can be cancelled at any time.

We stayed in Building 1, fifth floor, facing the freeway and had two Queen beds, standard rate room. The room was pretty dated and stuffy, but fine. Temperature was fine. Shower wasn't great but again, for the price we paid, just fine. The pool / water play area was really great. We only had time to use it once, but that was when we first arrived after an 8 hour drive and the kids were completely thrilled. The staff was very nice but we really had very little interaction except at check-in and check-out.

I would probably recommend getting the low Entertainment Book rate, but booking an upgraded room with a better view. Rooms in Building 1 facing the freeway are quite noisy and the upgraded rooms have better bedding (we had the traditional hard as a rock beds, but after a day at D-Land, I guess we could have slept on anything).

I appreciated the little market in Building 1 and although we didn't use the game room, it looked pretty cool too.

The walk to the park, as everyone has said, was very easy. Even at the end of a long day it wasn't terrible. We never took the shuttles, so I can't comment on that.

All in all, a great trip and a very decent, clean and enjoyable hotel. High marks for the new pool/water feature area.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 9 & 10, 2007
Reviewer: sjcivilady Lodi, Calif.     December 14, 2007
We had a deluxe 2-Q room in Bldg 2 overlooking the garden pool. I obtained the Entertainment Book rate, paying a total of about $122 for 2 nites. Our room was very clean and spacious with two sinks in the bathroom, a fridge, lots of drawer and counter-top space to spread out our stuff. The walk didn't seem too bad to and from the park, and I had some muscle soreness our 2nd day and a huge blister. We enjoyed watching the fireworks from their parking lot that's next to Harbor our first night. I will definitely stay again if I can get the Ent rate - I gave it a 5 planet rating for value for the price. I would consider it a 3* hotel in AAA rating. The grounds are really pretty--you can see lots of guest-submitted photos at tripadvisor.com. Also, we decided to buy our 2-day tickets when we checked in right at the hotel - that saved us a stop at the ticket booths (I didn't want to buy ahead - no savings for 2day passes anyway - in case something happened and we had to cancel our trip) - that was convenient, although I guess a lot of hotels offer that service.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 28, 2006 - September 5, 2006
Reviewer: pixiedust808 Kapolei, Hawaii     March 11, 2007
Our family of 9 stayed in two rooms. We booked a Good Neighbor Package with WDTC, the rate per night came out to approximately $120. We had adjoining standard rooms with two double/queen beds.
Half of our group arrived early for check in at 10am. Rafael at the front desk said he would be happy to check us in early, as they had one of our rooms available. He was also very friendly and genuine. He turned out to be very reliable through out our stay here at the HoJo's. He checked us in, and gladly made note to keep the room next to ours vacant for us, the other half of our group would not be checking in until the next day.
We were in building 2 on the ground level. The room was spacious enough for 7 of us to lounge and nap. The beds could easily fit two adults and a toddler. The room was clean and welcoming, the AC was excellent. Bathroom had tons of counter space for our toiletries. We had tons of stuff for traveling with an infant and toddler, and we had room for it all. The hotel also did a great job in restocking our toiletries everyday. Water pressure was adequate, tons of shelf/drawer space for clothes, diapers, baby food and the like. We had a great view of the quiet pool and we could see the monorail track from our little lanai. At night, you could even see some of the fireworks!!
The little snack shop proved to be a frequent stop of ours for snacks as well as some pool toys and personal hygiene items. The property was great for walking and letting the kids run around. Very family friendly. My toddler absolutely LOVED the main pool with the kiddie play area.
Housekeeping was awesome, we would often return to the hotel after lunch and the rooms would be clean and tidy. We also walked back to the hotel from DL, it took us about 10 - 15 minutes at a leisurely pace with the stoplights and a double stroller. It also took less than 10 minutes to walk to Mimi's and back with our take-out.
I would definitely stay here again. It was the first time we had done a big family vacation (9 of us from Hawaii ), and we have no regrets about the HoJo's, it was a great choice for us.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   12/1/2005 - 12/4/2005
Reviewer: Mark Mywords Sacramento, CA     December 29, 2005
We stayed at hojo's from Dec. 1 - 4, 2005. This was our first multiple night stay at the hotel, having spent single, "Filler" nights during our 2002 and 2004 summer trips. We booked 2 rooms ($119 a night, after taxes and such) for 3 nights.

We checked in very late, at 1:30am (due to a 3 hour shutdown of I-5). Our check-in at the "Night Window" was prompt, if not as "Friendly" as on our previous stays (most likely due to it being so late at night). Having checked in, we trudged up to our rooms. Both rooms were located on the 6th floor of the tower and had theme park views.

The first problem we encountered was with the hotel elevator. Only one was functional. This proved to be a source of irritation thoughout our stay, as we had 6 in our group, including a stroller, and pretty much needed a whole elevator to ourselves. Even with only 1 floor above us, each day we ended up waiting for an elevator because one was already full. The rooms were average sized. The furniture was pretty beat up and chipped. The refigerator was very nice and came in handy. The carpet in our room had a couple of sizeable (3-4 inch) stains (looked like blood) near the door. The drain in our shower/tub was extremely slow, with even a quick shower producing 4-5" inches of water in the tub. The tv in the room was broken. We really didn't get to enjoy the "Theme park" view much, because a row of pine trees a blocked a good section of our view. On our previous hojo's stays, we had booked single nights for a cheap rate, both times facing the freeway (with full knowledge that we'd run into a good deal of freeway noise). Hoping to avoid that noise I had purposely booked rooms facing away from the freeway. I was very disappointed to find out that, even facing away from the freeway and on upper floors of the tower, the noise is still very bad.

The positive things about Hojo's are: The room rate, proximity to Mimi's restaurant and the friendly staff. Walking distance to the park is not that bad.

I have to admit, I really wanted to like this hotel after reading all the positive reviews (and good experiences on our previous, very short stays). Unfortunately, I have to rate the hotel as (slightly) sub-mediocre due to some of the factors mentioned above.
 
4 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   oct 31/05 - nov 6/05
Reviewer: robsmustang Surrey B.C. Canada     November 25, 2005
This was my first visit to the hojo. the room rate for my visit was $51/ night. My stay was from Oct. 31/05 - Nov. 6/05. We arrived around noon and our room was ready so we checked in. When we got to our room in building 6 we found our room to have 2 double beds when we asked for a king bed. The room was large and very clean. I will stay at this hotel again, but next time will make sure i get the bed i want as 2 adults can not sleep comfortable on a double bed
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   11/16/05 to 11/20/05
Reviewer: HILNDKID Salt Lake City, UTah     November 21, 2005
We stayed on the first floor near the pool. Nice big room with sink outside the bathroom, we have two girls in our party so that was nice! Room was pretty clean and big enough for all 4 of us. The walk was 15 minutes from the room to the main gate at disneyland, the trolly bus was to say the least unreliable. Friday night we were worn out and waited at the disney parking lot for 40 minutes and never saw the bus, we saw other buses leave and return twice! So we ended up walking everytime but once, so that was a waste of money for the passes. There is a nice store inside the HoJo that has lots of stuff. Mimi's restaurant is very close, the best food we had during the 5 day stay. We would definately consider staying here again, the only draw back was packing my little one an extra 8-10 minutes once we crossed Harbour Blvd to get to the HoJo. We may try one of the hotels right by the stop light next time.
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   July 15-21st 2005
Reviewer: tapdancemom Vancouver Wa     August 03, 2005
The room was clean and larger than others that I have stayed at on Harbor. We had a Park view and enjoyed them from the balcony a couple of nights. We paid $89 a night.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The store had lots of last minute items, food, etc. that we took advantage of. There is a guest laundry in the basement of our Bldg. one and I think there is one in another building as well.

The shuttle bus stops at this motel first on the way to and from the park, that was a plus, however on several occaisons returning to the motel we waited 30 to 45 minutes, not fun in the sun.

The beds were ok. It was nice having a fridge in the room and having an extra sink outside of the bathroom.

 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page