Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1380 S. Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 45 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   July 12th
Reviewer: illinipdx Portland, Oregon     July 16, 2005
We booked a 3 night stay with a disney view. I had read great reviews on this hotel, so my expectations were pretty high.

Our room wasn't very clean at all. There was hair in the bathroom on the floor and in the tub. The round table in the room had food and other sticky items all around the edges of it.

The balcony was large enough to stand on to view the fireworks. Unfortunately the door to the balcony didn't have a childproof lock on it. We were pretty worried about our kids going out there, so we ended up blocking it with the dirty table!

The pool is nice, but the water was pretty cloudy while we were there.

On the positive side, the walk to the park isn't very long. In addition, the staff are really terrific. Everyone we talked to was really helpful and accomodating. They sent a maid up to our room right after we let them know about the bathroom. They also cut our room rate in half and let us check-out after only one night. Really great service but a medioce hotel.
 
2 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   June 26th 2005
Reviewer: Family5LovesDisney New Jersey     July 01, 2005
We had a room with one King Bed. It was $109.00 for the one night. We had the worst room possible! Right on the freeway and right next to the elevator! If we had stayed for more then one night, I wouldn't have been able to stay in that room.

The sink was inside the bathroom (a pet peeve of mine when traveling as it makes it tough to get ready in the morning) The room was not very clean (some trash on the floor and the bedspread looked pretty dirty) There was only a 1/4 of a roll of toilet paper in the bathroom so we had to call for more and it was a long time before the new roll arrived.

The walk to Disney was no problem. It really didn't seem any longer then the walk from the Disneyland Hotel. I think it took about 7 minutes tops!

I guess if you want to save money, then maybe you would like to stay here (just don't get a room on the freeway!) Personally, I would much rather spend more money and have a room on a Disney property (but they were all booked for our last minute vacation so we stayed here)
 
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   24 - 28 January 2005
Reviewer: emmah australia     March 14, 2005
I booked into HoJo's after reading reviews here on Mouseplanet, and I was really pleased that I did. I booked a disneyland package through the website, and then booked an extra night using the special rate that was advertised on mouseplanet - $74 plus tax. Doing it this was ensured I got the room I wanted (with the package option you have little control over which room you are given, but I guessed (correctly) that if I was already in a room, they would leave me in there when the package started to run). Thus I was given a huge room on the 4th floor with a balcony looking out over Habour Blvd and onto Disneyland (could see the Matterhorn), with 2 queen beds, an extra sink outside the bathroom, and a small fridge. Annoyingly there was no kettle (those of us from the other side of the world who drink tea instead of coffee are severely disadvantaged by the coffee machine but no jug option). The bed was very comfortable (not too hard which I often find to be a problem in hotels). The facilities (except for the lack of a kettle) were fine. I was really pleased with this hotel as value for money; it was very clean, and well tidied each day; the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They put my passport etc into a safe and they stored my luggage on my last day in a secure storage facility. It's a very pleasant 10 minute stroll to the main gates. The only drawback from my point of view was the lack of decent food options within close walking distance - there are restaurants but they all seemed to serve very fatty unhealthy foods with no real vegetarian options - note to restaurants - loads of cheese does not a vegetarian meal make - to find a decent meal you have to walk into downtown disney. But with regards to HoJos itself, I thought it was terrific value for money.
 
23 out of 24 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   2/22/05 - 2/26/05
Reviewer: Sussya Phoenix, AZ     February 27, 2005
Well, we couldn't decide on dates to visit DL, and ended up going last minute. Consequently, we got a terrible rate at HoJo's. We got a "Disney View" room for $95/night. This room was definitely not worth $95/night. The walk wasn't too bad in the morning, but very difficult in the evening with 4 small children who are dead tired after a full day of Disneyland. Naps got a bit tricky too, as it took about 15 minutes to walk each way. Most times the kids were asleep in parents' aching arms by the time we reached the hotel.

Our room was clean, but the decor was old and the bathroom was yucky--moldy calking in the tub and the shower head didn't have adequate pressure. Although we could see the ugly track for the Monorail and the tip of the Matterhorn, I wouldn't exactly call this a "Disney View." There were no fireworks, so there was really nothing to see out the window our entire trip. The building backs I-5 and the noise from the traffic is horrendous. The beds were uncomfortable and the pillows were flat as pancakes. The parking for Building 1 is also terrible. There isn't adequate parking, so we ended up parking several buildings away. Not so convenient when unpacking a car packed for 5 days of Disneyland.

Although the staff attempted to be nice and courteous, they were fairly incompetent. We spoke with 4 different people prior to our stay and were assured we would get connecting rooms. When we arrived at 5 pm (check-in is 3 pm) there were no connecting rooms. They placed our family in 2 separate rooms several rooms away. This was incredibly inconvenient with small children. We were also given inaccurate directions to Downtown Disney, and consequently spent 45 minutes driving around lost and missed our dinner reservations at Rainforest Cafe.

All in all, I probably wouldn't return to HoJo unless I got an excellent rate ($50/night). You can get that if you make reservations early. I wouldn't pay extra for the Disney View, as it really isn't that fabulous, and the I-5 noise ruins the experience. Ask for a courtyard view. You'll pay less, have a quieter room, and won't have trouble with parking.
 
6 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Dec 12-15, 2004
Reviewer: val sequeira Toronto, Canada     January 13, 2005
Excellent option for families who want a better than average size room that is clean. We were in Building 1 - the one closest to the entrance and it was nice to have the reasonably priced gift-shop and game room in the same building. We paid USD 74 a night (tax included) for a room with 2Q beds and a useful second sink just outside the bathroom. The room had a fridge, but no microwave. The pool area with the jacuzzi was attractive, and the water temp high enough to swim in, despite the slightly cool weather. Our kids love the water, but we did not have time as our focus was on Disney.

The walk to Disney was no problem at all for our 6 year old. We did not bother eating at any of the restaurants in the vicinity. We got sandwiches for breakfast (on our way to Disney) and McDonalds for dinner (on our way back IF anyone was hungry). We ate a bigger meal in Disneyland or California Adventure park as late as we could in the afternoon. It cost us $45-55 for a family of 4 but it provided a nice break before we continued on into the night....and we did not leave the park. We carried lots of snacks and drinks which certainly helped through the day.

The staff were fabulous. Always courteous and competent. One of them went on the net and helped me get all the info we needed for the "Glory of Christmas" show at the Crystal Cathedral, so we were able to take that in too!

My wife is usually picky, but she agrees this was a great place to stay, and we'd stay here again if we returned. I gave it 4 planets because of the noisy air-conditioning (was never sure if it was on) and the noise from outside. To be fair we were too tired to be bothered much by either :)

We felt that the time we went to Disneyland (two weeks before Christmas) was the ideal time to go from the point of view of good weather, low season rates, small crowds, great Christmas decor, and all the rides and shows ready for the busy Christmas week. The parks were open 10-6 and 10-8, but we had plenty of time to do everything we wanted, leave the park, and have the kids in bed by 10pm so they could get up at 8:30am the next day.
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   12/15 - 12/21
Reviewer: JosieGirl71 (davosfam@hotmail.com) Pacific Northwest     December 30, 2004
We stayed at Hojo's for six nights at a rate of $79/night. Our room was a home office in building 1 with two queen beds, refrigerator, microwave and a balcony. The website says that these rooms have a Disney view. You couldn't see Disneyland but you could see the fireworks.

Let me first say that the staff at the Hojo's was great. That is the main reason I gave the Hojo's 3 planets. The exterior Christmas decor was very nice. When we got to our room, I noticed right away that it was very old. I also thought our room would be larger but it was the typical size of a motel room with two queens. Our room was very clean and housekeeping did a good job every day (except one day housekeeping came in our room without knocking). The heating/AC system was very weird as it wasn't the normal wall unit at most motels. We turned on the AC every night but it never adequately cooled the room (and we stayed in December). The bathroom was old but clean. The pool area was nice and clean.

The walk to Disneyland isn't too bad in the morning but when you are coming back at night, you stare longingly at the motels you are passing in order to get to Hojo's.

I really expected this to be the best hotel experience based upon the reviews but I don't think we will stay there again unless we got exceptionally low rates. If you can get a good price and don't mind staying in an older motel, then stay at Hojo's. It is really a 2 1/2 star motel but it does have 5 star service.
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   November 30 - December 7, 2004
Reviewer: Disney Freak! (thenakatsus@shaw.ca) Victoria, B.C. Canada     December 29, 2004
We have always stayed at HoJo's and once again, were glad that we did. My husband and I took our four year old son for his first trip - had a single room with two queen beds, full bathroom with extra sink outside of the bathroom, coffee maker and fridge. Mimi's Restaurant was by far the best restaurant on the strip. Awesome food and great prices too. They do takeout as well which was nice at times. My son and I arrived back to our room from the pool and housekeeping were cleaning our room and it was certainly impressive to see just how well the housekeeping staff perform their jobs. The hotel staff at HoJo's were awesome. I realized shortly after arriving that I had left my camera on the Airport Bus and they immediately patched me through to the Airport Bus company and I did get my camera back. The pool area is excellent and despite unusually cool California weather, the pool definitely got tons of use from our family. The distance to the park as far as walking was fine - my husband did do the piggy back thing occasionally with our son but it was no big deal. Can't wait to go back and we will undoubtedly stay there again.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Dec.10-13
Reviewer: disneyperson     December 28, 2004
We chose Hojos because the price was right,59.00 a night, and on the glowing reviews we'd read on this and other sites. While I'm sure it is a very good hotel for families, their single rooms with one king size bed leave a lot to be deisired. The sink,vanity, toilet and tub are all in the same room, which makes timelymorning preparations for two people a little difficult. The room was clean but very small. We were in the first building, and faced onto the freeway. It was extremely loud all night long.Anyone with sensitivities to noise should beware. I finally resorted to making some earplugs our first night there. Saying the hotel is within "easy" walking distance is pushing it a little. We had no problem with it, but I would think families with little kids might want to take the distance into consideration.When we called them about location we were told they were "right behind Millies". They are not right behind Millies. They are a half block and across the street further down. We told friends that we would meet them in the lobby, so were surprised to discover that there really isn't one ,just a check in desk. Luckily the weather was lovely and our friends were waiting for us outside.The staff was very nice and helpful, and let us park in the overflow lot after we'd checked out so we could go to DL for a few more hours. Overall, I think it is a hotel that caters to families best.I'm told the pool area is very nice. We would only stay there again if the price was very special. And I would bring earplugs.
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   10/29/04
Reviewer: susanmckay20 San Diego, California     December 23, 2004
We (2 adults, 2 children) has a standard room with a pool view for $59.00 per night. It was nice and quite inside the room, the room was average size, the beds comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly, the grounds are kept clean. You can walk over to the main gate in about 8 minutes. The pool was the best. Normally, I would not swim in October because most hotel pools are not warm enough, this pool was not only warm enough, it was clean and had a nice jacuzzi and kiddie pool/play area. The gift shop had a good selection of food and the kids liked the arcade room.We will stay again in Feb 2005.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 20 - November 24
Reviewer: Veezer San Francisco     December 15, 2004
· Date(s) of Stay: November 20 - November 24 2004
· Type/Class of room: Standard
· Rate/Night (for your stay): $50

We got to hotel around 245pm. I was told that the room would not be ready for another half hour or so. No problem.
We ended up with a room right next to the freeway. I asked my girlfriend if she was ok with the room...she said yes. Well she wakes me up at 4am telling me she could not sleep...even with ear plugs. Ended up telling the front desk that the nosie level was too loud and that we would lie another room away from the freeway. The front desk was very kind and gave us another room for the rest of our stay. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the freeway.

We arrived to our new room...much better...no freeway noise at all. Though, it seemed like everything in the room was broken. The remote controll to the tv was busted, the heater was broke within 5 mintues of using it, and a couple of lights were out.

Couple of side notes:
The person who first helped me at check in did not really tell me where my room was at and where to park.

My original stay was for 3 days. I wanted an extra day and Hojo's got me the extra with no problems at all.

It pretty much goes "You get what you pay for." I did not let the broken things get to me since I only paid $50 a night.

I would stay at Hojo's again cause of the price and location. The walk to the park was super easy.
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page