Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1380 S. Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 45 ( Displaying Reviews: 21 - 30 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   11/20-11/24
Reviewer: Zina Mesa, Arizona     November 26, 2004
We have stayed at the HoJo for the third time now. We have never been disappointed. The room was nice and roomy...we were in bldg 1 #707. It really looked exactly like the website photo. We had an excellent ent card rate of $45 per night. Room included 2 Q beds, fridge, coffee maker and nice size bath room with and extra sink outside of bathroom. Rooms were very clean and housekeeping did a great job. Willie Simpson is the man to contact. He offers excellent customer care. We feel guilty even considering staying somewhere else...we are so loyal to this place now. Total for 4 nights was $207 with tax. No breakfast, but we brought our own including hot cocoa and oatmeal packets, (used the hot water from the coffee pot to make), and fruit. We really enjoy the location as well. We were able to see the fireworks from our room each night too which was a real plus for my son. You can't go wrong here. Bring lots of snacks and sandwich fixins' (we even brought our electric sandwich maker for grilled cheese)and you save tons of money. Mimi's is an excellent 2nd choice since they are so economical and yummy!
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   9/27 - 10/2
Reviewer: bfallona Denver Colorado     October 07, 2004
Awesome hotel. All the reviews have been correct. I stayed in 1 room and my daughter and kids stayed in another. All agreed it was a great hotel. Front desk was very helpfull with a problem we had with my credit card and the rooms were big, clean and reasonable (under $80). The pool was nice and clean and so was the hot tub. Just the thing after long walks at Disneyland. Near McDonalds and other choices to eat.Never have to drive anywhere. Mini store on site and small game room. The only thing I wish they had was a microwave. There was a fridge though. Overall A+ and highly recommend.
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   9/2/04 through 9/5/04
Reviewer: munchkinsmom0003 California     September 07, 2004
We did a three-night stay in a 1 bedroom suite located in Building One on the 7th (non-smoking) floor overlooking the Disneyland side. The cost was 131.00/night with a discount through mousesavers.com. The suite consisted of a living room area and one bedroom. The living room area had a queen sofa bed and matching chair, a TV stored in an armoire with drawers, coffee table, desk, a door leading out to a balcony (view blocked by trees), round dining table for four, microwave, fridge, kitchenette counter space and a bathroom with two sinks. The bedroom had one king-sized bed, huge closet, TV, drawers, nightstands, a chair for lounging and a door which led to a balcony with a clear shot view of the Matterhorn. The suite also had a vanity table sandwiched between the bedroom and bathroom as well as a large empty floor area by the suites entrance that can be described as a foyer. The suite was roomy and appeared to be more spacious due to its high ceilings and skylights.

We truly enjoyed our stay at this hotel! The front desk personnel were professional and accommodating to our needs. The front desk manager even left a personal voicemail welcoming us to the hotel. We found the room to be impeccably clean. The carpet and floors passed our white sock test and we felt comfortable enough to have our two children (age 3 and 18 months) walk around in their bare feet. The housekeepers were very friendly, thorough and came at a decent hour (after 10AM). The room was always cleaned when we came back in the PM from the park. The central A/C worked well in both rooms. The hotel offered free internet access, a couple of small Arrowhead water bottles and a couple bags of trail mixes, all of which were nice perks. The housekeeping supervisor even stopped by our room during our stay and asked us if we needed anything and gave us extra water.

The hotel provided us with a small, white, metal portable crib with a thin mattress, fitted sheet and baby blanket. The crib appeared to be a bit old and often used. Our 18 month old preferred our Pack-n-play to sleep in, so we did not use the crib. The king-sized bed was comfortable to sleep on, but the sofa bed in the living room was not as comfortable and sturdy as it could have been (a typical sofa bed).

A paid shuttle was available to/from the DLR, but it took our family (with stroller in tow) approximately 10 minutes walk to/from the hotel and the DLRs main entrance, which was not a problem for us at all, even after a full day at the parks. During our stay, we used the main pool, which we noticed was maintained by the staff every morning. The pool and surrounding areas were clean. A well-stocked supply of towels was available for us to use. Our children particularly enjoyed the toddler pool and water fountain play area. The hotel room was surprisingly quiet, considering its close proximity to the freeway and Harbor Boulevard. The exception would be the nightly DLR fireworks that went off each night at 9:30 PM.

The one thing that we noticed was the positive attitude of the staff (from the management to gift shop clerks to housekeeping). We never had the feeling that the staff did not want/like to work there and thus it reflected in the comfortable interactions we had with them. A special shout-out to Esther in housekeeping for all her hard work and the ladies in the gift shop for their friendliness!

We highly recommend this hotel and will definitely come back to stay in the near future. Thank you HOJO for making our stay there a wonderful one!
 
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   08/28/04-09/02/04
Reviewer: laceyhen (davenlacey@netzero.com) Parma, Ohio     September 05, 2004
wonderful! Hojo lived to all its expectations and more! Everything was perfect. It was the best hotel experience I have ever had (and I've stayed at Westin, Embassy, Four Seasons, and other five star hotels). The hotel website is very user-friendly and gave a lot of information about the hotel! I saw all the great ratings and information on all the websites and went on the hotel website, which was very helpful. I loved it.

The room had view of fireworks and had 2 double beds and a fridge. It was very, very clean and spacious. The hotel was spotless and the staff was very helpful and courteous!

The pool was awesome. They have a very kid-friendly pool and little fountains with a turtle. My 7-year old son & 3-year old daughter loved it! By the pool there are showers and bathrooms, both extremely clean!

What can I say? It was perfect! Will definately be a returning customer!!!! :)
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   aug14-19
Reviewer: hendja Oak Harbor, WA     August 31, 2004
Howard Johnsons lived up to the expectations I had that I had read about. It was spacious, clean, and close to Disney as well as many restaurants. We had a great time at the pool and the gift shop was a plus. They had alot of reasonable priced breakfast foods such as poptarts and muffins. We had a great stay and plan to stay ther again the next time we go to Anaheim
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 2004
Reviewer: Tara Anne California Desert     August 29, 2004
This Hotel was very comfortable and very accomodating. We were able to check-in at 9:30 a.m. (!!) so we were able to drop off our bags and freshen up before hitting Disneyland. We did ask for a room with no noise (traffic... it's right off the freeway) which we got and which was as quiet as could be. Of course you can't have everything and what we didn't have was a view of the nightly Disney fireworks. The pool was great... heated... as was the wonderful hot tub. Also there were towels available at the pool, which was nice. All in all we enjoyed our stay enough to stay an extra night (which they accomodated as well)
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   8/9/04 - 8/16/04
Reviewer: pboeoahr Portland, Oregon     August 21, 2004
This was a great experience and a very nice place for my family to stay. With two daughters, ages 11 & 7, it worked great going back and forth to the park. We needed breaks, especially with the 7 year old.

Our room was on the top floor of bulding one (seventh floor) over looking the I-5 freeway. I thought the freeway noise would be awful but it was not at all. I think the only thing that we heard really were the fireworks when we weren't at the park.

Excellent room, well kept up, GREAT pool, nice to have a small shop available and a short walk to the park (although at night it seemed longer) :-)
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 17-24 2004
Reviewer: MommyTo3Boys1Girl Idaho     May 27, 2004
We have stayed at this hotel before, in the tower portion, before the refurbishment. While it was nothing spectacular then, it was much better now. The rates were very reasonable, my husband actually was given an airline employee rate of just $49 a night for all but our Friday and Saturday night stays. The other nights we paid only $79. It had a fridge that was perfect sized for the few groceries, juice, jelly, bread, some fruit and yogurt that we purchased. The room was really spacious. We had 2 double beds along with a 2 chaired table, a dresser that went along most of one wall, lots of counter space, even with the tv on this dresser. The fridge was nicely placed to not be in the way of the door. A large closet housed a rollaway and extra blankets. We added 2 cribs to the room and still had room to manuver without bumping in to things. I wish there was more counter space in the bathroom, or the vanity area. And if they could add a microwave it would have been great to heat our pizza. The front desk was VERY helpful. They gave my husband several suggestions for pizza as well as directions for him to take the bus to the grocery store. When we asked for something, extra towels, sheets, the crib, they were prompt in fulfilling our request. Staff was really nice and the gift shop was well stocked. They do offer a shuttle to the park, but even after walking for 5 days around Disneyland, the walk didn't seem long at all and we never opted for the shuttle. The 2 pool areas were nice. Although they say the pool is heated, it was too cold even for my Idaho blood. We did get an opportunity to enjoy the hot tub though. The grounds were well manicured with lots of trees and my kids both loved the fountain. They no longer have a restaurant but there is one, Mimi's that was great and is just a 2 minute walk from the front desk. McDonald's and another sit down restaurant are also nearby. All in all it was a great stay and I would definetly recommend it. Being that my husband is a commercial pilot and stays in numerous hotels, he is a good critic, and said that we would stay at Hojos again on our next trip to Disneyland.
 
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Satuday, May 22, 2004
Reviewer: kdrickard California     May 23, 2004
Arrived at 7:30 a.m. and did an early check-in so we could park on the property for our visit to DLR for that day. We were quite surprised when they informed us that our room was ready, gave us our keys, and let us know if we wanted to we could bring our bags up; while a nice surprise we decided to head straight for the parks. Check-in was smooth and quick.

Around 2 p.m., we returned to the property to rest for the afternoon as we planned to be out until park closing (midnight) later in the afternoon. When we arrived for our nap, a waiting v/m message on the room phone welcomed us and told us who to contact if we needed anything. The room was clean, and nicely appointed; we were on the 7th floor of building one, and everything was as or better than expected.

On the way back to the park we met the housekeeper for our room and chatted briefly on the way out. Usually this is a "hi how are you" exchange, but this was a more genuine conversation. The walk from HoJos to DLR is a bit longer than from some other properties along Harbor, but not (for us) worth waiting for the shuttle. If our kids (4 & 6) were with us on this trip we might be looking for a shuttle ride back.

When we got back at after midnight there was another message on our room phone. I tried a few times to access it unsuccessfully. The next morning the v/m system seemed to work again and I found the v/m message was from security at 7pm the previous night informing us that a vehicle on the property registered to our room had valuables in sight. I had left my cheap golf clubs in the car , but was very impressed that hotel security was working to reduce the car burglaries going on in Anaheim that they had warned us about at check-in.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   4/3/04 to 4/8/04
Reviewer: poohcorner Vancouver, Washington     April 12, 2004
This was an excellent choice for us. We had 2 adults and 3 children and the service was great. We arrived at the hotel around 11:00 a.m. and rather than hold our luggage in their luggage room they checked to see if a room was available and went ahead and checked us in, even though the check in time is 3:00 p.m.. The maid service was great and they always made sure we had extra towels since we had 5 people. The pool area was always clean and there were plenty of chairs. The gift shop had lots of items and were reasonably priced. The walk to Disneyland was only about 10 minutes, however we purchased an ART Family Pass and rode the shuttle which picked up every 10-20 minutes right at the hotel lobby doors. We were also in walking distance to several restaurants. We will not hesitate to stay at the Hojo on our next vacation.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page