Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1380 S. Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 45 ( Displaying Reviews: 31 - 40 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   February 17 through February 20, 2004
Reviewer: jwinge68 Poway, California     February 23, 2004
We stayed at HoJo's for our second annual trip to Disneyland and California Adventure. We requested two connecting rooms, but ended up with 2 rooms next door to each other, which was fine. We had two adults and four kids and this arrangement actually worked out for all involved.

The rooms were clean, updated, and maid service came at a civil hour, generally after 9am. When you're wanting to sleep in a bit, this is a great thing. The maids were quick, too, and thourough.

The walk to Disneyland is a bit longer than 10 minutes, but it's do-able. In fact, it's better than parking in the parking structure but when the day is done, it's still a long, long walk no matter what.

The pools were heated, which our kids loved, since we spent one day just at the hotel, and it was raining. Rather than keep them in the rooms, we hit the pool for a bit, then back to our cleaned rooms for a nap. We were in building 2, next to the freeway and it was QUIET! I couldn't even hear my young nephews next door. Loved the hotel towels pool side...we didn't bring our own. And liked the gift shop for their selection and reasonable prices.

All in all, a great stay. Impressed with staff despite a misunderstanding about in room microwaves; staff was helpful, quick to respond and friendly. The in room fridges were small but worked WELL. We brought along milk and ended up with a frozen jug just from being in the fridge door.

Would definately stay there again; pretty much no fuss or bother for this trip.

 
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   02/01-02/06/04
Reviewer: goffy West Jordan, UT     February 09, 2004
After I had reviewed the great reviews the Howard Johnson had received on Mouse Planet, we decided to give the Howard Johnson a go. We try to go to DL every year and last year had stayed at the Tropicana. We liked the Tropicana because of its location, but thought the rooms were a little small for 3 kids and 2 adults. After reading the great reviews on the Howard Johnson, we were willing to walk 5 more minutes to the park for more space.
At the Howard Johnson there are about 5 or 6 seperate buildings. One building is relatively tall, maybe 6 or 7 stories. The other buildings have 2 levels. The buildings with 2 levels have NO ELEVATOR. Looking back, I clearly should have asked for another room, but knowing we had friends coming to stay in an adjacent room, we decided to stay. Our room was right by the stairs- I got to know those stairs well! Our friends came a day after us and at that point we noticed that their room was about 8 feet longer than ours, they had two sinks and a trundle bed- they had 2 adults and an infant.

Just a note for anyone considering staying at this Hotel- there are no elevators in the 2 story buildings and the rooms closest to the stairs are about 8 feet smaller and have only one sink. Trying to get a double stroller up and down those stairs was a chore. Each day we walked by the newly remodeled Tropicana, it looked better and better and it was 5 mintues closer too. I wish more consideration was given to the size of our group when the room was booked. We'll be staying somewhere else on our next visit to the Happiest Place on Earth.
 
7 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   October 2003
Reviewer: Photographer Boston, MA     January 11, 2004
I booked my room over the phone with the Entertainment Card. The only small problem I had was I had my mom's credit card and the hotel wanted a signed letter and a copy of my mom's license to accept it. The front desk clerk was very helpful and patient while we made phone calls to my mom. All was squared away the next morning and I was refunded the cash I had put down for the first night.

The room was large and clean. The bathroom was also a nice size. I would imagine a shorter person may have hit their head on the vanity because the toilet was rather close to it.

The air conditioner worked great. My room in Bldg #2 was near the highway but I never heard a single car go by. Their gift shop was very nice with lots of Disney merchandise at good prices. I caught a bus to LAX directly across from the front of the hotel.

I highly recommend this hotel and am looking into staying there on my next trip. Sign up for www.triprewards.com to accumulate points at Hojo stays.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 18 - December 23
Reviewer: Buttercup Spokane, Washington     December 29, 2003
HoJo's was perfect for our trip. We had 7 adults and 4 kids (one a toddler) on our trip. We booked three rooms total, connecting standard rooms and a home office room. We had originally booked at Holiday Inn, but after reading great reviews of HoJo's on all the boards, I emailed them and asked if they would match our room price at Holiday Inn (very low Priority Club price) and they did!!

There was no extra charge for the crib, and plenty of space for it in the home office room. We had 4 adults and a crib in that room and it was more than big enough. The other 3 adults and 3 kids were in connecting rooms, just down the hall. The staff was great, making sure our rooms were as close as possible. Housekeeping was terrific, as was the front desk and gift shop staff.

We swam a few times in the main pool, the pool area is very nice, I love the ample supply of towels poolside. The gift shop has a large variety of snacks and beverages as well as laundry supplies (great laundry facilities onsite), first aid items, souveniors, etc. We were in there daily for snacks, etc.. I forget to pack my daughters Hydrocortisone cream and they even had a tube of that, at the average grocery store price.

The walk to the park was quite easy, we never took the ART. The kids and the grandparents had no problem with the walk, it never took more than 10 minutes to get from our rooms to the park entrances. It was a fantastic hotel for kids. We loved HoJo's and all agreed we will stay there from now on.
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/7/03 to 12/13/03
Reviewer: Alpha1mom (alpha1mom2@aol.com) Sonoma, CA     December 17, 2003
This was the perfect hotel! We have stayed at alot of hotels in the area but the HoJo is the BEST! We were on the 7th floor, facing Disneyland. Clean, Quiet rooms. Comfortable beds (we needed extra blankets and got them with a smile) Walking distance to Disneyland, never needed the shuttle. Very impressive gift shop, had alot of cute gifts that I didn't see at the park, also they carry many food items. I needed milk and bananas to keep in the room (my daughter is diabetic) and it was nice to buy them at the gift shop and not at Disneyland that I'd have to carry around with me.
Willie Simpson is the GREATEST!!!!!
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 2003
Reviewer: Mickeyslittlehelper Canada     November 09, 2003
During mid-trip August 2003 we had trouble while staying at another hotel along Harbor. We decided to look into other nearby hotels, and being highly recomended, we chose to try the HOJO. We called them late one night to see if they had space the day after for 5 days. They could not guarantee anything, just that they might have a smoking room, we booked it. They said that they would try to see what they could do. The following day we go to check-in, the room would not be ready till 3, so they were able to lock-up our suitcases. When we returned they had a non-smoking room ready. We head to the room and upon entering we fealt that it was a 5 star hotel. Nicely updated, free internet, overlooking the nice garden and pool. A funny thing, but important was the toilet was large and flushed very well compared to some hotel toilets. The pool, the shower, and the TV were all great. Also, the maid that made up the room had left a little piece of paper saying that she had personally done her best to make up the room, which I was impressed with. All of the staff were very friendly and did their best to accomodate us. The walking distance to the park is very short, and Mcdonalds and Mimi's Cafe are nearby. On our next trip we will definately stay at the HOJO!
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Easter weekend 2003
Reviewer: DrivingtoDisneyAZ Mesa, AZ     October 31, 2003
We booked a standard room through the HOJOs website for $69/night. Upon a very smooth check-in with friendly staff, we were upgraded to a spacious room in building #2, facing the park, room located right off the elevator. We had ample room to park our huge double stroller and set up the PackNPlay. The kids especially enjoyed the huge mirrored closet doors.

Positives: spacious room, clean, comfortable beds, good-sized bathroom, prompt maid service, convenient balcony for dh's morning coffee, close to Mimi's restaurant

Negatives: cube-sized frig (we prefer larger), a little further from the park than suited our family's needs (2 kids under age 2 at that time plus I was 5 months pregnant)

Overall we'll definitely stay there again when the kids get a little older.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   10-18-2003
Reviewer: MickeyD Thousand Oaks, California     October 21, 2003
My best friend and I usually spend at least one overnight trip at Disneyland every year. Last year we stayed at the Paradise Pier, and she really had her heart set on staying there again, but it was sold out for the night we were looking at (Saturday, October 18th.) I had read good things about the Howard Johnson here in the reviews and on the discussion board, and there was a $59.00 rate available through Expedia, so we decided to book it.
When we checked in, I told them we had two cars, and it was no problem, parking was plentiful. The room we booked through Expedia had only one bed in it, and I asked if it would be possible to get a room with two beds, again it was no problem. The front desk clerk was very accommodating.
Our room was on the first floor in building 5, right next to the I-5, which I didn't even realize until I went out on the patio, we couldn't even hear the freeway at all from inside the room.
The room was a standard room and was very spacious. It had an actual walk in closet, plus additional hanging space. It also had a iron and ironing board, in case we were inclined to iron our clothes. The air conditioner worked fabulously, since it was an unseasonal 90 degrees and humid outside.
The bathroom was nice, and having an additional vanity and sink outside the bathroom was pure genius on someone's part, and really came in handy for the two of us getting ready on Sunday morning.
The walk to the park was no problem for us, even considering the fact that I just had knee surgery 8 weeks ago and she has Rhumatoid Arthritis.
We didn't go to the pools, but from a distance they both looked very nice.
I would stay at the HoJo again anytime.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 9 thru June 19 2003
Reviewer: islandgirl Tumon, GUAM USA     July 10, 2003
I stayed at the Howard Johnson Hotel from 6/9 thru 6/19 2003 and it was great!!! I travelled all the way from Guam and this was my first time to visit California as well as the Disneyland Resort. I was travelling with my fiance and my sister. The Hojo staff was great! From the front desk to the housekeeping service! Whatever we needed or asked for they'd accomodate us at any time! We shared one room with two queen size beds. The room was very clean and big! We had a TV as well as a mini refrigerator that we put in good use. We also had a coffee maker in the room too!!The bathroom was great! There was two sinks and a bathtub. Having two sinks was very convenient because I was sharing the room with two other family members. We always had enough clean towels, shampoo, soap, and toilet paper!!We had a cute balcony overlooking the pool and the beautiful Hojo landscape. The walk to Disneyland from our hotel room took us about 5-7minutes. That was no problem to us! It actually didn't feel like a 5-7 minute walk, it felt like only 3 minutes!!! That's how convenient I think Hojo is to DLR. We never took the Disneyland shuttle! There's no need too!! There's sooo many restuarants and cafes along the way, so there's no problem finding a place to eat. Downtown Disney has many eateries as well. Mimi's Cafe is right across the street from HoJo's and they have a really great menu with reasonable prices! If I were to visit Disneyland again I would definitely stay at Hojo's without a doubt!
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 22 - 25th, 2003
Reviewer: Christiii Lodi, Ca     June 30, 2003
Just got back from two different trips this week to the Hojo...it was awesome!! I usually only stay at the Disneyland hotel, and Ive been trying to find a more inexpensive alternative that was not a dive. Ive tried the Candy Cane..and it was just ok..and too expensive I thought..even at the $89 rate I got.
When I was at the Candy Cane..we moved to the Disneyland hotel, and I couldnt wait to get out of there..but at the Hojo I had no desire to move..and thats saying something!! I got an amazing rate at the Hojo with my Entertaiment card! I must admit..I was a bit wary when I drove up..since it looks older and is right next to the freeway...Checked in to bldg 1, in a home office room..and was really happy!! The room really reminded me of the rooms at the Disneyland hotel...same size and layout of the bigger rooms with the futon. My room had a balcony, with a great view of the fireworks, a microwave, coffee and fridge. Really really quiet..not noise from the freeway or neighbors. They had two bottles of water and trail mix in the room everyday which was nice, and the gift shop has anything else you need!! The staff is really helpful...I have decided this is my new home away from home!! The room is about twice the size of the rooms at the Candy Cane! I hope to be going again in about three weeks :-)The big pool is being renovated, but their other pool is a great size and really pretty!! It is tucked away, and surrounded by pretty landscaping..like a little oasis. The Candy Cane pool is ok but surrounded by a parking lot...yuck!
The first trip (Sun - Wed) we used the shuttle...which I really dont like..its $3 a day..per person, and for some reason out G bus was always the latest and the slowest...they said they were training people..greeaaat..I wouldnt mind if it was for free..but at $3 a day per person..I want that bus there..darn it~
Our next trip..Fri - Sun..we walked it and it was no problemo...about an 8 minute walk...you probablly dont want to do that when its raining or 105, but when we were there it was fine. I really wish they would have a deal for mulitple days or something for the bus..they price realy adds up the more people you have. Each hotel sets their own rate I think.
They dont have a restaurant there..but Mimis is almost on property..and wonderful!!
My review for the Hojo...A+++

 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page