Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1380 S. Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 45 ( Displaying Reviews: 41 - 45 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 17-22, 2003
Reviewer: hapafour Salt Lake City, Utah     June 23, 2003
I have a family of six (four kids 3 through 7) and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Howard Johnsons. We were in one of the rooms that backs the 5 Freeway and we didn't have one problem with freeway noise.

The walk to Disneyland/CA took us 10 minutes (we took the Anaheim shuttle a couple of times). I actually ran home one night while my husband took the kids on the shuttle - I would have beat the shuttle if I hadn't had to stop at the cross walks.

The room was large and the bathroom was nice (considering the age of the hotel). The beds were comfortable and true "Queen" size beds (three of my kids slept on one bed "sideways"). Housekeeping service was great - we often requested towels and they were delivered to our room immediately. There was plenty of drawer space and the closet size was adequate.

The washing machines and dryers were just down the hall and the ice machine delivered a ton of ice (which we used in our ice chest).

My only complaint was the pool had a strange smell (not just a chlorine smell). The grounds were well cared for and very pretty. We took our kids to the gift shop to purchase a few souvenirs because the prices there were cheaper than those in the Resort. We also love Mimi's cafe which is right across the street. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It will be even nicer when the new pool and hot tub are finished.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 19-26, 2003
Reviewer: stinkerbell Oregon     April 30, 2003
We stayed for seven nights in a double queen room with three children. We had plenty of room, didn't feel crowded and we loved it here.

The grounds are amazing. Many trees, plants, and the pool was clean and large, compared to many of the area hotel pools I've seen. We watched the fireworks from the courtyard one night. Dozens of the trees along the paths are lit with white lights, which makes you really feel like you are still in a "magical" place when you are at your hotel.

The bathroom was large, had two vanity/sink areas, had been retiled and painted recently and was very clean. No problems with the water, shower, anything.

There were two closets. Plenty of space to hang clothes, store suitcases, the stroller, and ice chest, whatever.

The fridge was small. We had an ice chest with us too, though, so it wasn't a problem for us. There was a coffeemaker, iron and hairdryer in the room.

The maid service was great, always willing to bring extra towels, shampoo, coffee, etc. The room was immaculate each night when we came back from DLR. The front desk service was great, no problems. The gift shop was well-stocked and pretty big. I just bought stamps there, though.

I would definitely stay there again! I also have to say that when I called to make the reservation, the desk person let me know immediately that one of the pools would be closed during our stay. I appreciated her honesty! Many hotels wouldn't do this. My mom and my friend stayed at HoJo the same time as us and they had similarly wonderful rooms and opinions!
 
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   2/24/03-2/27/03
Reviewer: Zina Mesa, Ariozona     March 03, 2003
What a wonderful hotel to stay at while visiting DL. We were in the exceptional "suite #1701" the first 2 nights, and the last night in a "home office suite". Room 1701 was perfect...2 rooms with a full dining area. Included was a vanity, fold out Q couch, full dining table with 4 chairs, microwave, fridge, king bed, several cozy chairs, TV in each room, bottled water and snacks. The beds were very comfy and room appeared to be newly renovated. Lots of marble on the countertops at dining and bathroom areas. The coolest part was the sky lights that went through the room. We also had a great DL view. The tall pine trees and lit up trees at night throughout the property were wonderful. Once the pool is completed the view will be even better. The home office suite was nice and roomy too. We were in bldg 2. Much larger than an average hotel room (also with fridge and microwave)...only draw back was that it was quite far back and made for a long walk when tired at the end of the day. Overall this was a perfect place to stay. We never took the ART, we walked it even with our 4 year old. He rode in the stroller sometimes and walked other times. Very easy access to both parks. We will definately stay here again.
 
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   10/4-10/6
Reviewer: disguy San Jose, California     October 09, 2002
The Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel

Ive stayed at so many hotels/motels in the Disneyland area Ive lost count. Yet I have never stayed at a single one more then once.
Except for Howard Johnson Ill explain in this review why.

Property- You will not find more beautiful grounds for a hotel in Anaheim. From the water fountains and the lighted trees along the walkways its a beautiful site to see.
They keep the grounds impeccably clean and wonderful. There are two towers and four smaller buildings on the six-acre property. This includes a gift shop, two self-laundry rooms and a game room. You will find Mimis Café adjacent to the property, which services wonderful food and not bad prices. They have two pools however, one is being refurbished and from what I hear its going to be fantastic; I believe it will be done in January. The pool that is currently open is very large with more then enough lounge and patio tables for all. There is plenty of parking for everyone. Parking was never a problem as it is with so many others in the area.

Service- One word, Outstanding! Every trip weve taken they have gone the extra mile to make it more enjoyable. I dont think you can find a nicer staff (at least I havent) in the resort area. They do not offer a continental breakfast, which doesnt matter to me since they have in-room coffee makers. This hotel had the best staff at any hotel/motel Ive ever stayed at in Disneyland. The check in/ check out was completely painless and very fast.

Rooms- Nice sized rooms, which offer smoking and non-smoking along with queens or double beds. Most rooms have great balconies. The room was wonderfully decorated and very comfortable beds as well. I always had more then enough pillows and towels; never did I have to ask for extra. Most rooms if not all have a nice size fridge. They offer plenty of channels including Disney and HBO. An extra bonus is having Play Station and a wide choice of video games in your room. If you need to work during your stay, youll find a data port or high speed internet access right in your room.

This property is a Disney Good Neighbor hotel so they offer passports to the resort along with transportation if needed. We hardly used the trams, as it was a quick seven-minute walk from the room to the front gate of the theme parks.

I cant tell you how refreshing it was to find a fantastic hotel with great prices so close to Disneyland. It truly gives you the resort feel instead of a motel feel as most do around the area. You will not be disappointed!
 
57 out of 58 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   5/18/02
Reviewer: hefferdude The West     July 17, 2002
Comfortable and well priced. Good discounts off season.
Short walk to main gate. Nice shuttle stop in front.
Nicely landscaped. Grounds very pretty at night.
Two large pools well maintained.
No Cont BF but refrigerators in rooms.
Staff pleasant and helpful
Directly across street from Millies and airport transportaion stop.
 
26 out of 32 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page