Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Anabella Hotel
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1030 W. Katella Avenue, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 15 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Sept 28-Oct 5 2008
Reviewer: ellisfamily Sacramento, CA     April 01, 2008
· Type/Class of room :Standard ( I think)

Accommodations Review: We love this hotel. We have stayed there 3 years in a row! Each year our visit has gotten better. The staff is helpful. The rooms are decent size for the price and they are CLEAN. I like the fridge and the cabinet that it is built in. Allows plenty of space for our snacks and stuff. I enjoy staying on the 1st floor the best. It seems quieter. The restaurant is reasonably priced and kid friendly. We also enjoyed the poolside bar for a late nite cocktail. Great Hotel!

· Rate/Night (for your stay): $60 (through costco pkg)

· Ease of Disney Park Access: Its a little bit of a walk, up the back of California Adventure. But not too bad if ur at the start of ur day...the end of the day is another story. We usually drive our car into the parking garage @ disneyland.

· Park Shuttle Comments: We have not used it, but it seems to be there frequently.

Pool Description/Comments: I really like the fact that they have huge baskets full of towels at the pool. It is very nice to not have to lug towels to the pool and worry about forgeting them and having to call room service!
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   February 29 - March 2, 2008
Reviewer: adriennek Southern California     March 03, 2008
We stayed at this location for a convention at the Anaheim Convention Center. I would stay there again for a convention. The only reason I gave it 3-planets instead of 4 planets is that the location is not nearly as convenient to Disneyland as the Harbor Blvd. motels are.

Cons:

My mom requested a non-smoking HCA room but was given a smoking room with a column blocking the door making entry with an ECV difficult.

The TV in my room didn't work. They appeared to have fixed it on Saturday morning but by Saturday evening it wasn't working again.

The shower could've been warmer. It wasn't cold. It was "I wish it were warmer." My mom thought it was colder than I did.

The location isn't as good as the Harbor motels for going to DL.

Pros:

The staff was very friendly.

The location is very convenient for the convention center, which was actually the focus of our trip.

The restaurant was very tasty, prices reasonable and staff friendly. The tangerine-ginger salad dressing was very good. I recommend the Tangerine Chicken Salad or ordering the dressing on a garden salad. I had it both ways as I ate there twice, once for lunch, once for dinner.

I have a more detailed description of this stay posted on MousePad, here: http://mousepad.mouseplanet.com/showpost.php?p=1200164&postcount=20
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 4, 2005
Reviewer: CrazyTrain Los Angeles     May 08, 2005
I booked a standard, one bed room from Priceline at $45/night.

The room was ample for one person, clean and included a fridge and a safe. The bed was comfortable and came with an extra pillow, plus throw pillows. The front desk called to be sure that my stay was going ok and to see if I needed anything - a very nice touch. (Although they called at almost 10 p.m.). I had the fan on all night and couldn't hear a thing outside my room.

The worst thing about the room was that the curtains don't cover the window, so I had to figure out which way to turn the blinds so nobody could see in (not a huge deal except the bed was under the window). Also, the pressure in the shower was very low.

I was put in a room all of the way at the end of the complex, with easy access to Katella and the water/soda machines. (I assume the ice machine was there as well). I drove to the park, but as far as I know, there are no shuttles. I didn't use the pool or dine at the restaurant.

I would definately stay there again!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 2002
Reviewer: DreamingAgain The city of rain and starbucks.     March 02, 2005
My mom, cousin and I stayed at this hotel for a couple of weeks in July 2002. I think that was when it just opened. We had a standard two queen bed room, for a rate of $99 per night. The room had all the standard amenities (coffee maker, television with internet, drawers, closet, etc.) The rooms are by far the best looking that we've ever stayed in. My only beef with them is that the bathroom has a window, but that's just my own personal paranoias speaking, no big deal.

I take a planet off only because of the distance from the parks. Not too terribly far (15 minutes give or take?) but walking back after dark was a little bit scary (But again, I'm very paranoid.) Beware, the shuttle was INSANE at nighttime. It may be better now since they have a charge, but back then it looked like more than a few people were about to go Jerry Springer on eachother for a seat.

Only ate at the resteraunt inside of the hotel once. The food was pretty good, staff friendly. They have a couple of pools, one reserved for adult use only. But the one I was allowed to go in was pretty nice if I remember right. Beautiful landscaping everywhere, feels like its own little city at times.

Overall, great hotel. Comfy beds, good amenities, well designed inside and out.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Thanksgiving week 2003
Reviewer: seaotter24 Vallejo, California     November 08, 2004
We have stayed at the Anabella for 3 consecutive years over Thanksgiving, and have it booked again for 2004. We have a now 9 year old son, so we request a mini-suite to allow him and us a little privacy. The rooms are very large. The staff is very courteous. We have not had a meal in the resaurant or used the pool, but all the other facilities are spectacualr.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   14th-22nd September 2004
Reviewer: Abbeylee NSW, Australia     October 02, 2004
We stayed at the Anabella from 14-22 September 2004 and were pleasantly surprised after reading many of the negative reviews here. Paid AU$140 per night for 2 people.
Our room was spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished and was a real pleasure to stay in. The only slightly negative comment I would make about the room was the single bed in second bedroom was quite saggy and needed a new matress (not too uncomfortable though) and the shower head was very low which made hair washing a bit of a challenge at times. Having a bar fridge in the room was a real bonus for us and one that we made good use of to stock drinks and so on. Walls seemed to be very thin - we could hear word for word what the people in the room next door were saying and also woke up whenever their baby woke crying in the night. (Got very tiring by the 4th night).
The grounds were lovely and pool area kept clean and tidy with fresh towels available even though we were there in a very busy time. I think only once did we have to ask for towels and they were already on their way anyway. There is a seperate pool just for adults which is a good idea if you want a break from the splashing and squealing of kids. The business centre is $10 if I recall correctly for 24 hours use. There were 3 computers but one was broken and remained that way for our whole stay which meant there was often a wait to get on and use a computer.
The restaurant is nice and free breakfast each morning was wonderful with choices including bacon and eggs, pancakes, cereal and fruit etc. The breakfast was great and kept us going through most of the day. Juice is not included though so you can either ask for a glass of water or pay $3.50 for a glass of juice. (We had water and kept juice in our room for after breakfast which was way cheaper). My biggest complaint with this hotel is the wait for breakfast. We needed to allow at least an hour each day for breakfast, there was always a line up outside the restaurant and some days it took 20-30 mins to get a seat. We found this to be a bit of a nuisance especially on the days when we had to be on a tour bus or wanted to get going to Disneyland. There seemed to be empty seats but not enough waitresses and so therefore they didn't fill all the seats up. One morning we had to leave halfway through our meal because it took so long to get seated. If you leave plenty of time you should be fine.
All the staff were helpful and friendly from the waiters to bellmen to housekeeping and front desk - whenever we needed anything they were always willing to help.
Location isn't great, we felt a bit isolated and away from it all. Disneyland carpark across the road and convention centre next door so there wasn't the atmosphere of being in a strip of hotels like we had experienced on our previous stay when we stayed on the other side of Disneyland. However having said that if you are travelling with kids and not interested in wandering around at night after a day out then the location would most likely suit you fine. We spent 3 days at Disneyland and the carpark shuttle wasn't anywhere to be seen on all 3 days so we walked. Took about 20 mins but felt much longer at night after a long day. DOwntown Disney about a 15 min walk which wasn't too bad, great place to visit at night as it is open until 2am. About a 10 min walk to nearest 7-11.
Coin laundry on site but only 2 washing machines and 2 dryers so be prepared to wait for a turn. Late afternoon or at night it took about 2-3 hours all up after waiting to wash and then waiting to dry. Took less time if you do it during the day when everyone else is out.
All up we enjoyed our stay at the Anabella and found it to be a very clean, comfortable and attractive motel to stay in. Would probably stay somewhere closer to Disneyland's entrance next time but would certainly consider staying again at the Anabella, especially if we had children with us.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   11/23/03 - 11/26/03
Reviewer: sanchezsarah Salt Lake City, UT     December 02, 2003
We reserved our room on expedia where we chose the queen with day bed for $139. It was a great deal. When we called the week before they said that room was not available so we called expedia who said they changed it. When we checked in they again said the room was not available however the manager was able to correct the problem. They were very friendly throughout the whole thing.

We have stayed here before so we knew what type of room we wanted. We ended up with a second floor room that was very nice. We have always been happy staying here. It also happened that there was no hot water the night we checked in (Sunday). They sent someone right over and discovered the water heater needed to be replaced. By Monday morning at 10 am the problem was fixed.

Sunday night when we checked in we went to the restaurant. We showed up at 9:30pm, which happened to be the time they closed, however they took care of us in the empty restaurant. The food was hot and wonderful.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Disneyland. The shuttle picks up almost in front of the hotel. We actually walked to the Grand California for breakfast two of the mornings and entered the park through their entrance. It was only a ten minute walk.
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   6/29/03-07/05/03
Reviewer: temple4     July 07, 2003
We had stayed here in the past for one night over Thanksgiving. We had a family suite and were really impressed with the look and feel of the hotel. However, our recent stay was not as nice. We arrived at 4 am on Monday morning (drove down from the Bay Area after our daughters dance recital). I reserved the previous night, just in case. I had called three times before to make sure this was okay. They assured me each time, that we would get the rooms and that the arrival time would be okay.

When we got there, the person at the front desk was very rude. All she said was she was rolling the rooms over and just to take a seat. No hello, welcome, or anything. I asked her how long the wait would be and she just said she didn't know how long it would take. We also didn't get the rooms we requested. I was thinking that this was due to the time we checked in, but the front desk was pretty rude and short during our entire stay. Even the manager on duty, seemed to be too busy to help us out as well as other guests.

We paid $89/night for two mini suites (one queen bed, one sofa bed and a daybed in the other room). The rooms themselves were nice, but the air conditioner and the bathtub drain were broken in one room and had to be fixed. We stayed in the Santa Barbara section which was a different section then the one we stayed in for Thanksgiving. You could also hear a lot of noise from the room next door (even at 6 in the morning).

We didn't take advantage of the shuttles or the restaurant. The pool was okay and the housekeeping staff was really nice and considerate.

Although we received a good rate, the front desk staff and the problems with our rooms, will take us elsewhere in the future.
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   28 April - 6 May 2003
Reviewer: Richo (richosbid@hotmail.com) Sydney, Australia     May 12, 2003
I enjoyed my stay at the Anabella Hotel, the facilities (The business centre within the hotel is a great idea)were excellent and the staff were helpfull. The location (Easy walk to Disneyland) and cost were fantastic but if you stay here DEMAND a room on the second floor (there are only two) as noise from above radiates down from the softest footsteps which is the only downside to this hotel.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   Sept. 25 to 29
Reviewer: bosscougar Canada     October 30, 2002
two adult, one child: Standard room, 4 nights for the price of 3 $224(Can).
Initially we were very impressed with this hotel...heated marble floor in bathroom, pillows galore, excellent staff, beautiful surroundings. Would give it 10/10 except for the clumsy elephants staying above us. Enough thumping after midnight to rattle door in its frame...not one good sleep in 4 nights. Suggested staff put children in lower floors to avoid this in the future but they refused to even consider. Told us they would talk to people above us but it didn't help. Better carpeting maybe??? Unlikely we'll stay here again.
Note: Tiffy's restaraunt next door: AWESOME, highly recommended.
 
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page