Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Anaheim Del Sol Inn (formerly Anaheim Best Inn)
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1604 S. Harbor Blvd, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 16 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 15-21, 2012
Reviewer: TTFN92 Gilbert, AZ     June 27, 2012
I know the Del Sol has had many mixed reviews and many people had their experience before it was remodeled. We decided to take a chance on it for our trip June 15-21 because of the remodel and it had the best price (average of $101 a night). I have to say that we were very pleased with it. The carpet was clean. I know that was a big deal for a few people. The beds were decent. I am very picky and have a hard time sleeping on a hard bed. I didn't have a problem with these. They aren't like Carousel Inn but they weren't as hard as Tropicanna either. The towels were clean. We didn't have a problem with hearing other people. I don't know if our location had something to do with that. We were in room #120, which was the back corner so only someone on one side and above. We could hear footsteps above us but not really bad and we couldn't hear anyone talking. We did have an issue the first night. Our 21 month old decided he didn't want to sleep in his pack and play and decided to scream at the top of his lungs. We decided to give him a few minutes to see if he would settle down because he sleeps so good at home, but he didn't. We got a call from the front desk right after I said that someone was going to complain or think we were hurting him. We didn't let that happen again. We liked the pool area. It looked like it had been recently remodeled too and was a good size for a small motel. The only real negative was the continental breakfast. They didn't have much but I planned for that and brought frozen breakfast "corn dogs" and sandwiches because I don't like sweet breakfast. I always have DH get me milk. The first couple of days it was fine. The next day I thought it was a little off but wasn't quite sure. The next day it was bad. DH went and told them and they changed it so he brought me some of the new stuff. It was even worse. He went back and there were a bunch of people telling them it was bad. The next day it was still bad. It was a bummer because we planned on that milk for our baby. We had to buy it at DL after that which was a little pricey but oh, well. We also liked how big the room was. We had the one with 2 Queens and a bunk bed. We had plenty of room. The bunk beds are small though and made for kids, not teenagers. They worked for us though. It also had a nice tv. My sister also liked it. The hotel was good to them. Their Landcruiser died after they got to Anaheim and they had to have it shipped back to AZ and rent a car to drive home. It wasn't able to be picked up until Tues afternoon and they left on Sun. Del Sol allowed them to leave it there and just pay the daily rate. With how tight their parking is I thought they'd say no way but they didn't. We also were able to park there and not at the overflow, even after we left and came back on Sun. It's not anything fancy but it's clean, has big rooms and a great location. I'd go back and recommend it to others.
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   9/6 to 9/9 2008
Reviewer: jacandjan Portland Oregon     September 14, 2008
Just an update to our review from 2007.

Just the wife and I this time, again we stayed in a standard room over the covered parking (#232) and found it to be quite and clean. They let us check in early again (noon) which was nice after driving straight thru from portland. Again, this is a basic room but we had very good service from the maids as well as the front desk. We had no problems with the hot water this time and the air conditioner worked great which was a real plus since it was in the upper 80's while we were there.

We bought our package through Get Away Today so I think the room was about $80 a night which included taxes & resort fees.

The main plus is location.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 21st through July 26 2007
Reviewer: jacandjan Portland OR.     July 28, 2007
We had a standard 2 Queen bed room with Frig & Microwave. We booked a package through www.getawaytoday.com so the room was about $99 a night. This included all taxes and resort fees.

Although most reviews said it was a basic motel that was clean there were a few that said it was awful so we were unsure if we had made the right choice.

I'm happy to say that we were completly satisfied with the Del Sol. The property is older but is in reasonably good shape. We found the rooms to be large and most of all clean. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful and let us check in early ( around noon ) which was much appreciated after driving all night. I also requested to have a room towards the back half of the property as suggested by others and the front desk had no problem accomadating me. As some others have said, we did have some fulcuation in the water temp in the shower but nothing that we couldn't deal with. The Grandkids ( 5 & 8 ) had no problem using the shower.

The maid service was fine and we had no problem getting extra towels when we needed them.

We had read other reviews saying the walls were paper thin but we never heard any guests in the adjoining rooms and were never woke up during the night. We stayed in room 229 which is over the covered parking area so maybe this had something to do with it being a little quiter. The air conditioning worked great and they replaced all the curtains with louvered blinds while we were there.

The uncovered parking area was tight but the covered side was fine. We went to Universal one day and i was worried there might not be parking when i got back but there were several open spaces even at 6pm when we returned.

We did not use the pool but it looked fine, not to big though.

The location of this hotel is a real plus ( right across the street from the main Disneyland entrance ) Even after keeping the Grandkids out until 11pm they had no problem making the walk back to the hotel.

We would stay here again.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Nov 13-17, ,2006
Reviewer: Bruce B. Near Fresno, CA     January 06, 2007
My overall impression of this hotel was good for what it was. A budget hotel that was clean and functional. The parking was cramped, (leave the Expedition at home). On the day we arrived, the manager moved his vehicle so I could park. I thought that was nice. I left my Chevy Silverado in that space until we left. My Mother showed up for 2 days and the manager was able to give us an ajoining room with one king. It was huge! The hot water was good, we were upstairs so sounds did not bother us. Ice machine worked great. We brought 3 kids(5 people in all) and I felt a little cramped. This was because we brought ALL our own food for 5 days(75 meals!). We asked the manager to leave the AC on to keep our food from spoiling. I guess he did not get the word to staff because it was off every evening when we returned. 3 ice chests and a refrigerator create some heat. There was a microwave and cable TV and safe in the room all of which worked great. I thought the staff was great overall. They brought 5 extra towels every night for the pool/hot tub. Speaking of: that was great for kids to unwind and parents to work out the aches of sore feet/backs from long days. The chlorine was VERY strong in both. For $79 a night plus resort fee $10 and room tax %15, not a bad deal. I liked the short walk to Disneyland. Couldn't get any closer to the crosswalk. Lots of shops/resturaunts close by. Walk to Denny's, Mcdonalds, and a convenience store in less than 3 minutes. My mom used the Blue Shuttle from LAX for $20, not a bad deal to avoid traffic. The Manager called a red shuttle and we paid him $2. The driver made my mother pay the $2 again and the mgr refunded it and complained to the shuttle company. Overall, for the amount of people that stay there, it is a well maintained older hotel, much like a Motel 6. I would stay again.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   December 10 & 11, 2006
Reviewer: sjcivilady Lodi, Calif     December 18, 2006
This is a decent motel. They let us check in a couple hours early, which we appreciated. We had no problems with parking, although the uncovered spaces looked very narrow - the covered spaces were fine. Best feature is how close they are to the crosswalk into the park. Our showers were fine, although the towels are shameful - if I stay again, I'll bring my own bathtowel. We had a room with two queens and it was very roomy - would be good for a family with a porta-crib, strollers, etc. The pool and spa are being renovated, so they are out of commission. There is a fridge and microwave in the room, and the sink is outside the bathroom, which is very convenient. The breakfast is minimal: cereal, toast, danish, milk, juice, lemonade. Coffee was bad (came out of the machine foamy), so I waited til I got to the park - although they do have a little coffee maker in the room with decent coffee. I would stay again, if I could get a good rate, as the most important reason for booking this hotel was it's short walk to the park. For this trip, I booked through getawaytoday; it was $150 for two nights. Just a note, you have to turn in your parking permit when you check out, so looks like you can't leave your car there if you're going to the park that day.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   11/1/5-11/5/5
Reviewer: CindyBabs (cindybabs@hotmail.com) Spokane, WA     November 16, 2005
The location of the hotel is great -- being right across the street from the main entrance of Disneyland!! We got a great rate through Get Away Today for about $66/night for 2 Queen beds, but it was just an OK hotel. Clean but not very spacious, but OK when all you want to do is sleep there. Hot water pressure was good. We were disappointed with the pool since it was ICE cold and they told us they don't have a heater (unlike what their website says) and the hot tub felt great but the chlorine was so strong it turned swimsuits and jewelry different colors after only 10-15 minutes. We were very disappointed with their continental breakfast -- not worth going a second time. No fresh fruit or bagels. Only juice, cheerios or corn flakes, toast and day-old sweet rolls. It was nice to have Denny's, IHOP, Captain Kidd's and a McDs all within walking distance though. Coffeemaker in room but yet they didn't provide the coffee until you asked for it. No iron or ironing board in room either like advertised. Great tip: Order pizza from House of Pizza (special discount on back of room key) for excellent pizza. Special came with Spaghetti, garlic bread, fresh salad and pops as well!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Aug. 25, 29-30, 2005
Reviewer: oregontraveler Eugene, Oregon     September 12, 2005
As a solo traveler, all I needed was a place to sleep and take a shower. And something close to the park. This fit me to a T. I made reservations pretty early and got a rate of $70 a night for 29th-30th with an ent. card. I had a last minute additon on the 25th and paid $110. Taxes & fees added another $15 per night. I had no problems with the room, stayed in #111 on the first night, clean & spacious. The fridge kept things COLD. Checked into #202 for the last 2 nights. Right above the office, good bed but the fridge wasn't as cold. I didn't use the pool. It's small, only 5 ft. deep. Shower heads were great, decent pressure & about 6 ft. from the ground. No need to bend down to wash your hair. Breakfast was OK, something to get you going in the morning. Staff was friendly, I would stay here again.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   July 15-19 2005
Reviewer: disneyperson Sacramento, ca.     July 27, 2005
We booked this hotel for the 50th celebration because it was the least expensive rate at a Harbour hotel. We payed 84.00 a night. The location is perfect, directly across the street and right behind the Denny's. It is a very modest hotel. The room was pretty spartan but very clean and the beds were OK. There was plenty of hot water whenever we needed it.It had a large fridge and a nice microwave. The TV was small with no cable, this didn't matter to us because we never turned it on. There was no elevator so we had to schlep our luggage up a flight of stairs. This is a non smoking hotel which we greatly appreciated. The free breakfast was coffee,juice, milk, cereal,toast or pastries. I thought having cereal and milk was a good thing.
Overall we were happy until the last night. Our message light was blinking and after checking with the front desk as directed we were told there was no messages for us. Found out when we got home a rather urgent message had been left with the desk clerk and the clerk had even made special assurances that we'd get it. grrrr.
On checking out, the manager (who was rather cold and rude) tried to charge us 10.00 "resort fee". I had to laugh. This was a clean but very bare bones hotel. Certainly not a resort of any kind. Also this fee had never been mentioned to us. He waived it grudgingly.
I noticed that this hotel is asking over 200.00 a night for this August. Don't pay it!!!!!!!! Only stay here if you need a cheap room close to DL.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   6/15/05-6/21/05
Reviewer: karalea North Carolina     June 22, 2005
Recently spent 6 nights at the Del Sol Inn and found it to be what we expected for the money. The rooms were large and very clean with nice firm mattresses. The fridge was large and new as was the microwave. The location couldn't be beat. Very close to the cross walk. It isn't very far off Harbor behind Denny's.

Parking is a major issue here. The spots are very small. The first night we were there someone hit my rental car trying to back out of their spot. There is not enough spaces for all the rooms. We had to get a permit from the office to park in the Denny's lot overnight but were told we HAD to move it in the morning or it would be towed!!

This is not a motel for light sleepers. We were on the first floor and could hear our upstairs neighbors every move. Also, when they took a shower it sounded like it was in our room and woke us all up.

The pool and hot tub were nice but the pool is not heated. No iron and ironing board in the room either as advertised. Have to ask at the desk. Tv is very small with only a couple channels. The breakfast room is tiny. More than 6 people in there and no one can move.

The toilet wasn't flushed when we first checked in and when I flushed it, it overflowed. They sent a maid over within 5 minutes with a plunger and it seemed to work ok after that.

We might stay here again if we were on a tight budget just for the location but would have to give it some serious thought.
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   6/4/2005 - 6/11/2005
Reviewer: bigmac Spanish Fork, Utah     June 12, 2005
Limited parking at hotel but hotel was clean and staff was very friendly. We paid $49.95 per night and to be that close to Disneyland for under 50 bucks was awsome. Only takes 4 to 5 minutes to walk to front gate. Swimming pool was ice cold but it didnt bother the kids. However the Hot Tub after a long day at the park was very nice. We will come back to the Del Sol. We had a great week.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page