Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
*Comfort Inn Maingate* (Formerly Days Inn Park South) *Comfort Inn Maingate* (Formerly Days Inn Park South)
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
2171 South Harbor Blvd.
Anaheim, CA 92802
714-703-1220

The Comfort Inn Maingate is a newly renovated hotel located within walking distance to Disneyland, Disneys California Adventure and the Anaheim Convention Center. The hotel is two-story with a courtyard and offers 128 spacious guestrooms that are immaculately clean, comfortable and quiet. Each morning complimentary continental breakfast is served in a charming breakfast room. Outdoor heated pool and spa are open all year round. The professional staff is courteous, attentive and committed to making your visit to Anaheim a most memorable experience. The hotel is minutes to fine dining, shopping and entertainment.

Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 5 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 5 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   April 1-7 2005
Reviewer: momuvseven Nevada     April 28, 2006
We selected this hotel as part of a package from GetAwayToday travel. Great agency that has come through for us several times. We booked last minute since dear husband had just returned home from Iraq and no idea of course when he would actually return so had to wait on Uncle Sam before we could firm up travel plans. We paid about $800 and that included park tickets for a six night stay. So I figure the hotel was about $50 a night or less.
We were supposed to have the two bedroom two bath suite but apparently the plumbing created a problem and we were put into a two bedroom one bath suite. We were upstairs so very quiet and the room was immaculate with all new furnishings.
The biggest complaint we had was that we asked the manager to help us out with a roll away since the bigger room was not available. My husband called every single morning and we were never given the rollaway. We were willing to pay for it but it seems they have very few. Teen son had to sleep on the floor the entire stay. One room has two queens which made do for husband and I and the two youngest children. The second room is very small and has a set of bunks where two other children slept and teen son on the floor. Was nice to have a second television in there.
Room had mini fridge and microwave, not much room for storage though.
Small bathroom and seperate vanity in the hall. Would really have been better for our family to have had the second bathroom for the kids.
We used the ART shuttle in front of the Ramada without any problem.
Walking distance to Target and several resturants nearby.
Quest laundry was broken throughout our stay and we used a laundromat around the corner.
Breakfast is not the best, kind of crowded but was OK for us. We don't require a lot and the kids were happy. That is about all that matters to us. There is cereal, oatmeal, waffles, toast, pastries, some fruit and various juices, milk, coffee and tea. Area was clean and lady setting things out was helpful.
The swimming pool and hot tub were fine. We enjoyed our time using it. Met some very nice people poolside and they were enjoying their stay too.
Hotel is in a nice and safe area about one mile south of the Disneyland Resort.

I would stay again. In the end we got a credit for $20 for the second bathroom from GetAwayToday. Took about six months to get the credit and would much rather have had the second bathroom. Considering we got a vacation for less than $800 for a family of seven I can't really complain.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   06/07/05 - 06/14/05
Reviewer: csig2 California     July 22, 2005
After seeing all of the positive reviews I changed my reservations to the Comfort Inn for a 7-day stay. I guess my expectations were set too high.
Ill start with the breakfast. They advertise it on their sign, which is displayed on Harbor Blvd. Im not sure why they are so proud of it. It includes cheap Walmart pastries, soggy defrosted Eggo waffles, generic bread, and the really cheap generic Cherrios and corn flakes. The eating area has only 4 tables so people are continually fighting over a place to sit. Needless to say we drove through Burger King on the way to the park after the first morning.
They advertise walking distance and even call it Comfort Inn Main gate. Im guessing they call it Main gate because it may be the nearest Comfort Inn to the main gate but it isnt actually near it. I guess everyones definition of walking distance is different, but if you arent the type of person who likes to park at the far end of parking lot because you like walking than you certainly wouldnt want to walk from this motel to Disneyland.
They dont have free transportation; it cost $3.00 per adult (12 and over). If you have 3 people over 12 you might as well just park in the Mickey and Friends parking lot for the $10 daily fee and come and go, as you like.
The pool is very small, there were only 3 families in the pool and we had a hard time not bumping into each other. The water was nice and warm and clean.
The rooms were very noisy; we slept with the A/C on all night in an attempt to drown out the noises from above. We were unsuccessful and didnt get much sleep due to the noise.
We had a kids suite with two bathrooms, two TVs, one bunk bed in the kids room and 2 queens in the main room. They removed the window, door and A/C from the kids room so it was very dark and stuffy in there even though there was a small fan in the wall between the two rooms. The water in the showers inconsistently went from HOT to COLD so you had to be fast on your feet in order not to burn yourself.
The motel is quite important for us during our summer stay at Disneyland because we take advantage of the cooler early morning and evening hours at Disneyland and spend the hot hours (1:00 PM 5:00 PM) at the motel. The price for the kids suite was actually more than the one I cancelled. With all of the positive comments putting it at the top of the list, I guessed it would be worth the extra money. I guessed wrong. Ill pick another place next year.

 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/30/04 to 1/3/05
Reviewer: mary46 sacramento, ca     January 07, 2005
We stayed in the kids suite. It was nice that the kids had their own room. They did not have their own bathroom (although some kids suites do). The room was clean and spacious. We made our reservations through their web site and paid $79 a night. The front desk was always helpful and when we needed more towels one time at night, they were at our room within 5 minutes. Breakfast was your typical breakfast stuff - sweet rolls, cereal and waffles. The room for the breakfast was nice and they were always cleaning and making sure the food did not run out.
This hotel is NOT within walking distance for the average person who is about to spend hours in a park. You can pick up the shuttle just next door and the passes are good for the whole day.
We will use this hotel again but next time we will try and get the kids suite with the extra bathroom.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 18-24
Reviewer: kmw (kmwsown@yahoo.com) Seattle, Wa     October 25, 2003
We booked this hotel just looking for a basic, clean, and inexpensive place to stay. Not only was it the most inexpensive that I found (go to their website--comfortinnmaingate.com and when they ask you to get a rate quote hit "internet user" as the type of room--it was $30.00 off the rack rate), but it was very clean and the staff was outstanding. Whatever we requested was dealt with promptly and cheerfully. The cleaning staff is superb--she even arranged my children's stuffed animals on the beds each day. The continental breakfast was better than the one we payed double for at a hotel on the way down the coast. My kids had more choices than they needed to fill up before a day at the park. If you are looking for a clean, nice, basic hotel, this is a WONDERFUL option. We will stay again. Also note that the ART shuttle stops very close, and made getting my 3 year old to the park and back very convenient. If you are on a budget, don't pass this one up.
 
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   7/26/2002 to 7/27/2002
Reviewer: Jason Reynolds Las Vegas, NV     August 29, 2002
My wife and I stayed at this property expecting your typical hotel. We found it to be the most excellent place to stay. Everything is brand new in the rooms and they come with every amentity you need, iron w/board,blow-dryer,refer.,coffee. We stayed in the (1) King Bed room, it was as spacious as a DLR hotel.
 
28 out of 28 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page