Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Anaheim Marriott Suites
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
12015 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 6 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 6 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   April 13, 2012
Reviewer: bennette Southern California     April 26, 2012
I stayed in this property for one night when I was meeting friends for dinner and then brunch at the resort. I was not planning to initially stay the night and when I did, it was a little late to be searching out discount accommodations. I obtained a standard room for the Marriot suites for $70 plus tax and parking using Priceline's name your own price feature.

I can't quite figure out where this chain fits into the Marriot family and indeed it is not described with their other chains on their home site. It doesn't offer the full services of a regular Marriot, it's not quite as inexpensive as the Fairfield Suites, or as family friendly as the Residence Inn--all of which are represented near the Disneyland Resort.

At any rate, the reviews were decent and I was sure it could meet my needs. I put in a request for a high floor away from the elevator, not much expecting it would be honored as a Priceline guest.

The parking lot behind the hotel was a bit dismal. I made sure to park under a light and remove any valuables.

Entering the building from the back, the carpets were clean and cheerful and there were occasional pleasant seating areas in corners.

When I arrived, I was placed on a low floor, directly next to an elevator. When I asked if anything else was available, I was told by the single desk staff person on duty that they were full but I had been upgraded to an Executive king suite. She stated to me she had never had a complaint about noise from any of these rooms but given the prominent "trainee" tag on her name badge, I wasn't entirely reassured. I asked for parking ($8) and she handed me a fairly nondescript piece of paper. When queried, said it wasn't really necessary to go back out and place it on my car for the one night.

The bank of elevators was maddeningly slow so I grabbed a glass of wine from the small but clean bar with affable business patrons and bartender while I was waiting for the backlog of guests to clear. The wine choices were broader than expected. (I took the stairs back down the next morning since I was only on the fourth floor.)

The executive king/queen suites are only two to a floor, one at each end of the hallway. There is a little seating area and some nice window space coming out of the elevator but I was still expecting some noise in my suite, despite this buffer zone.

The suite was definitely a good size at 550 square feet; 120 square feet larger than a standard suite, with a large bedroom and very ample living space. I can't say I had a view of anything spectacular but some rooms face the parks and there are huge windows so you may have a great view.

There were two big TV's, one in each area. There was a very small coffee maker with the prefilled filters and a small fridge. The rooms do not contain microwaves but other reviews indicate they are available for $5 per day.

The bedroom is separated by French doors and each area has a full door to the restroom. The bedroom area's bathroom door, however, cuts off the sink from the other half of the suite when shut. It makes sense for times when a group is getting ready; the bathroom can be shared. But I'm not sure how well it works in the middle of the night if someone sleeping on the foldout couch needs to wash their hands?

The hotel lists soundproof windows as an amenity, which I've never seen on a Harbor property before. Sadly they were not entirely soundproof and I could hear limited street noise as well as the expected noise of people at the elevator and in the hallway. It was not excessive, however, and with earplugs, I had no problem falling asleep. (I'm a light sleeper.) I think the street noise would be less at the far end of the hall.

The bathroom amenities were adequate--Bath and Body Works toiletries and medium weight towels. The shower area was somewhat dark. The sink area was generous and the flooring tile and paint appeared fairly new (it really was pretty dark!).

The beds were okay--I don't think this was the typical Marriott Revive bedding found at the full Marriotts, the mattress wasn't as comfortable. The sheets and such were fine.

In the morning, the lone trainee was still the only person at the desk but she was efficient. I had (or tried to have) tea in the minimal Starbuck's in the lobby. The staff were cheerful and efficient, providing me with a free beverage when they didn't have my first choice.

I didn't eat breakfast in the small restaurant but many people seemed to have received vouchers as part of a Getaway Today package and what I saw looked adequate, with some hot and cold items. Others were lounging in the small but pleasant common area.

They no longer offer a free shuttle but like some other nearby properties, now offer a direct hotel shuttle for a per-day cost equivalent to ART.

When I left the parking lot, there was no mechanism whatsoever in place to ensure I'd paid, making me wonder if it's enforced?

I'm still not sure what the planned market for this hotel is but if you can get a good rate and like a lot of space, this might work for you. I wouldn't seek it out again but it was okay.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 27-31, 2009
Reviewer: wwomant Sacramento, California     January 10, 2010
This was a nice hotel, overall we were very happy with it. I only had 2 minor complaints about the room. 1) The bedroom was only separated from the living room area by glass french doors and windows with semi sheer curtains. I would have preferred solid walls, or at least non-sheer curtains. 2) There was a $5 daily charge if you would like a microwave, which I thought was unusual for a suite hotel. Most suite hotels I have stayed at come standard with a microwave. Other than those fairly minor things everything was perfect.

I personally did not like staying this far from the parks and relying on ART for transportation and so will not stay there again, but that is not a reflection of the service or quality of the hotel.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 21 - 22, 2009
Reviewer: Sansarc Pacific Palisades, California     December 24, 2009
We spent one night at this hotel and had a great time here. Our room was on the third floor with two double beds and a living room area with a pull-out couch, desk, mini-refrigerator, etc. The room was ready when we checked in at 10:00 a.m.! We had requested an early check-in, but honestly did not expect to receive it. We were pleased that the room was actually ready! Parking was $12 overnight. Our family visited us on 12/21/09 and were allowed to park for free in the hotel's parking lot as long as they did not spend the night. This worked out great, as my husband acted as shuttle driver for all of us that day. The hotel has a Starbucks in the lobby, which was convenient for all of us. We were also given one buffet breakfast pass because my husband is a Marriott rewards member. The breakfast was fantastic -- eggs, waffles, pancakes, sausages, bacon, bagels, fruit, yogurt. They allowed me to bring back a plate to our room because our son was sick on our second day -- they told me to take whatever I wanted. I thought that was really nice of them, too. The room was clean, the bathroom, too. Plus there were 6 bath towels in the bathroom, which was great. It seems that hotels always provide the minimum number for each room, so it was really nice to have some extra towels. The air conditioner worked well. The television did not have a huge selection of channels, but my son mainly watched the Disney channel anyway. Internet access was easy and reliable -- a huge plus for my husband who worked all day in the room. He also said it was quiet during the day and that he was not disturbed by any noise from the nearby rooms. The beds were comfortable, but small. In retrospect, I wish I had slept on the pull-out couch, because it was a tight "squeeze" for my husband and I to share a double-bed. Our son is 13 and wasn't feeling well (he had bronchitis), so we let him sleep alone in the other bed. Next time, I'd request two queen size beds. These definitely were not queen-size beds. On Tuesday morning, we did not hear any sounds from guests in the hallway or even in the adjoining rooms -- so that was nice. We used the automatic check-out and later, the Marriott sent us an electronic receipt to our email address. We would definitely stay here again. Our rate was $107 during Christmas week. This was one of the best rates we found online for a neighboring hotel! We were happy here.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 17 and 18 2009
Reviewer: DisneylandDad Reno, Nevada     July 23, 2009
We stayed at this all suite property after winning a bid on Priceline of $46 a night. We arrived very early on the morning of the 17th maybe 9:30am or so to pre-checkin and pickup a stroller we had arranged from travelbabees.com.

Much to my surprise our standard king suite was ready and we were allowed to checkin. Oscar the bellman was awesome and very funny, he helped us to our room which was good as when we arrived it had a do not disturb sign on the door. Oscar got on his radio and talked to the front desk it took a couple minutes to figure it out, then we moved down the hall to a king executive suite (nice).

It was a ninth floor room facing DL with a large picture window that we were able to watch the fireworks from that night. The king sized bed was very comfortable, so much so that my wife had to wake me the next morning, and this is from a person who does not sleep well away from his own bed usually.

The pool area was nice although not really anything special for kids, and actually had gas fireplaces going at night to sit by, which was nice after getting out of the pool. We did not eat in the restaurant but did get deserts the first night to have while watching the FW, the apple cobbler was very good and the cheesecake was pretty good also. There is also a Starbucks in the lobby.

The only bad thing that happened was when we went to checkout on Sunday, the valet desk had lost/misplaced our keys for a couple hours. It was rather funny to me, my wife not so much.The staff handled it very well, mistakes happen, I even made one once as I am sure we all have.

The hotel did not offer a shuttle to DL but is right on the ART loop. They do charge $12 to park or $18 for valet sevice, which in our case they very happily waived based on our little snafu.

All in all our stay was great and I would not hesitate to stay there again in the future. I gave the property 4 planets but really would call it 3.5 if that was an option, very nice just not quite a full 4 planet/star property.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   6/21-25/05
Reviewer: stut15 Illinois     July 10, 2005
A nice hotel, very clean and comfortable. The room decor was great, but the overall lighting was poor. The tram service was a hassle and we ended up taking a taxi for two of the days (out of three) that we went to the park. At night they had charter buses and we did not have to wait very long even though there was a long line. It was the second stop after departing the park and had one stop after the hotel pick-up. The shuttle costs $3.00 per person for one day. The pool was great and big, and the hot tub was also nice.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   5/18/03-5/22/03
Reviewer: jo*nm New Mexico     May 27, 2003
Very nice, clean, new hotel (opened 11/02). We stayed in a king suite which has a seperate living area and rather large bathroom. The bed had a pillow top mattress pad, duvet comforter and LOTS of pillows...very comfortable! Room is equiped with a mini fridge. You must request coffee maker and microwave (subject to availability) but there is no extra charge. We had to call twice to get a coffee maker and three times for the microwave, which hadn't been cleaned. Maid service supplies daily coffee service once you have the coffeemaker in your room. There are two washers ($1.25/load) and two dryers ($.75/load) for the entire hotel. A complimentary Disney shuttle service runs every 30 minutes from 1/2 hour before park opens to 50 minutes following closing. It also services the Hyatt (first stop) and Homewood Suites (second stop) which are right next door to this property (last stop). Because Marriott is the final stop before heading to Disneyland we had to stand once and were lucky just to have a ride that day as several families had to wait for the next bus. If you're traveling during busy season you might want to ask about the bus situation...maybe they run more buses. We didn't eat at the hotel beacuse it was expensive and we had been told by other guests that it wasn't very good. Several restaurants in the parking area including Outback, Red Robin and a couple others I can't remember at the moment. Service and food were excellent at the Outback. Swimming pool and hot tub were okay, rather cold, nothing special. The hotel staff was very friendly. We paid $50/night (priceline - 4 star hotel) and feel we got a HECK of a deal!
 
28 out of 28 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page