Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Rancho del Zocalo
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Rancho del Zocalo offers Mexican dishes and grilled chicken and shrimp.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 33 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   11-7-10
Reviewer: nautiMATT San Diego, CA     November 11, 2010
We all know one gets raked over the coals with mind-boggling high prices at Disneyland eateries. Where else can you get a slice of pizza that if you bought the whole pie it would cost you nearly $60.00?

Unlike several years ago, there IS something you can do to voice your discontent: Exit the park and visit one of many comparatively reasonable-priced restaurants in Downtown Disney.

But if you want the Disney atmosphere while you refuel, the Rancho is one spot where the food bill goes down a little easier. The overall Ameri-Mexican food is adequately tasty and if you pick a burrito offering, be prepared to be either fully stuffed or share the extras.

I am a creature of habit. I order the same item every time: The Chicken Sonora Burrito that comes with a healthy-sized sides of rice, beans, salsa, real guacamole and sour cream. Jeesh, that thing is good! And the burrito assembly cast members are very accommodating. They fulfill my request for extra sauce and cheese every time with a smile.

Since Rancho was first listed listed in this forum, Grilled Fish Tacos have been added to the menu. A companion of mine placed an order and shared a bite with me. We were both shocked at how wonderful they were. Perfectly grilled, the fillets sported a pan blackened-style crust of spices that bursted off the tongue. If you are shy of spice or heat (pitty you), stay away! These bold tacos were the shocking surprise of the day coming from the Park's usual vanilla please-the-masses taste.

I must say that after all these years and Park visits, the Rancho is a more recent discovery. Heck, I live in San Diego where there is nearly a taco shop on every corner. Why again have Mexican food at Disneyland?

The Park's best value is the answer.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 10, 2010
Reviewer: Cyberkang Canby, Oregon     July 20, 2010
I liked Rancho Del Zocalo's food - it was nice and just what was expected - but it was their service and attentiveness that won them the 5 planet review.

We arrived at Disney at 5PM on Saturday the 10th for our first day in the park - for my wife and I it was our first time in 20+ years, for our two youngest it was their first time ever - only our 17-year old daughter had been to Disneyland recently. So we were kind of wandering aimlessly and came across Rancho Del Zocalo quite by accident. Having read about it in the guides, I made a command decision to give it a try.

We faced a couple obstacles to this - my 17 year old daughter is lactose intolerant, so cheese and sour cream are out. And my 10-year old daughter had spent the day in the car telling us how she wanted soup for dinner, so I was telling her that we could have mexican food tonight and maybe soup for one of the other days, when one of the attendants in the restaurant recommended that if it was soup she's after, they have soup on the menu - chicken tortilla soup! So Libby had that, and ate the heck out of it... she thought it was terrific. Maddie (the lactose intolerant one) asked for her enchiladas w/o cheese or sour cream, which touched off a discussion among the cooks and servers as to whether the enchilada sauce was milk-free. Maddie was about to tell them that a little milk was OK when the cooks just went ahead and (without being asked to) make a new batch of sauce just for her, just to be sure. That, my friends, is personal service.

I really liked how they cook the food right there where you can see it - steaks on the griddle cooking, sliced and put on your plate. The food was fresh and tasty and more than filling. As usual, I had to help my kids finish theirs.

Overall, it was a terrific way to catch our breath on our first night in the park! Highly recommended.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   July 3, 2010
Reviewer: Goosegirl Grass Valley, CA     July 08, 2010
We ate dinner at Rancho del Zocalo on Saturday evening. I LOVE Mexican food and had been wanting to eat at this restaurant for quite some time because it is so pretty.
I chose the enchiladas, and while the portion was quite large, the food was almost flavorless. This did not taste like real Mexican food to me. It was more like the frozen enchiladas from the grocery store. I also got the bag of chips and salsa. The chips were pretty good but the salsa was not good. I usually buy my salsa fairly mild, but this was bland even for me.
My husband ordered the Carne Asada and again, it was a generous portion, but not very flavorful. My older daughter ordered the tortilla soup and it was also boring but it was also a small portion. Our 5 year old ordered the chicken taco child meal and only ate the rice and the apple sauce. My older daughter ate the rest of her chicken tacos because she was hungry but said it was not great either.

Maybe we are just spoiled with really great Mexican food where we live so we were very unimpressed with the flavor of the food from Rancho del Zocalo. The service was friendly and the cashier reminded me that drink refills were free. And the restaurant is really beautiful and well laid out. Price was reasonable for the portion size. We just did not love the food.
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   3/14/2010
Reviewer: Sansarc Pacific Palisades, California     March 15, 2010
We loved this place. This was our second time having lunch here (the first time being at least 5 years ago.) It's a beautiful restaurant -- although actually, it's a cafeteria. But it looks and feels like a restaurant inside. The Spanish style decor is beautiful. There is lots of indoor and outdoor seating. A CM was standing just inside the entrance explaining which area of the cafeteria was for burritos/tacos, which for enchiladas. The staff was very helpful when we placed our orders, very courteous. I agree with one of the previous posts, though -- some patrons were overly picky and demanding about their food, wanting substitutions, extra cheese, extra guacamole -- which held up the line. But the food itself was very good. My son and I both ordered the red chile enchiladas and enjoyed them much more than anything we've ever had at a fast-food type place in the park. We loved the colorful plates, too -- and the guacamole, sour cream, the lettuce, etc. It made it feel as if we were in a counter-style restaurant instead of a cafeteria. Would definitely go back.

Another plus was that there are restrooms in the Rancho del Zocalo complex -- a nice advantage when searching for a place to wash your hands before lunch, etc.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   December 27
Reviewer: wwomant Sacramento, California     January 10, 2010
The lines moved fairly quickly, and the service was friendly and good. The food was okay but not great, the enchilada I ordered tasted a little rubbery, like maybe it was reheated. I do like the location and atmosphere there.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   10+16 Apr 09
Reviewer: abfamily Alberta Canada     April 23, 2009
This was our 1st dining experience of our trip. We loved it so much we went a 2nd time. The food was excellent and the lines moved smoothly. The only complaint I'd have would be with the patrons. Both times we were stuck behind people who had to have their food "just right" (They were trying to scam more cheese, no beans, extra enchiladas). The staff must go through it this often because they became noticeably less friendly at that point. After we got seated everything was wonderful. The staff both times we were there were wonderful to us. We found the prices reasonable for the food we got. Both visits were for supper so we wanted the bigger meal.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   1-16-2009
Reviewer: Wildwill Los Angeles, CA     January 16, 2009
I think that the quantity of food that you get here is actually a pretty good value for the money. The Red Chile Enchiladas comes with 4 enchiladas, rice, beans, and ensalada + guacamole. This is a great value for about $10.

The chicken tacos are equally good in terms of quantity, you may wish to order them without onions and peppers if they bother you. THis dish also comes with rice, beans, ensalada and guacamole.

Drinks are as usual overpriced within the park. With an annual pass discount, it makes it a bit more palatable. Hot sauce is available outside on the patio.

THe downsides are the heavy plates and long lines during peak periods. Some of the outdoor tables can be especially dark at night.

 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   November 8, 2007
Reviewer: Mommy Mermaid Sacramento, CA     January 05, 2008
My DH really didn't want to eat here because we had experienced very poor quality in the food here in the past. However because we were celebrating my Bday for the trip I got to choose, we were so glad we gave this place another chance! The menu was completely different. We had the Tostada Salad and Red Enchilada Platter off the dinner menu, the portions were huge and the food was to die for even if it was a bit spicy. Besides that another bonus was that we ate outside on the patio and there weren't many other people there. We had a little corner of peace and quiet all to ourselves, it really helped my kids to settle down and eat. We will definately eat here again on future visits.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   5-23-07
Reviewer: nmjohnston874 (johnstong874@yahoo.com) Farmington, NM     May 26, 2007
Wife and daughter had the Red Chile Enchiladas, son and I had the Sonora Burritos. The portions were huge! We had no real criticism of the food, its just that is not like the New Mexican food we are used to where we have a choice of green or red chile sauce. Since green chiles are only grown in southern New Mexico and Arizona, that is to be expected.

Overall, the food was good despite the other reviews we have seen.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   April 2, 2007
Reviewer: Moonchilde Los Angeles, CA     April 05, 2007
I had read some favorable reviews of this place, so when I was desperate for a decent sit-down meal at dinner, I passed up the Plaza Inn's fried chicken for the Zocalo. Bad move.

Just by looking at the written menu, without being able to see what the food looked like on entry, I opted for the chicken tostada. Once I got to the registers and could see what others had ordered, I realized I should have gone for the enchilada plate, which looked good. My tostada was not good. It was "okay", but even though I picked most of the chunks of uber-dry, chili sauce-infused chicken out of it, I still had gross heartburn for many hours afterwards. Ugh! I did not have dessert, but the flan other diners had looked good. For my drink I opted for a 20 oz bottle of Coke. They *only* had lime Coke, not plain!

Service: n/a
Price: Not bad
Food: Tostada = don't
Atmosphere: Reasonable, once you are sitting outside.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page