Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Rancho del Zocalo
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Rancho del Zocalo offers Mexican dishes and grilled chicken and shrimp.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 33 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   December 10th, 2005
Reviewer: angelicmano (manoangelic@msn.com) Albuquerque, NM     January 05, 2007
Our food was decent. Not great. Very small portions.
It was very busy but the line went pretty smoothly.
We saved money by only getting one drink and just sharing since there was free refills.
When we got to the checkout/cashier there were some guests apparently couldn't wait to eat so they ate in the line. They were eating at full speed and just grossed me out due to the spillage of food coming out of thier mouths.
The cashier didn't charge for my food and only charged for my wife's. I was about to tell the cast member but he was is in a rush to get us out of there.
Overall food was ok.
I will not eat there again.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   October 2005
Reviewer: I Heart Disneyland!     March 24, 2006
We have become increasingly dissatisfied by this place. When it was Casa Mexicana, we really liked it. The last 2 trips (May and October 2005) we have decided we probably won't return. There's plenty of food, but, the beans are dry, the rice doesn't have much flavor. We have been disappointed and we will be going elsewhere on our next trip. :(
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   Saturday, February 4, 2006, 6:00 PM
Reviewer: Andrew Palo Alto, CA     February 06, 2006
What we had: Carne Asada and Cheese Enchilada platter (Jen), Monterey Chicken Tacos (me)

The food at Zocalo has gone pretty steadily downhill from a promising start when it opened in place of the late, lamented Casa Mexicana several years ago. The menu has changed a few times, never for the better, and at the moment has only about six choices. Except for one small piece, the grilled beef in Jen's Carne Asada was burned and charred beyond recognition; when she tried to eat it, she ended up choking on the gristle. My chicken soft tacos were all right, but there was very little chicken and the seasoning was quite bland. Adding a copious amount of Ortega Hot Sauce helped but tended to drown whatever flavor the dish had. The rice and beans were acceptable if not stellar. The guacamole did appear to be fresh.

Service: Not really applicable, as this is a "scramble service" restaurant, where guests go to various stations to order and pick up their items. The design of this restaurant has never lent itself to easy navigation, and the lack of clear signage or direction in which of the two main stations has which of the dishes or where to queue for the stations just leads to confused knots of people pushing their way to the counters. The bussers are very quick to clear and clean tables in the outdoor eating area, which is very much appreciated.

Would we go back: Sadly, probably not; at least not until they change the menu again.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 2004
Reviewer: susanp Alameda, CA     October 19, 2005
OK, maybe not the best Mexican restaurant you've been to, maybe not even one of the 10 best. But c'mon folks, this is Disneyland we're talking about!

This is our family's (two 40ish parents, 13 and 9 year old kids) favorite Disney restaurant. Big portions, enough tables, and more than passable food. Our semi-picky, 1 vegetarian, one bland food lover, one spicy food lover, one low-carb dieter gang can always find something for everyone here.

We always spend 3 days/nights at the parks on our visits, and if we could find two other dinner spots this solid, we'd be delighted.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   July 2005
Reviewer: PurpleSterling Quartz Hill, California     July 27, 2005
My son and I recently ate lunch at Rancho del Zocalo. Even though my 12 year old son was "starving", after two or three bites of his chicken and shrimp plate, he refused to eat anymore. The sauces were too spicy and runny, so everything seemed to run together. I had ordered the same thing and when I tried to eat my lunch I was disapointed, too. The chicken was rubbery, the corn cake was dry, and the rice was gooey. In the end, we threw away nearly untouched plates and left hungry and irritable. It is the first place in the Disneyland Resort area that we have been even remotely disapointed in the food quality, preparation, and price.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 9, 2005
Reviewer: Maus Yorba Linda, Calif.     May 10, 2005
This is our first visit to Rancho del Zocalo since the change in menu offerings. We liked it before but now--wow! We had the grilled chicken and shrimp combination. (The price was 14.99 today.) Included was 1/4 chicken, 5 shrimp, grilled pinneaple, mashed potatoes or mexican rice, corn and black bean salad and a small scoop of sweet corn cake. And it was all delicious! The chicken was moist and flavorful. Daughter didn't notice until we got the registers that they had given her dark meat so she went back and they exchanged it without a fuss--be sure you ask if you're particular about white or dark. The salad was wonderfully spicy. The rice was a bit dry but was tasty due to the garlic sauce on the shrimp, but the potatoes were creamy and good. The pineapple was a nice touch and the corn cake a great ending. At 11:30 a.m. this restaurant was very quiet--in my opinion a hidden gem!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   4-9-05
Reviewer: ferliemom one hour north of Disneyland!     April 15, 2005
I had always considered RdZ to be a decent, but definitely mediocre restaurant, until my last visit. They have two lines: one is for tacos, burritos, etc. The other is for the Grill. Since this Grill line was shorter, we got in it! :) My friend and I both ate grilled chicken with shrimp, garlic sauce, black bean salad, corn pudding, grilled pineapple and chili-cheddar mashed potatoes!!!!!! Yum! This was really great food (for Dland) and I will go back for it everytime! I highly recommend it! This particular dish was $13.99, so not exactly cheap, but the best meal I've ever had at DLR.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 26, 2004
Reviewer: downeyjrs Seattle, WA     January 07, 2005
I used to love the BBQ at Thunder Mtn BBQ. When I heard that D/L moved the BBQ menu over to Zocalo I was very excited. So we headed over and I was all ready for some Baby Back Ribs. To my chagrin, the BBQ menu had been recently removed and is no longer available in the park. So, I ended up having a giant beef burito. I think I paid about $10 for it plus a soda. This burito was so large, I could hardly finish it. It was also very delicious. My parents also ate here and enjoyed it too. We will definately eat here again.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Sat. Dec. 4, 2004
Reviewer: potzbie Rosemead, CA     December 12, 2004
News flash! They have changed the NAME of the Zocalo, and changed the MENU, too!
I do not remember the new name, but it is still a Spanish name, like "casa" something.
It must be very new because the printed map you get at the entrance gate does not reflect the new name, and the Disneyland web site still shows the old name and old menu description.
Food? There are still two "kinds" that are split into two lines, just like before, and i went for the (left side, the old BBQ side) new "shrimp" combo.--Which was very good.--Choice of rice or mashed potato, and I had the rice with a side of mashed potato, just to sample an extra item.
Beverages still the same choices.
I did not grab a dessert this time, so I cannot comment if the desserts have changed.
But alas! -- There is no more BBQ chicken and no more St. Louis ribs and no more tri-tip.
Dang!
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   11/9/04
Reviewer: sleepyjeff Portland, Oregon     November 12, 2004
Had lunch here on a nice quiet off season Tuesday. One of the best meals I have ever had at Disneyland. My wife and I both had the Big Nacho which had just about everything except the kitchen sink on it. My son had a kids Burrito which he barely touched so I ate it....it was pretty good too(my son was just full from too many snacks).

The atmosphere here is Old Californian and it is done quite well. We felt just as removed from the world here as we feel when eating at the Blue Bayou.

The service here was head and shoulders above any cafeteria service restuarant I have ever been to. Friendly Fast and Competant.

Our bill came to just over $23.00. A very similar meal we had at our hotel cost us nearly $40.00 without the great service and atmosphere.

Will most certainly eat here again.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page