Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Rancho del Zocalo
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Rancho del Zocalo offers Mexican dishes and grilled chicken and shrimp.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 33 ( Displaying Reviews: 21 - 30 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   2004 July
Reviewer: potzbie (gebegb@earthlink.net) Rosemead, CA     November 04, 2004
The food choices are superior in that there is no restaurant in DL where you can get St. Louis BBQ ribs and BBQ tri-tip and BBQ chicken on the same plate. So it beats the selection of the Carnation Cafe and Plaza Inn and even the Bengal Barbeque, in that regard.
But the technique I want to share that makes the Zocalo unbeatable is that, on Saturday nights, when the Big Bands are playing jazz in the Plaza Gardens Stage, you can take your plate, walk thru the connecting walkway with your plate of ribs and goodies, and sit and enjoy the Swing and Boogie while eating your meal "al fresco".
I consider Zacalo the official eatery of the Plaza Gardens Stage, it is so convenient. And sneaky!--No one knows that passageway connects the Plaza Gardens Stage and the Rancho del Zocalo Restaurant. Imagine! -- Sit-down quality food, a mere 30-second walk from live Big Band Swing. I tell you, my Saturday nights combine the best food of the DL park and the best music of DL park!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 29, 2004
Reviewer: sdfilmcritic Escondido, California     August 31, 2004
My mother and I had gone here for lunch based on a recommendation a relative of ours gave us. The relative told us they thought it was one of the best deals in the park for a complete and filling meal. With an AP discount of ten percent the cost for two meals and one soda came to about $19.50. I had ordered the Burrito Grande with steak meat (you have a choice of chicken or steak) and my mom ordered the Fish Tacos (I believe the meal includes two tacos). Both meals were served with chips and rice. I was disappointed having to pay an extra dollar for freshly made salsa to go with my burrito, but there are jars of Ortego salsa for customers to use if they don't want to pay the extra money. The burrito was extremely good and filling, of course. As I had said before, the salsa I had gotten on the side was very fresh and tasty, but it wasn't very spicy, I would rate it around a mild to medium salsa. My mom really enjoyed the fish tacos saying they were excellent. I would definitely go back there again to try the other Mexican dishes. And there's even a whole entire barbecue menu, also!! I saw someone walking to a table with plate of barbecue food and it looked really appetizing. I had eaten at noon on a Sunday and it was that crowded at the time I visited.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   7/23/04
Reviewer: Pookie Kent, Washington     July 28, 2004
I was the only person in our party to try this place and I wasn't impressed with what I had. I ordered the Taco Salad for $9.99 for lunch. Pretty steap for what you got. Add another $2.39 for a soda. The Taco Salad was a flour tortilla bowl with shredded lettuce, cheese, refried beans, and sour cream. There wasn't much taste to the salad and the flour shell was stale. I had great service ordering my food but there was only two cashiers and it took forever to pay. Lots of seating available. If your not looking for it I'm not sure if you would even know there was a restaurant there.

The BBQ side smelled really good. I should have had that instead.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 31, 2003
Reviewer: Parizienne Rancho Cucamonga, California     January 01, 2004
Yummy! We tried this place and were very pleased. Pricing was better than you might expect. I had the barbecue combination platter which included chicken ( portion of breast and wing), pork ribs, cole slaw, baked beans and a corn muffin. All were scrumptious. The slaw was nice - not too saucy or too sweet. Muffin was a tad dry, but a nice side to the beans. Ribs were good eatin'as was the chicken. At $11.95, it was a fair deal. My husband had the tri tip and enjoyed that. Sides were the same. Our kids had the chicken nuggets mousekemeal. The nuggets weren't too great- overdone and dry. We had cherry cheesecake and caramel flan for dessert. Both were top notch. I'm picky about flan, too. We were seated outdoors, but the gas patio heaters kept us nice and toasty. The park was crazy busy for New Year's eve, but we had no problems finding a table and relaxing amid the bustle.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   oct 12-17, 2003
Reviewer: curtisnore Salem, Oregon     October 30, 2003
On the last day in Disneyland, we eat in the park. From experince eating in the park, I now choose this great place everytime while my wife eats elsewhere. The kids eat with me because of the Mouse meals even though I try to direct them to the wide offering of food here at Rancho. The trick is to send the kids ahead to the Bar-B-Q line to get their meals while adults wait in line for their choices. I order the steak Nachos, fresh toppings on hot chips and meat with the usual. We are greeted by a greeter who directs traffic to choices and creates short lines. Restroom for washing hands is attached so easy family visit. The meals are dished up as your order or once you become accustomed to the routine, scan what is already sitting and hopefully hot. Wide area of seating and has never been crowded. Children like the birds and view into Frontierland. shade or fans, heaters or breeze, easy to get comfortable. I have eaten at four other Disneyland park cafes/resturants and this is still my favorite. Inxpensive, fresh food as can be for quick meals in a entertainment venue, quiet, and relaxing makes this the place to visit on the last day or only day.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 26, 2003
Reviewer: kowen (kowen@velocitus.net) Hagerman, Idaho     March 31, 2003
I highly recommend this restaraunt. We ate here again this year because we enjoyed it so much last year. The special was cheese enchiladas and tacos with rice and beans. These were very good, with large portions. My husband had the taco salad which is huge and was delicious as well. You can also get BBQ type foods. My son had the BBQ chicken sandwich with fries and coleslaw. Again, large portions and good food. Drinks are very expensive as everywhere in the park - over $2 for a med soda. We just bring our water bottles and refill them and sometimes share a soda or 2 for the four of us.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/10/02
Reviewer: roberts1398 Sacramento, CA     December 12, 2002
YUMMY! I had the chicken nachos, which were HUGE and delicious. Fresh tasty ingredients. My eldest son had the bean burrito kids meal, which he loved. My youngest had the chicken nuggets from the BBQ side, which were standard fare.

Spendy, like all of the DLR restaurants. I think it was approximately $23 for the above 3 meals.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   3 August 2002
Reviewer: CarlieB New Zealand     September 19, 2002
My boyfriend and I were great fans of the Big Thunder BBQ, so we were sorry to hear it had gone. We decided to check out its replacement, the Rancho del Zocalo, and were pleasantly surprised. We shared the large platter which comes with ribs, a turkey leg, corn, beans and a coleslaw. It fed both of us adequately, and was a nice change from the burgers we'd been eating fairly regularly. The restaurant was busy, but we found a table quickly and felt that the service was okay.

My ratings for the Rancho del Zocalo:
Service: Polite, but a little slow. Not bad.
Food: Good. A nice change from the usual burgers and fries.
Price; Okay. A little pricey (from memory we paid $14).
Atmosphere: Nice. Not quite the same as the Big Thunder BBQ, but okay.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   February 9-15, 2002
Reviewer: tlovesdis Antioch, CA     August 28, 2002
My husband and I really enjoyed our meal here. We both ordered the steak tostada salad. It was very big and very tasty. We would definately eat there again! The atmosphere is great and we got there right as the sun was going down. I felt like we were in New Mexico!
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   8/16/02
Reviewer: riksanders69 Missoula, MT.     August 19, 2002
I'd read mixed reviews about this place, but since I love both Mexican food as well as barbecue I had to try it. Well, the restaurant's theme fit right into Frontierland, which I liked, from the ordering area, to the actual inside/outside dining area it was like old Mexico. And even though I was in the middle of a bustling amusement park, I felt really set back away from all the hub-bub. The food seemed like it was pre-made and sat out under warming lamps which don't really keep it warm. The portions were big and pretty tasty for the price. And because of it's large size, you can usually find seating anytime.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page