Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
 Main Directory: 
 
 
E-mail a Friend About Rancho del Zocalo!
 
Want to tell someone about Rancho del Zocalo? Just enter the information requested below and click on E-mail a Friend. *Neither your e-mail address nor theirs will be recorded, so you don't have to worry about these addresses being used for anything other than sending this message.

A template of the message sent is displayed below the mailing form.

 
Name of recipient: 
*E-mail of recipient: 
Your name: 
*Your e-mail address: 
Add a personal note? 
Add sample reviews? yes   no
Message Template
Hi RECIPIENT_NAME,

SENDER_NAME visited www.mouseplanet.com today, and thought the following item might be of interest to you.

Reviewer Comments For Click for more reviews!
Rancho del Zocalo
Description:
Rancho del Zocalo offers Mexican dishes and grilled chicken and shrimp.
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 33 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   11-7-10
Reviewer: nautiMATT San Diego, CA     November 11, 2010
We all know one gets raked over the coals with mind-boggling high prices at Disneyland eateries. Where else can you get a slice of pizza that if you bought the whole pie it would cost you nearly $60.00?

Unlike several years ago, there IS something you can do to voice your discontent: Exit the park and visit one of many comparatively reasonable-priced restaurants in Downtown Disney.

But if you want the Disney atmosphere while you refuel, the Rancho is one spot where the food bill goes down a little easier. The overall Ameri-Mexican food is adequately tasty and if you pick a burrito offering, be prepared to be either fully stuffed or share the extras.

I am a creature of habit. I order the same item every time: The Chicken Sonora Burrito that comes with a healthy-sized sides of rice, beans, salsa, real guacamole and sour cream. Jeesh, that thing is good! And the burrito assembly cast members are very accommodating. They fulfill my request for extra sauce and cheese every time with a smile.

Since Rancho was first listed listed in this forum, Grilled Fish Tacos have been added to the menu. A companion of mine placed an order and shared a bite with me. We were both shocked at how wonderful they were. Perfectly grilled, the fillets sported a pan blackened-style crust of spices that bursted off the tongue. If you are shy of spice or heat (pitty you), stay away! These bold tacos were the shocking surprise of the day coming from the Park's usual vanilla please-the-masses taste.

I must say that after all these years and Park visits, the Rancho is a more recent discovery. Heck, I live in San Diego where there is nearly a taco shop on every corner. Why again have Mexican food at Disneyland?

The Park's best value is the answer.
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 10, 2010
Reviewer: Cyberkang Canby, Oregon     July 20, 2010
I liked Rancho Del Zocalo's food - it was nice and just what was expected - but it was their service and attentiveness that won them the 5 planet review.

We arrived at Disney at 5PM on Saturday the 10th for our first day in the park - for my wife and I it was our first time in 20+ years, for our two youngest it was their first time ever - only our 17-year old daughter had been to Disneyland recently. So we were kind of wandering aimlessly and came across Rancho Del Zocalo quite by accident. Having read about it in the guides, I made a command decision to give it a try.

We faced a couple obstacles to this - my 17 year old daughter is lactose intolerant, so cheese and sour cream are out. And my 10-year old daughter had spent the day in the car telling us how she wanted soup for dinner, so I was telling her that we could have mexican food tonight and maybe soup for one of the other days, when one of the attendants in the restaurant recommended that if it was soup she's after, they have soup on the menu - chicken tortilla soup! So Libby had that, and ate the heck out of it... she thought it was terrific. Maddie (the lactose intolerant one) asked for her enchiladas w/o cheese or sour cream, which touched off a discussion among the cooks and servers as to whether the enchilada sauce was milk-free. Maddie was about to tell them that a little milk was OK when the cooks just went ahead and (without being asked to) make a new batch of sauce just for her, just to be sure. That, my friends, is personal service.

I really liked how they cook the food right there where you can see it - steaks on the griddle cooking, sliced and put on your plate. The food was fresh and tasty and more than filling. As usual, I had to help my kids finish theirs.

Overall, it was a terrific way to catch our breath on our first night in the park! Highly recommended.