Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Blue Bayou
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
The Pirates Restaurant
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 77 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 25, 2011
Reviewer: B Downey 2 Tacoma, WA     July 15, 2011
One of my all time favorite places to eat. Started out with a busy day at the park, but luckily we had made reservations for dinner. (Our daughter's 18th birthday dinner) Very short wait and were seated quite promtly. Excellent service as always. The three of us all had the fillet, which was deliciously tender. Excellent taste. We were also delightfully surprised by the side of "cajun" scalloped potatos. Really great taste, not too spicy. To top it off, my daughter got a nice little rendition of Happy Birthday sung to her. (Which was unpromted, she happened to be wearing her birthday pin from City Hall) Will continue to eat here each time we visit.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   06/17/2010
Reviewer: comanchepilot Southern Cal resident     June 17, 2010
Ok, I think I was served my worst meal ever at this restaurant. While theme park food can leave a lot to be desired, and I've eaten here before, this one was horrible. $22 for a Monte Cristo sandwich which consisted of TWO pieces of meat that were not more than 2" by 3" and ONE thin piece of swiss cheese in a 5" high piece of fried dough. There was nothing 'sandwich' about this item - it was a slab of fried dough, no bread, and virtually no filling for the 'sandwich,' served with potatoes that are nasty and 'mixed vegetables' that consisted two oily and undercooked stalks of broccoli, I think it was broccoli. Truly disgusting.

Then there was the service: yes, we had a trainee. I would love it if restaurants would ASK me if I wanted a trainee before sitting me in their sections. It took this guy 15 min to take our drink order, then another 15 to bring the drinks and we got our soup before our drinks and we needed to constantly grab the guy to get refills. When the bill came, it was wrong. So it took another 10 min to get a corrected bill - all told NINETY minutes to eat a truly crummy and highly overpriced meal. I don't have high standards at a theme park; but this one on this day managed to under perform even my low standards. A diabetic would not be able to eat here at all.

I then complained - and got brushed off. The 'customer service lead' essentially told me that I was wrong about the sandwich. I saw one go by and stopped the server and pointed it out to the woman - who shrugged. They can fill the place every day, with people who will never come back - what do they care.
 
12 out of 34 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   February 26, 2010
Reviewer: norcalmom Pleasanton, California     March 02, 2010
This was my very first time eating at the Blue Bayou. My daughter and I were in Disneyland by ourselves so I thought it would be a great time to try it. I made a reservation two weeks in advance for 6:30pm. We checked in with the hostess at 6:05 and requested a table by the water. We were told it would be a 45 minute wait, but we were seated by the water at 6:25!
I had the salad and Cajun-Spice Salmon and my daughter had the gumbo and short ribs. The food was fabulous! Unfortunately, we were too stuffed to order dessert...maybe next time! Our waiter was friendly and very attentive. It was pricey, but definitely worth the experience. Dinner for two, plus tip was $78. I would recommend the Blue Bayou.
 
6 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Saturday, May 16, 2009 - 6pm
Reviewer: The old man Carlsbad CA     May 19, 2009
A friend of ours had four dinners from a charity auction. They included dinner, dessert and a drink. She invited us to share them with her and just pay the part not covered by the passes. There were three adults and two ten-year old girls. We wound up with four adult dinners and one child meal.

I have wanted to eat at the Blue Bayou for over 25 years. We had a 5:40pm reservation. We, of course asked for a water-front table, but we told it would be a one hour wait. We passed and wound up being seated before 6pm at a very nice table under the tree.

The waiter, David, was exceptional. Everything came right on time with no longs waits and with no rush. We began with the excellent sour dough rolls and ordered our drinks--the girls got the light up Tinker Bell drink and were thrilled when they came.

The women ordered the Surf & Turf. As the waiter pointed out it's just $5 more than the just the Turf. I, and one of the girls, got the Short Ribs, and my less adventurous daughter got the kid's meal Mac and Cheese.

I got the gumbo appetizer, which, except for a few undercooked rice grains, was excellent. The salads with blue cheese were also very good. I remember reading bad reviews of these when the new menu went into effect about two years ago, but either they improved it or it was good along.

The dinners were also very good. The short ribs', as promised, meat falls off the bone and the Zinfandel sauce was excellent. The Surf (lobster tail) was perfectly cooked. It met my wife's criteria of not needing melted butter. The steak was cooked exactly to specification and had a very flavorful crust. Our daughter ate all of her M&C. A good sign, she often doesn't eat it except for at home.

The potatoes--kind of an Au Gratin, were good, not over-sauced as it often is. There was a nice variety of vegetables featuring white asparagus. I do like my vegetables al dente, but these may have been a little too undercooked, but still good.

At one point I was thinking of asking for a refill of my Diet Coke when one just appeared in front of me. David apparently is a mind-reader.

We had two cookie boats, one raspberry dessert and one of the chocolate cakey/mousse thing. All very good, all too much.

The total would have been $210, which was fair for the quantity and quality of the food. Since we had the passes we only had to pay for the one kids' meal. The waiter kindly counted the $9 Tink drinks as two of our free drinks. The total? $15. We left a $45 tip.

In review, yes I would go back, we had a wonderful time. There was only one thing missing--wine. This type of food really cries for it. I would love to choose wines to go with these foods. A Diet Coke just doesn't make it--and the thought of a Disneyland non-alcoholic Mint Julep with Fillet Mignon is just frightening.
 
11 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Thursday, August 14, 2008
Reviewer: adikted2disney San Jose, CA     August 17, 2008
This was our first time ever eating at Blue Bayou. I've always wanted to eat here and had made a PS reservation for dinner at 5:15pm. We checked in and waited about 15 minutes to be seated. I had wanted to sit by the water but did not request it. I just didn't want to wait longer and was just happy to be there. We were seated at a table right when you enter the restaurant, which was not a problem. The atmosphere is nice no matter where you sit, and I love how it feels like it's night time in there. For 3 adults and a 2 year old, our bill came to about $90. My fiance did not like the salad but my mom and I thought it was great. My fiance traded my mom for her gumbo. It was his first time trying gumbo and he thought it was good. My fiance and I split the surf and turf and my mom had the salmon. The surf and turf was absolutely delicious. The filet mignon was perfect and the lobster melted in my mouth. The lobster was a bit tiny to split between 2 people, but it was just enough if you also want dessert later. The potatoes that come with the meal are to die for. They are scrumptious! The spinach on the other hand lacks taste... perhaps some more seasoning would liven it up. My mom's salmon was the best salmon we've ever tasted. It had the most wonderful flavor... we were absolutely in heaven. For dessert we shared the Flying Dutchman cookie boat. All I have to say is wow! We finished it off in 5 minutes, it was the perfect end to a perfect meal. Although the price is a bit high, it's definitely worth it and we will make going to Blue Bayou a tradition. The service is good, the food was exceptional, and I can't wait to go back again!
 
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 2008
Reviewer: TheDisneyDude San Diego, CA.     July 25, 2008
I ate here on our April 2008 trip to Disneyland (I can't remember what the date was though). There was four of us - my girlfriend, her two best friends from high school, and myself of course. We came in for lunch and arrived about 5 minutes before our reservation time and were seated almost as soon as we checked in. After we sat down we were given bread and butter and the waitress took our drink order. We were all very hungry so by the time our waitress got back with our drinks we were ready to order. We had 3 Monte Cristo's (what's not to love about a deep fried sandwich served with jam) and our one friend tried the salmon. While waiting for the food two of us got the gumbo and the other two got the salad to start with and I have to admit I tried my girlfriends salad and there both really good but I like the gumbo more. Are food arrived very quickly, maybe 5-10 minutes after we finished our salad/gumbo starters. All three of us enjoyed our Monte Cristo's and our friend who order the salmon said it was very delicious. The service was perfect, the price wasn't bad for being a nice sit down restaurant, and the food was outstanding. Plus the atmosphere was incredible being inside the ride of pirates of the caribbean. Although this wasn't our (my girlfriend and myself) first time dining at the Blue Bayou - my girlfriend's two friends had never been their and they were blown away by everything this restaurant had to offer. Blue Bayou is the best...
 
8 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Wednesday Dec 5, 2007
Reviewer: WhichIsStitch Flagstaff, AZ     December 27, 2007
I have been eating at the Blue Bayou since the late 60's with my family and friends. It is an enjoyable tradition that we have recently had to adapt in order to continue. The last menu change and price increase was ridiculous. The choices available are limited while the price does not reflect the quality or consistency of food. This year we tried something different. We went for dessert after seeing the suggestion here from some other guests. What a great idea. We made priority seating requests about a month prior then arrived 30 minutes before to request a water table. Now, I'm not sure why this is the one consistency with this restaurant but we have noticed that nearly each time we have been there during the last 5 years the host/hostess CM's at the front of the BB have some major bad attitude issues. Everyone in our family, at one time or another, has worked with the public and we pride ourselves on being kind and considerate. It would be nice to be treated the same way. The CM's at the BB front desk set the stage for each guest's experience. There is no need for sarcasm when answering guest's inquiries. When we requested a table by the water, it seemed the hostess/CM attempted to discourage us by saying there were already 5 parties ahead of us. We stayed strong, assuring her we did not mind the wait. We were seated within 10 minutes by a smiling young lady who was as happy as we were to be seated at the water's edge. We were a party of 4. Our server/CM was absolutely adorable and assured us it was just fine to order only from the dessert menu. Our meal consisted of key lime pie, creme brulee, and a shared cookie boat. Since it was Walt Disney's birthday, we requested candles and sang happy birthday with our server taking our pictures. Not sure what the final bill came to but I can tell you that this was one of our most enjoyable visits to the Blue Bayou. Thanks for the dessert suggestion!
 
14 out of 15 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   11/17/2007
Reviewer: bennette Irvine, CA     November 24, 2007
This is my fourth or fifth time eating at the Blue Bayou. For this trip I'm giving it an average review. I've had other visits that I would have ranked higher.

You do need to plan to eat here in advance or be prepared to wait a looong time some days. Use the Disney dining number, even if you are making your seating arrangements that day. Then go about fifteen minutes early. Ask for water side seating but be prepared to wait for it or go without, even with advance seating.

We had no problems getting in at around 12:30 p.m. in November. We were water side but very close to the kitchen (my husband doesn't mind being by the kitchen, but I do; it's very noisy).

Service was prompt and friendly but not more than adequate this trip. It was highly focused on getting you in and out of the restaurant asap. At this price I'm expecting to enjoy a leisurely meal, so that didn't sit well with me. My efforts to slow the process down were in vain this trip. Queries to "see" the children's menu or the dessert menu were responded to with the answer of "I can tell you what's on it" and a super-fast recitation of the options. Sigh.

We had one gumbo and one wedge salad. They were both good, not great.

I had the salmon and my huband had chicken. I believe most entrees were around $27. Both were again good, but not the best ever. I don't have any problem dropping $$$ for a meal and I am very comfortable with the fact that things cost more at Disneyland but for the cost and the effort it takes to get into the Blue Bayou, I'd appreciate more time to experience and appreciate the meal.

I wish I could get my husband to agree to split a plate and I do encourage others to try this option. It makes the meal much more affordable for those for whom cost is an issue and really, portions are such that most people can't possibly finish a whole one.

We didn't have room for dessert (never do--another reason to split the entree!). My husband took a couple of the chocolate doubloons you get at the end of the meal. We got a free pin that was available to AP folks who spent more than $30. It was a pretty nice pin (Chip 'N' Dale) although pins aren't really my thing.

While I've never had a bad experience at Blue Bayou, I'm a "foodie" with a food service background and pretty demanding. For my money, I'd rather go to the Napa Rose in DCA. But my husband loves the Blue Bayou and so do most visitors we take there. If you make advance seating arrangements and understand that things cost more at Disneyland, you'll probably have a good time--maybe even a great one.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 22, 2007
Reviewer: nmjohnston874 (johnstong874@yahoo.com) Farmington, NM     May 26, 2007
We ate lunch at the Blue Bayou on Tuesday, May 22, 2007. We were very reluctant to eat there again after a very unpleasant experience in October of 2006. We were very surprised this time as our meal was everything our last visit wasnt. Our party included my wife, 23-year-old son, soon to be 21-year-old daughter and myself.

My son and I had the seafood jambalaya, my wife the Tesora Island Chicken, and daughter the prime rib. Son, daughter and I had the gumbo and wife the salad. Both son and I thought the Jambalaya and gumbo to be excellent, and I once lived near New Orleans. Daughter said her prime rib was the best she has ever had, and also liked the gumbo. Wife was also impressed with the chicken, but did not care much for the salad and left it mostly uneaten.

Service was excellent. The drink orders were a little slow in coming and our server apologized profusely at the end of the meal, saying that the servers were were being trained on a new computer system that is supposed to detect credit card fraud. She was excellent at keeping the glasses full and replacing the rolls.

It appears the BB has gotten the food and service kinks ironed out from last summer and fall. I can honestly say that the experience is now worth the higher prices.

 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   5-14-07
Reviewer: Deepred Bakersfield, California     May 16, 2007
Vegetarian review. This restaurant will always be a favorite of ours. My husband and I ate dinner there with reservations at 5:40pm we were seated right next to the water at 5:50pm which was very nice. We sat there for five minutes then our bread was served with butter another five minutes went buy no wait staff had introduced them selfs nor did we have beverages. My husband works in the industry so he was a bit peeved another five minutes went by and as we were looking for someone to ask where our waiter was she finally came by gave us our water and took our order. My husband was a little disappointed that they didnt have any other vegetarian options besides the Portobello Mushrooms over couscous. Before the menu change we were able to get several things like pasta with vegetables and marinara sauce or sautéed vegetables with mashed potatoes or something along those lines. We both opted for the salad since they only serve the chicken gumbo, but I believe they always had. I proffered the old salad with greens a few veggies and candies pecans, now its a half of a lettuce bowl on top of two tomato slices with I believe was feta (I wouldnt try in since I am pregnant, plus your never sure which cheeses have rennet in them) sprinkled off two one side with an avocado slice on the other side and drizzled with a vinaigrette. My husband couldnt eat it because it was too vinegary for him but hes not into string flavors I thought it was fine and ate it. The bread rolls were really good, some sort of sourdough which I love. The plate was four smaller Portobellos marinated in balsamic lying on a bed of bell pepper and corn couscous and drizzled with balsamic. Im quite the foody so I enjoyed mine a bit too much balsamic for my taste (and trust me I like vinegars). But the couscous did offset it with a very mellow taste and a few bursts of flavor with the bell peppers. Through out the meal my husbands glass was empty longer than it was fool, which is one of my pet-peeves at restaurants but it wasnt too bad. Our waitress did ask if we would like desert and we ordered the Trio of crème brules, which were pretty good. I didnt realize the passion fruit was such until I read the menu again it just had a hint of citrus flavor was all. Our dinner came just over $65.00 which was worth the dinner. It also did bother me that we didnt get out of there until 7:30pm but oh well. We still road pirates before the park closed.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 >>
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page