Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Blue Bayou
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
The Pirates Restaurant
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 77 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 6-10 2007
Reviewer: tby789 West Point, Utah     May 14, 2007
I have always wanted to eat at the Blue Bayou, so when I found out we would be visiting in May; I made priority seating arrangements 30 days in advance. Our meal was set for 4:00, but at 3:30 we thought we would check to see if we could get in early. The young man at the front was very helpful. They did not begin seating for dinner until 4:00, but if we didnt mind, he could check to see if we could get in for lunch. This turned out to be great because I wanted the Monte Cristo, and it is not available on the dinner menu. I heard another family coming in and they were surprised that it was not available for dinner. Their waiter was so nice though and told them that if they wanted he could see if they had room for them at the Café Orleans. The Monte Cristo is available all day and at almost half the price. And those were his exact words!
It was beautiful inside, we were not by the water, but it didnt matter. Our waiters name was Caesar, ( I hoped I spelled that right ) if my memory is correct, and he was great. There were three in our party, my husband, my 6 year old daughter and myself. My husband ordered the prime rib and gumbo, my daughter ordered the prime rib off the childrens menu, and I ordered the Monte Cristo sandwich. Just a note- if you have very picky children, I would consider another restaurant, the childrens menu only consisted of 3 items. Now I wasnt paying that much attention but I think the choices were, prime rib, macaroni and cheese and I think some kind of orange chicken.
Our food was delicious, and the servings were far too much for one person. Next time I will definitely pay the $4 charge to split a meal. We had to make a special trip back to our hotel to put our food in the fridge so it wouldnt spoil. Something to remember if you plan to stay the whole day in the park. We especially liked the gumbo, and the Monte Cristo was awesome! My husband said his meal couldn't have been better.
All in all it was a delicious meal. Very pricey, but delicious. If you are after atmosphere and great food this is the place for you. If you just want great food, then maybe consider the Café Orleans which is only 20 ft away. I hope this was helpful, I am only going by memory so I hope everything is right!
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 24, 2007
Reviewer: haiderodes Las Vegas, NV     April 19, 2007
Dined with a group of 6 at a 830p seating. Took about 20 minutes to get seated in a table near the back. It was my first time there, so I was really excited, but not looking forward to the high prices.

Most of us ended up splitting plates. My partner in crime and I split the prime rib with vegetables and potatoes. Nice meal, pretty filling even with the split plates. The bread came in handy. I had heard about problems with refills on drinks and bread, but we had no issues. In fact, they were a little over productive with the water refills, often refilling when I hadn't even drank a 1/4 of the glass.

Only issues we had were concerning our waitress. During the process of ordering she seemed to exhibit a bit of an attitude in regards to splitting plates. (Out of 6 people, 4 of us split plates. At 35-40 bucks a plate, we still paid our fair share for our meal). Magically, or after overhearing our conversation about her attitude, she reappeared bringing our salads (full size) sans attitude and was actually pretty pleasant for the rest of our time there.

 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 26th 2007
Reviewer: manoangelic Albuquerque, NM     April 08, 2007
· Date of visit. March 26th 2007
· Type of meal. Lunch
· We did the Monte Cristo but we split the plate. They charged an extra $4 but we both got starter and full sides.
We got the crab cakes. They were really good.
The sandwich, which we never tried before, was incredible. It was so good. And berry sauce was weird but went with sandwich like fries and ketchup.
Me and the wife can eat. I weigh 280lbs and can finish a meal and still be hungry. When we left we still had half of a half sandwich left because we were so damn full. I think I over did it on the dinner rolls. But they were good. They were cold but it took a few minutes to get the food out so I filled up on rolls.
We did Priority seating for 1130am and was worth it. We got to sit right next to the water. It was so nice.
We will make this a stop on every trip.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 30, 2006
Reviewer: pixiedust808 Kapolei, Hawaii     March 11, 2007
We made priority seating well in advance. We made it for a late lunch. We had tried to check in early, to let them know we'd be willing to wait for a waterside table, however we were told we could not check in until our PS time. My husband jumped back in line, which was incredibly long, and by the time he reached the front, it was our check in time. We waited another 10 minutes for our table. We got a big table one 'row' away from the water. The ambiance is incredible!!! Our party of 9 could hardly keep our excitement in check!! We got prompt service, hot rolls and water. Our waitress was very attentive and smiled. Which is a plus, I love it when my CM's are happy!! Everyone ordered and just enjoyed the scenery and environment. We watched the boats go by, we were close enough to hear the old man's banjo and to hear people talking in the boats. We waved quite a bit!!
The wedge salad and gumbo were DEE-LISH! I tried to get others to give me theirs but with no success. My daughter and niece both fell asleep before the food came! Our waitress said that the dark "fools 'em' into bedtime!!" We all thought that was funny. Our meals came and we chowed down. I had the braised short ribs, three others had the prime rib, one ordered the chicken and another ordered the mushrooms with couscous. Anyone who had red meat said they would definitely order the same again. Sis-in-law said the chicken was 'ok'. And my brother said he was glad to have tried something different with the mushrooms, but will definitely order prime rib next time. We ordered a mac-n-cheese for my daughter but she fell asleep before it came. Our waitress happily offered to either box it up or take it off the bill. I wasn't expecting to have a choice, but since we had sampled it, we boxed it up and took it back for left-over eats! Our group ordered one of each dessert, and there were no complaints, nor were there any leftovers! The absolutely best thing about this restaurant is the atmosphere - hands down! Total for 7 meals and tip came out to $260. Normally, I would cringe at such a bill, but the experience and memories are priceless. Plus we got some souvenir menus and sugar decorations from the desserts. Every time we talk about the trip, we always talk about the BB first and most. I've gushed about the food, the service, the mood and atmosphere, but here's the best part - As were eating dessert, the ride broke down and went down for the rest of the meal. It was awesome getting to watch the CM/Maintenance turn on the lights and walk around and tinker with stuff. All in all, an awesome and enjoyable experience!! I will definitely be making this a regular stop on my future visits.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   January 4, 2007
Reviewer: doombuggy driver Surprise, AZ     January 11, 2007
We had the pleasure of dining at the Blue Bayou on our latest Disneyland trip. We made Priority seating reservations on Tuesday for Thursday at 1:15 p.m. We arrived at 1:10 and were seated by 1:30. We had a table right by the door so we were really not that close to the ride. The ambiance was great! There was jazz music playing in the background and the chirpping crickets were a nice touch. My family consists of myself my husband and our five year old daughter. My hubby and I decided to split the famous Monte Cristo sandwich. There is a $4 fee for splitting a plate. My husband had the wedge salad with the Vinagrette and I had the Chicken Gumbo. Both were delicious!!!! Our rolls and beverages will filled very promptly and our server was GREAT!! When our meal arrived I was pleasently surprised. The extra plate fee of $4 included my own side dishes on my own plate. The sandwich was AMAZING!!!!! It was more than enough for us to split and we both had the potatoes and the steamed vegetable which were also very tasty. We really enjoyed our first visit to the Blue Bayou. We only had two negative things to say. One was that we wished we were closer to the water instead of being right by the doors. Two our daughter got the PB and J (unfried) and it was a Smuckers Uncrustable which you can purchase in any local supermarket. Other than that our experience was awesome and will definitely go back!
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   10/30/206
Reviewer: going2disneyAZ Scottsdale, AZ     November 07, 2006
Who: Me, DW, DS1 (3 yo), DS2 (18 mos), my mom

We had 11:50am PS for lunch. We arrived at 11:20am and requested a waterside table. I told the hostess we would be willing to wait and she said we probably would need to wait.

At 11:30am we were sitted. Not waterside but close enough. I mentioned to the CM that seated us that we wanted to wait for waterside. He said we couldnt that it would be at least a one and half hour wait for waterside. Well the kids were being good and like I said we were close to water and could see the boats so I let it go.

We sat there for over 20 minutes and no one came with water, bread, drink order or anything. Finally I stood up and nicely asked a CM to check who our server was. About 19 minutes later we got bread and our waiter showed up. He asked if were ready to order lunch. I told him we wanted to order drinks first. He said that he will take the entire order now or else we wont get our lunch....

I thought this kind of rude, especially for the prices this place charges. This guy took our order like a McDonald's drive through.....

DW ordered the Mahi Mahi with wedge salad, I ordered the Jambalya with gumbo, and my mom ordered the Portobello Mushroom with wedge salad. I got a kids chicken dish for the kids to share.

The salads were good and my gumbo was great.

My mom and DW were very happy with their selections. I thought the Jambalya was terrible.

The kids absolutely would not touch their kids chicken meal. This restaurant really needs to rethink their children's menu. Chicken Strips PLEASE. Is this the only restaurant in DLR that does not have the kids Chicke Strip???

For desert we ordered a cookie boat to share. VERY very good.

At this point I paid the bill. I really wanted to stiff the waiter and hand deliver a tip to the gal that brings the bread and drink refills and the gal that was our bus person. They were great. Our waiter (Rudy) was rude, inefficient, and belonged at a Denny's not at a high end resort restaurant.

Bottom line: not worth the money to me. I can put up with high prices and ok food with excellent service. But when the service is lacking, no way....

I can understand how DLR is having a hard time attracting top notch CMs to the park but with BB prices I have to think that the wait staff is pulling in tips comensurate with the surrounding area. Why can't they attract top notch wait staff?
 
8 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 24, 2006
Reviewer: SandraVB79 (sandra@pubers.net) Brussels, Belgium     October 03, 2006
During every visit at Disneyland and Disneyland Paris, I wanted to eat "in the Pirates-ride". Every time I am at Disneyland Paris, I take a look at the menu of the Blue Lagoon, and decide I don't like it, and every time I was at Disneyland, the wait for the Blue Bayou was too long. But now, I was well prepared and had made ADRs or however they call it these days.
We had an ADR at 5.10 pm, arrivd 15 minutes early, asked for waterfront seating, and were seated within 10 minutes. We had a great table, too bad the ride broke down and no boats came by!
We (my mom and I) ordered Diet Cokes, had one order of the crab cakes that we split, and after that we split the Buccaneer short ribs. We both asked for a salad, but were not asked what side dishes we wanted with the ribs.
The crab cakes were delicious, as were the rolls we received with them. There was only one a person on the table, but you could ask for more, if they hadn't brought more out before you could ask!
The salad was not too big, and I really liked it. It does have blue cheese and some sort of sausage, and that wasn't mentioned on the menu (souvenir menu we could take with us). We didn't have a problem with that, but if you're vegetarian, you might mind this.
The Buccaneer ribs came with the Blue Bayou potatoes (au gratin) and vegetables, and they were... to die for!
As dessert, we ordered one cookie boat-thing, which was HUGE and very good!!!
Although we shared "one person's meal", we both had more than enough to eat, and were stuffed!
When the time came to pay the bill, the waiter was nowhere to be seen, and no one else seemed to be able to help us. After a while, this was rather annoying, because we wanted to go out for the parade. To make up for this, they also gave us another keepsake from one of teh desserts (some sort of coin), which was nice from them.

I will definitely go back to the Blue Bayou the next time I am at Disneyland.
The service was very good (aside from the confusion when we wanted to pay), the atmosphere is the best you can have, the food was incredible, and the portions were just right (although I can't imagine having to eat one portion by myself, in that case the portions are way too big!). Also, portion-wise: we are big eaters, and had only had breakfast that day, so we were rather amazed that we left so stuffed.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   06/27/06
Reviewer: disnymom (mo322@juno.com) orem, utah     August 14, 2006
The service was good, the atmosphere was great, the prices were thru the roof and the food was very marginal. I just had the ice cream boat (it was too rich to eat) so I could share the other dinners, however the other dinners were hardly big enough to do that. Anyway my 3 grown kids all had the five-pepper prime rib, and it was too spicy and salty to even enjoy. My husband had the shrimp remoulade appetizer. It came on a big plate and had 3 tiny little shrimp, hardly big enough for a mouth full.(We were trying to avoid the split plate charge). The dinner came with one little roll. I guess the only thing good about it was the take home menu. All in all I don't think we will go back, and it used to be our favorite place in Disneyland
 
5 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   Aug 10, 2006
Reviewer: foodlacky Berkeley, CA     August 12, 2006
Yesterday my father, my girlfriend and I went to the NEW Blue Bayou. After enjoying years of lunches at the old Blue Bayou we were surprised to see how it has changed. The space inside is much less crowded now, however the lobby is much more crowded and they have still not installed benches for people to sit on.

Being a vegetarian for 8 years I can usually find things everywhere that I can eat. However, vegetarians need to be aware that it is more difficult to order vegetarian at the Blue Bayou than any restaurant at the three resorts I have been to... even harder than at Disneyland Paris!

There is only one dish on the menu that is vegetarian - the mushroom and couscous. Because it is $24.99 and it comes with salad and sides, my girlfriend and I went ahead and split it (bringing the total to $28.99. We knew that the soup would have meat so we asked for the salad. First: when the salad came, we found out that it has meat in it unless you request it without meat (this information was not told to us earlier) and Second: Although they do a good job of splitting the main dish for the two people sharing, they do not split the salad so you need to share one plate and one fork!

Then the food came. Our two plates each had a mound of potatoes, two cold soggy mushrooms and a bit of corn-bell pepper salsa. When we asked what happened to our vegetable sides our waiter told us that the fish dishes and the mushroom dish do not come with a choice of side dishes, and that it doesn't say that on the menu but that is what the kitchen does. This was obviously incorrect so we sent back the dishes. Before he took them away he said in a very inappropriate tone "what do you want me to do? What is it that you want me to bring you? What will make you happy?" We asked for the dish as it appears on the menu.

Second round: the dishes came back out and this time, it was in a stack formation. The middle of the plate had a pile of potatoes. On top of this were the two still cold and soggy mushrooms. On the very top was a pile of cold spinach and the corn- bell pepper salsa. No couscous anywhere. Because we had already been there for an hour and a half we didn't say anything to the waiter who really did not seem like he much cared if we were happy or not.

Near the end of the meal I found what looked like a piece of ham in the middle of my spinach. When the waiter came around again, it was not to ask how we were but it was to tell us that he was "going to lunch" and that another waiter would take over. He walked away before I could mention the meat and the dishes were cleared before the new waitress could come over. When she did come over she slid the bill onto our table and didn't say a word.

One incorrectly made dish, one Monte-cristo which isn't as good as it used to be, three sodas, two hours and $65.00 later we walked down to city hall to write out a complaint.

The moral of the story: If you are a vegetarian, don't spend $30 on a dish that sucks, spend $8 on a three cheese Monte-cristo at the walk up counter... or, ask for the kids menu which, I found out on mouseplanet, has two vegi options.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   8/10/06
Reviewer: snowsbeau Orange County, CA     August 11, 2006
After all of the talk about the new and improved but not surprisingly uber-expensive BB I thought that I would try it out for myself. I have fond memories of the BB. It was a special place to go for birthdays and special occasions while at the happiest place on earth. I was somewhat miffed when they stopped allowing same day seating a few months ago. I was treated like a peasant when I asked if I could be seated for dinner one Monday evening. The CM actually looked at me as if she would catch something from me as she told me they didn't have any openings.
I made a reservation a month ago and showed up 20 minutes before the time. I was seated within 10 minutes of the actual reservation. The place was almost empty. I asked if seating at the waterside was possible and was told that they were reserved. Two of the then empty tables never saw a guest while I was there.
I wanted to try the new menu items. I usually order the Prime Rib or Pork Chops (now it is on chop) and they have never disappointed. I ordered the Short Ribs after I put my eyes back into their sockets after reading the menu and its pricing. I tried the salad and it was not the great. A iceberg wedge and a few bits of other veggies was not that exciting. I wished that I had ordered the Gumbo instead. But I was trying new menu items!
The entree arrived. The food was plated nicely. I was not impressed by the meat. I have had better cuts of meat at Lone Star and that isn't a compliment to Lone Star! The sides, potatoes and grilled? veggies were delicious though. The rolls are still the same, cold and hard. I asked for a second event though I had not finished the first one and that too was cold.
I thought that I would pass on dessert, nothing looked tempting. I don't care for Crème Brule which seemed to be the dessert of choice that night and the Cookie Boat looked too sweet. I settled for the Key Lime Pie. It tasted like it was a day old item. Flat and bland. I only had two bites. I asked the waiter for a few chocolate coins that they used to include with the check. He said that they were out at the moment. Bummer!
All I can say is that I miss the old BB. I know change is good and every good restaurant changes its menu to keep things fresh but this just isn't worth the cost. I can get a better meal cheaper down the street on Harbor at one of the newer chain places.
I will always have the fond memories of the BB but I will not dine there again unless someone else picks up the tab.
If I really have to have a Monte Cristo I will go Cafe Orleans. There reservations are not required but you are still charged $14.99 for basically a grilled ham and cheese sandwich. But again it offers nice memories of the past.
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 >>
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page